Commercial transporters clash with FRSC over Sept 1 introduction of speed limit device | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 31 August 2015

Commercial transporters clash with FRSC over Sept 1 introduction of speed limit device

A major crisis that may disrupt road transportation in Nigeria for a long period if not averted by the Presidency has broken out between commercial transporters in the country and the Federal Road Safety Commission, FRSC.

The crisis of confidence between the two parties arises over the decision by the commission to introduce speed limit device technology on commercial vehicles with effect from September 1 this year. N35,000 for device, N1,000 for installation.

It was learnt that the FRSC is working with a private Nigerian firm to enforce the controversial deal, which would require each vehicle owner to buy the device for N35,000 and pay additional N1,000 for installation.

The transporters claim that with each of the 25 million vehicles in Nigeria paying N36,000 to the FRSC, it would rake in at least N900 billion from innocent Nigerians for a technology that would not add value to their lives.

In a protest letter to the FRSC, the transporters warned the commission to desist from going ahead with the project, as it would endanger the lives of vehicles owners rather than protect them and accused the FRSC of bringing an outdated technology to Nigeria, which had long been phased out in Britain, India, Kenya, Tanzania, United States of America and Uganda because of its adverse negative effects.

The road transporters writing under the aegis of International Human Rights and Anti-corruption Society gave the FRSC one month with effect from August 17, 2015 to publicly declare the discontinuation of the device or face a court action. In the letter addressed to the Corps Marshal of the FRSC, and signed by the Director General, Dr. U.O. Udofia and Secretary General, Barrister E.A. Egbebu, the group also drew the attention of the commission that it lacks the power to introduce the said device under the Section 10 (3) of the FRSC Act of 2007.

It warned that the FRSC should adopt and use the world acclaimed Spider Technology that comes with a 3-in-one high definition camera with long range monitoring of highways to capture over speeding vehicles.

The group pointed out that while it does not oppose the use of technology to control road speed limit on the highways, it would not fold its hands and allow the FRSC to bring in anything for money-making purpose and endanger the lives of vehicle owners.

They complained that while the Spider technology was being used globally it was wrong for the FRSC to contemplate installing speed limiter on vehicles so that they do not run beyond the fixed limit even when pursued by armed robbers, kidnappers, hired killers and car snatchers. “Speed limiter in all developed and African countries had been banned.

Again speed limit device had been discovered to expose motorists to danger such as armed robbery and other dangerous exposures.
“Therefore, in a country like Nigeria where there is serious prevalence of insecurity, the installation of speed limiter in vehicles would be counterproductive and self-defeating,” the transporters said. Meanwhile, the Federal Road Safety Commission has insisted that the speed limiter will be enforced by the commission with effect from tomorrow.

Vanguard

49 comments:

Eh....?

Nigerian r nt low abiding citizens. It's a shame right. ..

Temmy said...

Na so

It is well with my soul

#iT wiLL only GeT bEttER
#it MusT eNd iN pRaIse

The truth is, even after clamoring for change, people are always afraid, unprepared for it's demands israelolu@gmail.com

NMaa said...

Frsc Ndi oshi nwuru awu. Una leave better technology to adopt banned one. Na una corrupt pass.

Change is costly. It's demanding. It dispels the status quo. Pay the price. israelolu@gmail.com

This will be another avenue for corruption. But Buhari is watching u oooo israelolu@gmail.com

They should educate our officers on hw to use dem after installing such technologies.

Pope said...

...according to the Transporters, in the event of a chase by robbers, kidnappers, hired assasins, the speed limiter will work against them. I think i support the point they are making.

This is extortion.

Say no to extortion of innocent nigerians by the frsc
eongrillz@ gmail.com

So long as it reduces road traffic accident rate

Alexshoppee said...

If that would really reduce the rate of road accident in nigeria so be it......(Naija si ma dun says alexshoppee)

hrm paul ojeih said...

Now this is a serious issue buy quite delicate and controversial. The road safety has goofed nobody uses speed limiter cos of its disadvantages which has been highlighted.Its better FRSC ports to the spider technology but on d oda hand too danfo drivers will fight this dey are in a mad rush to make quick moni they ply d road on top speeds them insisting dat kidapers wiuld chase dem I'd pure lie.kidnapers don't go after danfo but rich exotic auto mobile.so it should b fixed on danfo alone idiots

Just imagine 35k from every car owner

Uhmmmmmm they will now angrily increase their pay?
Auntie linda shay?

Jimoh Rapport said...

Supported! Nigerian institution and scam!

frsc is a real pain

Adedokun Eniola said...

Be safety concious

J3nnif3r said...

Thieves.. only in Nigeria things like this work. It's so unfortunate that somebody will just rise frm nowhere and think of how to massively defraud Nigerians with the 'government's' eyes wide open.

Tillwilly said...

i totally support this group.there are situation you need speed to avoid danger including accident too.Gej govt has lay the precedent of turning the FRSC to profit making organisation rather than safety,monitor and control organ that is really meant.they shld use was attain in the developed world.

That country is a big failure-we need proper registration. Of vehicles and the details of the owners and then install speed-limit-camera. If anyone break the speed-limit, charge the owner and the driver to court and they either get a jail term or fine-like they do here

Imagine, NURTW get sense pass our so called FRSC.

Thats just much i swear....

#FRSC should stop that nonsense# joor what is their problems? and why are they trying to use force to impose this speed limiter technology on innocent Nigerians? #FRSC should stop# the rubbish this is not PDP criminals party government oh!!!

