No girl should be married before the age of 17- Aisha Buhari, calls for legislation against early marriage | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 12 May 2015

No girl should be married before the age of 17- Aisha Buhari, calls for legislation against early marriage

Wife of Nigeria's president-elect, Mrs Aisha Buhari says no girl should be married before age 17. According to her, girls who are of 18 to 20 years old are better matured to give birth to a child than those who are 17 and below. Mrs Buhari said this while speaking to Channels TV at the side-line of the Global Women Conference held in Buenos Aires, Argentina shortly after her presentation on the danger women and girl child contend with daily. She pushed for legislation against early marriage..

"We have heard so much from the Ministers of Women affairs from different countries. We are trying to tally it with what is happening in Nigeria, to find out how we are lacking and in which aspect of women affairs that we are lacking and the ones that we have gone ahead. I think so far its quite encouraging.
We just need to put everything in practice than being in theory. If the government can stand up and say every girl child must attend basic primary and secondary school education before getting married. I think nobody, no girl should be married before the age of 17 because if you really attend secondary school, you will have to be like 16 and 17 and I think by the time you are 18- 20, its quite a moderate time of having a child"she said

129 comments:

Sai Mama.

I seconded!

Mama has spoken

WORD!!!!!

Aww! That's my first lady. I hope the legislation is passed.
It will be nice to see her champion this cause.
Change is here!

Yeah! I quiet agree with her.

Well said Mrs aisha buhari I couldn't agree with you more.

#FOCUS n #ACHIEVE

Nice way to start maam

U mean the northern girl child cos i dunno where else that crap happens here.. I really hope we stand up for this one cos u all need to read stories of child brides n how they get sick or even die during childbirth. It's sad..and to even think it's the alhajis at the top that practice this bullshit of marrying babies. It's quite disgusting!

What age them marry u madam?

And let us ask her when did she got married to he husband..is it not at age 14..

..JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

And let us ask her when did she got married to he husband..is it not at age 14..

..JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

Very well said Mrs Buhari.

gbemi said...

Now, thats a fucking FIRST lady!!!!!!

Chi chi said...

My First Lady anyday.

Kudos Ma. Better life for women.

Well said,bt not dis days that a 14yrs old is already a mother

thats my first lady****never bin proud***...............Give a girl-child pen not penis**old men beware

To me under age girls giving birth sometimes causes more poverty cos some guys responsible for dem are still fed by their parents

Madam, 18 years please

....tau hajia aisha,ga'ya ma su kawaiii...

Mr 47 said...

My beautiful first lady with constructive Dialog. I Love you Ma'am, unlike...?

Why not the globally accepted age of 18?
Anything worth doing is worth doing well.
Enough of child abuse in the name of marriage.

Nikki said...

This is POWERFUL! From her mouth to God"s ears!

U sound hungry, no word like sai mama.

Finally a pretty, sensitive, sensible first lady, oshe Nigerians

Hmmmmm.... we getting there.

Start in the north please..... that will help slow the population growth

Billionaire Businessman, that is exactly what she said. That an 18 year ikd have matured. Na wa oh. What is so difficult to comprehend in her starement?

Intelligent and articulate woman. Finally, a First Lady that we can all be proud of.

@joshuaGo back to school and study current affairs, Olodo! Even if she is married at d age of 10, she is correctin it now,

Who is this one? I can't stand her hypocrisy.... Madam pls go and kule in daura for your husband.

And a semi illiterate President.

Not a bad way to start

Age of 17 is still too young to me o

What is she jabbering? Ain't u supposed to be in the kitchen? Do u hv a say in the govt as u earlier campaigned?

Sure mama....I agree with u maami....

iyke cindy said...

Gbam!!! Well said# yerima nd co,take note.

Lol @semi illiterate president. He had better deliver o...semi illiterate or not.

Hun? What hypocrisy

I submitted my "Early Child Marriage" project yesterday. I wish I had seen this story earlier but I am so glad Aisha Buhari has called for a legislation on this issue. The only problem I have is the law enforcement. We have the Child Right Act 2003 intended to protect minors from underage marriage but no attention is being paid to it. Why?

AND YET She was 12 years old when the then 35yr old Buhari wedded her. Disgusting lot, all of them.

God bless you ma, you'll do well since you've started well. At least 18 years is ideal,they can make decision of their own.

And how old was she when Buhari married her? 10 yrs of course! So what punishment should be metted to those who insist on child marriage after it's been legislated on? Strigent measures must be taken...

