'Why I named my twins Nollywood & Hollywood' - Ogedengbe reveals | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 19 June 2014

'Why I named my twins Nollywood & Hollywood' - Ogedengbe reveals

Actor and movie producer Femi Ogedengbe who welcomed a set of twins with his wife in May and named them Nollywood and Hollywood is still talking about why he chose the names for his son and daughter. Speaking with Encomium magazine this week, Femi explains;
"The names are my own way of appreciating the industry that gave me a chance, that is Nollywood and the industry I aspire to breakthrough, Hollywood. I will simply say thank you to the people who criticized me for giving me attention. It shows they noticed me. Also it shows they left their own problems to respond to a guy with a very humble background from Dagbale Akoko Edo who grew up in the slums of Mushin. Furthermore, to those who say I am an attention seeker, I say thanks to them for granting me and my wife undue attention. Sadly it did not come with money"

97 comments:

LEGACY said...

"Sadly it did not come with money" lol..i think i fancy this guy. Haters shud tk a bus to sambisa forest. We need mean people over there ryt now.

Amarachukwu said...

Who cares.

Personally I love those names, and I think Mr ogedengbe owe no man any explanation for the names of his twin

3race said...

hahahaha...9ice response there. he just addressed the issue straight away, next time hater will mind their own business

Lolz,dis is crazy

#King said...

Thank u too ATTENTION SEEKER.............................#KingOfKings

Do people still use that type of cotton

He seems to make sense though.
Check Out This Photo Of 2face Idibia Showing Off His Dollar Bills

So Lame

Na wah o, this man can drag matter o, we don hear, all these plenty talk coming from a man? I wonder hw his wife dey cope with this attiutude

Who cares?!!

Baba Ibeji it haff do na abeg!

Linda u know dey tire for this guy matter?

Na wa

Ok heard

Are will still on this guy

this post made my day. you guys would thank me later

I wonder when pple wl learn 2 mind dere biz. He's d father n dere mother didn't complain, y criticism? Abegoooooooooooo, if he lik sef mak e name dem goat n dog na him get his kids.

Loolz abeg make Una free papa Holly and Nolly

Mr Ogedengbe don't mind those who condemned your twins naming Hollywood and Nollywood but when Yankee's named their pikin BLUE IVY and NORTH WEST them go dey like!

Amaechi said...

@Linda, the man in question is anything but lanky as you described him.

Skizzy said...

Lovely names my brother. Dnt mind bad belle pple wey dey yan tua tua. May ur twins grow in wisdom and knowledge..Amen!

dhobiz said...

Nmtchew abeg enough of this man and his stories that touch the heart

Skizzy said...

No mind bad belle people my brother. I even now appreciate the names more, therefore may they grow in wisdom and knowledge..Amen!!

BOOTYLICIOUS said...

see his nose like oxygen.....this dude is a cheap low life motherfucker........mtcheeeeew

Skizzy said...

No mind bad belle people my brother. I even now appreciate the names more, therefore may they gromw in wisdom and knowledge..Amen

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Hehehe.. This guy. U sef rest nah..

whitefalcon said...

She's hit the nail on the head.

Excatly! That's what he want, to come with money, but too bad, it didn't, My beautiful aunty linda, yesterday was a good day for the children of late, EMMANUEL ODUMoSU, alias Jesu oyingbo, there was a case for almost 16yrs, over his properties in barclays and Nigeria, as to who will continue to manage it, but thank God, the court has handed over all the property to UBA BANk, as the administrators to take charge of all his property, the children were jubilating, after the judge announced that the all his house should be sealed off and eject all the tenants from the houses both maryland, Mile 12, Ijebu Ode and all other places, and UBA should take over the property.

If u like name dem sheet&mess who cares?Linda enuf of this jare

############GOD punish#########################devil

whitefalcon said...

My guy nothing do, carry go!! They're your kids and your wife signed up to it.
May God bless u with another set of twins, this time it should be Iran and Iraq.

