People feared dead after trailer falls off Ojuelegba bridge & lands on cars | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 2 September 2015

People feared dead after trailer falls off Ojuelegba bridge & lands on cars

OMG! This horrible incident happened around 4.45pm. A trailer skidded off the Ojuelegba flyover a and landed on top of a car and an SUV, crushing some occupants in the vehicles. Can't these trailers and tankers be banned from driving during the day? They carelessly drive around without their locks being hooked, putting lives in danger. See photos from this horrific accident after the cut...

195 comments:

Rest in peace

Diary of Dido said...

My God! Lord save them......

Just saw this update on a friend's dp and pm. God have mercy oh!

It just hapen not quite long I was there rip to dead very sad

OMG! Daylight horror. #MercifulGod

Oh dear, this is sad. What's with the recent accidents with trailers these days. Na wa o.

D suv is rite off

Oh dear, this is sad. What's with the recent accidents with trailers these days. Na wa o.

D suv is rite off

ohwolerbee said...

It was really a terrible sight,the driver n d conductor ran away,thought they've agreed that trailers move by night....imagine the number of lives they just wasted....i was on the other side of the bridge when this happened....hmmmmm

OMG,,,,,ember month,,,,,may God presv his children,,,,RIP to dem,,,,dix xtremely sad

***odikwa risky nd tyt***

D truck driver is an idiot.

This is Olashile (chilavet)... May Gog help us and i love ur blog

Wow! This is serious. Bad news everywhere. What a way to start the new month. God help us. Mo-1

Holy Jesus! Wat is dz??

*lib's namesake*

aproko manager said...

Jesuuss

God of mercy! May the souls of the departed RIP

Goverment should ban this type of cars frm moving on road nw..... What nonsense....

please Governor Ambode should do something about this...its becoming too much

http://weeklyfixpay.com/?ref=242709

Wow! Horrible indeed...God help us

God have mercy on me. I just passed that place to go and fuck

Ummmmm ni ojuelegba.....

Always busy

Auntie linda.......

Ummmmm ni ojuelegba.....

Always busy

Auntie linda.......

Linda Darling, Use Oh My God and not OMG when reporting stuffs like this. The later sounds so creepy and insincere somehow with this sorta news. Use OMG for talking about Kanye been slapped a shagged by Kim.

*kisses*.

Love. Festus.

OMG!!! This is a federal tragedy.I've always opined that trailers & all other heavy trucks plying our roads should have a separate road & deport of their own.So many deaths could be avoided

Crushing would be an understatement......... When every am in a bus/car and a trailer is nearby, my spirit normally leaves my body......all tnks to Linda Ikeji for her trailer crushing stories......pray there won't be much casualties

Lord have mercy!

mbk said...

OMG

Lord have mercy on your children.

Oluwadamilola said...

Too sad..

SEE OUR GOVERNMENT EEEEEEEEEHNNNNNNNNN TRAILER AS NO BUSINESS ON BRIDGES I WONDER WHAT THIS SO CALL GOVERNMENT IS DOING OMG

Good have mercy on Us, this is indeed terrible

Jesus!

#It WiLL OnLy GeT bEttER
#it MusT eNd iN pRaiSE

was there Live, 2 blocks away 4rm ma work place. it actually involved a white Nissan sedan car and an EOD. EOD is write off, can only see d rims. jezz heard a Loud Bang n that was it. up Until now no emergency response service on ground. the EOD occupant or occupants never knew it was gon end dis way 2day. God help us all

Hmm sad indeed?ambode should do some thing fast,what will be cause of this if not bad road.

Man Of God said...

this is horrific! i pray no life will be lost IJN

Such a pity!

as much as i would continue to blame the lagos state gov and FRSC ,they dont need rocket science solution to know that banning all this useless not road worthy trailers from moving within the state from 1am - 5am would save lives and place heavy fine on trailer owners that break the law or transport goods in an unsecured ways ,i just hate to read about all this aviodable death ,The stupid ambode that should know better was busy accusing fashola for fruad ,useless people ,useless state ,dead brains politicians that care less about the ordinary person .

With this larest and hurible incident, the government should try and stop any trailer to pass through any city again apart from those to off load petrol to filing station and this should be done in the night
Just for the health and safety of our people we love thanks

Holly molly moda of f**k!!.....this is really sad!