I understand if na the price be the Bone of Contention here but to discard the introduction of the device is a welcome development. It is long overdue biko. The accidents these days are too many. Linda take note!

i think its the government responsibility to install all speed limit facilities on major roads in the country due to the frequent accident ,but charging to install it is a business from some greedy people in collaboration with frsc ,yes they should have done this long ago n the commercial drivers should shut their mouth that it wont add value ,it would save lives and help deal wih over speeding drunk drivers.

zexy said...

Hello Linda, i am an ardent LIB reader and i read your blog every 30 minutes in a day. please I want to state that the information being speculated by this human Right group is not true. Firstly FRSC has since 2009 commenced the sensitisation through seminars and about 3 stakeholders meeting to all stakeholder on the proposed introduction of speed limiter in Nigeria which is highest contributor of Road accidents in Nigeria. On daily basis we read on your blog several incidents of road accidents even as recent as last week. The introduction of speed limiter is to ensure that these drivers don't engage in over speeding considering the bad state of our major roads. I want to state that FRSC is not working with a company to implement speed limiter in Nigeria. It is on record that FRSc in conjunction with SON and Aotomotive Engineering Association advertised in the National dailies for screening of companies that intend to sell and install speed limiters and these companies were subjected to a very rigorous processes which was done in 3 stages and after that about 17 Companies were licensed to sell and install Speed Limiter and this process is on going so any company can approach the Committee on Impletation of speed limiters for such license. Furthermore it is not true that speed limiters have been banned in any Africa Country rather use of speed limiting devices is being enforced in many countries such as Kenya, Zambia, Mauritus , Rwanda and most recent is South Africa and Ghana will soon follow. These information can be verified online. Also it is not true that there is any fixed price for speed limiters, the price is determined by market forces. A company who wishes to install speed can import themselves from any part of the work at any price but the device must first comply with the standards set by SON and such company must also obtain a license from the Technical Committee on Speed limiter. On the issue that FRSC will rake in about N900b is also not true. As far as I know. FRSC are not selling speed limiters and no company is paying a dime to FRSC. As a matter of facts the Impletation of speed in on commercial vehicles in Nigeria which is not upto 7 million and it is not for all vehicles. Finally the speed limiters has more advantages than disadvantages. It will reduce road accidents on our roads and safe lives. It will encourage displayed driving on our roads. It will save cost on fuel. Please publish as a rejoinder. Chinedu Udora is a speed limiter expert

So which FRSC boss owns the company who sells and installs the device. The road transporters are right. Its an archaic device and should be stopped immediately.

CSA1559 said...

So what about when someone is in danger and need to accelerate more, fore instance in an armed robbery attack and the speed is limited? What is the advantage there.. Pls react to this question

Nonsense, what is the meaning of this? They are looking for ways to extort bus owner right

Wetin concern GEJ with this story. Idiots always find a way to rope GEJ into everything negative happening in this country. Oloshi jatijati,get a life ass wipe.

and what the heck is a speed limit device?scanning through the comments of both parties involved, i stand to be corrected but the road transport unions have got a big point.. if the speed limit device is installed ONLY on public transports, then i see a grave security risk as it would serve as a free pass for taming, robbery, hijacking and whatever.. why is the device not installed on all motorist? so as to save the police the opportunity of easily chasing down a criminal or offender. secondly, in my view, it is absolutely digusting to know that this should be an issue to discuss whereby, the death traps called roads, are less repaired or worked on. where i am, you have a speed camera installed on dangerous part of the roads and you would always be NOTIFIED via a big screen to ensure you reduce speed.. if caught overspeeding beyond the limit required, you SHALL pay through your ASS.. as every vehicle is bought with already made licence plate that would only be registered with your data.. wherever you are, you shall be found..NIGERIA HAS GOT A LONG WAY TO GO!!!

FRSC and the government should install these devices or buy portable device to check speed limits. Asking road users to buy is another way to ripe off rather than protect the lives. Besides the deplorable state of the road is a major cause to road accidents. my question is, what has FRSC and government done to create a smooth road for motorists.

With the installation of the speed limiter, what will happen to those power bikes which can be used by the armed-robbers/car-snatcher, any speed limiter for them?

FRSC has always been a means of defrauding Nigerians.
Some of the ways FRSC defrauded nigerian Includes:

1.) Introduction of New Plate number with micro chips for easy identification of Vehicle owners. And behold the new plate number were issued for N25,000 without chips.
In a sane society, Andoaka former FRSC Boss should be in jail now but was rewarded and made Minister of Aviation.

2.) There was a time FRSC started impounding cars without reflector stickers. This fraud continued until the house of assembly ruled against it.

3.) Drivers licence fraud.

The FRSC has speed limit machine that help to check any overspeeding vehicle, why do they want motorists to install again in the cars?

IFEDERE said...

FAKE FRSC

The major cause of road traffic accident is bad road and not speeding. So FRSC should first address that issue before speed limit

Oden'Igbo said...

Nnaa ihe nkea gwụrụ ike. I stopped going with Peace Mass because they have this stupid device that limits them to 100km/h.
How can I be travelling from Lag to Umuahia at such snail pace. Mbanu!
The major cause of road accidents is carelessless, not speed. How will a sane man want to overtake cars when the lane has merged to become one way due to construction works on the second lane. That is madness. That I feel is the cause of the accident involving Good is Good and Dangote last week.

Don't mind the oloriburuku with an IQ of less than percent. No wonder d oshi cldnt even pass common entrance. Ode, ewure, daft goat, moronic imbersil GEJ will still be greater than anybody in ur backwards family

Its not 'low' but 'law' Mr Electric Shok lol

Anon said...

Mr I swear lol

Speed limiters make sense if it not imposed by government agencies (FRSC). The major concern should be how to sell the benefit to motorist who would of necessity source for installing speed limiters