A letter to Onyx Godwin (Effeminacy & Masculinity) by LIB reader | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 13 May 2015

A letter to Onyx Godwin (Effeminacy & Masculinity) by LIB reader

A LIB reader Mayowa Aboah (pictured above) writes an open letter to Onyx Godwin. Read below...
This letter is not to support Onyx or mock him in anyway but to let LIBers and the general public face the fact that some people were born this way and more are still coming. Effeminacy in men and masculinity in women is something we encounter regularly in our society. We see them in buses, on the road side, churches, mosques, television, schools. etc. They are everyhwhere, you can't escape it. Effeminacy in men and masculinity in women are no doubt associated with homosexuality which i think its normal for people to think so.
But it should also be noted that certainly not all homosexual people give evidence of these characteristics. Some just got luckier than some, so dont be too quick to judge. Have you ever asked yourself why anybody would choose to be effeminate in a world that makes life miserable for effeminate people? Think about it. These people are not mad.

They were born the normal way just like you and i, They have blood running through their viens.So why mock them? The real manhood or womanhood is not measured in superficial things like the way we pronounce words, how we throw a ball, or how we cross our legs and i guess that was why Onyx was able to get the job he was interviewed for. God created us to be social creatures.

As Christians ,Muslims & Others, we should be above being advocates of societal stereotypes of "real men" and "real women". we should appreciate the wonderful diversity that God has created in us. It's not their fault they were created that way so why not just accept them and let the world rest. I know of Influencial people in Politics and in the Entertainment industry who are effeminate, blooming in their careers and touching lives.

Isn't that the essence of life? So why the headache. Is it untill they start commiting sucide? Lets rise above hate. Its not like we are staying on earth forever. We will all die and all these things wont matter again. Let me stop here because LIBers dont like reading long stories. Lol.

Onyx, live your life biko. Mayowa Aboah .

290 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 290 of 290

Word Nigerians listen.. Stupid mfs judge to quick

Lol true talk.

God bless dz mayowa guy..

Dude u are so GAY biko stfu who's dis 1, and what's he talking about smh poor boy u can't even spell veins well, besides who cares about onyx job n the interview, oh well maybe he's ur gay partner that's why u know abt d job, I blame Linda 4 giving u a Lil cheap popularity nonsensical nonsense

Pidgin Mistress said...

Well said mayowa. I guess he's your brother in crime lol

Since everybody is now composing article just to get attention..let me also compose mine..linda take note

..JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

Pidgin Mistress said...

I don't onyx, he's too skinny for my like. Sorry

That Function Gurl said...

Really???? Was this even necessary??

Another LIB reader seeking attention.

I sense a sheer of laziness in this article.

I believe you did not read all the comments.. Some made sense and people shared success story about similar matters . My point here is Onyx is still a young man or boy. He should work on this issue and stop giving the excuse of "NATURE"
It turns me mad when I hear
-I was wired this way
-I was created this way
Because you've found yourself in a situation shoulnt translate into the fact that GOD made you that way.

Also God has given us the ability to make conscious changes. I have my own issues too and I am hopeful that I will get over my issues . I don't go about giving excuses to why I have accepted the defeat by saying i CANNOT Cheat Nature... Thats all Shebang!

Both articles from You and Onyx is baseless and screams of laziness and Defeat!

Enough Said

Dear Uncle Mayor
Pardon my sarcasm but are you gay too?
Pardon again by bluntness... No time 4 BS.
Why would you dress and portray feminism and expect to be treated masculine?
I have nothing extreme against non-straights but I sight USA, SA and some other free Countries as example, You have no idea how weird it gets. The tunnel goes only deeper, from gay to drag queens to transvestites.
Worst still is the mind games, they start twisting issues till you begin to doubt your own straightness.
You can't even be Anti-gay in some countries cos they just pounce on you and God help you if you're a public figure cos there goes your contracts and endorsements etc.

So I say No to this insidious virus

A Lot I want to say about this but I can only say well done Mayowa Aboah for this letter, I don't know u but I believe in your perception. Life is a mystery that no science,religion,tradition,customs can really define or create so when people stand and judge,discriminate,persecute and even tend to kill a life that didn't hurt you or your family but is just being true to itself, I can't help but wonder what righteousness is in that! God be the judge

ABEGI, WHICH ONE IS DON'T JUDGE HIM? OUR SOCIETY WAS SANER BEFORE THESE MADNESS SURREPTITIOUSLY WALKED IN ON US. THEN EVERYONE MUST FALL IN LINE, THE DOS AND DON'TS WERE CLEAR AND ABOMINABLE ACTS WERE TREATED ACCORDINGLY AND SOCIETY WAS THE BETTER FOR IT. WITH TOO MUCH JUSTIFICATIONS HERE AND THERE, WE HAVE LET OUR GUARDS DOWN. HAVE YOU SEEN WHAT OUR LIVES HAVE BECOME?