All dis happen cos safety is not a priority in nigeria.

Ogenaija said...

Dear Lord!!!!

OMG! Our government should regulate the operations of these heavy duty vehicle. Possibly to restrict their movement from 11pm to 5am. Sad!

Why won't d trialer fall,when d yorubas hv stolen all d iron steels protect d bridge

johnmaria said...

may their soul rest in peace. God saves his children

Anaigbo said...

Just came back from Nigeria last week Wednesday, it's simply miracle how people survive on the roads every day there. It's no more holiday but horror days. Capped it with 5hours klm flight delay.Rip people

The scene is really terrible..God help us all

Ayodele Jay said...

Geez... i hope there are survivors!

#Blessed child

na wahoooooo

My Goooooooodd!, what a tragedy and cruel fate to die like this. What a life. God pls avail d victims safe passage into your kingdom. So sad

They don't hook those containers. I don't know what this frsc people are doing on the road. They never hook those containers. Lastma. They see this containers and do nothing. How long will container be crushing and killing people. Haaaaaaa

Let's our government do something to these ramper accidents and recless drivers.
The trailers shouldn't be pass through the city anytime of the day apart from. Those to off load petrol to filling stations and this could be done at night time. Any trailer drivers that violate this should band for life for droving or heavy fines and fine to the organisation of the trailer's companies . thanks

With this larest and hurible incident, the government should try and stop any trailer to pass through any city again apart from those to off load petrol to filing station and this should be done in the night
Just for the health and safety of our people we love thanks

Are the owners of these trailers being held accountable too?

Live horror. Can't begin to imagine what it feels like being in the smashed cars. Sad. Did the cars even know such fate beheld them when they set out in the morning? Very sad.

Live everyday as though it were your last.

I was at the scene of the accident. God protect us all

Omg God save ur ppl in dis Lagos

kemikane said...

Again? It's high time they move @ night. Rip to the dead. Anything can happen @ anytime. Be prepared.

My sis was in a bus just behind the SUv... Jesus :'( :'(

What kind of gvt do we have in nig...they dont care bout ppl at all..AL over the world no trailer or tanker r allowed to move in daylight only at night ..y can't our gvt follow same way ..

What a loss... May their souls RIP amen

Sweet JESUS...I hope we have survivors

Chai!

This is horrible! May d souls of the deceased rest in peace.#Anwuli

andre kelvin said...

Choi! Lord

Jesus...God have Mercy

so why are people gathered around the accident area? Isn't there something anyone can do? Someone might still be alive in one of the cars struggling to breathe and the least Nigerians can do is gather around the accident scene. Na wa oh!!

Etsako Pearl said...

Just Negodu! Carelessness@its peak!
it's well.

My God I still want to knw wot the crowd is for? Nigerians Infact lagosians are rily dumb and stupid.. haba nw! Anyway RIP to the dead.

Jeez this looks terrible.

Crystal said...

Oh my God! This is Terrible! Something needs to be done about these trailers. May the victims RIP

BrainDoctor said...

Shit, d fuck is happening in 9ja. Dis sad

WeALTHY ChIC said...

Omg, this is bad.

Please there should be enforced law that bans all trailers that don't hook their containers. This is becoming an every day occurrence. Our leaders don't value life.

hun!!!!!!!!!! God deliver us from road accident

JESUS

Ladun Liadi said...

FOR HOW LONG WILL THIS CONTINUE?! HOW MUCH DOES IT TAKE TO SECURE A CONTAINER FIRMLY?? THIS IS MANSLAUGHTER COS IT COULD HAVE BEEN PREVENTED.

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

Father Lord!

Nelly said...

Ooh God have mercy. Linda last born.

So painful

Almighty Lagos State, no emergency service. They're all just watching like clowns.

QUEEN SHEEBAH said...

Ahhh God have mercy ooo...this is the 1st time I will see something so horrible in my area...may their souls rest in peace

Only God will save us from the hands of these careless fools. Playing kalokalo with ppl lives

OMGGG!!!!!!hehhehehhehehehhe dn't even knw wat to say.....

....Am gettin dere...