Seun A. said...

Why is dis Femi guy seeking for so much attention abeg? They r ur kids and u have given dem names that seems ok by u. Why are u disturbing us with unnecessay explanations abeg? Ogbeni get off d radar and stop disturbing us with ur notice me or I die attitude jare!

This is the first time I'm commenting on this story since it broke out. I wonder what this guy thinks he's doing. Mr man you are not even popular in Nollywood , so I don't know what your problem is. So because coming to the USA changed my life my child should be named America? Do you even know what you have exposed these babies to? May God forgive you o. Linda please stop bringing up is story here. Let him be with his stupidity.

Seriously this guy is crazy

DOBY DOBY said...

E don do nah.. u shld knw pple ar free yo express demselves.. dnt take it personal. . Haba.. seems lyk d tin dey pain u.. u shld expect tins lyk dis dats y ur a celebrity. .

Chai!!!!
Some people don't take criticism lightly sha. The poor guy is still heartbroken and I'd trying to cover up by using defence mechanism approach.
Dude, you don't owe anyone an explanation for naming your kids whatever!
After all, It's better than those that were christened Njoku, Ekpo, etc

Wow Congrats. Linda if u did not post my comment I ll knw u really haith me,

Linda na only u dey give dis man attention o!

On a first account, that brother is not lanky. Unless I skipped the class in English Language where my teacher defined lanky as what we have here. Secondly, it is just dumb to give one's kids bland and petty names such as Nollywood and Hollywood. He was born and bred in "the slum of Mushin", why didn't his parents christen him Oluwamushin? Oh, or say his father was a hunter, he could have simply named him 'Ekute' or 'Omo Ode'. Names play an important role in making a child what he/she becomes tomorrow. Take Bill Gates. . . He's got too much paper bills. This is a desperate cry for attention and it pricks my heart that he shows no remorse for it. Pitiful.

Are u serious naming children cause ur grateful to a job, dat makes no sence. The name sounds lame too, I probably would change my name asp

who really cares?
feel free to name your next child "bollywood"
Baybee

Madness

Your No. 1 DATA Vendor Call/WhatsApp 09028450336 (Get Your Cheap & Affordable DATA on All Networks) said...

Good for u

Linda, to be lanky means to be painfully thin. You have joined the bandwagon of Nigerians who have Nigerianised the English language with meanings only known to them... Back to the matter, Femi Ogedengbe can name his children whatever name he chooses, only issue is the embarrassment the children will endure when they grow up especially when school mates taut them.

These are wrong names:
nollywood characterised by cheating,divorce & lack of decency same goes for hollywood, u had better change the names of the babies,God bless u as u do.

Dis man again !!!

#GIFTEDhands

Oga Ogedengbe Ok oh! We have noticed u! E don do joor! Quit trying to gain cheap publicity but trust me u have gotten it already but witout money shaa! The guilty ones r always afraid nd perpetually trying to defend themselves! Its ok Papa Nolly & Holly!

#GozManuel Says#

Am tired of readin sh*ts abt dis man jare. We av 4gtn abt dat already, why dnt u wana stay off d grid?

Ololade said...

Ok we don hear baba nollywood and hollywood!

KWEEN said...

Whatever nigga, they are still stupid names to give to children!

Well,...it is well

Phewwwwwwww, you for name them akin and pawpaw who cares? Na you born your things. I don't know how those meaningless names will ever glorify God's name for this great gift to you. Motherhen

am tired of this story joor

Live your life jawe....no mind dem

Mtcheeeeew!!.....,nobody cares jawe

omg! has this guy not had enuf!

purity said...

The truth is dat its not a nice thing to named ur kids hollywood and nollywood. Why wat have come over you don't u know that names create a live nature and atmosphear for ones life.

Some parents sha, just think of themselves alone, not evn the future of d twins. ..how will dey feel wen dey grow up and realise why u named dem such....

sorry for u. wait until ur girls are grown. :| .

gift.o said...

forget dem,we hear

Are we still on this? thats his own business o

Iam Ibrahim said...

