Photos: See how Nigerians seek asyllum under harsh conditions in South Africa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 29 August 2014

Photos: See how Nigerians seek asyllum under harsh conditions in South Africa

Here are some photos and a video shot by Sahara TV that captures the plight of Nigerian immigrants seeking asylum under harsh conditions in Pretoria, South Africa. According to a South African immigration officer, about 1000 Nigerians besiege their office on a daily basis seeking asylum. See more photos and the video after the cut...

l

The video..

117 comments:

Na wa o!

Ceeflo said...

No place like home

Hmmnn, so help us God

Hmm.. If they have money, they should rather apply for a permit. In this cold? SMH

* My R1.50c comment *

It is well ooo. Psalm 91:1-3. BishopDammy#

Instead of me to seek asyllum in SA let me stay in nigeria Jor.....alancash

I thought south africans don't like Nigerians,why are they running over there and seeking asylum there? Desperation no kill some people.

###IamBeauty

Lol! I weep for my country.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Just come back home if you can.

Make una come back home ohhhhhh..
Slave for another man country and king at home which do u choose huh? #Mofos!!

¤¤Marilyn

NaNcY DreW said...

Blame our harsh economy and d distorted Nigeria believe dat enibody wu travels abroad don hammer is a shame dey can't comebk home bcuz of dis kind of thinking

Shame on them and their govt!!! A big big shame..... #cheEzyjayne

Nigeria is one of the worst countries in the world, I'm about to also apply for asylum,I hope I get it,I am tired of this country and its wicked,heartless people

mimi said...

I school and work in SA, they hate Nigerians here, please use d money u pay agent for visa and ticket to open business. Nigerians please stay at home

Yoruba again, this tribe needs deliverance

Moneyman said...

Some Nigerians are Complete Otundo. See the silver and gold all in the street of our dear country Nigeria, and you are all going out and be treated like monkeys.

I wish they will put hot dried pepper in all of your anus....
And over 80% of them are Igbos.

Ndubuisi said...

If this stupid fools can't make it in Nigeria how in the world will the make it in south Africa is not like the standard of living in South Africa is that far better than Nigeria. i don't blame them it's Nigerian government that is creating this embarrassment to Nigeria and when will Nigerians realize that South Africa hate Nigerians so much. you keep going to your enemy begging for opportunity what a very sad shame.

If not for our useless government what the hell is South Africa, na place be that? Hisssssssss it will not be well with our leaders

This is what i call foolishness and stupidity. gbam!

Arnold Chukwu said...

I pity poor Nigerians who go thru hell in oda countries just to make it in life.......hmmn, wen ll our hopeless country start giving hope to d hopeless?? Onlyy tym ll tell.

Disgraceful lot

Igbo boys.what r they looking for.nija us better than sa.rubbish

this is so pathetic...smh

mia.E

Oboy see embarrassment of the highest order......

Jst thank God in wateva situation u ar in nw

zibaintl said...

my God o...like d slave trade matching....wat are d looking for..is Nigeria dat bad..............?,,,dat pple go to do ist degree slavery out dere?

Nawa ooo #bright bravo#

nigeria civilization #funny#

Faith Ogaga said...

Shuuuuuu??? For wetin na.....wetin dey d South Africa ??

i had better remain in my village than passing through this hell...... Damilola Abidakun engr

'My pikin dey abroad' see them.After dey go come back looking for a well trained medical doctor to marry.Abroad gbakwa oku

Nigeria: A failed state

Naija babe said...

Na wetin eye dey find e go see. Nigeria is bad, corrupt, dirty etc but it is still your home. No one will treat you like a goat in your home. You guys can choose to stay and suffer or come back home and make something of your lives.
Una go sell una papa property to apply for visa and buy air ticket, you leave your parents in tears and disappoint only to get treated like this..... Men this is bullshit.