They were banned.Then Nigerians screamed and cursed.I'm really sorry for us.The government puts certain measures and takes certain decisions in our best interest but we fight them.its well.

Trendyify said...

Lord have mery, may their souls rest in peace, chai

it is well

Jesus Christ! Govt shd ban dem as u v said linda, dis is more dan horrible. How I wish d occupants of d cars wl survive d accident

Jezzz lord plz let dem survive plz lord

Omg ,Jesusss

If the rail system is working these would have being reduced, government never keep to their part of the deal and want people to keep paying tax, these people are tax payer

OMG! This is so sad. Government honestly needs to do something about this truck. I so dread it!!!

SMURF said...

I support you oh, they shld be working from 10pm to 5am!!! There is no traffic by then!!!

Daddy we pray 🙏 for ur mercy....

it happened 4:30pm on the dot. there were 2 cars involed, one was completely crushed while the one in front was partially crushed tho the driver escaped

Oh my world!!! God save us from this weird country.

Ooohhh my God!!
And to think I was under right at that spot an hour befre
Thank you lord for the safety of going out and coming in
RIP to the dead

Omg!!! May the Lost soul RIP. Around my Work side. Sad news

The problem with these stupid trailers is that there are driven by unqualified drivers.

Pls can they do something about it ASAP, to search for survivors. Instead of people watching and taking pictures! This is so tragic.

flaky said...

I pray nobody dies and let there be no life threatening injury. What I don't understand is stupid VIOS and lastma officers are always around that area yet they don't see anything with the way containers are carelessly placed on these trailers. May God save us in this country. Won fi Ete le, won n pa lapalapa.

this is very bad, looks so bad

Father have mercy..so pathetic

MASTER KEY BOOKS said...

may God save us

kunle oyewole said...

na thunder go kill that trailer driver

God have mercy, ubara jesus.

Chimoo!

God have mercy!!!

Aha!

Almighty Ojuelegba on spotlight wit dis tragic accident. Lord help and save us frm tragic accidents annd untimely deaths.

Onomiroro Dono Okeh said...

Terrible! The drivers of tankers usually act like demigod.

Have you heard a 5years old boy talk about having slept with more than one girl in his class?

Kindly click

Child Sex Education: Why Should Parents Bother when it is an In-built Instinct in Man?

Relationship Series 2: When the Heart is Kept in a Safe.

Raped at Gunpoint.

BEKEE said...

Jesus!

So so sad. May God protect us all from an untimely and painful death such as this. May God console the families of the victims and may their gentle souls rest in perfect peace. Amen.

Omg! They should banned completely...this is so sad

onyinye eddy said...

Omg,exact spot I was standing wen I got down frm an Aguda bus.dis is just terrible.Rip to d dead.God help us all in dis country

Horrible accident.

Important!  Do this tonight if you care about your brain

Horrible accident.

Important!  Do this tonight if you care about your brain

Goaldyn Boy said...

This is terrible! The sight of that container squeezing that car so flat is making me shudder! This could have happened to anyone! That's why we all need to call on our government particularly the Ministry of Transport and Road Safety Commission to take drastic action against these trailers carrying containers! Most of the trailers are not fit and strong enough to carry containers talkless of climbing a flyovers! They should make a rule that only strong trailer should carry containers! And there should be an agency in place to check these trailer! And they should not be allowed to move in daytime! And the drivers should be well trained and mentally checked!....... I really doubt if the occupants of those vehicles were able to escape because there's no way they could have seen it coming! This accident is similar to the airplane that crashed in people's roof in Iju while they were inside their house!

All trailers should not take flyovers. It's meant for fast cars. When will we start giving value to safety and human life in Nigeria?

Can u imagine all the people that "containers" have killed in this God forsaken excuse of a country!!!!!!!!!!

This is AWFUL Linda!
I urge the Lagos State Govt and other state Govt, as a matter of urgency to enforce the following:
1) NO TRAILER, TRUCKS, TANKERS OR ANY HIGH CAPACITY VEHICLE SHOULD PLY THE ROADS B/W THE HOURS OF 5AM-1AM GOING FORWARD!

2) NO SUCH VEHICLES SHOULD PLY THE BRIDGES ESPECIALLY WHEN THERE ARE ALTERNATIVE ROUTES THEY CAN TAKE, ( THE GROUND ROUTES).

