Nigerian female student sentenced to death in Malaysia for drug trafficking | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 14 May 2015

Nigerian female student sentenced to death in Malaysia for drug trafficking

A 30 year old Nigerian female student in Malaysia identified as Mary George Unazi, was sentenced to death by the Malaysian High Court today May 14th for trafficking 765.9gm of metamphetamine at the KL International Airport (KLIA) on May 10th 2011.

The presiding judge, Judge Datuk Ghazali Cha, while delivering his judgement said all evidence brought against her proved that she was indeed guilty of trafficking the banned substance. He said she had failed on her part to convince the court that the bag which contained the substance wasn't hers

Unazi was arrested at the baggage claim area at the international arrival hall of KLIA. She was charged under Section 39B(1)(a) of the Dangerous Drugs Act 1952 of Malaysia which carries a mandatory death penalty upon conviction.

101 comments:

Good for her

Always igbos. Lindaobserve

And she's igbo... Kikikikiki

My goodness not again. Aww why engaging in such act??

nawa for Nigerians. Common sense not common

Phew! Not again, when are they going to learn.
Its quite unfortunate how they see the huge risk involved in drug trafficking but couldn't resist it. Asia is a no go area, at least they should have gone to America where they will only get jail sentence and come out as musicians.

Why people no go ever learn i swear....

Should I pity her now?
Asian countries most especially dominant Muslims countries don't play with law, but no they Wouldn't hear. Rip in advance.

Bhet y?

Nawao hmmm must dey kill

Dis pple v come again o, dey shd knw der r sm countries dat doesn't waste tym wen it comes 2 drug trafficking. Our pple wl never hear word, our govt shd pls stand up n c wat dey can do abt it b4 d deed is done

never you play with Asians at there airport.She is not coming home even money cannot save her.

How sad wow
www.adhubbing.blogspot.com

Rip gurl
U guys ova dia dnt learn d easy way.

Ndi igbo kwenu

When will Nigerians eva learn!

e don set again.
STAY OFF DRUGS.

Oskirin said...

RIP in advance.una no dey hear word,abi na only una dey suffer 4 ds country? U no see road carry am go columbia or mexico,na malaysia u cum carry am go whn u knw say na death penalty.woo,linda,i wan go sleep,no light since mornin.

Why people no dey hear word??? Abi na say life don tire dem. Linda take note!

Why are Some Nigerians spoiling the image of the country.

Visit nairausd.blogspot. com for factors affecting Dollar to Naira exchange.

The Malaysian govt is not playing @ all

These people just won't hear word. Did their parents not flog them well?

Wonder wen Nigerians will learn. Rip to her in advance.

Eyaa...she maybe innocent of the crime, who knows

This asian countries aren't joking mehn...

Death kwa????

Fast lane!!!!!!! Naija wen re we going to learn our lessons?????

Too bad!

Mk Malay no try dis one...

Sad.

Here we go again

So sad. She de do ashawo work for naija now. It is also very lucrative.

Eya! when will all this stop?

Igbo people again??? Dem use crook means of making money swear for una??? Na wa oooo

Damilola said...

We just never learn do we

Igbo people and quick money

Oooo not again

Serves her right,lOoking for quick money

why cnt dis people just stop?they get killed evryday yet they wont stop.i dnt pity anybody anymore

dis 1 na die

Chai *hits joint

Saheed said...

For how long will Nigerian youths be suffering from this continous political disaster that has frustrate every citizen to become desperate at the detriment of their lifes?

First of all, why should I school in malaysia? Una sabi travel o!

Chai.. Her name is sorry!!!.. I feel for her family. Get rich quick or die trying..

Aaaaaah this is bad n sad too

Ehn ehn rip to her

stancheph said...

Sorry for her...

but why?, is it only drug trafficking that can make them rich?

I don't blame her ,I blame Nigeria, when you've stayed in the house for 12 years after graduation and serving your country without job,then you will know why,..Nigeria has the highest amount of university graduates if not mistaken in Africa ,and what do the boast of it with, Keke drivers,fast food employees, shop care takers,..as suspect would say any hustle na hustle, just don't get caught period. .

...I'm not supporting what she did but Malaysians are racist. I've been there before and I know what I'm saying. she should have known that Malay is not like other countries u can tamper with Na. may God help her.
#seentiasleek

Lol. Musicians? .u crazy dude

Must dey traffic.

U are an idiot and u will rot soon

Certainly not good for her, but good for the country.

Always Igbo kwe Nu

oya jobless people go and start protesting and demonstrating...

ASAMPOKOTO said...

It's actually not always as straight forward as you people think. Some people get forces, blackmailed and threatened to do this shit. Jst saying. All of you saying good for her smh! It could be anybody

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Our government spoilt it a long time ago. So me I dont know what U are saying

Igbo people must be the only ones suffering in this country.

They never learn! All in the quest of living the high life

I don't knw when will Nigerian stop this rubbish, I bet you if u go and check u won't find her name in the Nigerian embassy in malaysia, she is claiming the bag is not her, I belive b4 she check in the airport sercurity will warn her not ti carry anybody lagguage no matter how close the person is to you so u don't get in to trouble. She just telling and argue lies that is common among drug trafficker from Africa.