This one nah small thing nah......come to oslo norway and see harsher conditions.....but once your asylum is granted,the wahala is TOTALY worth it........#thatEDOboyCORLEONE

NA BY FORCE? COME BACK HOME NAAAA

What Are they looking for , Lazy bunch of mucus. if you are hard working and you know what you'll doing, you'll make it ;instead if going thru this stress.....#baby O'Dell#

Lord hv mercy! here they are rushing to Foreign Land ready to b a slave. n d stupid ones will b blaming Nig Govt for their inability to secure a Job or hv source of income!IF U KNOW UR VALUE,U WONT TAKE UR ESTIMATION FROM OTHER!

Ok i dont understand y they que on a straight line holding waist......rolling eyes.

ALBERT N. said...

Asylum from what? or Deceitfully taking advantage of loopholes in the Asylum laws of South Africa.... Its Economic Asylum, too ashamed to come home with nothing, so "You cook up" some false persecution claims to get on the Public Welfare of South Africa.

"Ugly Nigerians" ....

Gbelela Olabisi Michael said...

Naigeria! What a people! what a country!

Christina typearls said...

Nigerians ,dere is God o, Nigeria is not as bad as seeking assylum in south africa of all places

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

Eyah. I feel for them buh wat I dnt understand is y can't they come bk home..I knw its not too safe here tho buh there is no place like home...see as dem be like lost goats

The question is, what are they doing in South Africa? Is it job? School? or what? If staying there doesn't pay you, its simple, come back home! Shikena! This is why South Africa keep doing shakara for Nigeria, because we are tarnishing our image with them, i bet they don't respect Nigerians out there cos of all this ... 70% of Nigerian youths there are into frauds, many in jail, some dead and yet they keep going there, despite the condition of Nigeria presently, i prefer being here! We cant run away from our homes!

so they couldn't go to Italy or some European country, na south Africa better pass?!!!

Ozed said...

Stupid,your mates are here struggling and even making it here,you are there disgracing the entire nation.Will SA government be feeding you free,giving you money without working ?

Tee said...

THEY FEEL SAFE AND SECURED THERE THAN LIVING IN THIS HELL OF A PLACE CALLED NIGERIA. SHAME ON YOU! NIGERIAN LEADERS. SEE WHAT YOUR CORRUPTIONS HAVE CAUSED!

i am totally disappointed. what a shame.

Linda Pls if you can pass a message to the federal govt Pls tell them from a corper that NYSC is bullshit..Going to unnecessary stress for just N19800..our supervisors taking adv of their position to frustrate someone.. Either they scrap or increase our alllowee to N50000..

Nigeria name will always ring bells not a bell in everything

check if your boyfriend dey here oh

I don't the reason people are risking their life like this.

EVERY COUNTRY IN THE WORLD IS AT RISK AS NIGERIA IS YET TO ELIMINATE EBOLA - HEALTH MINISTER

Ann said...

At the beginning of the video, some of them spoke languages that are not Nigerian languages. Not all of them are Nigerians

Why are Nigerians always disgracing themselves before their fellow Africans? Don't they know their worth anymore? We are giants of Africa for goodness sake..haba

Trust Imo boys,the only igbos that venture into odd parts of the world.

Anowi Pascal Rico said...

Y are dey disgracing Nigerians like this

what a world

seekin asylum for wt?wt a pity!!at de end of day if dey ar opportune to come bk in 9ja,dey will be posin as if dey ve hv moni.....**long hisss*****

pz said...

what a world...abeg home na better

The Nigeria I live in is good enough for these people. If you can suffer that in SA? Come on!u can surely survive in Nigeria.

is Nigeria that bad that they have to subject themselves to such to this dehumanizing treatments?

Proudly Nigerian at Home

ogeey said...

Siddons one place,dem no go gree.dem go jus dey waka up n down all in d name of dem wan hammer.....see as una dey disgrace una sef! Chaiiiii......

This is slavery! What a shame!

Fooooooooooooools

Nigeria! country that has a govt...see how your children go and suffer in another man's land just to escape poverty! Even here in europe nigerians without papers work like slaves, but they will rather stay here regardless cos at least the work pays them..in nigeria its total brokeness...even gari is not affordable.

#king said...

