MDCN to verify doctors in FG employ | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 27 August 2015

MDCN to verify doctors in FG employ

Following the discovery of a fake doc­tor, Martins Ugwu, who worked in the Federal Ministry of Health for 9 years, using the cer­tificates of his friend, Dr. Davidson Daniel George, the Medical and Den­tal Council of Nigeria (MDCN) has commenced verification of all doctors employed by the Federal Government.

Registrar of the MDCN, Dr. Abdulmunin Ibrahim, said in an exclusive in­terview in Abuja, that the detec­tion of Ugwu, who rose to become the chairman of Nigerian Medical Asso­ciation (NMA) chapter of the Health Ministry, was a pointer to the possibility of many other impersonators working for government.

Ugwu had been ar­raigned before a Federal High Court in Abuja, on a five-count charge for im­personation and stealing of a Bachelor of Medicine Degree of the Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria.

In the criminal charge, where he pleaded not guilty, Ugwu was also alleged to have stolen a Bachelor of Surgery De­gree and National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) certificates belonging to one Dr. Daniel George.

Beside his arraignment, the Permanent Secretary of the Health Ministry, Linus Awute, at a briefing, stated that the ministry was computing all sala­ries and allowances paid to the impersonator.

In­vestigations showed that the ministry had computed the salaries and allowances paid to Ugwu from September 21, 2006 to May 31, 2015, to be approximately N17 million.

Ibrahim said the coun­cil, which regulates the practice of medicine in the country had written to the Head of Service, the Fed­eral Civil Service Com­mission and the Federal Ministry of Health to fur­nish it with the list of all doctors working for the Federal Government, for proper verification.

Daily Sun

22 comments:

That's de right step to take

I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

That's de right step to take

I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Coming very late but a very commendable.

Amy said...

Good one. Plenty ghost workers everywhere . Pus half of them don't even know the work sef. That's how one injected me wrongly in my gum and almost sent me to my ancestors, if not for the intervention of senior doctor .

Nice one from MDCN.

For 9years??? Na wa o

#it WILL only GET better
#IT must END in PRAISE

Hmmmmm na wa o.

sexy Cha Cha said...

I'm sure dere r still more

Trendyify said...

it is well

Good riddance to bad rubbish

Ok.
Nice one.

NA DEM SABI.......MY OWN NA WWW.STREETREQUEST.COM

Dis is most needed and necessary...
I pray it goes well and it mak d needed impact.

Igbos are a huge disgrace, must anything fraud be associated with us.....9yrs with false certificate, in a profession as serious as medicine, I tot they normally verifiy the authenticity of ones degree from the university it was obtained from

uche said...

So where is the real Dr. Davidson Daniel George.
Was he culpable?
Is he dead?
...incomplete story!

It is a welcome development. Linda take note!

Thank you ACE! I thought am the only one who noted the disjointedness of this story!If the said impersonator is able to practice medicine and rose to the position of a leader then he must have known his onions!All the rubbish we see in NMA! Abeg na set up

Ur such an idiot. Ur a disgrace to igbo's. go look for ur father coz u can't b one of us.