Health minister confirms Ebola death, two other cases in Port Harcourt | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 28 August 2014

Health minister confirms Ebola death, two other cases in Port Harcourt

OK, this is getting confusing. On Tuesday August 26th, Nigeria's Health Minister, Prof. Onyebuchi Chukwu said there was only case of Ebola in Nigeria, now he's confirmed that a doctor indeed died in Port Harcourt from Ebola. His name is Ikye Enemoah.

Speaking with newsmen in Abuja today, the Minister said the doctor died on Friday Aug. 22nd after treating a diplomat who had direct contact with Patrick Sawyer, the first case of Ebola virus disease in Nigeria. He said laboratory analysis on his corpse showed he died from Ebola.
"Following the report of his death by the doctor's widow the next day, the case had been thoroughly investigated and laboratory analysis showed that this doctor died from EVD (Ebola Virus Disease" the Minister told reporters in Abuja
He also confirmed to reporters that two people in Port Harcourt have contracted the Ebola disease, the doctor's wife and the diplomat he treated. The wife has been quarantined and the diplomat under surveillance. So Ebola has moved from Lagos to Port Harcourt?

143 comments:

Lord Jesus pls cum and take control......

This is more than serious

Na Wa O! Make Everybody protect themselves O.dis pple dnt know what they are saying O.Invest in Rimax Plus Hand Sanitizer O.call +2348098742885.

The diplomat must be wicked for not turning himself in earlier on and the late doctor stupid for not alerting the minister of health knowing that his patient came in contact with the wicked sawyer.

We don't even know what to believe again.

Chei, bad market for ph runs gals, Oluchi for casablanca

He never sleeps not slumber! He's working something out. Heal our land o Lord. Psalm 118:17. BishopDammy#

Lesson from this: Don't trust what Nigeria health ministry tell you; they only insinuate and don't have facts.
Ebola may have circulated everywhere in naija due to high population; protect yourselves any way you can and leave the rest to God.

* My R1.50c comment *

God plxxx help our country ooooooo.......

Ceeflo said...

This isn't good at all !

Another excuse not to travel to Port Harcourt.
As for the conflicting report,I'm not surprised its a Nigerian factor,our govt is so poor at managing information especially at times like this.

did pple actually blived Ebola was only in lagos? did u pple actually blived Patrick Sawyer was d 1st ebola patient in Nigeria? smh

PAVOUR said...

OMG never wanted to hear this. read it on SR this morning so this is true??? hmmm i so scared now.

Chai!!!! what one should I believe now? Eyes rolling I am dahm so confused

Lindi's number 1 fan

Beautiful lopez

Hian this us serious wahala o. Which kin thing be this na. And now they can't tell us who and who this sick people have come in contact with. Y na

Dr. John Wilson MD said...

It's not confusing Linda. Nigerians in general tend to be very premature in their speculations on everything. You have to factor in not only the secondary contacts..but a more extended chain spread that includes individuals who also made contact with infected parties but we're never identified enough to even be monitored. Please pray that this doesn't turn into an epidemic as most people thought it was just in lagos and haven't been taking the necessary precautionary measures.

Honsylglobal.com: UK Online Global Financial Advisers said...

We might urgently need to contact Governor Fashola when serious leadership issues are involved. This Ebola case could become worse with the Minister directing from far away Abuja.

Zoey said...

Nd I tot all WAS Almost well in nig. We will eradicate EVD frm Nigeria. ... Insha Allah

Lord av mercy, I just checked BP for 2 of my patients without hand glove.

@cutechika025 said...

God pls help us

More serious as i thought.God save us

Nawa o.pple shd be careful dis days

Now I can categorically say that the minister of health has lost his integrity. How can he be misleading the whole country? And the president is not even helping matter. This people should try and put things in place to curtail the spread of this Ebola virus!!!!!!

Chiby Kris said...

God save this country o! After jubilating that we are finally free from this virus, now this ??

Chai!.. I tot they hv contained d disease? God help us oooo!!
Twittr @successralu

Na wa oooo....PH ke!

See as this virus the travel...em enter bus drive all the way 4rm Lag 2 port...*abeg make em no travel again o. #######QUEENMAYA########

Enh Linda what is all this na. I don vex o. Is it not this same man that said they traced all the people that had first contact with this Patrick sawyer? And that they have all of them quarantined. So how didn't they trace this doctor, how was he sick after 21 days and nobody reported the case, how the fuck do they intend to trace the other secondary contacts for ducks sake? Why the fuck does this stupid minister of health keep contradicting what he says?

