Graphic pics: Police van chase okada rider & his passengers to their deaths | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 6 July 2014

Graphic pics: Police van chase okada rider & his passengers to their deaths

This sad incident happened this afternoon. In fact, people are still gathered in the area as you read this

An Okada rider and his 2 male passengers were crushed to death this afternoon at Awoyaya bus-stop  along the Lekki-Epe Express way in Lagos as they were being chased by a police van.

While trying to escape from the police who were chasing them to seize their bike for riding on the express, the Okada, which was in high speed, collided with a BRT bus that crushed them to death.

According to an eye-witness, area boys gathered and burnt the police van. The army had to be brought in to calm the situation. See photos from the incident after the cut.. *warning - graphic content*

189 comments:

Opelicious Morgann said...

OMFG!!!!! Everyday is one horrific story or the other. Lagos is turning to a jungle of lawlessness, barbarism, and all manner of perversions.

IBK said...

Nawa...just to seize their bike

Cynthia Iyede said...

What kind of country is dis? To think that d same army that were that did awful things some days back were still d ones to calm things down is just down. Dis country hennn! Smh

chinedu Emmanuel said...

It's a pity. We really need God's intervention.

Lyk serzly wat is wrng wiv d police n military guys these daiz.r they sent 2kill or protect?

rip .smh# for my country

Terrible things dat happen in our terrible country

this is not fair, Jonathan or Fashola should call the police to order

Na wa oo. All dis police ppl jst bcos of moni wen dem go bill d okada man... Daris God

God have mercy on their souls

Onozasi said...

Too bad

Police bin fallin my hand dis days!!!
Gosh!!!!
May dia soul rest in peace!!!

#Pesty

hmm what is happening in Lagos???? fashola.... what is happening??? hmmmmmm

uniform again ooo... nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

Realy sad! If only the okada man knew he would stopped for the police men.......may their soul rest in peace.

KAI! SEE LOVES WASTED BY OUR SO CALLED PROTECTORS...CHAI!

Dondumex.com

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

In space of how many days so much bad news from Lagos state.. May their souls rest in peace. !!!

this is just sad

what a loss!...may their soul rest in peace..umm;..well;ain't surprised though..that's what a nation gets when you recruit o' level result holders and inexperienced personels as security operatives..the police van should have known beta how unsafe it is to make such a chase..they ain't even security wise and conscious cos if they were;they would have found a beta alternative than chasing and exposing the lives of those young men to danger....my opinion.tnx........#positivity

Police, police, may their soul rest in peace #bright bravo#

Oh dear! God have mercy. Sad news. Chioma_kairo@yhoo.com

CHERRY said...

Lagos again.God ve mercy.

angel said...

It just had to be another BRT bus! Those drivers are a menace..one almost rammed ny car yesterday, the fool was trying to force his way from his lane into the expressway..i parked in front of him an cursed him out! They are worse than Molue drivers

stella said...

This is really sad and painful,,i hope the police men are happy now!May the souls of this men rest in perfect peace#AMEN#

SVC said...

angel said...

It just had to be another BRT bus! Reckless motherf***kers

wat is lagos turning into sad news lately from there. the govt shuld realy caution this uniform men b4 de kill all our citizens cos its really getting out of hand. RIP to d dead, Nigeria is realy a lawless country elite oppression, military oppression, boko haram oppression. its genocide happening in our dear country. #letsprayforourmotherland#

Linda Linda Linda, again I was an eye witness, yes police chased them, but they ran to their death, haba Linda, I thought its illegal to ride okada on express in lagos, not to talk of taking morethan one person on d okada, I thought police chase traffic law breakers all over the world? Why does it now seem wrong for the Nigerian police to do same? Linda step the hatred down a little please, weather you like it or not you still need them for you to move freely in lagos. Approve or disapprove my comment, its a message for you not your readers,

JezzZzz!!! What is happening in dis country!!

Eugenia Ekeji said...

Oh ♏Ɣ God. I Just confirmed it.

purpleHeart. said...

Its sad when policemen will be chasing okada men rather than thieves. Which way nigeria? How long can we continue like dis.

Too bad

www.glowyshoe.com said...

Oh God...dz is sad...d wickedness perpertrated by dz police men needs to b checked.

Plz visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

www.glowyshoe.com said...

Oh God...dz is sad...d wickedness perpertrated by dz police men needs to b checked.

Plz visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

Francis said...

May their soul rest in peace,People should simply abide by d rules no more okada on major roads simple.

Michael said...

