Is Buhari ready for internet generation, social media, free speech? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 10 May 2015

Is Buhari ready for internet generation, social media, free speech?

In your opinion, do you think General Buhari is ready for you people, the internet generation? Can he handle you lot? Do you think he’s ready for social media, free speech and democracy? I ask because I saw an interesting article on Sahara Reporters by a guy named Paul Omoruyi where he asked really important questions regarding the president-elect and new media. Some of what he wrote below...
Buhari’s government had a bad rap sheet for purportedly using military decree (the popular Decree 4) to incarcerate two Guardian Newspaper writers, Ndukar Irabor and Tunde Thompson. Although it appears Nigerians have “forgiven” the General for some of those undemocratic measures of the past, the question now is: can “President Buhari” take the same “social media inferno” that President Jonathan was baked in throughout his presidency? Can President Buhari come to terms with the new social media world? One thing is certain; Nigerians will use social media to caricature him, probe his government and hold him accountable for those he surrounds himself with.
Social media will buzz with different shades of First Lady Aisha Buhari; maybe, just maybe not to the same level of former First Lady Patience Jonathan’s popular “diaris God oooo”.
How would Buhari react when Nigerians call him names, criticize his government and policies and make mockery of Aisha on social media? If Buhari’s response to AIT covering his inauguration ceremony is anything to go by, it appears that the president-elect is not ready for the new world of media criticism.
My advice to the Buhari’s team is that they start to sensitize him and prepare him for the social media storm that awaits him because he will not be getting a “free pass”; not anytime soon. I wish the new president a successful presidency. Do not forget that Nigerians are counting on you to fulfill the promises for their electing you. If President Buhari betrays the trust of the Nigerian people, APC as a party will pay dearly for it in four years!

85 comments:

Chyke said...

Let's wait and see!

That's a Big question....

Lol... I don't think Buhari will pay attention to negative comments on social media's o. Fayose $ co display their madness but he no even send.General is a real man,shekenan!

Yh yh yh we have heard decree four over and over and over abeg Sharap and let the man breath

Linda make una leave this man na only God know.

Judging from the AIT ish, Buhari is gonna be a very mean president.

Definitely he has no choice for dis is democracy. So he should abide by d oath he wil b taking if not we wil show him d way out.

He better be

That is simply inevitable, he has to find a way to handle way because that is the best form of expression fro the masses. Its high time he dropped his tyrannic nature and embrace the people and social media wholeheartedly.

I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

let's wait and see then
#LIB OBI

Am sure he will no doubt bcos naija problems no go allow am concentrate for that matter......

He's going to react exact same way de react to the cow de rear! Kai menini! #floggingtinz.... Aboki is aboki! Very short tempered pipo.

Social media is mean,social media is calous..if he couldn't tolerate AIT ,then he can't,probably cant tolerate social media..and he can't ban it because u will have to go through the legislature to do so..anyway lets hope for d best but also expect d worse...

Hmmmmmmmmm, sitdon loook...

Buhari is not Gej, difference is clear...
U can never compare integrity man to brainless and clueless man.

They will rather praise him because he is ready to save Nigeria from this storm.

Ethel said...

True talk! He better be ready for anytin! This aint d millitary era but a democratic one!

I don't think he'll be tolerating any criticism from anyone o, unlike GEJ. He has military blood flowing in him o, lol "OLD SOLDIER NEVER DIES"

He doesn't have an over bearing illiterate wife. So the wife will get much more respect from Nigerians. For GMB, I think he won the election through social media awareness. so his team should know that by now. Nigerians are very easy to lead, All he needs to do is to make himself more approachable. He should avoid too much crowd following him to public functions, His ministers should stay in their jurisdiction and allow the people see him more as a human. His security aides should reduce their oversabi, his image makers should portray him as the leader of the largest economy in the world. He should be proactive, he should make public statements on very important issues, not using his media aides like abati. He should make statements on global issues, terrorism, poverty etc. He should avoid looking dull, and carry himself like a real president should. These are all the big mistakes of the GEJ government, I never had confidence in him as a president because of his dull nature and his wife.... OMG!

