The artwork and Miles' accompanying post is an honest insight into how she felt.
"Today, I am coming out with something that only few of you know. I am ready to have a conversation about my mental illness," she wrote. "To me, depression is the days that I feel sad for no reason. Depression is the mornings that I don’t feel capable of getting out of bed. ... Depression is the tears I have because I don’t know why I feel so worthless, when I know I should feel happy."
"You are an amazingly strong soul ... What I think is so courageous is that you have opened up yet another reason to have a conversation about mental illness," one Facebook user wrote.
"It was very brave of you to put your life out there and make a difference by sharing something so personal. Keep up the good fight. Always look for that silver lining. You are most definitely someone else's silver lining today!"Miles wrote in the caption that she hopes her tattoo inspires others to start a conversation about mental illness.
"This is one of the most difficult things to open up about because it’s extremely hard for me to feel vulnerable… but this needs to be talked about," she wrote. "Mental illness is serious, but so shamed in our society. We care so much for our physical health, but hardly a thing about our mental state. And that is seriously messed up."
Huffington Post
48 comments:
Eya! Thank God for life
Stay strong!
Hmmmmmm.
I wish her safe recovery frm her depression but pls desist frm d act of tattoo on d body for its abomination b4 d Lord.
Ok. Good of her. She should seek God too. Mo-1
Awww... Heart touching *dries tears*
Hmm sometimes even to live is an act of courage!
For window blinds, wallpaper and curtains please call 08160856785.
Aww, i feel your pain sweety
it is well
Ok!
Ummmmm I'm depressed to buh what a man gon do?
Auntie linda I'm serious....
Ummmmm I'm depressed to buh what a man gon do?
Auntie linda I'm serious....
Hmmmmmm. Ok
#it Will OnLy Get BettER
#It MuSt EnD iN prAisE
They should hide guns from her ooo...b4 stories that touch
I still don't think depression is a mental illness!
Smh.
U r fine and as well save ok
Depression is a bad thing sha
*cute bree*
Oh well...
Every little thing sabi freak this people shah...... See wetin dey go viral abeg.... Serious matter shah no doubt....
Depression is real.
Yet another vent...ugh!
Awww sweedy
Hmmmmm, it is well with her. Linda take note!
OK seeen
Bettykrislav.blogspot.com
seen
on to the next thing
Come down to Africa and that illness will disappear in Just 2 days. It's apparently cos you have access to the basic things of life that you're experiencing such illness, if those things should snap out a few days and return again, your illness will disappear even without a doctor.
Good for her.
69% of Nigerians are depressed. Especially those unemployed graduates.
#LionAmbition
Awww...
Reminds me of Mary j-blige's sooong-just fyne,seeeee I won't change my life cuz am just fyne
May God help her win
This is my first time of commenting here since I been reading post frm linda since 2011
Lord is your strength dear
A problem shared is a problem half solved
If you do not understand it, educate yourself more on it or do not speak at all !!!!!
Yeah indeed Thank God for life!! I can relate to this story cos I have been there, and trust me when I say depression is one sick mental illness that can ruin ones life and happiness. There are days, I take pills to end my life slowly in my sleep, in a peaceful way because I felt that was my only escape from all the bullshit going on in my mind. Some times I spend the whole day in my P.J , not wanting to speak to anyone or even eat cos I do not have the strength to do so. The insane insomnia was racking my health not to mention the restlessness by the day , and in all this my only hope of escaping was the pills and drugs, only that its solutions were short and won't keep this demons away for long. I have found a lasting solutions to my mental illness, now that I have the love of God in my heart and having experienced His love for me, I now know the plans that He ha s for me, it gives me hope and peace of mind , waking up and going to bed every night knowing that God loves me and I am what He say I am !!! May God bring healing to our lives and souls in Jesus name.
Dear anonymous pls Google " scriptotherapy " there will always be a reason why I are down in ur spirit
May you get better
It is well. All the best dear.
Aww! I wish her recovery!
@anon 10:37- your post actually made me teary! Esp the God"s love part.... I have been through a deep depression path too but the same LOVE OF GOD BROUGHT me back, now am HALE & HEART! It Wasn't an easy battle at all....
Then you should educate yourself on the issue