So sad, similar incident happened just today along Oshodi,some police led a Bus driver to his own death,really don't know what transpired between them,the driver was trying to escape the police but got crushed by a very big truck... I was at the other end of the Road trying to use the atm,and my car packed very close to this horrible scene,and for a minute I thought I was watching some hollywood movie,It Breaks my heart *tears*

BRT bus again? Them don curse dem? RIP to those who lost their lives

captain prech said...

Na wa ooh!!!

You won't blame the cops for this! They were on the wrong; the dead people, rest their soul! I guess Lagosians are still stewing from the military brutality! Damn! What a waste for a bike he would have had to pay 5k or more for!

Uniform men and BRT buses now has something in common. I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

constitution said...

20 naira equals 3 lives abi, all in the name of I must catch u and seize ur OKada den u will come and claim it. Hextex2001@yahoo.com

Jessy!!! said...

God have mercy

Lovet said...

Dear God Almighty, heal our land in Jesus Name; Amen.

chydominates@yahoo.com

Zoe Ami said...

Just yesterday it was soldiers/BRT/civilians and today Police/BRT/civilians. What's really happening

datsmedjen@gmail.com if only nigeriqn government cqn just put more effort in mqking our nigeriqn police look like humqn beings...mqybe d would stop qcting like qpe men...

Touch Me said...

Why is there so much wickedness in Nigeria.....

constitution said...

Go and chase boko haram den u can earn ur respect. Disgracement of country.

so sad. R.I.P

So Sad. R.I.P

Oh Lord pls help us,,kiki

OBINNA JAMES said...

Too bad, short of wards. may their soul rest in the LORD.

Nothing is safe in that dungeon u call a country... boko haram, police, soldiers and more..smh

Pple die evryday. God plz show us ur mercy. Woke dis mrn and saw a dead young opposite my street. Now this! God where r u???

Oya APC release a statement !!
Fashola condemn the police !!!
Libers condem the Area Boys !!!
PDP priase the Soldiers !!!
Linda take my comment do Eba !!!
Lives goes on !!

Roma said...

Oya APC release a statement !!
Fashola condemn the police !!!
Libers condem the Area Boys !!!
PDP priase the Soldiers !!!
Linda take my comment do Eba !!!
Lives goes on !!
Peterokechukwu120@gmail.com

BRT again?

nella said...

I don't know how I feel about this news. Lawlessness continues....

Jess of Nazsreth !

But how is this pictures graphic?........ anyway may there soul rest in peace.

Y wl they nt obey d law? Y ddnt they stop wen d police told dem 2! Now they are buurnin police van! It's sad they died buh they wr wrong! May thr souls RIP!

omg sad!

omaahhonda said...

Sad,RIP

Monty said...

Nigerian police!, Nigerian police!! hmmmmm is well u pple shld continue. There is God

Same way they chased d bike I was in one day, they hit d bike from d side not minding d passenger nd that was how we fell. I ended up stitching up my toe. Smh mtccchheeewwww. May dia soul rip.

Very sad news.

Hmmm God save us all from any form of untimely death.

God of Mercy, may dere Soul RIP....Amen

Hmmmm linda may there soul rest in peace. CHI.

Sad news everyday. May their souls RIP. God save ur ppl. #Mr Vybez#

Mae said...

A very sad incident. . We Nigerians should learn to obey laws.. These area boys should also be tamed.

Chommmi said...

So na like dis they don waste d guys?Hop they rested wen they got dem died?Meanwhile pple no dey obey rules now see d result

Nigeria has become horror film things re becoming terrible everyday father commit those souls into ur hand

This folks tht calls themselve armed forces will not go to Sambisa n chase boko guys na to chase innocent ppl them sabi.. God will judge in the end..

Plss dis police and civilian wahala is gettin to much I no lik ogini lagos wat nwwwwww,kabishhhhh ih#bebo#

Why will people be putting dia lives at risk, dy shud hv jst stpd for d police men.....So sad

OOOOO GOD OOOO...

POLICE AGAIN
.MAY THEIR SOUL REST IN PEACE....

dudette said...

Nigeria is finished!!!!

dudette said...

Nigeria is finished!!!!

LEEZ said...

Omg!!! Police???? I hate 'em!!!

So so sad ..... May der souls rip

Blessing said...

Na waoo! Lord av mercy on ur children. May dia soul rest in peace

maximum's blog said...

Mehn Nigeria is so f**ked! Nuffin ryt! Pple dah r meant to be protecting citizens n protect dere rights are actually d one's killing d citizenz!!!!! Do we rily need diz pple ledem just take all of them to sambissa forest ledem chase boko haram sinz dey r good in chasing

Ha! Nigerian police!