Biko u need 2 go bk 2 school..at what age did u get married no got!!! Thanks

Tayo, does that matter now?
At least she's trying to stop early marriage

And must you sound uncouth?

That you can be proud of.
In all circumstances, always speak/write for yourself.

When did u marry madam

Madam you are so stupid and you'll be a disgrace to alot of Nigerians. Ladies can get married the moment they mature and maturity in ladies can start from the 12 or 13. Ode first lady

Nice one from Nigeroans 1st lady........

Nice talk madam

That's what she is tryna change cos it is so inappropriate.

You can say that again,One semi-illiterate Fulani General is what Nigeria needs now,not a clueless and corrupt PH.D holder.

Ode nie,she got married few months before her 19th birthday.

Yea, right. Like the aged mallams/alhajis who hunger and thirst for the flesh of young girls will ever listen to this. The taste is in the pudding, so person dey watch how this translates into real action.

Now I can hope, because the signs are looking groovy.

Thanks you my bro

Lmaooooo Anon 1:05! U b case

SDK latest commenter said...

I so much love dis woman hope she delivers wen she gets dere#Linda'sgal

She's Aisha Buhari, wife of Nigeria's President elect,a beautiful woman within and without......U won't be able to stand her cos u are tacky and uncouth just like Ur fmr First Lady.

Uche said...

Do u even know the meaning of the word?

I don't know what some people are complaining about especially concerning her marriage, she got married at 19 and went to school all while married to Buhari. And this doesn't happen only in the north o, check everywhere all over Nigeria, girls as young as 12-13 years of age willingly get pregnant, we need lots of enlightenment concerning the girl child and a law against early marriage and child abuse to protect the girl child.

jamal cojo said...

Am calm...*** far too kind ***

Yerima must hear this,

I think she shld tell us a little about herself. Sbdy insinuated she was married @ 14. Sounds like a joke, but really important. If she was marred that yg then she will have credibility on the issue. B/c then she will tell us y it's not gd 2 marry @ 17, keeping in mind that she's now the 1st Lady.

Nice one, I support her whole heartedly. Linda take note!

If you don't know who she is please keep quiet.. And what is her hypocrisy here??? She is saying the actual fact and instead of support as normal we always find an insultive statement to make..

Obviously u retarded, lets say she was married at 10,r u insinuating dt she let's sane hapun to others too???u c y I lik kippin fonts outta reach of d retarded?!!

18-20 are still too young for childbirth. At those ages, a young woman should be furthering her education or figuring out some means to earn a living.

Fool,check ur spelling before asking questions???how old ur Mama marry ur poor papa ???

If you can't stand her hypocrisy go slap a mopol abeg.

Like her husband didn't marry her as a kid

Biafra said...

Madam abeg make we hear o. We know u got married at 9 years old. So start fro your husband abeg. And your useless Hausa Fulani biggots that all they know is child marriage. We biafrans do not do dat so concentrate by telling your people dat is if u can change ur so called sharia law. Nde ARA

Now dats wa m talkin abouh

Biafra said...

Ha ha ha. Tell your sharia people this oooooo

Biafra said...

Ha madam wen marry at nine. Juan an wa o

aeesha said...

Well said namesake

Hausa Fulani. Abeg pack well. Make u tell ur people o

Madam start with yeti a Ina people pls. If u no get work go cook for ur husband. Educate ur sharia useless law not us. We're u been dey wen we fight yerima . Abeg go sleep o. Because u be underage marriage product a I. Nonsense

Pls man we hear word. See her face like child abused pickin

Shame on u ma. Who give u voice to talk. It's in ur sharia believe. If u no get work make I tell u wet in to do. Pray for ur evil deed pls. See her face like an abused pickin

Hausa Fulani. Abeg pack well. Make u tell ur people o

Stirring The Hornet's Nest-caution, Madam 'Wife-Of-The-President'

Naijarian said...

She got married to Buhari at the age of 19

First lady you make a point that is first step and don't forget to band wearing of clothes that show private body of girls in nigeria

Pepe said...

Good one madam! Carry go!

How old were you when you got married? Please preach this to your northern men and husbands

How old were you when you got married. Please preach this to your northern men and husbands

She now hates how she was betrothed to buhari at 12.

she did not marry at 14, and if she does, it will be the more reason to fight the course.

Aboki thanks for the appropriate response to Joshua stupid comment /response. .