May God help us in this country!

damn shame... I wish it didn't happen

This is tragic and horrifying. Dear Uncle Ambode, please raise a sanction now.

Add Jules on 2BFAD98B for Organic Beauty products.

Nigeria. This is also the change we need
'Presh'

This is more than enough reasons why the railways should be used for transporting goods

Lord have mercy

THIS IS AWFUL LINDA!
THE LAGOS STATE GOVERNMENT AND OTHER STATE GOVERNMENTS SHOULD AS A MATTER OF URGENCY, ENFORCE THE FOLLOWING:
1) NO TRAILERS, TANKERS, TRUCKS OR ANY SUCH HIGH CAPACITY VEHICLES SHOULD PLY THE ROADS BETWEEN THE HOURS OF 5AM-1AM GOING FORWARD.

2) NO SUCH VEHICLES SHOULD PLY THE BRIDGES ESPECIALLY WHEN THERE ARE ALTERNATIVE ROUTES TO BE TAKEN (THE GROUND ROUTES).

MAY GOD HELP US IN THIS COUNTRY.

OMG God have mercy

I have never comment on any blog in my life I read n I waka pass but I can't ignore dis post. Seriously dis trailer carrying container issue is getting out of hand big time. I witness this kind of accident @ apapa last year n each tym dis monster pass on d road d way I dey pack well no dey part 2 ooo. They need to stop dem from driving during day time.

sad story

O.N. Progeny said...

No, they won't do something about it, not when they provide them easy blood of sacrifice, and the very owners their fellow criminals and looters. If trailers were market women, what would have happened? They'd be banned off existence, mtcheeeew!

Two things: do not allow rotten cars or trucks enter the country. It is a way of rich countries dumping their thrash in Africa. Secondly trucks should not be driven by illiterates but by well paid professionals. Everyday in Nigeria there is accident because people that have no business driving bicycles are driving buses and trucks. Nigerians please appeal to your leaders for reform

Chai

Boco james said...

oooo geeeeezzz!!! pls the should stop this truck moving day time oo.. road safty should wipe out all bad and Crockett trucks on the road oo

This is a big tragedy...Government should do something abt this trucks falling everywhere...just last week a truck fell here in Ph..thank God no life was lost

Asampokoto said...

That's what was on my mind. You find survivors in the oddest situations.

anne said...

Horrific. God protect us form untimely death

Aha!

Almighty Ojuelegba on spotlight wit dis tragic accident. Lord help and save us frm tragic accidents annd untimely deaths.

Durante said...

Ohhhhhh! Lord have mercy on your Children and forgive us our sins.It is well...!

Population Reduction Vehicles.

Lord ve mercyyyy!

yet another one, and nothing would be done about it..... first government agencies needs to look for lasting solutions to this horrible stuffs being done by dis trailers. den Nigerians need to stop dis habit of looku looku wen tyns like dis happen. while emergency response is being awaited..ppple could organise meanifully to perform rescue missions n not just stand there and create unnecessary hold ups. rip to d dead.

It is cars or trailer we are talking about here?

OMG! Dis is heart wrenching. Mcheeeeeeew! Linda take note!

omg...this horrific....God helps

Rest in peace to the dead.

Aha!

Latest news on NTA news dis evening...
All d 3 person in d SUV car died while d driver in d Honda car survived.

RIP 2d dead!

Latest news on NTA news dis evening...
All d 3 person in d SUV car died while d driver in d Honda car survived.

RIP 2d dead!

Hmmm na waoh! May dead ones souls rest in peace.

This is horrible o, Rip to d victims

*cute bree*

You aren't very smart! You clearly can't read or see pics clearly! Dumbo!

this happened rite in front of me,while i was come bck from work in ojota

Gracious Lord have mercy.This incident is serious. Let the government as a matter of urgency ban all heavy trucks from using our bridges as well as routing through high densely areas

Black Wednesday

nesky said...

