Burundi presidency reacts to coup declaration by army general, says it's fake | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 13 May 2015

Burundi presidency reacts to coup declaration by army general, says it's fake

Burundian presidency has reacted to the coup declaration by Burundi's army general Godefroid Niyombare earlier today. Gen Niyombare had told reporters that he has dismissed the government of President Nkurunziza following massive protest against his third term bid which has led to many deaths. Reacting, the presidency said people involved in the coup plot will be arrested. Read below...
"It is with regret that we have learned that a group of soldiers rebelled this morning and made a fake declaration about a coup. The Presidency of the Republic wants the public opinion both in Burundi and abroad to know that this coup attempt has been stopped and that the people who read that statement on private local radio are being sought by the defence and security forces so that they are brought to justice. The Presidency of the Republic is asking the people of Burundi as well as foreigners to keep calm. Everything is being done to maintain security across the national territory."
Meanwhile Burundi citizens have taken to the streets to celebrate with soldiers after the coup was announced. See the photos after the cut...

30 comments:

We hear

Time will tell...

We don hear na

Nky said...

does he want to die in power?

Nky said...

if the people says they dont want you anymore, take a bow and walk away, simple.

See celebrations every where just like when Abacha died. God help us wit all dis selfish leaders dat r enemies of progress.

What sort of greedy president is that for christ sake..... Somebody should bring him down to his level....

Abeg make dis Nkurunziza guy go sitdon O jare

It is clear that the Burundians are suffering under the supposed blessed democracy rule.

This is a bad situation for the president who I advise to resign his 3rd term bid immediately.

Hmmm let watch and see what will happen nest

That's the truth & nothing but the truth
so help them coup. Iseeeee!

Its clear they don't want you mr president, so why not pull a Goodluck jonathan and go home and save the lives of ur citizens

The world is watching

Okay heard

I don't know what is wrong with African leaders! why must u rule people by force? na by force huh? African leaders need to grow up i beg!

Nice one Soldiers. Greedy leaders should be disgraced out of power.Tim28

now they are in trouble, If the president has loyal Generals and is still in charge in the army, these lot are finished, if you plan a coup, you better succeed

Dats their own country wahala. I'm concerned about naija's own problem. Linda take note!

I still can't tell with what is really wrong with some of our African leaders! When the people say they don't want your leadership again they sincerely do not want I still find it hard to believe why this man doent want to step down peacefully instead of causing more havoc day in day out gush! They should all learn from our Ex president GEJ he respected the masses and conciled defeat for peace to remain. Long live nigeria long live good luck Ebele jonathan.

Nawa o!

The President wants respect, when he cannot respect d constitution. D army should shelf d celebration and going and finish d job. If d job was finished, The Presidency will not make d Press statement. Meanwhile, Linda where is there President?

For the sake of lives that are going to be lost and sake of democracy I hope it's fake too. Let's watch as events unfold.

#FOCUS n #ACHIEVE

He too shd step down now Abah.

Redcandy said...

This could have been Nigeria a month back. Thank God for His mercies upon us. Look at Burundians celebrating going back to slavery. What a pity!

It shud b beta b fake...enof of dis controllable deaths n casualties

Jokers! Let see how tins unfold as days go by. I hope dis is not for real.