As president, published insults by critics gave me some pleasure - Obasanjo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 15 October 2015

As president, published insults by critics gave me some pleasure - Obasanjo

While presenting a keynote address yesterday at the  first international conference of the African Studies Association of Africa (ASAA) titled, “African Studies in the Twenty-First Century, Past, Present and Future” which took place at the International Conference Centre of the University of Ibadan, former President Olusegun Obasanjo said that when he was President, he derived a form of pleasure whenever he was insulted by his critics.
He said he enjoyed the insults so much that he kept published insults in the archives in his presidential library.
He said:
"If you visit the Olusegun Obasanjo Presidential Library in Abeokuta, you will find thousands of archived newspaper comics and columns meant to spite and insult my person even as a sitting President. 
No individual or group of people was ever queried or jailed or repressed for expressing this freedom. Rather, I encouraged them because I derived fun and pleasure from the humour as I know who I am and nobody needs to tell me who and what I am not".

33 comments:

well na him sabi #lindapleasedonottakenote #mokeme

You must be criticise if you are at the top. TIMLEYIN BLESSING

Na so

Abubakar said...

Ride on Sir. You are a strong man.

Nice 1

Why does it take Linda forever 2post comments, dis makes no freakin sense @ all....

How can one derive pleasure from insult if sometin is not wrong wt d person rather let the critic motivate u to work harder or change ur ways not deriving pleasure.

Old fool...

Sabi man. I dey always gbadun im ways. Linda take note!

Okay sir, heard.

walter said...

Fantastic perspective...great attitude...something worth learning indeed!

We know

It's bcus Ur Babaa Agbero!

The old man grew a very thick skin, that's the only way you survive the harshness

Check how I make easy money online;
http://jobrize.com/index.php?ref=589546

All diz people sef..wot happened to Eedris Abdulkareem?

lol big man

Aunty linda.......

lol big man

Aunty linda.......

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtains please call 08160856785.

seyi crown said...

Obj is d most insulted president....people really make fun of him and his wife....i did too loool

Seyilicious

Really like those words of his. What people say shouldn't matter at all to us. Because people must talk whether you did right or wrong.

Oh Yeah! I must giv it to him and sure nailed it. I ish him all d best and may d Lord bless him.

LOL maga! Sadist

The old man has thick skin so i'm not surprised..

U ar straight on point sir........i jst luv diz man obj....carry go more grease to ur elbpws.....cadiac will arrest all ur enemies

Sadist

If you live in Gambia and you ve interest in showbiz or promoting talents..please hook me up on whatsapp 08039296336

ah joy ke when people compare him with that of a chimpanzee. The yabs are always too loaded.

Odiegwu! People like this don't always admit their pains.

obj....u na thief

He just admitted that he doesn't take criticism seriously, no wonder his government was the incubator of corruption in Nigeria.
To deliberately ignore and failure to learn from criticism is an important ingredient of bad leadership.

Not surprised. Exactly how a veritable asshole will react.