ASAMPOKOTO said...

LOVE LOVE LOVE. This is what I have been trying to tell people. Standing ovation

Sodom n Gomorrah ! More is coming !

No hate!

Abi, Thank you my brother. #Preach!!!

I love you Mayowa.Well said! ONYX live your life..Ignore the ignorant people.

Dunno who is effeminate or who is not...buh being effeminate is a step to being gay. D gay 1nes approach u, n u wnt to experiment n dats it. U've forgotten dat evil attracts...just like how d Israelites used to still sin against God even when he practically talked to them one on one, so even though our society persecutes gay pple, some stubborn heads r even more attracted to it. Talk about d more you tell sme1 nt to do smetin, d more he wants to do dat stuff. There r pple like dat. D only reason why pple r so against onyx is cos his effeminacy cud lead him to being gay in d future, dats if he's not homosexual already. So while I totally understand your write up, u need to also understand dat so far the bible is against gayism, devout christians too will be against it, nd anything that has d capability of leading to it. If onyx is effeminate, he shud control it.if I'm hot tempered, it doesn't mean I shud b throwing temper tantrums every time, I control it. If one has a bad habit, one prays about it n controls it. U dnt just go around doing something just cos u feel like it, if it's like dat psychopaths shud keep committing murders...after all dey were born like dat.

shut up your mouth...am sure you too is gay and take it up your ass...

Nice writeup......why you gotta frown so hard tho?

Noted.

Pls post my comments. Don't be partisan and self serving!

Mehnnn Mayowa u r fineeee.......Ibukun

Like I always say, God will not judge us according to how we look or 'behave'. He will judge our actions and the thoughts of our hearts. I am female but masculine in my looks. I am very tall, big boned and I have somewhat broad shoulders for a female. I first noticed my shoulders, back then in secondary school. I am a mother of two now. I am interested in things men like, e.g football, cars, electrical stuff. I hate gossip (something most women love to do) and I am a go-getter (a trait of many men). I hate to cook even though I do it well. I hate makeup even though I am still very beautiful without it. I don't like tight fitting clothes (never have) and I have more trousers in my wardrobe than skirts. I probably have more pairs of jeans than most men out there. I will stare more at men's clothing and accessories in a store than at the women's. I buy watches for my hubby and he has loved all my choices. My huuby can be very picky about his accessories so that, in itself, is an achievement where he is concerned. I excel more at the things men supposedly do, more than at the things women do. I have suffered criticism from other people over the years because of these things but I have learned to live with it. I have tried so desperately to be more effeminate without success. So I have learned to accept who I am and move on. Like Onyx, I have adjusted and learned to love myself and not people's judgements get to me. Nobody should drink panadol for my headache when I am not drinking it for myself. God created me and loves me as I am...and that is really all that matters.

Abeg! It's ohk

I surpport dis guy joor..onyxx abeg live your. Life jare..anything wey u do people must tok,because if dey don't tok abt you den u are a nobody.one love people ..dis world is like a market place o.so pls live your life 2 the fullest

Live and let live. Who holds the key to d haven we scream about. Have u been up there? Live ur life and be happy with ur fellow human and God's love will blossom

Fine boi no pimple...nice write up..
Onyx lik I sed b4..dnt b depressed..n dnt force ursef on pple,real n true friends ll com along somday

Oh you don't support homosexually? Chai.

Onyx abeg use this post go buy land for banana island

Alfred Adelaja said...

Shut up already even if they are gay are you better than them? If u like be as straight as a pole as long as u abhor hate in ur heart towards other people you will still end up in hell

This guy is so learned. He just earned my respect. And he doesn't look bad at all too....#winks#

@Mayowa Aboah, God bless u abundantly for dis open letter, and I hope it get 2d necessary quarters.

Let me use dis opportunity to make dis clarification which are@no time do I support d act guy, and Onyx has never said openly dat he is guy moreso there is difference btw d act, and d personalilty involve. I may b against d act but not against d personality involved bcos am not d one dat created d person, and don't hav d right to either judge or criticise let alone condemned d person.

