Punch has given the newspapers 5 days to tender a public apology and publish it prominently in their respective newspapers or face litigation.
Here's the genesis of the problem: A faceless group known as 'Agents for Collective Transparency", an anti-Jonathan group, photoshopped the cover pages of Punch newspapers and put copies of the pictures in advert form and gave Thisday, Sun & Vanguard to publish as advert, which the papers did.
Punch now says it has affected their integrity which is politically neutral. Also, the photoshopped headlines targeted against GEJ were never published in the real Punch newspaper, they were all fake stories. The affected newspapers are yet to react.
79 comments:
Who gives a sh**
They should apologize ASAP
Na Them Sabi (Liהda's Maה)
They knew it was not right.. They just wana dent PUNCH's Image.. The damage has been done already..
OK nah, let's keep watching and see if they will apologies.... Linda I woke up to see 21,602 comments on that giveaway. I guess people like me don't stand a chance.
woke up to see 21,ooo comments on d giveaway post!! whoops!
So every sphere in Nigeria is affected with this unprofessional disease? I think it is probably because they gave them a load of money and they didn't even bother investigating the authenticity of the material they were given to advertise! But the fact that 3 newspapers are caught up in this, makes you wonder the crap we have being reading before!
Hmmm oya na fake tins!
Odiegwu. Thats business for u
Ghen ghen! Another season film has been released, this is episode1, waiting for the remaining episodes
What's the squabble about?? Can someone tell me please?
That's sick.....Abeg sue their ass...lol #BiafranSoldier
Dats how its suposed to b...Qurzimb@gmail.com
Omo See GOBE!
Serves dem right.....phew! Now can I comment? Happily read comments witout seeing shits like
Thanks linda! @dondumexblog.com
1st to comment rioeve@hotmail.com
"really? Lusciousebi@gmail.com
Zines143@gmail.com
Nawaoo. Patoswife@gmail.com
so? Mifechi@yahoo.com.
na dem sabi chukyonos@yahoo.com.
Hmmm mavizi007@gmail.com.
Lol nonye peace@yahoo.com
true talk amehomatule@gmail.com
So on and so forth..... D very funniest part, nobody has time to reply argue n curse anybody anymore cus of d rush! Very funny n boring.... Ur free to reply me after all d give away is over but u'll still see sum fools writing dia email addresses. Gosh! Dafts!
"Thanks" in olaleye adisa's voice.....
Battle of the newspaper
Pls visit my shoe blog
www.glowysofiscates.blogspot.com
Battle of the newspaper
Pls visit my shoe blog
www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com
Mehn... This sure is gonna be very interesting.. Can't wat for them to reply punch and see wat they gonna say
See Popular Ghanaian TV Presenter, Delay in Sextape Scandal! See leaked pics/video
Ghen ghen ghen, let's see how it goes
Big ghen ghen. Fitness Blog, Weight Loss Tips And Beauty
This is a serious matter......
Hmm.. Dem don jam!
*My R1.50c comment*
Dats bad. I understand thr pain
Lobotan
Hmmm.. Breakfast things on my mind
Hehehehehe see gobe Oooº° ,I hv alwaz said it dat reporters should confirm their stories b4 publishing lest they land themselves in serious mess,u dnt jst sit ur ass in a place n do copy and paste from other newspapers,I believe they ll sit up after they must hv cleared this case#unconfirmedsourceofinformation#
Na them sabi, its not our problem. This one na press war. Lol
Ghen ghen!!!!!! bobuleke@yahoo.com
Hmmmm! veraonuel@gmail.com
I don't read punch period!!!
No them sabi
Anti-Jonathan? The truth will surely come out in this country. It's a matter of time. May GOD help Nigeria. #########OTUoCHA
Y'all allowing these paper folks play with you?lol
»_»_• \0/ ^FORTUNEDEXC£L@REDIFFMAIL.COM^ »_»_• \0/
There is freedom of press isn't there? so i think Punch needs to chill, they have made noise true or false we have heard. But on the other hand the other papers should have verified and removed the PUNCH logo before publishing.
Punch please your colleagues. It was a mistake as you'll can see,so just live n let live. JENE's COMMENT.
Awwwwn... Nobody should soil the name punch newspapers has built on years oh..
ghen ghen
kateomo@yahoo.com
It is sad that the hard news media in nigeria for so many years have become untrustworthy.i stopped believing anything on the news because this minute you hear a report , the next you hear an outright contradictory report from the same station. Abeg whatever battle they want to fight they should fight.Gone are the days of ethical,honest vibrant enthusiastic journalism.Until Integrity becomes a nigeran motto,these things will not stop happening.
Okay!!!
Breezy_p via MTN
Danabiaziem@gmail.com
Brothers at war. We r waiting.
Pls..a neutral settlement should be accomplished..we don't need an extra issue now,d one we hv is quite enough..so pls,to d print media(enough)
punch tho.nawa o
hmmh.... interesting. not any of my business though.
people just like issues.... the only way to tender apology is where the defamation was done out of malice..... they shld sue if they want to but they aint getting no apology
linda..,.pls post d winners of d giveaway monday abeg..i need d money. Thanks,
This is serious, they should be verifying before they publish. They won't because they want to make money.
GHEN GHEN........ LET D APOLOGY START ROLLING IN OR
ZB
Lol that's hilarious. Waiting for part2
Tape rolling.......and.......cut#action film#
2015 tinx
Linda the woman you promised to expose for burning that little girl her name is Mrs. Roseline Uzoamaka
yeaaay. first to comment. aunty linda pls post ma comment o
They are all partners in crime! Personal interest fond of news reporting is one of the silent features of all Nigerian papers...
@ Linda, too much Nigerian film is having an effect on you. Which one is ghen, ghen? In another voice is "E don happen"? Lol. We are waiting to see them react to the claims.
Dis na real ghen ghen....
They had better apologise before they pay through their noses for slander.
******Lib's Barrister******
Real Ghen Ghen..
They should focus on the faceless groups who Photoshopped the original advert and settle it amicably.
We not yet in 2015 and d war has started,hands folded watching
Na real ghen ghen ! but that will be malicious all in the name of support for GEJ 2015,we await the next step
Action film
abeg ooo na ur brothers in media..but if dem mess up .sue them period Chemicalx52003@yahoo.com
Dz real ghen, ghen part 1.
See people when won ruin another man business o! They should have atleast run a check to see maybe the news about punch is credible. Nigerian jornalists sha!!!
Well they should apologise and let the matter rest.######IamBeauty.
Punch is anti-GEJ. Why are they worried now?
Hilarious.........punch pls punch dem!
#ILOVEGEJ. GEJ all your enemies will fall on their faces and victory will be yours in Jesus name Amen!
Those pursuing GEJ will always end up like this...the little chick will alwys escape...according to my people
this is just the beginning! ghem ghem for ndi ajo politician noo na obodo nija .(modestyjlo@yahoo.com)
Lol...real ghen ghen
EVIL GENIUS
O dear. Do we have another Evil Genius in the opposition?
i can plead 4 all the news Papers affected but Vanguard? no way those guys are just worthless, fake and useless news all the time
Mumu! You're so boring!
Punch has never been politically neutral. They are agents of the capon of Bourdillion
It does not care what happened.. I read newspapers on nigerian newspapers easily..