Father cleared of murdering drunk driver who killed his two young sons | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 28 August 2014

Father cleared of murdering drunk driver who killed his two young sons

David Barajas (pictured above) has been acquitted by a jury in Texas court after he allegedly shot dead the man who killed his two young sons, David Jr 12, and Caleb, 11. Barajas had been standing trial over the shooting death of Jose Banda, 20, who was found dead in his car shortly after an accident in Houston, Texas.

According to prosecutors, David Barajas and his sons had been driving home on the day of the incident when they ran out of fuel near their home. He then asked his two sons to get down from the car and help push it. As the boys were pushing the car, a drunk Banda crashed into the back of his car instantly crushing his sons to death. Prosecutors say an angry Barajas returned home to retrieve his gun which he then used to shoot Banda with a single gunshot to the head.

When Barajas went to court for the killing, he was found not guilty of the murder. Continue...

According to USA Today, a jury found that there was not enough evidence to convict the father and there were celebrations in court. After the verdict, Barajas said;
"I thank God. This has been hard on me and my family. A lot of weight's been lifted off my back. I'm hurt about it. It hurt me from the beginning, on top of the hurt that I was already feeling because of my sons."
Police searched Barajas house where they found an empty gun holster and ammunition. However, a gun was never found and forensics tests found no trace of gunpowder on his hands.

46 comments:

Good for him, most have been heart broken for him watching his sons die

Good for him, most have been heart broken for him watching his sons die, may the soul of the dead rest in peace

that's justice

It's not easy...

Subscribe for bis with Android said...

Good to hear.

You can click my name if you want to use bis on your android

Hmm, a moral dilemma. Would fewer people drunk drive if they knew they risked this level of retribution?

Ok den. Make things right now. James 4:17. BishopDammy#

This is can only be obtainable in a country where u are considered innocent till proved otherwise.
I could imagine how he felt seeing his sons crushed to death.

hrm paul ojeih said...

An eye for an eye this is what am talking about no time for court justice.
u take the law into ur own damn hands the father knew what he spent training his boys he knew the time emotions loves he put into his boys then one drunk ass hole comes form now here to murder the sons.
i love fathers that will stand up for their kids the two dead boys did not die in vain their father avenged them death before dishonor shout out to Alex kowe that used plank to beat to death his neighbor that raped his 4 years old daughter this is wat am talkign about instant judgement i doff my hat to all real men protecting their family any body that feels under wise to hell with u

Csomfrancis@gmail.com justice served...

A life for a life cannot heal you only JEsus can. May all the departed rest in perfect peace

MAY THE SOULS OF THE BOYS RIP.

LINDA D LUNCHING OF THE NEW NATIONAL ID CARD IS ONGOING @ THE PRESIDENTIAL VILLA NOW...GET PIXS FROM UR SOURCE TO INFORM NIGERIANS..OR U PAY ME TO UPDATE U.*TONGUE OUT* THIS IS A BETTER GOSSIP THAN BIKINI SHOW, BOKO N EBOLA DEATHS.#STROLAWAY#

Rest in peace lil ones#

well...catch him if u can! Niima

#king said...

good one..let d drunk fool die..mayb wen he meets satan his eyes will clear................................#KingOfKings

poetic justice

WEIRD THO BUH THEY WOULDN'T EVEN TRY TO FIND HIM GUILTY WEN THE DECEASED KILLED HIS 2 SONS.

Good news to heal his grieve

247gistcafe said...

Good for him,anyone who reacts in anger is capable of killing the killer of his sons. Being a parent is the most beautiful thing in the world,so loosing ones kids can automatically make you a monster.

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!!!! I UNDERSTAND THE GUY KILLED HIS SONS, BUT NOT GUILTY?! IM SURE THE STORY WONT BE THE SAME IF HE WAS BLACK!

Qurzim said...

Sorry fo ur loss...shit happens...Qurzimb@gmail.com

Fortunate he won the trial and unfortunate for losing his two sons. (Rest in peace to his sons)

thats very good...if i was the 1 i wish shoot him more than once..lesson dont drink while driving dnt drive while drinking.safe

He wouldn't have taken the law into his hands. by dobis112@gmail.com

dhobiz said...

Hmmm lucky him

interesting.....

But is this justice? This man supposedly killed another man, but because of his reasons he should be freed?

Murder is murder, and he'll have to live with that and the grief of losing his sons.

Kimmy*****

Smart Man...........forensic

May the souls of the younger ones rest in peace.

flexycouture@yahoo.com

David Iyke said...

A twisted and emotional case! I think he was forgiven because of her multiple loss not that he is innocent of the accusation.

iamjavademon said...

This man is a fool because his car has a fuel gauge and there is no fuel scarcity and why the hell will you tell your 2 young kids of that age to push the car, what an IDIOT!!!!!!! He should stand two counts of man-slaughter. FUCKING IDIOT!!!!!!!!

eyyyah! what a world, is really hard to loose a love one, thank God he is free at last.

btw 2 wrongs cannot make a right. may the soul of the departed rest in peace.

via official intercom.

I feel for the man.

Am so happy about this. I ve been following this case & can't imagine more pain on this family. It's unfortunate that d drunk guy got to pay 4 what he did with his life. Am really happy about d verdict

Before nko.

Dats all! E.O.D

yes oo, we would have the same i trust

K-REX said...

The father did the right thing and God has vindicated him from going to jail. If it was naija, hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! na another judgement u go dey hear.

AGREEED!!!

AGREED!!!

funmiD said...

very good,because there is always a time to kill; when a bastard rapes your child or kills your child,that is a time to kill and no sane jury would convict you.

aquited chemicalx52003@yahoo.com

justice must be done

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

dessymal said...

hmmmmn...reminds me of a movie
wats d name sef....

I agree with the judgement. I am sure he didn't know when he did it.

John Greene said...

This is certainly a sad testimonial to the statement to not drink and drive.