I wil strongly suggest, and say dat much as I condemned d act of gay, and all dat but d personality involved should never b judged or condemned thereof but sincere prayers, and wishes for inside out change b made for d person so that they can b differences in d person life. It's only God dat can truly change d life of any human being's.

I notice we r very good@hating, judging, criticising, and condemning people@will. D gospel truth is, d measure wil dish out to people r d same measure dat life dish out to us. Pls b caution wit d words u dish out bcos wht goes around comes around.

ONYX, u r blessed beyond measure, and may God bring dat needed joy, and happiness in ur life. God has divinely created u for a purpose in life, and do not define ur life by d names people calls u but only by d name's dat d true living God calls u.

Precious fellow LIB readers there is GREAT DIFFERENCES btw being a guy, and effeminate. ONYX is not a guy, and u guys should stop calling him d name dat he is not, and just as he said he is simply effeminate.

God bless u all, and stay blessed alwaz. One love to Linda, ONYX, my fellow top commentator's, and all fellow LIB readers. Love u all.

@Mayowa Aboah, God bless u abundantly for dis open letter, and I hope it get 2d necessary quarters.

Let me use dis opportunity to make dis clarification which are@no time do I support d act guy, and Onyx has never said openly dat he is guy moreso there is difference btw d act, and d personalilty involve. I may b against d act but not against d personality involved bcos am not d one dat created d person, and don't hav d right to either judge or criticise let alone condemned d person.

I wil strongly suggest, and say dat much as I condemned d act of gay, and all dat but d personality involved should never b judged or condemned thereof but sincere prayers, and wishes for inside out change b made for d person so that they can b differences in d person life. It's only God dat can truly change d life of any human being's.

I notice we r very good@hating, judging, criticising, and condemning people@will. D gospel truth is, d measure wil dish out to people r d same measure dat life dish out to us. Pls b caution wit d words u dish out bcos wht goes around comes around.

ONYX, u r blessed beyond measure, and may God bring dat needed joy, and happiness in ur life. God has divinely created u for a purpose in life, and do not define ur life by d names people calls u but only by d name's dat d true living God calls u.

Precious fellow LIB readers there is GREAT DIFFERENCES btw being a guy, and effeminate. ONYX is not a guy, and u guys should stop calling him d name dat he is not, and just as he said he is simply effeminate.

God bless u all, and stay blessed alwaz. One love to Linda, ONYX, my fellow top commentator's, and all fellow LIB readers. Love u all.

I know u will love this....lol.

This guy is so learned. He just earned my respect. And he doesn't look bad at all too....#winks#

chosengospel said...

Onyx better go for deliverance at MFM or RCCG camp, if you can't help yourself, there's no problem God cannot solve.For your own good, if you are not gay and wants to get married, no woman will want to marry her fellow woman, hiw would your kids see you as their feminine dad or as their manly role model dad? Better be wise. This people are not helpinv you

Alfred Adelaja said...

So who is responsible for the creation of children with deformities or does God have deformities? since you are claiming that we were created in the image of God maybe those deformed children deformed themselves in womb. Learn to use your sense pls.

Yea...driver is trying to take onyx place and "wereboy" is seeking fame and attention! *Wink*

Alfred Adelaja said...

Biko what has your life become?

I feel onyx paid this guy for this letter

Alfred Adelaja said...

You won't see the facts in d post because you are bigot, you never reason with other people you feel like u know it all. Mr Alpha

Live ur life jare

Buzor said...

Yea but pls stop sending those pics, ain't nice at all.

Olaoluwa. said...

Wao, what a topic!

I have read what everyone said about Effeminacy and Masculinity. But let me share my story.
I am a married man. I am 30 years old, and two years old in marriage. I live with my beautiful wife and daughter. I am a little bit effeminate.

Growing up, before I clocked 12 years old, I enjoyed backing children, cooking, weaving hair for girls, doing housechores and other feminine behaviours. My parents never had problem with that. They accepted me that way. However, naturally, these things reduced as I grew up into teenage, and reduced more when I became a full-blown man in my early twenties. but I still have the traits, though now very unnoticeable. I still cross my legs, subconsciously, when I sit; I still enjoy cooking (and my wife loves it), I cater for our daughter more than an average man would. I don't know whether all these are not good enough but I enjoy doing them. I understand women so much that I have never had any serious misunderstanding with my wife. not even once. I have a perfect blend of being a man, and stepping into a woman's shoes in order to reason with them. Somehow, this has helped my marriage a lot. Effeminacy is not a sin. It is just how your body chemistry has been designed by God. It doesn't change you from being a man that you are.