Well said madam

Loll...good analysis

JohnCrown said...

Attention seeker; why not tell them what age you got married to the general. Mcheeeewwww

Thank u anonymous this time around is the opposite

Good talk, and God bless her.

Finally a first lady that has meaningful opinion about real issues

She got married after her NCE, she couldn't have married her husband at 14, she married her husband at about 24, after which she proceeded to ABU for her degree.

Onyeoma said...

Madam you are making sense but at what age did you marry? well i hope you are referring to your Hausa brothers.

Nky said...

Trust me, the Muslim brothers will so hate her for this.. Lolz

Leeely Clinton said...

And to think that this woman married GMB at the age of 9years!!! OK oooo. These people are just hypocrites!! except of course, she regrets everything and now know better. Wow, she's talking from experience ooo.

God Bless you o @AbokiDaWarriBoy this people out of their quest for criticism refuse to see the right things, even if she got married at age 5 she had no say nor choice then, and now that she in a position to correct it are you saying she shouldn't? @joshua James. #WisdomIsKey

Temilola, where hav u been? I have really missed u. Thk u for ur response.

Nice Talk.

I'm really impressed. Initially thought it won't be reviewed but I'm glad with this initiative.

Pls while you are at advocate for female representation in the government of your husband before the leave us behind. women that read off their heads and are qualified for government positions
better than their male counterparts should be considered first.

Musessy said...

I strongly disagree with you. How will you prove this empirically? When does puberty sets in, in girls. Let us not talk about what we do not know about. God who created us has not put any age for child bearing.

Shut up. Your husband said no office of first lady. You started.

How old were you when you got married? Please preach this to your northern men and husbands

Please Linda, is she talking from a bitter personal experience? How old was she when Buhari raped and disvirgined her. Now i agree that rape and child abuse leave deep indelible scar on the victims' psyche if after years of her experience Aisha Buhari still feels bad about being sexually abused at 14.

What happened to I am just mrs buhari and not first lady, and I won't get involved in politics, and first lady's office died with miriam babangida? people should never make proclamations in ignorance. Now she had to bite the bullet

Like she had a choice! Are u a fool? She's trying to help young girls... Use ur brain. Ish.

@Eze Ndemba. You are a big fool. It is your mother that was raped and disvirgined. If you dont have something intelligent to contribute, just shut up. Must you comment? Fraustrated poverty mentality shrinking goat!

I have been reading comments, this is the most disgusting and annoying of all of them, don't even know y Linda had to post it, this LIB is filled with so much retarded ppl who are frustrated with their lives.... and am sure ur family poverty is affecting ur brain ode like u, u Ppl don't read so u don't know anything, ,, Buhari married her before her 19th birthday, fool

Abeg fool shut up if u don't have anything to say, u are just empty head, and am sure u are very poor, cos poor ppl think like retards, mumu

Eddie David said...

People like myself as a scriptwriter and independent film-maker im also against girl child marriages and even have a film project to support this cause but cant seem to get funding for the didactic film production. Im using this medium to kindly reach out to people for their support. Contact me to find out more about my project titled 'SOLACE'. Facebook eddiemacaulay@live.com or call 08138152449

Eze Udemba you are very silly to refer to her like that. It is your mother that you are refering to. I pray Buhari bans all these social media because all they do is come here to insult people

The fact that she said she doesnt want first lady office doesnt mean that she cannot try to correct some anomalies in our society. Apart from child abuse, a teenage girl getting married and giving birth at an early age is prone to a diesease called urinary tract disorder. Just because Jonathan didnt win doesnt mean you should come here to insult her for suggesting a good and healthy thing. Pls take your fraustrations and hate elsewhere

Best opinion said...

God bless u ma. I knew the buharis will not disaappoint

Your level of reasoning is pitiable. You need help. I feel sorry for you. Please stay single, it will be sad for any woman to reproduce with such an illetrate. #PovertyOfTheMind.

Linda take note for what? Begging spirit... begger!!!

Even if she married Buhari at 17 years, what is wrong if she now wants to correct it because she has seen that it is not good. Some people use their experience to correct things. Pls give her a break and stop all the unecessary insults. It is like an Aids patient coming to correct people by telling them not to have sex before marriage. The person obviously doesnt want people to experience what he has experienced. So please stop criticising and insulting someone that is trying to help. It seems like the sun in Nigeria is too hot and it is making Nigerians to always insult people instead of having a decent conversation. Fraustrated fools!