Most entertainers run after politicians because of poverty - Saidi Balogun | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 29 January 2015

Most entertainers run after politicians because of poverty - Saidi Balogun

In an interview with Encomium magazine this week, actor Saidi Balogun said the reason entertainers run away after politicians is because of poverty - please read what he said it's kinda interesting...
"(Poverty), that's why you see some of our people running helter-skelter, campaigning for all these politicians. But there's one question we have all not asked, and that's what makes American artists donate to politicians while the actors here in Nigeria are asking from politicians. Every member of the National Assembly has not made an reasonable law on piracy which has devoured the industry. So, there's poverty in the industry. If there's not, you won't see our people flocking around all these politicians, campaigning, singing and dancing for them. I saw a candidate being surrounded by some of our colleagues; I now said to myself, 'if this man eventually wins, how many actors or musicians will he remember? Although some are doing it to make ends meet. And it's sad because we're stars. I think we're supposed to be worshiped, not worshiping others. Even if a governor holds your hand, he's supposed to be happy. But now, the reverse is the case.

97 comments:

Abegiii

Gbam-- the truth has been told

Well said!

Abi o...

Please let's hear word!

HE'S RIGHT...
TRUE TALK

lool.....I don't think entertainers are supposed to be worshipped tho...everybody has to hustle to make their money.

Apt, he couldn't have said it better.
Ibins should take note.

Na u sabi

Intensify on the works of your hands.. if positive, then God would crown it with success. You don't need to be a "ball-boy" to anyone.. some atom of truth in what he said though. 2thess 3:10. @Bishop_Dammy

All i want for valentine is a blackberry phone. It's time to upgrade from my nokia express music. U dnt have to be my boyfriend to give... Lol, 08123751083

He is right!

Plsssssssssssss...
He shouldn't talk ill of his colleague in such manner.

If he doesn't do it does not mean others wouldn't. If u can't beat them join them instead of trying to run them down.

CatWalk With PAT said...

Hmmmm! Instresting

Please click on my name for Fashion/Fitness/Beauty tips

If you don't huv anything better or good to say is better u don't say anything at all. How did u know dy went to begg for money, what if they wer invited? Besides is der life and decisions to make u can't decide for them what to do. Stay der wait for someone to come and worship you. U don become JESUS over night.

Plsssssssssssss...
He shouldn't talk ill of his colleague in such manner.

If he doesn't do it does not mean others wouldn't. If u can't beat them join them instead of trying to run them down.

Topsypal said...

You were making valid points till you said 'worship'.....no brother....no man should be worshipped!

That's true, I saw you @ the government house in Osogbo last two weeks.

Hehehehe!

Lol,well said

ok oh

David Iyke said...

I THINK THIS MAN HAD SOME LARGESSE FROM MIMIKO ONE TIME!

win said...

Na condition make crayfish bend.

Poverty or the fear of it is what motivates a lot of Nigerians to do the things they do. So he's not far from the truth.

Dat no b news again, we know dat dey do it 4 d money. Linda take note!

True Talk. Study Abroad Made Easy. Study in USA, Cyprus, Finland and Turkey with affordable tuition. Call +16148166963 OR email at Famousconsult@gmail.com.

It is their choice..

Ne kwa trouble o, Linda dis fool has forgotten the time he was all over the place campaigning for Chief (Mrs) Remi Adiukwu sori Oluwalogbon when she was gunning to be governor of lagos state during the last election. Ok that means poverty been dey worry am then. Ewu Can Beer just come out and wag itching tongue. Shior.

So true.

Mumu u no campaign for mimiko ? U come dey talk rubbish

Hahahaha laugh won kill me

What Secondary school boys and girls do during break time

OMG!!! See How Some Wicked Yoruba Boys Abused a Secondary School Girl

Bombshell!! Dr Sid behind my breakup with Don Jazzy- D’banj Speaks Out

Samexgist said...

Mad man wetin u go talk before since them no call u.

Olamide Now Selling T shirts

Vote buhari yu will see all that coming to light......

Including u..lol

Yeah .theres no better explanation than dis.

BLAQ said...

Hmmm, their own cup of tea

Lilian Fc Barcelona said...

Really?

Lool coming from a man who runs to politicians...............................#KingOfKings #6God

yeah, we know. we didn't think they were after them for their looks...hehehe

Liflblog.WordPress.com
LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE EVERY DAY!

sexy chizzy said...

Worship you as in what? Shake hand with u as in how? What have done to elevate poverty around you. Ode

Chai Saidi why will you say that nah. Dont let RMD, Kate, Desmond, KOK, Tony one week, Bob Manuel and etc see this o

U dt has no poverty history what are u known 4???sabi sabi

Interesting

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB.....

Gerout

Flawlessbae❤❤ (wears,bags,sneakers,heels,sandals) for both m/f @08156743416 said...

Na you sabi

Chidinma Grace said...

Nice talk with lots of wisdom!

Nice talk Saidi Balogun..I love your comment,God bless you bro. Pls encourage your so-called colleagues not to sell themselves to this useless politicians.pls

True talk..

@Sophia Stephen

no wonder they are begging MR Jona here and there.....

If you have nose, you will snuff.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

Jobiver.com said...