HOWEVER, this should not be confused for being gay. It should not be a justification for being gay. Homosexuality is not right. I grew up to have sexual desire for the opposite sex i.e. women, not my fellow guys, (even though I am effeminate). I have never confused my effeminacy for being gay, nor have any sexual lust towards my fellow men.

Having sexual thoughts and acts with your fellow man, (whether you are effeminate or not) is exactly what is immoral, not effeminacy in itself. Please note that not all gays are effeminates. There are many, uncountable, hard-masculine-faced/shaped guys out there, who happen to be gay. No one would ever suspect them because they are not effeminate. But at the slightest show of someone being effeminate, people would think he is gay. No! He may not be! It is more than that! Cant people just know that not all men can behave the same way?

For instance I do not enjoy watching football like my friends, I don't enjoying playing video games like other guys do. you know? I could go on and on and on. I would rather spend my time decorating, creatively producing cloth styles, etc. Infact, I suggest hairstyles to my wife. I choose her cloth designs for her, we shop together and I make choices for her when buying her clothes, trust me, we are the happiest couple you can ever imagine. It is just how my own body chemistry works. I cannot change it! Yet, I respond to issues like men, I am hardworking even more than fellow men, I am fearless, goal oriented, authoritative like my fellow men. I have a mix of these. I don't care what my colleagues think at work. They joke about my effeminacy, and I respond to them that I am proud to be unique, different and special. I don't care! I don't feel intimidated.and I don't even feel angry about their comments.

So if you are out there and you find yourself having some traits of the opposite sex, just accept yourself that way. However, ensure you do not confuse it for being homosexual! There is a clear line between them.

God help our generation.

Laolu.

Unchained said...

Bro nobody hates you if you act feminine, people only hate it when u practice homo. Get this right, it is never abt the person but abt the act but unfortunately majority of person who act feminine turns out to be gay and you cannot blame people for profiling you to be gay if you act and or dress like a woman. Please lets not use being educated as an excuse to indulge in something that is not pleasing to God. God didnt create adam and steve, it was adam and eve and remember when he told noah to take all creatures in 2s into the ark(male & female) so please be wise. dont come out in public and try to support trash. Onyx says they discriminate him, but look at his photos for goodness sake, if he is not gay do u think he is well? Bro the way u address and act is the way people will treat you. So shut up.

Mo2n said...

you are fineee, Mayowa!!

Alfred Adelaja said...

Pls help me tell them o. Leave people alone!! Everybody can't and won't be the same learn to live with other people despite ur difference thats what makes us grow not hatred for one another.

Aww ! Bless you . At least there's something you can do...armpit modelling. Mtcheeew.

Ani said...

Onyx live your life. You are bold and strong.

Funny enough I understand ur kinda person. I have a family friend dat is lyk dat n most people tink he is gay. Even gay guys approach him some times we gang out. He even fought with one bcos he was trying to set him up for gay 3some.but he wish he would have a girlfriend but girls dnt take hom seriously det just feel he is lying about his sexuality.just be ur self u will find love soon

Just shut up.silly child

You really need help.

You definitely are shallow minded, silly child

Thumbs up! You made perfect sense. We really are the choices we make.

m3star said...

Mayowa, Your words are soothing and accurate. I hope the good People of Nigeria and Africa stop name calling and disrespect of fellow Humans based on appearance.

"rise above hate", that's John Cena's line bruh

Excellent. I am more of a tomboy girl but that doesn't make me gay. My husband is a sensitive guy but that he isn't gay. We balance each other out.

Gaia said...

I was a tom boy growing up and still at heart I still am. I am not more comfortable than when I'm in a t-shirt, jeans and sneakers and secretly wish I could just rock low cut and pour water on my head. Instead I have weave, wear pencil skirts and high heels; its not really me but this is what society requires of me hence here I am... am I happier? Not really *shrugs*

Onyx is effeminate, I have a number of male friends who are the same way; effeminate not gay and masculine not lesbian. If anything I admire his guts to speak up and address something he KNEW most would not understand. You have my eternal respect, just stay true to yourself and shut out all the noise. Peace!

