Transgender woman who was denied hormone drugs in jail, gets released early, sues authorities | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 4 September 2015

Transgender woman who was denied hormone drugs in jail, gets released early, sues authorities

A transgender Georgia inmate who sued the state's prison system after being denied hormone therapy and a safe environment has been paroled for the remainder of her 11-year sentence.Ashley Diamond, 38, was released Monday after serving a little more than three years in a male prison during which she says she was sexually assaulted eight times.

"I'm overjoyed to be with my family again and out of harm's way," she said in a statement released by the Southern Poverty Law Center which filed the suit on her behalf in February.
"Although the systematic abuse and assaults I faced for more than three years have left me emotionally and physically scarred, I'll continue to fight for justice and to shine a light on the gross mistreatment of transgender inmates in Georgia and nationwide."

Diamond's early release on parole supervision while serving time for burglary is said to be in no way related to the SPLC's lawsuit which was later backed by the U.S. Justice Department.
A spokesman for the state's parole board, in an email to the Daily News, said she was deemed “rehabilitated” and stated that “the parole release is compatible with the welfare of society and public safety.”
Spokesman Steve Hayes acknowledged that Diamond was released earlier than her slated parole hearing this fall.
"The inmate served 46 months of the sentence, two months before being eligible according to the prison sentence," he said.
Hayes said the decision to release Diamond before her eligibility is "not unprecedented."
"The board has released inmates previously prior to their individual eligibility dates as it has the authority to do when the board deems the inmate's parole release is compatible with the welfare of society," he stated.
Ashley now back as a man
In Diamond's suit, which was backed by the DOJ in April, she claimed that she was subjected to cruel and unusual punishment which led to her attempting suicide and self-castration.
It included prison officials denying her hormone therapy treatment she had undergone since aged 17 and subjecting her to "unspeakable sexual assaults" by violent offenders.

Crass corrections personnel also referred to her with male pronouns as well as "faggot," "he/she" and "it," and sent to her solitary confinement for "pretending to be a woman," she claimed.

The conditions were declared "tantamount to torture" by one SPLC staff attorney.
"While we're thrilled that Ashley Diamond is out of prison, our lawsuit is far from over," said Attorney Chinyere Ezie in a statement Monday.
"Ashley has endured more than three years of systematic abuse based on the Georgia Department of Corrections' unconstitutional policies toward transgender inmates and woeful lack of care.
"Her release does not erase her barbaric treatment by GDC officials, which was tantamount to torture. Nor is her plight isolated. We will continue to advocate for an end to prison practices that unfairly punish and inflict pain on transgender inmates."
Source: NY Daily News

36 comments:

Looking for fast way to make money after leaving prison.

Ah sorry to her oo

I see no big deal in being a trans. (Though I can never be). They'r really nice and fun to be with.

Wetin man no go see $ hear for this world. *sigh*

Dey permitted it na

WTF....quick way to get released from prison after a crime now is to change ur gender...USA i hail

Americans can sue for anything, na too much freedom sha, instead of thanking God for early release u are suing them for denying u hormone drugs......please take her back

Lolx... He gats to be a man again no tym.... #NowPlaying>> wait for me: johnny drille...

Americans can sue for anything, na too much freedom sha, instead of thanking God for early release u are suing them for denying u hormone drugs......please take her back

💋Hey boo said...

Linda welcome

aproko manager said...

Trans pple I just tire for deir matter

Lol. What was it expecting ? The male inmates would have been overjoyed at their new play thing.

Onomiroro Dono Okeh said...

I'll pass.

They were young and very much in love. The future without each other looks blank. They couldn't bear imaging one with the other not being in it and then the idea stroke. Yes!........ Kindly click

onopinkjournal.com

I thought America is a free country,where everyone has right including the right to become a mutant.
This reminds me of the transgenderbabe (Lavern Cox) in the Netflix film series "orange is the new black". She also at one stage was denied her hormone drugs.Was that film in a way inspired by some real life event#thinking

Mcheeeeeeew, akuko ndi iberibe. Linda take note!

That's not fair nah!

Enough of transgender wahala

mrs chukwuma said...

Transgender.........story for the devil.........ur headache....

Mtweeeeeeeeeeee

Pls where Onyx dey since abi she/he follow linda go America ni?...

Ode like you. Why not change your sex too, idiot

This is like an Igbo girl going to Kirikiri and demand that the Government Pay for her bleaching cream cause she's been using it since she's 19

No Wonder Linda's comments have reduced, all the gays in Nigeria seek sanctuary here now, since she promoted Onyx

Idiot, never given a sensible statement.
EWU
Mtcheeeeeeeeeeeew

Asampokoto said...

And to think the article is still up here. Did you read it at all?

The attorney is an Igbo woman!
Wow

nobody noticed His/Her lawyer was a Nigerian..

Attorney chinyere Erie.umunna!!!

was she a man before she went in or a woman before she went in?!

THAT IS WHAT HE/SHE DESERVE NOW
UNGREATFUL GUY OLEE OLOJUKOKORO
SERVANT OF DEVIL,GOOD FOR YOU TRANSGENDER OLODOOOOOOOO

bummyla said...

RUBBISH! NONSENSE! http://www.bummyla.com

His business

*cute bree*