OMG!!! These people turn nu onwe unu for help biko...the earlier ur quarantined the beta.

Snow White said...

Too bad ooo

Linda >..remember he said Ebola has been contained to 1 case abi? now shebi i told you that he was talking jaguns... Athink all of you believed him bah? Well after my rants... believe it or not that case is more than just in PH ....FG needs to buckle up in the health sector biko.

If you know what is good Mr. Minister of Health, you better return Ebola to where it came from. Ebola will never come to PHCity where i Live.
The Almighty God of PHCity is bigger than Ebola.

But wait o, hope they are not playing politics with this....first Lagos then Rivers, God help us!

Hmmmm let it be its last destination biko kwa.
Face of lib

Hmmmm let it be its last destination biko kwa.
Face of lib

Abeg oooo,Ebola enof is enof.....portharcourt ke nso gbudu oooooo....

I'm not sorry for this doctor honestly. I'm only sorry for the wife and others he has put at risk. For goodness sake, what was he thinking hiding him in the hotel to treat him, no matter how much he was being paid. Silly Man.. Now because of his unethical nature Nigeria is still greatly at risk especially Port-harcourt. #ReallyPissed. God save Nigerians and Nigeria.

Just when we thought Nigeria has done a good job containing this virus, a doctor who knows the consequences of hiding a patient, has put Nigerian at risk and now he has lost his life foolishly and out of stupidity.
Loking back at the American missionary doctor who was infected but survived, one could see that he was very professional and cautious if not his family too would have contracted the virus also. I think when we become considerate then this virus can be contained.

The doctor could have probably survived if he had spoken up when he was supposed to, but unfortunately, he took the diplomat to a hotel and was treating him and when the Federal Government was looking for those who had contact with Patrick Sawyer to quarantine them, they refused to speak up. There is nothing confusing here, just plain ignorance. Our health workers ranging from Doctors to Nurses should know better. That's how that nurse ran to Enugu, and ended infecting people, including her husband. This PH Doctor also infected his wife. Ironically, the Diplomat he was secretly treating in a hotel is still alive and might make it. Nigerians should please wise up.

Who knows if there aren't other victims who refused to turn them in and have died and been buried by their relatives putting them at risk of the virus because for a doctor to secretly treat someone in a hotel not considering his and family's life and many other Nigerians, then we can see that people are selfish and wicked.
Now the patients who visited the doctor's hospital and visitors and workers of the hotel are at risk and tracing them wouldn't be so promising. People in port harcourt now would be worried sick. I pray God gives us Nigerians the strength to contain this deadly virus

LINDA IT SO NOT TRUE.... DOCTORS IN PORTHARCOURT ARE SENDING BROADCAST MESSAGES TO STOP THESE MESSAGES O. THE DOCTOR IS ALIVE AND WELL.... CONFIRM BEFORE YOU ANNOUNCE AMEBO

Before Ebola leaves PH it needs to kill someone. ... Paul Arabome.

Some people don't bother with the news but rely on you for authentic information. I think you should do more verifying news. The doctor who sent me the broadcast doesn't send broadcast messages for him to do that its true.

Mickycoal@yahoo.com said...

Chai nawa 4 dis delvlish virus oh i was even celebrating dat is almost over.Mickycoal

CINDY said...

Nawa ooo...... this is really getting complicated. God help us!!!!!!

Port harcourt of all places,God We need your help...

nella said...

There is nothing confusing here. The Minister spoke based on his record. If someone with Ebola refuses quarantine and is hiding in his village, how would he know? Linda fear God o, and call a spade a spade. Stop misleading!

mercy

God save Nigeria

linda read your first paragraph again.

This man is a liar. He lied to the world that Nigeria has successfully contained Ebola. What an ignorant and wicked minister playing pranks with people's life.

Portharcourt!.....now PH babes go fear pass Aids

Lin lin iheoma iga emere m bu eyem Motor m ka eji na aga oru maka ihe nka bu eshigbo nsogbu.

Ola

Chei! E don be! Port-harcourt,na so we go dey dey? Look here mr. Ebola, we the residents of port-harcourt have served you quit notice with immediate effect. Oh mehn! Food don spoil for my mouth. JENE'S COMMENT.

It means Port Harcourt and its environs are no longer save.
This disease won't locate us by the special grace of God almighty. Amen

why is the diplomat still under surveillance when it is obvious he has EVD. why not in isolation or quarantined. please minister don't confuse anymore joo.