Wo in d person's ryt senses will hate on onyx...onyx kwa...d rude boy dat dresses weird? He's d cause of his hate. Btw, I knew effeminate guys in skl, no1 ever associated them with being gay cos even if dey fling deir hands like girls wen dey tlk, or wlk like girls, dey still dress n at most behave like guys, dey dnt wear tattered jeans n open up their shirts wen dey pose. Fashi effeminate, dose pictures r plain irritating.
If it's a habit for him, den it's a bad 1 n he shud stop it. Cos m hot tempered doesn't mean I go about throwing temper tantrums...his pictures r homosexually suggestive n can send off d wrong vibes to gays, dats if he's nt even 1 already.

yes, discremination could be killing, buh we all learn bro, they too could actually learn and become what they really are supposed to be.

He has a boyfriend....we will love to see him onyx, I wish you two plenty love

It's not my business whether you're gay or not, that is for yourself... my problem is you should clean up, your pictures and pose spill dirt...Atleast looking neat will get you neat partners not pigs

Nicole said...

It's your life and you're free to live it as you see fit but you also need to come to terms with the fact that people may never understand you. Nigeria hasn't evolved to that extent and even some countries in the west are still having a hard time accepting it. The average Nigerian can't tell the difference between being effeminate and being gay. People are born different but most of our ideologies or characters are inherited from our parents or picked up from our environment. You probably picked up most of your gesticulations from your sisters and female friends .
I am glad that you don't let people dictate the way you live but I'm also afraid that you may be putting yourself in harm's way. Homosexuality is a crime here. The Nigerian police doesn't know the difference between being effeminate and being gay. You need to apply wisdom in here. You could get lynched or arrested. Be careful
That being said, go ahead and live your life to the fullest.

Everyone dey here dey say Gud, gr8 n whatever. U dey dig onyx grave be that cuz na street jurors go kill am not social jurors like all of u.

Honestly Nigeria is blessed with different kind of people. Onyx carry go we support u wether u re gay or not. I don't care, and mayowa thank you for this braveness!!!

My dia i suspect so. Why did u put ur pic mayowa? To show off ur luscious lips??? Kai what those lips can do if well trained.....

Ho ho ho ho

**** mynameisSkelewu

This Mayowa Dude kinda make sense though.
Luv the little Education on the fact that being effiminate does not necessarily mean 'being fucked in the ass'. We learn everyday.
Bt the undiluted fact still remains that i'm still HOMOPHOBIC Strong.

Faith sam has said it all... Onyx change ur dress sense and act like a man...dats who u are.

Stop giving people a topic of discuss.

@ukgreat

Dear, you nailed it. Yes! Just wish the onyx of a guy will use this popularity he has gained to do something meaningful for himself.

well what else can be said?
i do believe in freedom of expression...so express yourself and be bold altogether
Samsexy says so

Free the boy... Freedom of expression in the air

Lol... this dude tho

Ok, now I want understand something, is this guy really gay???? Has he come out to say he is gay??

Onyx I think people insinuate that you are gay maybe from the way you dress and pose for pictures.
Let me tell you onyx, I will advise you to live your life but not to the extent of being a gay that people are saying you are because I know is never a wise decision in life, it only bring hate from God, society, and even from your own dear family." but to me I believe you are not one of them down below men"

Onyx, many people have notice that you exit, so why not use the opportunity to do something meaningful, I guess you should be a creative person. And I believe with all this attention you will have something good cooking that will contribute in lifting our dear nation high.

Wish you well, cheers!!!

Kingsley

Zizi said...

On point but onyx too like attention haba

Prettadroit said...

Thank you very much. Exactly wat I was thinking.

so what if he's one??? you better get ready and start having heartbreaks o!...so myopic

Mayowa that was well said, it gladdens my heart to know that we still have sane people in this country who refuses to be caught up in what is generally acceptable by the society...one thing i tell haters is if the person you're stigmatizing is your blood relation what will you do?Live and let's live!!! there's so much we need to build on in this nation other than hate...last time i checked ,God wasn't hiring a chief judge! Always remember that for any accusing finger you point at someone ,three of your very own fingers points right back at you,meaning you're three times as guilty as the accused.

WORD

Well man once behaved like an ape, should we go back to that also? People evolve, you can choose to join them or be stuck in the stone ages. Live your life and let others live theirs. They're not taking money out your pocket and hating them isn't putting money in your pockets sso why bother

Hilla

Gaddiel said...

Haha. LOl

Gaddiel said...

So retarded art thou. Mumu

Gaddiel said...

IS your brain dead. Cant yiu just comprehend the littlw letter??

Gaddiel said...

Goan get busy. ANd shut your gutter mouth.

Gaddiel said...

Thanks for that letter Mayowa...never mind the criticism coming after. So many are dying cos they lack knowledge

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 290 of 290   Newer› Newest»