Its so unfortunate that the rate of unemployment is still very high in this critical time of Nigeria's economy. More jobs must be created if they want our youths not to thread their conscience with money.

Its unfortunately dat many pple here are still in secondary schools.... There re tins dat re way beyond u...if u don't know wat to say pls keep ur mouth shut

I kinda concur with him...becux am yet to see an A~list actors going after politician publicly.....

•••••••QUEENMAYA•••••••••

Abeg....... Like if @Gej call u now u no go run follow am

abegi...... mk we hear word like u wont jump to any given opportunity

IS HE EXCLUDED.......AKA....FAKING UP

Huhuhuhu, money works,bullshit talks...

Gentletee said...

He is entitled to his opinion as it may not be entirely true.

AZEEZ RIZQAH said...

I agree wiv him,
Davido's GF

Poverty and laziness i must add. That's simply d difference btw hollywood and nollywood. Some Nigerian actors and actresses can't even have a decent lifestyle.

9ja Parrot said...

Couldn't have been more correct!

shollymama said...

He should take several seats jawe,how is he different 4rm dem

I don't comment frequently...buh I v to write dis..he is dere yabbing his fellow actors ab8 dancing n doing unnecessary tins for politician..he is currently in ibadan dancing lyk sometin else...I saw him on TV right nau at APC presidential campaign rally in Mapo..

There is poverty. I don't blame anyone.

Shalom in Nigeria, Amen.

taiwoforade said...

I saw saheed for apc campaign in ibadan so wetin he come mean..i abi make he go slip

Lemme hear

Redcandy said...

He's saying the sad truth. All of them are running after these politicians because of what they hope to gain. You don't see the celebs with money running after them. Do you see Davido, P-Square and co campaigning for anybody?

Redcandy
****www.idoncomeagain.com

Na only note u dey give Linda?

kikimat said...

story!

The time to upgrade is actually when you can get one yourself or when it is genuinely gifted. Not when u are ready to f**k for one. So take your number off the grid have some dignity.

@Chingwe Nze...acre you okay?

True talk

Glamzy said...

Don't worry dey will reply u soonest.Hope he can finish wat he has started. Lindodo, I await the part two.

It's not poverty but more material gains. Some of these naija musicians are ballers o don't forget!

I agree with what he said about piracy

True word @anon 5:49, if I have to be a begger, I beg God, not begging on blogs.

I TOTALY AGREE WIT SAID, IT AMUSES ME D WAY MANY ACTROS & ACTRESS TURN THEMSELVES TO MOUTHPIECE OF POLITICIANS NOW. DIS R PPLE U KNOW R NOT REALLY DOING MUCH FOR D MASSES, SOME U R NOT SURE WIL FULFIL THEIR PROMISES EVEN THOSE WHO CORNERD PUBLIC PROPERTIES, FUNDS TO THEMSELVES & THEIR IMMEDIATE FAMILY . DONT GET ME WRONG THEY CAN RUN JINGLES & VOICING FOR THEM AT A PRICE WHICH ALSO MAKING MONEY BUT NOT U SHOW FACE CAMPAIGNING TO MASSES TO VOTE FOR ANY OFTHEM ESP IN LAGOS EXCEPT DESMOND WHO IS CONTESTING, IS A SHAME!

@Osirmah said...

#HateAlert........sadui halogen, Becoz no politician invited u to join his/her campaign team, u now hating on ur colleague? Lol...*in MI's voice ">>>>""Bad belle, z allowed ". Who u help sef?? Ff@Osirmah

Next pls

Did this idiot really say this? 'And it's sad because we're stars. I think we're supposed to be worshiped, not worshiping others. Even if a governor holds your hand, he's supposed to be happy. But now, the reverse is the case'. S ee this mumu o, as if all no be hussle una de hussle; reverse is which case, worship what...mumu de smell. If i could see u i will slap u back to earth.

Looool I await the reaction of others to this

Rubbish talk,so iit's poverty dat is worrying ur stupid generations wen u were running after mimiko?

I agree wit u Saidi Mr.

na u get ur mouth jarè,does it look lyk they care.,or u think they didnt think thrice b4 acting?

Yes he's right

Tiana said...

Cc... Ambode ' s campaign advert. Lol........

Ahnn that's bad oo beta dnt sya that again ooo bcus this entertainer are far richer than you would ever be.mtchew *moving on#

Deedee said...

I WORSHIP ONLY GOD U MODA FUCKER, TRUE STORY THO.

Mr Man u were with the Buhari Train yesterday in Ibadan (Thursday January 29).....Soooo What should we call that...U need Sleep..

Didhe just say''I think we're supposed to be worshiped, not worshiping others'' it had beta just be your thought.....its their life and anyway you sound jealous cos you were not picked....let them be and find your own cheese!

Dis man should shut up abeg! U too na entertainer? I don't even know wat u act. what is wrong if actors support an aspiring politicians. If u were invited I'm sure u would hv honoured d invitation.
Its not poverty Mr. Saidi, stop talkng rubbish. So many entertainers are doing well 4 demselves. If GEJ wants 2 meet wit entertainers watz wrong wit dat.
ABEG GO SIDON!!!

The mugu is describing his very good self finish