Blood of jah..see as pple de suffer...............................#KingOfKings

Our government and the politicians are to blame. But on deeper thought, is Nigeria so bad that all those people want to go and get asylum. They are not even helping themselves God will give our leaders the wisdom to take us to our "promised land" and Nigeria will also be a country where other nationals will want to run too for better welfare

amaka agatha said...

oh what a pitty. who said you can,nt do well in Nigeria. just gone to waste your God,s given time.

In your nature oh oga not in OUR nature.... With all the opportunities here you can't make it na there u go make am?

That is what they wanted.
God for them.

chichi said...

Linda biko not only nigerians...Thursdays is for all West African countries. So they are mixed. Though the exercise is not funny.

Lol! Survival for the fittest

www.preciouscore.blogspot.com

JESUS BOY IS HERE said...

LET THEM ENJOY SOUTH'S PUNISHMENT

JESUS BOY IS HERE said...

LET THEM ENJOY SOUTH'S PUNISHMENT

The uncommon Christian in the contemporary world said...

I PITY THEM

obietrezy said...

Hahahahaha... Smh sha but wetin carry una go there ni. Oya nau make una dey flex like that ni. Jor oh

Why is my people like this? Linda pls what is d catch in SA? May God help us.

Mo said...

When home is not homely... i dont blame them ooo. But kai it should not be like this at all

When they were crying under apartheid we helped them, now they're too big to even treat their fellow Africans with respect. If not for the whites in their country they'll be 20 years behind Nigeria, like the rest of Africa.

And the Nigerians running there as if it's Eldorado or The Promised Land, why go somewhere where you're hated? That one is saying 'Nigerians like to travel' Nonsense. If not for desperation, why would any man allow himself to be treated like this?

Kimmy*****

Like....seriously, is it by fire, by force to live in that place? Can't you all just return to your home base and do something for yourselves? The depressing part of the whole issue is that these same guys and babes will not agree to be subjected to half of this humiliation back home, to get what they want. And they either end up there dead or botched up, leaving strings of bills for people at home. This is all for the sake of " I must belong with the clique of South guys " . Gosh!! I could just puke. I need to show a lil pity but my mind won't accept this self imposed humiliation.

Mistyk said...

heheheheeeeeee. wtf? must they stay in dat country? abeg i too proud to b put in dat kainda condition in anoda country kwa! come oh biko assylum for what sef are they seeking? political or what?

Amicable said...

Our government has failed us in everything

Goodness! This is so disheartening. My challenge is that most of them are obviously unread and my Igbo brothers, which kain business they wan do?

Pple shud learn d grass isn't always greener on d oda side, it's green wen u water it..

I don't believe this, it always. Nigerians everywhere doing this and that, is it only nigerians only in africa?

DownUnder said...

This is the worst thing a Nigerian can do. What in God's great Name is wrong with today's youths?

O ma shay ooo....Anyway, Nigeria is steadily proving its hopelessness and as OMO BOY, you gas survive...Its sad tho...Lai se eran! #Smh

winniekoko said...

See the way they are treating dem like slaves. When them come to naija dey will be forming America niggas.....lol.....Igbos don't like staying in their country always moving around......Igbos are nomadic in nature!!!!!

SunnyBriggs. said...

This is just sad and insane.

Jennie said...

ITK said...

They Should come home, with their misplaced priority, there are vast acres of land to farm on here.. There's money in Agric (D'banj de sell garri, who are they that they cannot do the same)...

Sugar girl said...

What a pity....I weep for those people. They prefer the ill treatment rather than live free and honourably in your home country. This is running into slavery willingly....

May God help them to ooo...#shaking my head

What a shame let them come back to 9ja and make a huge meaningful things with their lives. by dobis112@gmail.com

ISH! What a shame ! And its these same hypocrites that will come on social media hailing corrupt leaders & suporting Mediocrity. Whatever happens to you in Bwanaland is your cup of tea. But please don't go into crime,South africans love Nigerians its only that we like putting it into their face that we are smarter than them which they dislike.

Ijeoma O. said...

What is their reason for the asylum?You can hit me up for all your shopping, I buy anything from all websites, you can send me the links or I can do the search of whatever you want and send to you for your approval before ordering after which I will ship to Nigeria for you to pick up. I live in the US. Send me a message on ijeshopping@gmail.com. You will never regret it. Convenient and very cost effective.

