MTN has provided the opportunity to showcase our talents on world stage' - 2014 BOTY Winners | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 29 August 2014

MTN has provided the opportunity to showcase our talents on world stage' - 2014 BOTY Winners

The winners of the 2014 Battle of The Year, B-Boy crew category, the 619 crew, have showered encomium on the leading ICT and telecommunications company, MTN, for its continuous efforts and supports in discovering and engaging the youth across the nation, by providing several platforms that allow them compete on the world stage.

The Head of the 619 crew, Nwachukwu Jeremiah, stated this after his crew emerged winners of the breathtaking and fascinating break dance contest that took place at the Indoor Sports Complex of UNILAG, at the weekend. Continue...

While appreciating the efforts of the organisers of the competition, Nwachukwu said: “We are really grateful to God for making this a reality. This has been our dream (representing Nigeriaat the International Battle of the Year competition in Braunschweig, Germany, in October this year).

He added, “We thank God that all our effort was not in vain, as our hard-work and persistence have paid-off at the end of the day”.

“Despite coming tops, we will not relent in our effort because we have a huge task ahead. We will do more rehearsals and build more on our dance dexterity.

Reiterating their willingness to do the nation proud, the crew unanimously promised they have to show the world that Nigerian youths are talented and going to Germany to rule the world in the break dance competition.

Of the eighteen crews that registered for the B-boy crew category, nine were selected. They were Born to Succeed, Eleven All-stars, 619, CIA All-star, J Town All-stars, Squad One Machinery, Floorworks, Xolid and SDF. Four of the nine crews made it to the semi-finals: 619, Floorworks, SDF and Squad One Machinery. After a tight contest, 619 Crew battled with Squad One Machinery, and in the end, the former emerged the winners.

There were also guest performances by popular artistes including MTN ambassador, Banky W., Mode 9, Oga Boss, all of which added glamour to the completion.

The MTN Battle of the Year is a youth-centric competition driven by the street dance concept of free, expressive, exaggerated, and highly energetic movement, in which break-dance crews engage in competitive dance to determine the crew that will represent the country on the World stage.

14 comments:

Mtn, Glo et all should kindly organize something for the gospel lads! Thanks. Phil 4:13. BishopDammy#

Naija babe said...

OK! Better news Linda. I go slap you o! Whoever knows Linda should warn her for me o!

Good. #######QUEENMAYA########

Mtn! Everywhere u go. Keep setting the pace. Kudos to them.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Great! In as much as i pray they don't woop their asses mercilessly over there, they should please try not wear any hideous costume

Niceone MTN, una try wella.....

So gud for dem

Briliant minds

flowrist said...

congratulation all

9ice one MTN.

Wow thats good. MTN the best network ever. by dobis112@gmail.com

Nice stuff..how do I get videos of the dances?..anyone pls?