He is not ready at all, as for me if his govt starts fucking up I will yab him I no get time na Nigerians elect am and I go speak up like a true nigerian. Dave now Daniel Craig

I don't think he'll be tolerating any criticism from anyone o, unlike GEJ. He has military blood running in his veins, lol "OLD SOLDIER NEVER DIES"

Linda this is old trash...It was flying around during the campaigns...I know you are a GEJist. If you're so pained by his defeat, follow him back to Otueke.

However, I think it's best you watch as things unfold after May29.

All we ask for is a peaceful environment ,lesser corruption n a good economic standard wia d basic/primary needs of all esp d poor is met.. Socia Media, free speech dos r d least of his problems

We have to wait and see cos we won't accept nothing less than democracy.

You think he isnt aware of what he's signed up for? The campaign of calumny against him by the PDP should convince you.Buhari sued no one for all the insults hauled on him but rather concentrated on his business of doing a result oriented campain.
In his words he said "I am a converted democrat".So we shouldnt expect a new convert to be as perfect as those civilians that have been in it for long.People should give this man a break .Haba!

Don't worry Linda just keep an open mind. Don't be as scared of Buhari as u are of the beehives

Paul Ofou said...

Interesting question? Is he? When was the last time he used is famous twitter account?.... We dey wait those who gave GEJ heat all thru his Presidency are not dead neither will they spare GMB

The writer Paul is a man after my own heart from these issues he raised....the in-coming president should brace himself very very well. alllllll those promises made during campaign MUST (no excuses) be accomplished to the letter....everybody is watching, and the social media is there for us all to unleash @ the slightest provocation.....we are watching

Nky said...

This is democracy..

I choputas not! Time shall tell. Linda take note!

Ready ke. I pity y'all

We know your type linda,always praying for GMBS administration to fail.God will embarrass you in Jesus name

Karlsson said...

He ll ve to come to terms with the new trends on social media. Afterall, he is a beneficial of social media campaigns that rubbished GEJ govt. Am gonna be 1 of his major critics on social media. Let's see if he ll arrest anyone for saying his/her mind
Ubanagum

Yinx said...

Military rules by their decree, and this democrazy where lots of craziness has to be demonstrated and social media has provide the avenue for it and am very sure sai baba is aware of it cuz social media is one of his election winning tools

OLAMZ said...

He already said he is a converted democrat which means he is ready to observe the tenets of what democracy is all bout... Let him assume office before all dese criticisms begin... Test him 1st... B like say linda dn dey fear for her blog these days. Lol

Buhari is now a democratic President not a military rule, people need to stop judging him by his past deed as a military ruler. If he acts out if his realm as a President, I believe we are independent enough to say we don't like it.

i pity am, i dont think he is ready cause he thinks he has the people's support? the same people hailing him today will shout crucify him tomorrow. he shouldnt believe he won cause the masses likes him, they dont, they only want jonathan out

He has to be ready whether he want it or not.

Well written.
I believe my homie will adjust.

NDBLOW said...

Linda your right, we are waiting patiently

Akin' Odunsi @gr8akin said...

Talking about how Buhari will react if he's called names, AIT did more during the campaign so he's used to it but for Social media 'wahala', I expect Mr President to understand that we are in the new age of Social Media, this is the same medium that contributed to his victory, like it or not, social media contributed at least 10% of his victory so he should know. And the people around him are very smart and intelligent so there won't be any issue at all! He's gonna be a great leader and I can't wait for May 29th! God Bless Nigeria!

Warri said...

He has no choice under a democracy and this is the age of the internet. People say whatever they like.

Let's wait till GMB finally resumes office.

Linda cogitate

Let's hope n pray it gets better

All this one na story. You guys are going down. The laws are already there to ban you guys. Una go know say khaki no be leather.

Since GEJ handled many issues and problem I equally believe that he will sure belt up to embrace the new world of social media and it's new drama and so on! But if he acts well regarding he's change initiative I really don't think that Nigerians will come after him the way they did to GEJ and his wife! Only if he fails to comply to what the masses really wished from him he will sure get the lashes because he can't escape it. I truly believe he will respond will. Cause I have seen so measures he has put out.

