22.6m Nigerians unemployed in 2014 – National Bureau of Statistics | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 14 May 2015

22.6m Nigerians unemployed in 2014 – National Bureau of Statistics

According to new statistics released by the National Bureau of Statistics NBS in Abuja today May 14th, 22.6 million Nigerians were unemployed in the four quarter of the year 2014.

At the Unemployment Methodology Review forum in Abuja today, the Statistician General of the Federation, Dr. Yemi Kale said out of 22,620,202 unemployed Nigerians, 4,672,067 million were unemployed in the fourth quarter, 7,027941 million were unemployed in the 3rd quarter and 5,307,375 million was unemployed in the second quarter, while 5,612, 819 million were unemployed in the first quarter of the year under review.

According to NBS, the figure increased by 21 per cent from 7,078,450 million (10.0%) recorded in the previous year. The statistics also showed that 17.9 per cent of the figure was under employed in the country in the year under review.

51 comments:

I bet they r more. Lindaobserve

Except me :)

Showing us d statistics is more frustrating bc we already knw that two third & half of able bodied nigerians r jobless..

Chai! Oghene bikoooooo,smh... well with GMB everything is well,i know for sure he will flosh all this unemployment issues to past tense. I believe he will even do much more better.

haaaa...The rate of unemplyment is extremely high
I hope we get change in dat area too

WowWow...da number is too high...

It is well

Jesus wept

Dat explains all the trekkers emerging now. Linda take note!

can unemployment issue be solved in this country? i guess one need to be self employed...acquire a craftsmanship skills to stand as an entrepreneur with ones education and exposure one need not wait for white collar jobs...

Wawu! Though Okonjo mentioned job creation among the achievements of this administration.
This is no good news and it spells doom for our nation is nothing is done about it.

Not surprise!

Gej till 2019 lol...
It's well Nigerian!

Hmmm, as sue as all our refinery start working unemployment will reduce.

Is it unemployed aboard alone? There's error somewhere or statistics very is wrong. 90% of Nigeria youth are unemployed.

80% lib readers are unemployed,if u doubt me check the previous monday giveaway post.

Damilola said...

Breeding ground for crime and illegal business

na lie....it is more dan dat because in naija for every figure it is double

This figure is far from accurate.it's not even near.How can we get that figure when we don't even have an accurate census data.

Too bad for a country regarded as
the giant of Africa.

Linda, If i believe this, then I can believe that islam is a religion of peace.

According to NBS,Nigeria Unemployment is 6.4 % of our workforce, ie in every 100 nigerians btw 15 to 65 yrs, only 6 Or 7 are unemployed.
That is nnigeria unemployment is less than that of finland, sweden, denmark, the nertheland, begium france etc almost same level with canada and australia.
Nija i hail thee.. Your statistics and realties are world apart.

Hmmm it is well.. And more youth corps will soon pass out to join the millions of unemployed people

Saheed said...

This is terrible! No wonder youths become trekkers, while the children of those they trek for are flying on jet.

...And later, our Government will blame our youths for drug trafficking, Yahoo yahoo and the rest????

There's unemployment at the same time employment everywhere else...Nigerians are Lazy....Thts all

They shud review dat num oo cos more pipu av graduated sins from universities and people thru with nysc av also bin pushed n2 d labor mkt

too bad

OJIMAN said...

Where are they working, Heaven???

OJIMAN said...

Where are they working, Heaven???

Oh Nigeria, I weep for my country, unemployment in the millions? Or is this census of citizens living in Nigeria, and you wonder why people travel abroad and never come back,..there is job is naija it just circulates amongst family members

Hope they count me join

Employment boku for Linda Ikeji Blog. Especially when Onyx Godwin matter comes up.

Asampokoto said...

Didn't someone publish one of these that said jonathan reduced the unemployment rate in recent times? Nawa oh

Asampokoto said...

Seriously. We need more skill and trade schools. Not everyday university. Everyone is studying the same thing and still unemployed. Can we get some farmers? More designers etc etc

up gej the smiling hero!!

Asampokoto said...

For the first time I agree with you. Our refineries agric sector etcetc need to be up and running. We need to find ways to create more jobs. And a variety at that.

Asampokoto said...

Lol I didn't even bother checking it. Once it's fact and figures in this country, I'm out. Until we have a comprehensive data base, nothing for us.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Lmaoooooo im done.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Nah everyone stays gunning for the same jobs. And parents encourage them to study the same thing. Engineering, medicine and law. That might also be one of the main causes/ issues

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Meaning there are no jobs then. What does going round family members hv to do with it

Shush said...

And pple are wondering why the youths are treKking up and down?????

By the time Nigerians do to our government what the people did to Antoinette Marie in France, but I doubt that would ever happen, we are too content in our empty existence, top afraid to try to change, too busy managing to care to live like we should. 22m people yet ministries are empty

Ha I see why youths con dey trek o hope say dem count me follow and some of dem lib readers

White collar jobs? U will grow white hair waiting. Employ urself and get busy. Being a graduate alone isn't enough.

Unfortunate and unacceptable. The youths are the leaders of tomorrow but it breaks my heart when those due for retirement can't vacate thr seat, or recruit base on merit.
This is why employers of today maltreat their workers, short pay them, fire them without notice.

Unemployment should be the second priority after insecurity.

And GEJ said he reduced employment and created 1million jobs.

imagine if they all decide to start robbing, I dont even think govt understands the danger

D figures wil even b more thaan dis. Let them check well.

Looking for a job? Please send your CV's to vacancy@positiveaptitudeconsult.com

joey said...

What are the youths doing about it? Wearing designers, forming tush and thinking low. It's not about what the government can do for us, it's about what we can do for ourselves. The change Nigeria needs starts from us