Italy to repatriate 700 Nigerian prisoners | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 20 June 2014

Italy to repatriate 700 Nigerian prisoners

The Italian Ambassador to Nigeria, Fulvius Rusticu, yesterday June 19th revealed plans by the Italian Government to repatriate 700 Nigerian prisoners currently serving jail time in Italian prisons. While  speaking with pressmen in Abuja, Fulvius said Italian and Nigerian Govt officials were in talks for a Transfer Agreement (PTA) and would meet first week in July in Rome to conclude negotiations. He said bringing the prisoner closer home is in the interest of the prisoners 
"Each country is responsible for its prisons; the logic in signing a PTA is that we think that it is better for Nigerians and even Italians to serve their terms at home. Already to be in prisons is not a nice experience, being abroad is even worse, so given the prisoner the chance to return home is in their own interest. It is very rare for a prisoner to want to stay in a foreign country, we have cases of Italians serving in prisons abroad and they look forward, and are happy to return home,” he said
No fewer than 15,316 Nigerians are in various prisons abroad with the largest No. of 752 in the UK.

40 comments:

DOBY DOBY said...

Ar u kidding me.. 700 in italy.. 752 in uk.. dats too much .. pls dey shld free my pple

Italy is in recession and it costs money to keep people in prison - around 30K pounds per year for an inmate so it only makes sense to send them back!

700 broken dreams.

bluemagic said...

Sad!!! Bt am glad dere r coming home..

i'm italian and the main reason why they are doing it is just because italian prisons are small and there are not spaces so thats just a way to create more space, for them, people do no go to prison for their own interest, or for their own comfort baah .. forza italia anyways

Is better than killing them #bright bravo#

They shud come back,no place like home . I knw more than half of them are fr edo

Nigeria's prisons supose don dey close to full, dat is if dey neva full already self. Evry week/days, prisoners are sent home frm abroad to Nigeria. A very bad trademark

SOME OF THEM WILL RATHER STAY THERE OOOH! 9JA PRISON NA WAR!!!!

Come start afresh..

Hmmmm! Naija jail? De shud not wake up one morning and decide to waste 20 lives cus of space for new prisoners!!!!!!!!!!! Na their way here oh! If anyone has a relative there! Bera advice him to remain there. Nija no send anybody oh! Ekwugokwamu nke mu.........ndi ala!

Haba. No be we beat una for World Cup na? Lol. But seriously, this is hilarious. Naija prisoners would rather serve their sentences at home? I think not. But hey, serves em right!

Send them back

Linda.. more than 150,000 Nigerians are serving jail terms in south africa.. so correct that number... if you doubt me play come sun city prison in johannesburg where you have more than 30,000 nigerians doing there jail terms

Chai

D bulk of dose 2b repatriated will definitely be from edo state #watchout

OMG!!! Nigeria has no space.....we are overpopulated as it is.........As a matter of fact, I actually advocate that the government needs to adopt a 2 child per household law......cause we are too bloody much.....

Its this type of publicity that makes people think Nigerians are the only people capable of committing crime

U pple shld free dos prisoners b4 sendn dem home. Better to serve dia terms in naija?..hmmm

I dey see something....

I AM LIBER,SDKER,AND AMDER. said...

They will prefer to be in the prison over there than coming back to Nigeria.They should have asked the prisoners which one they prefer,Anyway they have the right to send them away from their country,A foriegner and prisoner have no choice.

No foreigner would want to serve in any prison like naija prison cos prison in naija and some other part of Africa are worst and no naija prisoner would want to come and serve in naija prison if such person commit any crime in Europe, N america etc

Nigerians don suffer.

THANK GOD FOR THEM!
dondumex.com

Is it by force to enter abroad?cnt der stay in naija here instead of going out der2 give us bad names?

###################GOD punish##################devil

Gracious

this is unbelievable
700??? God help my country

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

FB Loading said...

IS THERE A COUNTRY WHERE MY PEOPLE OF NIGERIA NO DEY......Causing tou ble bcus they are trying to make big more, now see where they are thrown into

Yes sir...the Italian government is just saving its money and deporting this culprits in the process. Make them their countries headaches. Please let the Nigerian govt watch this individuals when they are repatriated so they don't join BH o

What?! I honestly do not want to believe this and don't know where to get the facts.

They should keep them since they were the one that inprisoned them. After all they were charged on flimsy reasons in d first place.

Garri Boy said...

Trust me, those guys go prefer when dem dey Italy by the time dem spend one month for naija prison

ogbuefi said...

God pls help dose men

I'm hoping that they don't get sent home. Bringing someone from a European jail to a Nigerian jail is like sending someone from Abuja Sheraton hotel to live in Ajegunle. I don't live too far from Pentovil Prison London. In this prison,the average prisoner has a Television,Air conditioning,DVD player,24 hour medical care in their cell. Most Nigerians there would rather live there forever than ever set foot in Nigeria.

Cynic*Igbo*Guy

700 prisoners??? our prions are in bad shape, no employment or incentive whatsoever, no anything, boko haram here nd there, amechi nd jonathan, sanusi nd jonathan, mama peace, sudden demise of singers/actors, etc alot of problem for this our obodo Nigeria#PICCANTO#

They charge them to prison in their own way so they should take responsibility in their own way

give urselves brain said...

watev's

Prince Pedro said...

See their strong face,make Naija govt watch this individuals when they are repatriated so they don't join BH bois

The issue of them coming back home will not be an issue to our government cause, I know they will like to welcome them and do some other secret runs, like, releasing people that have higher connection secretly, cause I know naija....... The issue is,, will all d prisoner,s accept to come home ? Cause I know some will prefer staying in italian prison more than naija own ,, cause u know I know naija... Lol....

mcheww,WTF are they looking for in italy,mcheww