He has no other choice!!!!

Let us watch and see!

Adedeji Tobbie said...

Who be the mumu wey write this shit....fuck it!!!....Same way he reacted, before, during and after the elections....CALM....Dumbass writer

if whatever he does is within the confines of the law and our constitution, I support him 100 % sometimes peeps on social media and the press take the frigging piss

My take is dat he has no alternative concerning social media.Social media has come to stay.His best bet shd be to deliver all his campaign promise nothing less.I wish him luck

Why not wait and see how he (Buhari) handles it.....Patient

Ifeco said...

Can u an old dog a new trick?
One thing is sure APC should be ready for us because the same medium they used ll be used against them.

~Charles Ifeco~

Whether he is ready or not, he will not get a free pass, democracy has come to stay.

<< LIB Addict >>

ko2 said...

Correct!

He only needs to be ready to change Nigeria. Social media and free speech are all bullshit. What have these got to do with Nigeria's collaps ing economy? Get your priorities right !!!

He used social Media to win elections. All he needs is the right team and job is done. Not like Abati and Okupe.

Of course GMB really needs to be prepared because come May 29, his bane and deeds will splash the front pages of social media. Hmmm I hope he would not snap. Gg

Pidgin Mistress said...

Let's wait and see o

SMURF said...

We hope he is ready, because the Internet is ready to tear him down if he does nonsense, he only needs to employ someone to take charge of that aspect

If he is not ready Daura is calling him!

Well he made some sense but failed to note that military regimes are mostly not democratic...or do u expect martial law in a democracy too????
Military is military all over d world...democracy is democracy..they are different mostly..
so ...letz plz wait for him to mess up before judging...that was military era

That's y u are an aboki! Read the article very well. Did it mention Fayose? Did it say PDP or anytim besides freedom of the social media? Idiot!

We will show him the way out if we sense anything otherwise, opposition is d only way a government will know if it's doin well or not! The press shows u wat u can't see from ur Prada/Gucci/givenchy Aso rock home #comfort zone

Anon I gave an example wit fayose,if u have problem wit dat,biko go swallow mountain! Pained Skunt!

And you are a very big monkey!!!!! You should be locked up in a zoo or better still go with ur zoologist to otuoeke zoo.

Ben said...

Linda, I sincerely think it's high time you censor some of the comments of wilheminna moses. Referring to people as cow is TOTALLY wrong.

@Anon 12:33 it's "he" not "it" thank Aboki ur English teacher. Shege dan banza bakwai!

naija dj said...

Who gives a sh#t if he looks dull or not and all that rubbish? We need someone who can fix Nigeria.

Fools always prioritise the wrong things.

Definitely he has no other choice except he is not operating in d era of democracy.

What makes dis writer think abt dis of Buhari, live n let him live, he can decide wot he want, n wot make u think dt he'll frown at wot pple will say of his wife, do u pray dt Aisha will end up being like patience. Dis man has not ruled for an hour yet people kip speculating dis n dt. 4 all I care dis is an article from a bitter mind, body, soul n spirit.

Amen

You are so thick just like Moses girl.

You know an intelligent person by their word. You've said it all.

Nothing to wait for he will never learn how to use the Internet. His an olodo

Heiiiiiyaa. Which kind mindless voltronism is dis. With d way u ofe mmanus blab i think d problem iterated here will be too close to y'all for comfort.

Ofe mmanu n u r in his mind shei

Yesterday,I made a comment and several after the first.In the first comment I criticized you heavily.you didn't post it yet you posted the correction I made immediately after the first.

I later proceeded to make two comments more.you posted those.I'm saying this because you are quick to judge others but you aren't so good with direct criticisms.I refer to the ones with facts not those that are just "yabbing" you.

So even you aren't ready Linda.

Amen

U are not God, stupid APC noise makers

And a Retard is always a RETARD. Wilhemina,receive sense in Jesus name.