The way you are talking you are sure to be next.

And this fool says shes igbo.. .wen igbo ppl start dey bear unazi? Mind wat u say nigga

Mumu of the 21st century... Na hate go kill u.. .ode buruku

So Nigerians have not learnt.

Some fools here be saying the name Unazi is an igbo name. Na una type go dey argue say niaja has 35 states.. Ode ppl. If u dont knw Unazi na kogi name. As far as u westerners and northerners continue to hate on ppl from the rising sun we will never have one naija. Naija is ma country BIAFRA ma fatherland. Linda post ma comments oh

So unfortunate, go to olusegunkuye.blogspot.com for the latest vacancy you or someone you know might need it. Comment and apply

sandra edah said...

At this rate I'm sure their govt are the ones planting the drugs in their luggages

...or they should have come to Nigeria where they will only get jail terms and come out as presidents, political god-fathers, party leaders...(I'm so tempted to call Obasanjo and Tinubu's names shaaa but I won't! )

LoGic.

...or they should have come to Nigeria where they will only get jail terms and come out as presidents, political god-fathers, party leaders...(I'm so tempted to call Obasanjo and Tinubu's names shaaa but I won't! )

LoGic.

LoGic.

Another Igbo . Characteristics of Ibo pple; drug trafficking, kidnapping, human trafficking, Internet fraud , baby factory , fake products, 419, armed robbery, ritual killing ,writing election results without voting etc

What if it wasnt her bag. Most of us are concluding that she did it already

Educated illliterate torobbers from south waste. Unazi is not igbo name.

wesley Ike said...

U are a fool

wesley Ike said...

U are a fool

wesley Ike said...

The Yoruba guy that got killed in Indonesia nko no trible stereotypes then?

Akin' Odunsi @gr8akin said...

@Tochi, no amount of frustration should push you to do this kind of thing in a country like Malaysia! It's not ur own country, they have their rules, she should have learn from the recent killing of some Nigeria in Vietnam! There are so many Nigerian that are jobless here and are still pushing it and not losing hope, she's got no two heads, drugs is not the solution! I don't pity her but her parents and family.

snowhytt said...

This is not right.. what if she's really innocent of the crime and they found evidence after she dies. These Malaysians dare not treat an American citizen that way. They could have given her life imprisonment or just deported her... #myopinion

Allyou people shouting ibo, is Unazi an Ibo name. Stop this hatred let Nigeria move forward

So school when dem send you go nor reach you abi? Na to push drugs;oya now...no be drug you carry come but na e you wan carry go#Kiss Daniels voice
...NA ZO I

She's not igbo she's ikwerre

Shut Ur mouth... she cud b innocent, who kws....
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * *

Most Yorubas lack any sense of the geography of Nigeria. If it is not a muslim name or a Yoruba name , then such a person must be an Igbo! Unazi is not an Igbo name but these people ever ready to smear Igbos are up to what we know them too well for. Unazi is an Idoma

Unazi is Idoma not Igbo

Gov. Amaechi's Girl said...

Ibos I hail thee

She is supposed to be a student. She has not even graduated. She has wasted her life. How come Nigerian airport never catch those smuggling drugs into Nigeria because we also have drug addicts in Nigeria. It means our immigration will collect bribe from them and that's the end of the matter. Poverty is a diesease. Stmcheew

All this drug barons will not stop till the kill half the Igbo population in Asia. China have 120 Igbos waiting to be executed. Please the need to do a public announcement in the east about the dangers of trafficking to Asia.

Emeka Ihebie said...

While not condoning or supporting what she did, I am really ashamed and shocked at the way some commentators on this blog arrived at the conclusion that the girl is an Ibo and generally ascribing drug pushing and quick cash syndrome to the Ibos. I feel more shocked that Linda Ikeji is approving such falsity laced comments on her blog. The lady's name is Mary George Unazi. Unazi is not an Ibo name, just as Ogenyi Onazi is not an Ibo guy. I don't know why some people think more with their hand than their brain.....Please Linda try to moderate the comments on your blog and weed out such tribalism laced and inflammatory statements.....if you like don't post my comment. Nonsense!

soo kidnapping in Nigeria, drug trafficking in Asia - current trend

i opened dis thread cos i know a fool like dis will attach dis to the Igbos! sorry shez not Igbo.

This Davido just want 100k kawai!! who says shez Igbo

who told u Unazi is an Igbo name..haters go nd die

Unazi is not Igbo, haters bury ur selves cos Igbos make u sick

ur hate will lead u no wia but eternal damnation.

Unazi is not an Igbo name, you just exhibiting sheer hatred! The igbo man is hard working nd not lazy. Lazy tribes like urs just beefing on dem....No matter how much u try, u cannot ignore de Igbo person. Its a tribe wit a resilient culture. They are like the caucus plant. They can survive nd thrive in any environment. No matter how much you judge dem, you must give it to them

ode, that's the narrative chinua and chimamanda gave you people. keep operating with it and keep dying like goats.

Fucking igbo people. Always disgracing our beloved country. Must u get rich by all means. Idiots. Na dem dey destroy nigeria. Tribal people. Scammers. Everything sef