OMG! What is happening in this country? From Boko to police.

R.I.P guys. If police his still struggling and killing people they are to protect what will come off Community police that is coming? hmmmm. Jopeyemi@gmail.com

This is so so terrible, what must be their reasons for this.....

XDON D DON

Dis is bcoming an everyday thing. People's lives ain't worth nothing to men in uniform anymore. It's well

RIP. The govt has warned that okada shouldn't ply the express. Why disobey???

May their souls RIP........shexybabe2010@yahoo.com

Horrible..what's all this for God's sake

RIP fellows,coz am speechlx nd tz sad.....police fr jst let dem go nd now c wat has happend

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

Life(s) in 9ja mean ntin, they I̶̲̥̅̊ℓℓ tell u it happen on a high way, dat bike were nt suppose to ply d route. Bros ntin I̶̲̥̅̊ℓℓ be done. Opeifa I know him personally, dey A̶̲̥̅̊я̲̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ all fake people. let's just say "let d dead,take care of d dead".

Na Fashola day cause all this nonsense.

OMG! May God continue to protect us o! This is sad.

Odusose Farouq said...

How can this level of impunity be allowed in a nation as big as Nigeria. When bunch of school drop-out are thos in our forces what do you expect. This is sad and its high time WE stand as one regardless of religion and tribe to say NO. How long are we going to continue like this. Remember no one knows who is nest, it could be me or you.... Please stand and be counted as we begin a change revolution..... Follow me @otomisin7 on twitter pls...

Humphrey said...

My God have mercy

Policemen no serious at all just becouse they want to seize they machine and asked them of money why all the chase.. The moob need burn dem togeda wit their hilux

Very pathetic! Police is ur friend.

SAD... RIP But this on those arrogant stupid fools called the NPF and Gov. BRF this is also on you, when you banned bikes does it give the opportunity for the police to kill citizens? Is the punishment for riding a bike DEATH? We KNOW the Police(most of them) would do anything to arrest bikes even to kill and maim. HELLOOO: The reason you banned bikes(to prevent accidents on the express) would continue cos of trigger happy rouges/cops. THIS HAPPENS EVERYDAY IN DIFFERENT PARTS OF LAGOS. SMH. PETEROLU

may they rip.. patoswife@gmail.com

damilola fambegbe said...

Omg they should have just packed oo, this is soo sad rip

Senator said...

What a world! Our security men nd their crude ways.... If they re dis gud y is boko haram is still runnin wild in d north? RIP 2 d departed

Yes! Dis accident happened in my area, d road is so bocked now...this police officers are heartless people
Mmafunkky@gmail.com

It happenened in my area
Mamafunkky@gmail.com

Linda, respect the dead. If it were your family member would you want their pictures splashed everywhere? But because these people are poor and nameless they don't deserve respect? Typical Nigerian mentality.

chincobee said...

Aww too sad......May God have mercy on us and may their soul RIP

A very pointless death for those pple, dey know it's wrong to enter or ride bike at xpress

edu said...

RIP!!! But could have avoided this untimely death by just waiting for this police officers. Impatiance and thinking they are smart cost their precious lives.

So sad....RIP to them

so sad! May their souls rest in peace! Amen...

Adline said...

May their souls rest in perfect peace Amen

Rip

Shame to the Nigerian police they are a disaster indeed

BIG SHAME ON NIGER POLICE

death is d cheapest commodity to buy in nigeria, surpassing garri ijebu sef

Bony bony said...

Omo.Naija is sumtin else. Oooooo

dis is pure wickedness, y are d uniform men always causing death on our high way? so a waste of life. RIP

what a tragedy

I witness the incident but seriously all the police should ne banish frm lagos U̶̲̥̅̊ can imagine after the incident the police ran away . Rip guys. Tneyoth@yahoo.com

OMG!!! May thire soul rest in peace.

May their souls rest in peace.@patfrance@

OMG, and they allowed dos animals to escape?....

R.I.P to the dead.

Ur bike or ur life?.Mtcheww.RIP d trio

But why would the Okada ride on the express bikonu eeh. A stubborn flies they say follows the cops to the grave. Ah ah

Linda u can dull wif ur comment postings eeee. Dis newsve lasted for more dan 3hrs bt d comments ve nt been uploaded. U dey dull for comments upload abeg. Do sometin about dat luv.

Na wa ooo!!! Lagos these days though!