No disrespect,its madness...really wanna show appreciation? Name ur Babies GOD!! That's hu I think u should be grateful to...smh

Yes and the names sounds as stupid as yours. I mean what is kween? What of kiwi? Yeye de smell

Name them Nigerian movie, mexican movie, clinic matters or tinsel 4 all I care but pls stop disturbing us and get busy#bbmsadface#

pls no one actually cares what you call your children in as much as we are happy about the wonderful gift from God, if you like you can call your children boko haram, that's your cup of tea. Please we need to read more interesting stories, definitely not about you and your odd names because stories about you are boring, so spare us this space you cover for a breath of fresh air.

Linda, define "lanky."

Can't u see its an hospital in d second pics Yeye fowl

Lanky means thin and tall in an unattractive way.

KriZo 01 said...

Femi u are d biggest fool of the year. Who cares aboutt ur fucking background. Naming ur kids those stupid names does not make u a celebrity for u to be proud of ur hungry background. Ode

Lol, sadly it did not come with money..... I love this guy.

XDON D DON

I don't care!

This guy na wa for u. U talk too much, can a wmn cope with this kind of a person, see his munshi eyes self. Pscheew, I can't stand a talkative. Shut ur trash already! U suck!!

Who cares! Must he named innocent twins to appreciate anyone...smh

Mumu which one una dey use for una house ode

It is called curtain. Iti bolibo. Poverty wan kill you u dey yab person. Common spelling no gree you. Aboki APC

His wife is a mother of twins. He is a beneficiary of nollywood. A happy man. What are you?

NAOMI said...

If ur wife happens to give birth to another set of twice please name them Bollywood and Ghallywood. Thanks.

Stupid papa nolly nd hollywood u4 name dem AKara nd Bread

I just fell in love with this guy...That was a very nice response

Yeah as lame as ur life!!!

Ok. Next child if not twins should be named errrn... Pinewood, but if u happen to born/bear another set of twins and they turn out to be a boy and a girl then name the boy bollywood and the girl ghallywood. i na ara nsi!!

I don't give a hot wet monkey's ass

Abeg I no fit laff

We are patiently waiting for Bollywood and ghollywood...may God give u another set of twins. Amen.

Abeg! I no fit laff Nollywood n hollywood

You're still aspiring to break into Hollywood at what age? U better seek advice from chiwetel Ejiofor. Anyway your baby Hollywood can make it if u don't...lolz

katrina said...

its hate not haith tank me later

yhu for gv dem gaot and dog.....wen d cgildrn grw up dem go dey 1da whc kind mumu name yu gv dem...nonsense

If u like name dem Gollywood,bollywood n d likes we dnt care. Naija sha bcuz dey named him goodluck n nau he's d president dosent mean wen u name ur child he wil bkum d president too. So mr femi do wateva suits u oooooo

Thank u for ds coomment..so because linda is into blogging,wen she gives birth ha baby wl b named blogging abi..moreso dose kids wl b made fun of and picked on cos of dose names wen growing up..ds actor is stupid illiterate yoruba man

Abia!

Lol nollywood nd Hollywood. Dis guy doesn't lov he's innocent children.

Ohhhhh Please, enough of this!! Dis man should go n seat down. Stop ranting like woman, enough of dis topic.
And 2 think dat he really takes time 2 read comments here.
Dose names are Hideous .....#PERIOD.

Ohhhhh Please, enough of this!! Dis man should go n seat down. Stop ranting like woman, enough of dis topic.

Hahahaha...Bollywood and Ghollywood. There soon will come Kannywood and Yoruwood...Oshisko. At leasts the kids can funkify their names as Holly and Nolly. That sounds stripperish...maybe Pornish LMAO

crew said...

If he likes sef he can name them tissue n paper. KokanAye

olaniyi Larry said...

Dnt xpect such names for a destiny children of yours.....so crazy