Hmmmmm na waooooooooooooo,go chop aduro for South,say wetin happen nah,what's the meaning of all this smh

Please people, it is their choice to choose asylum in South Africa. You people talking of slavery, are u not a slave since the Nigerian govt has refused to provide basic amenities to u as a citizen

NaNcY DreW said...

Hell no u re not, dats y it doesn't burda us dat ya'll do
U just a gud government and dats bcuz d white stay longer in SA help u develop ur country. You av 2 be hard as a Nigerian and smarter dan d oda man 2 survive dats y we survive eniwhere all doe sum 9gerians go abt it d wrong way like dis ones sicking 4 asylum in COMMON SA shame

Abeg dey should not let dem come back to naija ooo. Overpopulation is enough here. No be we send dem

Don't mind stupid Nigerians. Suffering and smiling. When elections come, everyone stays at home, expecting God to come down to fix their country.

THIS IS SAD. THE PROBLEM WITH US NIGERIANS IS THAT WE DO NOT KNOW OUR RIGHTS SO WE GET TREATED LIKE SHIT............

LEADERship FAILUre,,,,MAY GOD INTERVENE

I love how Nigerians will unite when other black nations treat them this way then turn around and be TRIBALISTIC to their own fellow brothers when they can't treat each other with RESPECT ,I am not in no way for what my country men are doing to Nigerians it's no way to treat humans especially our fellow Africans but Nigerian need to learn humility the majority I've met in SA and USA always form big boy or big girl and look down on their own people you guys are still divided by tribalism if you can pass through that and form unity then maybe SA could could stop xenophobia too the world needs more love *

Lifematters-Mattersoflife(PEOPLE AND SOCIETY) said...

Nigerians,Nigerians,any way they will never get the status because i am sure none of them meet up with the international requirement of getting the refugee status

Not everyone of them are Nigerians, some of them are from Zimbabwe, Angola, Kenya, Ghana, Namibia etc. Can someone tell me any country that happy and friendly with Nigerian (s)? Is it China or UK? May be USA and Canada are happy whenever they see anybody with that #GreenPassport. In South Africa, their may occupations are selling dope, robbery and internet-scamming. The name NIGERIA in foreign countries synonymous to NEGATIVE!!! Still yet, some people are still campaigning for #GEJandPDP to continue ruling us.

Joe said...

The waist holding reminds me of nysc tug of war, abi dem post dem go S.A for 'yoot service'? Pathetic!

dessymal said...

We've always been known with such event
#vision 2020

Nancy Drew, I've seen a no of your comments. Youre so daft. Ewwww!

TeeBoyer said...

I pray make God just let me see just one person wey i know from this people the story no go end for here..Lol

Fyi SA passprt is visa free to dublin-uk so hush ya mouths luk @d bigger picture una country niaja is onli visa free tl ghana!dy r seeking asylum to move ahead assholes linda alwys research well!

All you negative talkers can stfu already, you there suffering in silence as well and raining curses on people looking for a brighter future for not just themselves but their families, If Nigeria is that good when you leave this blog site never say anything negative about it until the end of your pretentious lives. enough said! this should go to the top of the list.

Hate is a very big word @Mimi cause you are staying in SA ,benefiting from all things that South Africans get(NOT ALL SOUTH AFRICANS ARE AGAINST NIGERIANS),tell me have you experience any issue with Eskom, how about running water ,PROPER ROADS, A HEALTH SYSTEM THAT ALLOWS YOU TO BE TREATED FIRST BEFORE YOU PAY or the list is endless of what you are enjoying so choose you words wisely (NEPA)that's all I have to say........drops mic

The fact is that NIGERIA doesnt have the basics for a normal human being to live in. Can you imagine that there is not city in nigeria with a 24/7 power supply. There is no country in the world with its cities in the dark due to power supply, even sudan. There is no city in Nigera that has international airport situated there, that has constant power supply. No light in Abuja, Lagos, Caabar, Benin, Ibadan, Jos, Kano, PortHarcourt, Asaba, Uyo, Akure, the list is endless. In 2014 " naija never get constant light", thats NONSENSE.