Chie! Wht aa hard day. May their soul RIP. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com, 08063645540. Mi email is nt functional at d moment.

Hehe the rate at which police chase after these bikes is just too much, d bike riders go against the law fine but these policemen should be more careful about chasing after them!

Adiok Ono police & their #20.... Shebi dem don waste innocent soul.

Oh my God!!!

Hmmm! Just like dat. Pple take unnecessary risk sha. Rip! Just sayin...D Curious1

Ichie Arigwogwo said...

While condenming what happened, is hightime Nigerians learnt how to rescue accident victims first instead of dissipating energy trying to punish/kill the person that was driving the vehicle that knocked down the victim(s)
Imagine, if everybody had put their effort in saving those victims maybe they would have survived. It's also because of this our attitude that make people first run away in the event of knocking somebody down instead of stopping to help carry the victim to the hospital.

We should realise that no matter how bad we feel, accident is accident, hence that word "accident" Our first reaction always should be to save and not to take laws into our hands.

kemi F said...

may God help us in did country.

kemi F said...

may God help us in dis country.

Crushed to death? Between what and what?

give urselves brain said...

this is so sad...may their soul rest in perfect peace...this police and their menace is really eating deep into Nigeria...with this rate those who were entrusted with the responsibility of protecting our lives wld probably be the ones to take it as it is evident in this case...wat a country???

I actually witnessed dis sad incident, it was rainin nd 9ja police won't let poor okada rider be...may deir soul RIP..

Everytime accident, death,police shooting,kidnappers,armrobber in Lagos . Why is it always Lagos ? Death all the time in Lagos , may their soul R.I.P

Yumyum said...

ogbuagu onyedika said...

Police go live dey work d do another tin so bcos 200 d go after dis people but y d dey run d 4 stop am sittle dey just 2 or 5 h.dis lagos every tin d happen I no fit live 4 lagos dat is y I like onitsha is d best town

Was it worth it afterall?????? Y where dey running????? Kai! Dis is so painful..just look at young boys being wasted just like dat..... and dese police guyz tho.. couldn't dey just give up wen it turned out dis way....crazy mehn

Gosh! This is sick,shouldn't they have considered the passengers? God forbid, I almost faced similar fate a while ago, my bike escaped by the whiskers but not before a whole canister of tear gas was emptied into my facial openings.....so sad that all these police care about is money and not the lives of the citizens they were meant to serve and protect *smh*.... RIP to the departed souls!

Was it worth it afterall?????? Y where dey running????? Kai! Dis is so painful..just look at young boys being wasted just like dat..... and dese police guyz tho.. couldn't dey just give up wen it turned out dis way....crazy mehn

Y is our police still operating like dumb?

comfort said...

What is this country tuning too now?God have mercy on us ooo...may their souls rest in peace

These policemen should al b stripped of their uniforms, before they kill al d pple "D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ÿ̲̣̣̣̥ r to protect

Jesus, this is sad

Woners shall never end. How many ppl will our Nigerian police kill because of chicken change. If they meet armed robbers, they won't have the morale of chasing them to death. This is really absurd.

But dey shuld hv stopped na #sadface
Cute4everpinky@yahoo.co.nz

SO sad
Sad event again
police & bribe that's what lead them to death

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

BRT again...na wa oooh

Jeeeezzz! And dats my area o. Gud am not arnd at d moment, wuld av spoilt my day. Its a pity

The police has has become the #1 enemy of the people.. @nodebenna

What are they still looking at? Chaii! Sad one! ßut why would a passenger allow an okada rider drive so recklessly? I don't understand some people.

Obietrezy said...

I guess those police 👮 officers will go free.. To sad 😔 they ended that way. But if na armed robbers police 👮 no go fit chase them oh... Well there's God oh!!

Police is your friend. The barbarity. *smh

Police is your friend

BRT bus again. Na wa. By the way why dem go ride 4 express way? Well may their souls RIP
Tushizzy4real@gmail.com

Ah too bad
tjodeleye@yahoo.con

lord have mercy. may their souls rest in peace.

What is all these. Chasing the bike to take over the bike and sell to others. Things are really bad with our systems.

Sorry to say but these things happen all over the world just as much as anywhere else. Thank technology for bringing every story to your TV or mobile device. Secondly, Lagos has more people than most countries have in Africa so what do you expect when so many people are jammed in one place? Aside from Boko Haram the hysteria these days is not necessary.

NO, Nigeria needs a revolution. Keep waiting for God and you'll be waiting for eternity.