See what disobedience has caused. The diplomat left lagos even after being told not to, the doctore treated him even though he knew the risks and now the dr is dead and his wife is infected and probably the kids as well. For how much na! what can be worth more than life. he put the hotel staff at risk and his patients as well.

I just wanna cry for all the wasted lives. Why would a so called educated man do this? WHY?

Eastner said...

One Question..how did the doctor die before the diplomat who has the evd....Begs asking!...hmmm

He is the most unreliable and incompetent minister. None of his news is ever accurate because you always find out what he said is incorrect.

Alagbado-ode said...

So it's now Ebolacadabra. God save us from incompetent political appointees and their incessant misinformation on serious national issues.

MICKY: I'm confused now. What's he sayin

SAD! I MUST COMMEND THE MH FOR HOW THEY HAVE HANDLED THIS CRISIS

Am believing God on Ebola eradication soon.

Abdul . A

Funso Samuel said...

I already knew this Ebola virus will spread to other places aside Lagos via STUPIDITY.The diplomat should be jailed after recovery...i insist

Linda, ur question sometimes baffles me. Which one is "so Ebola has moved from Lagos to port H? Ebola can be moved to any part of d country is not closely or properly monitored. We all know that d index case came in contact with some people both known n unknown from d look of things now. So d minister is making us understand now that there is 1 case in Lagos n 2 in port harcourt. Ours is to pray that it is closely monitored n people should not relax in maintaining good hygiene, especially washing hands with soap n water n then morning n night bath, until all this pass away. So Linda question is funny? Unless I'm misunderstanding d context on why u re asking? cos Ebola came in from Liberia n it's obvious that it can easily be spread to any part of Nigeria, not minding d fact that d Index case only visited Lagos. Linda, I no wan find ds comment *wink*

That 2 people have contracted the Ebola virus the diplomat and doctor's wife.i don't really understand this nigeria report.was it not thru the diplomat the doctor contacted the disease.abeg u pple shd stop confusing us o'jawe.

#king said...

omg..why will dis pple lie to Nigerians..Ebola nw in ph..God save dis country...............................#KingOfKings

So they were keeping it as a secret?? Nigerians we are not helping ourselves :(

Princess Charming said...

Hmm... how did he die before the diplomat he was treating na?? well, I and my family are covered by the blood of Jesus!

Sad...

ife said...

Linda pls I beg u in d name of God to. Pls post my comment, so ebola now live in. PH.... Ebola pls leave nigeria oo we are thro wit u

Na wa ooo where is Nigeria going...this thing is becoming more erious than I can imagine

Unilag big girl caught with her sugar daddy in an hotel

Pastor Defiles His 2 Daughters, Impregnates One

WTF: See what this woman is doing to her matured daughter

How Some Wicked Married Men take Advantage of Innocent Poor Girls

O Lord help us all. Rozay talking

Why can't Nigeria close it's boarders to the affected country for God's sake? Is that too difficult to do? Prevention is always better than cure. May God help us all.

lindaikeji's lover said...

fake health minister.... dere"s nothing Nigeria Government can handle even our own health priorities. smh! the only thing they care about is a way to squander Nigeria money

Read and be informed..........28:8:14 - Press Briefing by the Minister of Health on Ebola in Rivers State http://goo.gl/SMhq2

U r an idiot!!! Infsct, whatever school gave u the degree should retrieve same...

Who does that? In this age and time?

i thought they said theres just one case of ebola left

Qurzim said...

Bad n sad...Qurzimb@gmail.com

U must be mental r u a carrier or knw any one else that has it around u. I hate negative pepl like u dat delight in be livin nd spreading negative ideas

The doc was a typical igbo man. Always thinking of money first..... did he think ebola was child's play? went ahead to treat a man who you know full well should have turned himself in for observation. I hope he sees the reward of his foolishness in his afterlife.

Just shut ur mouth. Patrick was the first patient in Nigeria. It was his stupid PA dat escaped to PH to meet dis late doctor, besides dis story has been there for weeks and d government did not do anything until now some1 is dead dats y it came as a suprise to many. When I first heard this story, some weeks back from my sister who's a journalist, we just hoped it was a rumour and d pple who knew of it conviniently kept quiet so dat nobody will know. It's only God dat will save us in dis Nigeria, I am so scared right now.

You have a point but dude check your English please.

