Prophet, wife, two children and landlady found dead | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 10 May 2015

Prophet, wife, two children and landlady found dead

A 54-year-old Abia State-born Prophet, Onyenonachi Ihezuk­wu Agwu, has been found dead in his four-room apartment in Umuosu Afugiri, in Umuahia North Local Gov­ernment Area of Abia State.

Prophet Ihezukwu, who was blind was the founder and General Overseer of Faith Healing Taberna­cle Ministry, Nkwoegwu. He was a native of Umukabia, but resided in Umuosu Afugiri, while running his ministry at Nkwoegwu.

Others who were found dead with the blind prophet in the apart­ment include his wife, Comfort Ihezukwu who was in her thirties, his 11-year-old son, Emmanuel Godwin Onyenonachi, his daugh­ter, Miracle Onyenonachi Ihezuk­wu, 13 years and his 50-year-old landlady, Mrs Hannah Okpara. Also, three fowls were found dead close to the bathroom of the four-bedroom bungalow.
A very dependable family source who spoke with Sunday Sun on condition of anonymity said that the five corpses were discovered in different places.

His words: “We were called up at the early hours of Sunday, April 19, 2015 and when we got to Umu­osu Afugiri, where they lived be­hind the Methodist Church, we saw hundreds of sympathizers, some crying and others just agonising over the unfortunate incident. We also met policemen from Afugiri Division.

“When we inquired from the police, they told us that they met the generating set on, on arrival. The generator, we were told, was bought three days before their deaths. The generator was found along the passage, inside the bunga­low and the policemen told us that they were the ones that put it off. The police said that the victims probably died from excessive inhaling of carbon monoxide pro­duced by the generator. The man was the only surviving child of his parents, late Mr and Mrs Ihezukwu Agwu. So far, we are his only direct relations, running around for the burial.”

The five corpses were found in different locations in the apartment. The wife and daughter were found in a room, the Pastor’s was found in the dining area, the landlady was found on the passage, close to the generator, and the three fowls were found clustered close to the bathroom.
According to our source, a cur­sory look around the apartment in­dicated that the victims had eaten a meal of rice before going to bed on the fateful night. It was also learnt that the lady was a regular visitor to the home of the late prophet, as she usually join the family for all-night prayer sessions. This probably explained her presence in the house on the ill-fated night.

When the policemen arrived the scene, Sunday Sun was told, they broke the door to the apartment open and met the generator still running and promptly switched it off. Going back into the past, he provided a profile of the late prophet, who he said, had lived in Kaduna for 20 years right from 1990, but relocated from there in 2012 to Nkwoegwu to re-start the ministry which he established while in the northern part of the country.

He disclosed that he was still young when the late prophet left their community for Kaduna, re­vealing that the victim was not born blind. “The blindness developed af­ter the death of his father in August 2002. After a year or two, he devel­oped sight problems, which led to this blindness. When his father died in 2002, he did not come home for the funeral, even though the mother had been dead long before then. He married before going blind.”

Sunday Sun checks revealed that he ran a flourishing ministry that conducted prayer sessions for people. Two years ago, he lived at Nkwoegwu, close to where his ministry was located. Our source disclosed that the last time he visit­ed the late prophet was in Novem­ber 2014.

“After then, I never saw him until this incident happened and we were invited to come to Umuosu. The problem we are having now is how to bury all of them because there is nobody that is directly re­lated to him except we who are his cousins and we are not financially buoyant to take on the responsi­bility of these burials.

That is why we are appealing to Abia state government and other good spirited people to come to our aid. It has become a big problem for us now.

Burying the five persons at a time is not an easy task for us. Our concern now is to get the case out from the police and make arrangements for their burial,”

Source: Sunday Sun

42 comments:

I just knew it! Exhaust fumes mehn

Oh no, may all of their souls rest in peace. Amen

Reuben Babatope said...

This is so sad.

Damilola said...

This is quite sad. Please why do people still run generators from inside the house? I just cant comprehend. No back yard?

