Corpse left at General hospital until it began to stink | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 12 May 2015

Corpse left at General hospital until it began to stink

Foul odour emanating from a decomposing corpse at the Accident and Emergency Clinic, Orile-Agege General Hospital, Lagos, on Monday, prevented medical workers from attending to patients at the clinic and wards attached to it.

Patients were treated outside a large shed where new patients queued to collect cards before they were eventually taken to different wards for further attention.

When Punch visited the hospital on Monday morning, the doors of the clinic, which is located close to the Pharmacy Unit, had been locked and a male ward attendant in purple uniform was seen mopping the lobby with disinfectant. The nurses evicted from their station were also seen shouting at people not to open the door. 
A patient who was relocated to the Surgery Ward said it took hospital officials more than two hours to evacuate the corpse.
“I came in here around 5am and there was no power supply at the time. The generator was also not working at the time, but there was no odour. I was already on a drip inside the ward when this foul odour hit the ward. In a matter of minutes, we were all asked to leave the ward. My drip was detached and condemned by the nurses.
“We were all taken outside and we sat on the benches by the Pharmacy Unit. It took them more than two hours to decide what to do with the corpse. I was later dispatched to the Surgery Ward, while others were taken to the Casualty Ward,” he said.
When contacted, the Medical Director, Dr. Afusat Tijani, refused to talk to Punch. “I am not allowed to talk to the press,” she simply said.
However, a source who did not want to be quoted because of civil service rule said the corpse was ‘a coroner’s case.’ The source denied that the corpse had been left unattended for three days.
“What happened was that the State Environmental Health Monitoring Unit was supposed to have evacuated the corpse, but they said they did not have fuel to get here. The corpse was a coroner case and there was nothing we could have done. SEHMU only came to pick the corpse this morning.

42 comments:

Chai...

That's bad nah

This fuel scarcity has really caused a lot. Thank God its been evacuated.

Fuck your opinion said...

Ole way Nigeria?

Choi

uzor onwusa said...

Laws have mercy.incompetence don finish naija.

skenky2g1 said...

Something could have been done fuel could have been gotten from black market

skenky2g1 said...

Someone could have gotten fuel from black market

Treasure said...

Na wao! The hospital should be the best sanitised place but our general hospitals are like bollas. God help Nigeria

Joy C said...

OMG! OMG!! OMG!!! Nausea.
What rubbish?

I feel 4d all d workers including d doctors, and nurses working there. I wonder how they cope wit d poor amenities@their disposal.

Oh lord

Shameful

Horrible scenario

Very bad.

Na wa o! Person go dey hospital carry disease kwa??? Linda take note!

Nigeria my country

Hmmm! FUEL CRISIS O!

God help your people,that odour could infect people

That's the state of our health sector.

Nigeria and negligence. What would it have taken the hospital to Attend to the corpse before it started smelling.

Nky said...

OMG

Linda thr is this one long d expressway leading to my house,here in nnewi anambra, along old onitsha road its been thr since thursdy lastwk, they said he died of epilepsy or smthn cos he was seen wriggling on the ground b4 he died, he has long been decomposing, all the shops around tht area closed down becos of the foul smell, I dnt knw those tht can be contacted to take it out.

Only in Naija

Thats naija for yu.....

Ammy said...

things that hapens in Naija. irritating,,,

dudette said...

Things will not change in this country until we all try to do things differently....how can corpse be decaying all these while and they ddnt notice on time...smh

Hmmm nawoo

Bad_girl_riri 4 life said...

"Becos dey do not have fuel"..jona,okonjo, diezani and co. av spoilt dis country

whatz all this about not having fuel. I understand the need to be careful before removing the corpse but to allow it to sink is more deadlier than touching it.

blizy me said...

shame unto every medical practitioner in Lagos, shame unto the Nigerian government as a whole. *wiping tears* am dumbfounded, short of words. all hail dis goddam country where every shit happens. bad system eveil people

This is ridiculous, hospital is not a place for no power no matter what the situation is

Shame on our leaders!!!

joy said...

Real rubbish! of all the places not to have light definitely not hospitals

Dis shows d level of lapse in our health sector. God help us.

Imagine nonsense

This news is embarrasing. Nawah for ds country

What's this not having light issue about?in a hospital?hmmmmmmmm.don't they know that a decomposing dead body is deadly?chaiiiiiiii..God help us o...sell your products for free,click here

Nigeria nawa