.J said...

How is it the Minister's fault? I've been thinking abt this since the news broke and unless the Minister and other personnel are ghosts, how could they have truly known?

He gave yesterday's statement based on the facts at his disposal...

Now, if anyone is to blame, it is the doctor for acting so ignorant and putting his lineage and other colleagues, hotel workers and friends at risk..

Was Adedavoh not a doctor like him? I hate when educated people act ignorantly...

#soangry

Shut up dere idiot! Wat do u know??? Pls tell us den, who d 1st ebola patient in Naija is... Negatively polluted mind lyk urs is wats wrong wit dis country

Pls be cautious and use disposable gloves to avoid touching several paitients with same gloves. Be wise!

Probably because he has recovered. If he's still alive and the doctor he infected is dead. Some people should not be doctors, they do more harm than good!

ChincoBee said...

Oh please...y blame d minister?how is he supposed to know if they don't turn themselves in?The doctor caused it even as a professional in his field,he should have known better..Now other people have been exposed to the viral disease because of his mentality!

Talking "jaguns"? Are you a yoroba movie actor? The word is "jargon"

chukwy is a liar. He keeps on lying about yhe evd and v that is wrong. pple need to be aware of what they r dealing with

Nigeria is a big joke. It's leaders the biggest jokers in the world.

Don't no why thy are blaming the minister Oº°˚˚°Âº if someone wit Ebola dis not show up how will the person be quarantine.

God have mercy......

Sad

Pls nobody should blame the minister of health or the FG here. Blame the yeye diplomat that refused to turn himself in. Alos blame the self doctor. Not everything una go bash GEJ or his minister(s)

OH LORD OF MERCY!!

APC states & ebola na wa

Linda, his categorical statement was that , "There is only one KNOWN case...in Nigeria".

rolex said...

Firstly, d minister did not mislead us, the person who had contact with Patrick Sawyer escaped to PH where he was treated by a doctor for malaria, when the tracing was going on, the man could not be found, 5 days later when he was located he tested negative to EVD buh prior to his recovery he had already transmitted the disease to the doctor who could not survive it and died last friday...his wife is already showing symptoms and tracing of pri and secondary contact have started...God bless Nigeria and the ministry of health

Petite Diva said...

Stupid, irresponsible people....

Http://journalofapetitediva.blogspot.com

Money is the root of all evil. The only reason why d doctor treated d diplomat secretly is because of the money he must v Bn paid. He has jeopardized his life, family and so many others because of the money he didn't get to spend.

Just when we thought evd was finally starting to leave the country

Patrick Sawyer, Enugu nurse, Diplomat. They all have two things in common: All educated,,,,, All true Africans. PEOPLE MUST GO DOWN WITH THEM. What will happen if Ebola gets to our villages if the educated can behave in this manner? Thank God this diplomat is alive to see the number of deaths he has to his name.

Wow I never knew you were this smart. I don't know what makes this clueless government and the health minister thinks that Patrick is the only one who brought Ebola in to Nigeria. Even if he were there's a great probability that someone else must have or will equally brought Ebola into the country via our porous and corrupt border officials!

How is it the minister's fault? The guy evaded surveilance, he can't do everything. I think they should summon the diplomat's arrest, let him pay for Sawyer's sins..

They want to blame everything on Patrick Sawyer.

there's sooooo many things wrong with your comment....where do i start?

Funso Samuel said...

I knew it! I knew that this dreadful virus called Ebola will surely spread to other part of Nigeria aside Lagos via STUPIDITY.The diplomat should be jailed if he finally survive(which i doubt) from the sickness.

Funso Samuel said...

If you read the news very well,you wouldnt blame the Minister.The man didnt turn himself him for treatment..then how will the Health Ministry know about his ailment? Use your brain

He ran away an switched of his phone an this greedy man treated him because of money.

For a lady you sure are too vulgar. The rate at which you use swear words is alarming. Chaiiii

The doctor was just a greedy, selfish and heartless human being. I am sure the diplomat must have offered him cash he could not resist...

Jessy's Corner said...

Gbagaun master

Jessy's Corner said...

"I" scared too..... Lol

This has been my fear. We will have problems if people in the service industry in this case doctors and nurses most especially do not report these issues. There should be no cover up in any form if Ebola is to be contained. For the Min of Health, I think he should slow down a bit on his PR & carry more activities in actually containing this dreaded disease especially within this one month window period before our children resume school.

Jessy's Corner said...