You hear these types of stories like every other year, yet people still keep the generating sets on inside their buildings! Ha! Oh

dudette said...

Hmmm it seems it's high time we start creating awareness about harmful carbon monoxide can be....it's really sad!!

Wat a sad story,!!!

NEPA or whatever you are called whether PHCN una de try.See wetin una de cause

Only God knws wat happened. May dia souls rip

This is a serious issue ooo... But I don't think their death is as a result of generator fuem.

Joy C said...

Pathetic.
May their souls rest in peace.
Look at how many lives we v lost in this country Co's of poor power supply.
Keep your generators far from your doors & windows when running oh!

Jesus!!! Rip

9ja Parrot said...

OMG! may their souls rest in peace. Amen.

Hmmmm may their souls RIP but I doubt if is carbon monoxide from gen that kill them

Buhari give us light. How many more people have to die for the govt to do the right thing

Linda I know this man when I was in kaduna I have attended his ministry in Kaduna. The first day I went there my spirit told me never to come back there again. He told me so many lies I was just looking at him. He was once married to a fair lady they both do d business if deceiving people she died 2011wen she was about giving birth. Where I knew he was not a genuine pastor was wen he asked me what I was doing and I told him I have a shop selling provision and my husband is a medical doctor and he asked which church are we going to I told him redeem and he said I shouldn't let my husband knw I came to such a place that all does redeem people dnt use to believe in ministries. That I should pay 15000 naira for people that will fast for me and he will buy crude oil for anointing for me. Within me I said u have seen mugu. Why I went there was because of the girl I put in my shop she use to take me son to d ministry so I said lemme even go and see where u use to worship and that was it. Since then I told her not to take my son there and she later confirm to me that d man is truly not a genuine man of God. Let God continue to wipe them out

Different tins happen on a daily basic. God save, and help us frm tragic, and untimely deaths. RIP to them.

God knows best.

Ndị mmadụ anaghị anụ ihe. Bupu nu Gen na ezi! Anwụrụ ọkụ ya na-egbu mmadụ.

#Okpara_de_sam

olusamjide said...

May their soul rest in peace.
Why finding it difficult to bury the dead, must you do any party or ceremony? Abeg bury them and let them go and rest instead of looking for way to raise money for the funeral

Number of deaths from gensets is alarming.The power Situation has Götzen worse with lese than 20hrs of light a week.out leaders failed us turning it to be a crime to be born in Nigerian.Tim28

People still neva learn d dangers of using a gen set indoors. May their souls rest in peace. Linda take note!

Ethel said...

Mmmmmmm mysteries of the planet we live in! Rip to the dead

Omg! They should have kept it far from their apartment na! This is a tragedy, the whole family, wiped out just like that, including the landlady who came to visit. May their souls R.I.P

Nky said...

Na wa oo, RIP to the deceased

That's sad!
RIP to the dead.

OMG d whole family perished,so sad

been hearing that this carbon M from generator kills, I find it weird, when you start inhaling, you must feel some type of way and move away from the area or turn the gen off now

Ha! What an awkward incident may their soul rest in peace amen

What a world...#onye Nmeri 1 of ALABA

May God not allow us buy wat will kill us....
But how can pple stil do things like dis...
Switch on a gen inside d house!
May their souls rest in peace...Amen

Vivie Lurv said...

Na wa o

May their souls rest in Peace. This is sad and painful.

This is really sad....may their souls rest in peace

There is more to to dis story than we just read. D true cause of their death is definitely not wht we r thinking. God save us frm untimely death.

Despite the number of deaths this has caused people r supposed to stop making this type of mistake. May they RIP

Stan said...

You put the gen faraway and it gets stolen, you put it closeby and you die from fumes. Which way o

Ure very stupid to call buhari's name in dis case. Is he ur president?? He's only d president elect so u betta go n tell dat fool called jonah dat dis is wat he has caused cuz he hasnt handed over to buhari so If you ddnt go to school pls go back n get educated.

Abiii. Just buy coffins n bury dem. Wat do u want to spend money for again

lami said...

Sad, may they rest in peace.