Linda did you write that the army had to be brought in to calm the situation? Same army that was alleged to have similarly burnt down BRT buses? What an irony? hehehe Dia ris God of real justiceooooo!!!

I thank God for my life oo, they chased me too, last year Dec from Presbyterian Church, Yaba to University road,Akoka....I was begging them on top bike wit my Bible and my hands up, I was crying. It was a terrible experience. 23th Dec 2012...it was GRACE alone. RIP to d dead.
JenniPukka

Now they ended up seizing their lives.....police sha

Nw they ended up seizing their lives

Full Blodied Igbo woman said...

And when the govt says this is the law, we as citizens shld obey. If d biker had not broken two laws at same time, he wld be alive today. We all knw how the police behave, so the beat thing is to avoid them and their wahala untill one day the Fed. govt will see the importance of properly training the police. It's just like struggling with danfo on the road, we all know what will happen to your car.

Otunba Pumba1 said...

brilliant words from @alicia u spoke well n RIP to dose involved

Its amazing how stupid some of these comments are, the okadaman was doing the wrong thing and the police were trying to do their job and we have pple here blaming the police? dont you all watch high speed chases of traffic offenders in other countries? the police dont do their jobs you complain, they do their jobs you still complain. idiots you all who are blaming the policemen.

Human Being said...

Everyone is calling the police. But the truth is that the police didn't push them to crash. They took that risk fully aware of the dangers. He should have stopped and get arrested than risk his life to get away.

Government (Fashola) made a law and the police were tasked to enforce that Law. Even abroad the police do chase offenders (traffic law offenders, drunk drivers, thieves etc) and sometimes the offenders crash. (watch police chase videos) Only that abroad, when such pursuit is being made, they warn other road users ahead. If they didn't chase that guy, he will repeat it again and Fashola will say the police is not doing its work.

BUT the irony here is that i can bet you the ploice was not motivated to enforce the law but rather the money they will collect from that bike man when he comes to bail himself and the bike.

The guy should have stopped and face the music of police. But again its just a poor dude trying to make a living in this though country.

Human Being said...

Everyone is calling the police. But the truth is that the police didn't push them to crash. They took that risk fully aware of the dangers. He should have stopped and get arrested than risk his life to get away.

Government (Fashola) made a law and the police were tasked to enforce that Law. Even abroad the police do chase offenders (traffic law offenders, drunk drivers, thieves etc) and sometimes the offenders crash. (watch police chase videos) Only that abroad, when such pursuit is being made, they warn other road users ahead. If they didn't chase that guy, he will repeat it again and Fashola will say the police is not doing its work.

BUT the irony here is that i can bet you the ploice was not motivated to enforce the law but rather the money they will collect from that bike man when he comes to bail himself and the bike.

The guy should have stopped and face the music of police. But again its just a poor dude trying to make a living in this though country.

Human Being said...

There should be an orientation for the police force .the NPF should compensate the families of the deceased

Ose said...

See lets call a spade a spade....What they were doing was wrong. If you know the police are out for "blood" then simply don't give them the opportunity to harass you. We all know that bikes aren't allowed on the express way so why then would they go ahead to ride on it?! Its sad that they died and may their souls rest in peace but all of this would have been avoided if the obeyed the law in the first place. Nigerians are generally stubborn! We need avoid all forms lawlessness so we don't even give the police the opportunity to misbehave in the first place. God help us all and bless Nigeria.

r.i.p

C.E.O

Pay Chuka said...

THAT AWKWARD MOMENT WHEN THE MAINTAINERS OF THE LAW, BREAKS THE LAW. RIP BROTHERS. GOD HELP US ALL

So Sad. Deaths, killings, kidnapping is the order of the day all over Nigeria. this country Nigeria needs prayers and God's divine intervention. RIP victims

The is no God oo! however, I don't think he operates in Nigeria

sheba olamipo said...

na wa o. we are just the ones creating problems for ourselves in this country.

Linda Ikeji, people broke the law and now they are dead, you are now blaming the police??? Haba? Why can't you reason like a matured woman that you are. I think you can even strip just to gather comments on ur post. mstewwwwwwwwwwwwww

PS: I don't mean to be insensitive but rules are rules. May their souls rest in Peace tho. But God respects the rules of man.

Opelicious Morgann, you are a very stupid person for swearing in that manner, you don't have respect for God shey?

d police wen cause dis problem were he go,e pain me sha

Samson said...

There is God ooo. He is watching all the uniform men who are dealing with defenseless citizens. He will see us through. They can not kill us all.