And u are just rude.... May God forgive you

LEEZ said...

Jesu!!! Biko wa gba control!!

fuck you a million times. what do u know about health care? blaming Dr iyke for saving lives. you are a big idot. RIP #DrIyke

The minister only spoke on d information he has. We should blame the stupid and greedy doctor for this.

Linda do not get confused...it is nobody's fault. The stupid monster went on hiding and the monkey called medical director accepted to treat him in a hotel....

ASAMPOKOTO said...

NEGATIVITY NEGATIVITY FOREVER LOOKING TO BLAME THE GOVT. The only person you people should be blaming is your fellow selfish Nigerian who decided to not turn himself in. THE END!

If APC was accused of being behind BOKO HARAM then who is behind EVD from Lagos to Port harcourt both are APC states... probably this might be the politics behind the whole saga since everything is politics in Nigeria. Abi wetin i talk...

ASAMPOKOTO said...

NEGATIVITY NEGATIVITY FOREVER LOOKING TO BLAME THE GOVT. The only person you people should be blaming is your fellow selfish Nigerian who decided to not turn himself in. THE END!

Man Of God said...

na wa for this Ebola o

Lord will need your help!!!

Well said. Nigerians are mostly worried about themselves, not their brother or sister. No consideration whatsoever, yet NA we go church pass. We don't learn anything in those churches, just enemies, witchcraft and evil forces. And we say we sabi god pass oyibo people. Sad.
ZZ

This is coming from the ministry, direct your rant at the ministry.

I think this country is full of clowns... It would have been better if they had been truthful all these while. If they had truely quanrantined the first 70 suspect we would not have this issue.

I thought there was a manifest...

The minister is a liar... He lied about the N1.9billion Ebola Management fund because he thought the scourge is over!!! Now.. lets see the vehicle he wants to buy

What a foolish world we live... The same way they have been diverting our security votes and now find it hard to fight BH.

Mama Patience, foresaw today when she said, "There is God ooo" because there is hardly that is happening now that we can relate to this phrase.

Lindodo!!!! His name was Doc Ikechukwu Sam Enemuo! Hmmmmmm...

Anon 12:11pm and Chidinma, I think he was shorthand-typing there and the 'd' was too close to the 'blive'. Na this our Harmony Best I dey fear

What I think is that the diplomat ran to Port Harcourt from Lagos, stayed in a hotel, called a doctor that he was having malaria, doctor came and did some small things, collected 50k, went back to his private clinic. (Afterall we do not know the primary and secondary contacts of Patrick Sawyer). Doctor died sometime later. Body was deposited in a morgue. Wife and the doctor who treated the deceased doctor were wondering what it could have been; could it be Ebola? Wife became feverish, quickly called the ministry of health. Ministry of health went to test the body in the morgue. Lo and behold, Ebola! They should tell us the diplomat's name. Sawyer was a diplomat. Do diplomats have common tendencies?

PinSource said...

Thank U ASAMPOKOTO... u jst said it "selfish Nigerian who DECIDED to not turn himself in..."

PREACHHHHHHHHHH! Amen. 1 million likes for this comment

Are you dense or are you dense? Dummy!

Amen and thank you

bolaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
chemicalx52003@yahoo.com

Do not b surprised if u wake up one day and u hear the news that Ebola is now an epidemic in Nigeria. All over Nigeria.

dessymal said...

diaris fire on d mountain
ebola on a tour in dis country

What's d name of d hotel and diplomat? This might help a lot

foodshopexpress said...

That doctor reaped what he sowed.how can someone run away from quarantine and contact you and as a medical proffessional you donot report such danger to the community to the authorities? i hope this will teach nigerians a lesson about doing the right thing.

mr minister, u will vomit that 1.9billion that u use for cars instead of ebola as requested by mr president.

The problem with this story lies in the arms of the Govt. We've obviously been lied to and played for fools. No primary or secondary contacts were quarantined until they had fallen i'll from all indications. The case of the nurse with the Fiance is an indicator of this. The people who are in the isolation centre are the ones who turned themselves in after the became in supposedly. It thus doesn't come as a shock that the virus found its way out of Lagos to PH and we are only just being notified after it has caused so much harm.
The truth is that the Nigerian Govt and Ministry of heath are incapable and inefficient to manage this manace. And the rate at which corruption, greed and dishonesty has eaten deep into the roots of what our society should be built on is not only alarming, but is what will eventually lead us to our demise.