too bad rip to them all

THIS IS PATHETIC. I AM ACTUALLY REALL REALLY ANGRY THAT THIS HAPPENED AT ALL. ITS BECOMING ONE TOO MANY FOR THAT MATTER TOO FREQUENTLY, AND SOME NEW GOVERNOR WITH BIG HEAD DOESNT SEE HOW TO RESTRICT HEAVY DUTY VEHICLES AND CONTROL THEIR MOVEMENT, AND ENFORCE SAFETY REGULATIONS! THE TRUTH IS THAT THE VICTIMS COULD BE ANYBODY'S RELATIVE. THIS IS VERY VERY VERY SICKENING AND I BLAME GOVERNMENT! THESE USELESS POLICEMEN AND L;ASTMA WILL BE HARASSING INNOCENT MOTORISTS

ITS ALWAYS HAPPENING. HOW DO U NOT STRAP UR CONTAINER? WELL. WHAT IS GOVERNMENT DOING ALL THESE YEARS??

Ehi said...

Omg! It is only in this part of the world that u can see all these avoidable death. What a shame!

Just like ur english

so sad

U for fly go dia nah....mtcheeew

This Ambode's govt Na wa ooo. Since he was sworn in,Na so so trailer accident and fire.

it is i said...

May their souls rest in peace. Linda I believe the container was well secured to the trailer cause if it wasn't the trailer and tractor unit wld not fall with it. The cause shld b investigated so we can ve a solution that wld avert it from happening again instead of rushing to wrong conclusions that wild not help solve the real problem

Dt ojuelegba bridge needs renovation....d bridge is no more is bend kind of.dis is nt d 1st time dis is happening .its jst dt d Last time It happened.it ws only d driver dt died.i drove tru dis same route dt dis trailer fell arnd 3pm nd while I ws approaching a trailer drove passd d bridge @same time nd I cn ow d trailer ws bending 2 one side ,it crossed my mind immediately dt trailers dt trailers r liable 2 fall frm dis bridge.

AMBODE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE START SEIZING AND HEAVILY FINING THESE TRAILERS THESE MURDERS ARE GETTING OUT OF CONTROL

Omg,lord jesus help dem all

Yes, may they rest in peace. LINDA HAVE YOU NOTICED THAT THESE CONTAINERS ARE NOT SECURED TO THE CARRIER VEHICLE WHILE BEING TRANSPORTED? Dangerous. LINDA LEASE DO A POST ON CONTAINERS NOT BEING ATTACHED AND SECURED, PLEASE, PEOPLE VALUE YOUR OPINION.

Oh my God, may their gentle souls rest in peace.

We manage too much in this country and this is the result....somthing is bad instead of fixing and making it right...we manage am.......hope the owner of that truck feels fulfilled now

i think trailers should be stopped from using the road during the day and road safty should do more to check mate this trailers before allowing ply the road,to avoid such accident again

Ds is getting too much our pple are dying every day bcos of ds careless truck and trailer drivers govt should sanction a penalty for any truck or trailer driver dt is found driving during d day. May the souls of dead rest in peace.

Jesus is a Christian...

Fool,can u. Move a heavy container with ur hands, d crowd u saw there sent a notification for rescues. They ar there to help too. DUMB HEAD. Mumu, u just so so dumb.

JESUS!!......

but why will our leaders allow this kind of thing to be happening.infact i am speechlees for now, with tears and sorrow in my heart, i say may the souls of the victims rest in peace amen

flakeey said...

Linda, I was in the traffic for more than 4 hours, it was hell

oh my God pls Save us oooo

rest in peace

oh my God pls Save us oooo

Lord ve mercyyyy!

exactly. They should be banned for crying out loud. OMG hope nobody died.

It caused a terrible accident yesterday. Something need to be done cos we cannot be losing lives everyday, something that could be avoided. So sad, RIP

We should grow up as a nation Nigeria and learn from the challenging Safety issues we experience that stir death in our faces daily. I had a near miss on the 6th of January this year just at the same spot in Ojuelegba! with same kind of incidence. Thank God it was a near miss. We need to braced up as a nation and decide on redefining, reenacting safety policies with strict enforcement. Honeslty, the sight if this is so gury, needless should we have lost the lives of those who involved and cut short brilliant destinies. Trallers should be banned from ploughing this routes. May God help us

abiks said...

may God help us

oh my!!!

What a terrible death, may their souls rest in peace Amen.

blame the government for putting a trailer like that on the road not to talk of having it on the bridge