Ekiti guber elections: APC Governors allegedly barred from landing private planes in Akure | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 19 June 2014

Ekiti guber elections: APC Governors allegedly barred from landing private planes in Akure

The APC is claiming that some of their governors have been barred from landing their private planes in Akure ahead of the June 21st governorship election in Ekiti state. The leadership of the opposition party said while APC Leader, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, managed to land his plane, Governors Rabiu Kwankwaso and Adams Oshiomhole weren't so lucky as their planes were denied the rights to land at the Akure Airport.

Governor Rotimi Amaechi, who also managed to avoid the airport security, was allegedly stopped by soldiers from proceeding to Ekiti by road.

The APC governors and leaders are going to Ado for the party's final campaign on Friday & to show solidarity to the incumbent governor, Kayode Fayemi. Continue...

In a statement issued in Ado-Ekiti on Thursday by its National Publicity Secretary, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, the party said at least three Governors - Adams Oshiomhole of Edo, Rotimi Amaechi of Rivers and Rabiu Kwankwanso of Kano - have so far been prevented from making the trip.

It said the helicopter that was to ferry Gov. Oshiomhole from Benin to Ado-Ekiti was refused permission to take off from the Benin Airport, while the plane that was flying Gov. Kwankwanso to Akure was denied permission to land.

According to the APC, while the plane carrying Gov. Amaechi actually landed in Akure, his convoy was stopped at the border between Ondo and Ekiti States and ordered to turn back, because he would not be allowed to reach Ado-Ekiti.

The party said while Gov. Amaechi's convoy was being detained in order to force him to turn back, the convoys of the Ministers of Defense and Police Affairs came and were allowed to pass.
''These acts are illegal and definitely not in line with the Electoral Act, which stipulates that campaign for the election will only end at midnight on Friday.
''It also represents a manipulation of the electoral process when all the candidates will not be allowed a level playing field to campaign for the election. There is no clearer manifestation of the federal government's allergy to free, fair, transparent and violence-free election than this.
''Several months ago, we warned that Nigeria under the watch of President Goodluck Jonathan was sliding into fascism and we were pilloried in certain quarters for daring to make such a statement. Today, we have sadly been vindicated.
''Not even in the worst days of the abhorrent military dictatorship were things done this brazenly, with citizens being denied their fundamental rights of free movement, free assembly and free expression, all because of the desperation by the ruling party to win elections at all costs.
''We therefore call on all good people of Nigeria and indeed all the country's international friends to speak out against what is happening before things get out of hand. If democratically-elected Governors could be so shabbily treated, despite the high office they occupy, what will happen to ordinary Nigerians in the hands of an increasingly-fascist government?'' The party said
Alhaji Lai Mohammed
National Publicity Secretary
All Progressives Congress (APC)
Ado-Ekiti, June 19th 2014

74 comments:

That can Only happen in Nigeria

Politics its reli a dirty game...

#epiphany#

Dats not fair. At d junction, its clear dat d instruction must av bin frm d FG. And seriously, d FG shuld either be doin a fairplay or stay completely away frm d election matters

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

And they say GEJ is a weakling ? No wahala I go dey observe from afar. 2015 is almost around the corner.. We shall know who the cap fits..

This is NONSENSE!

What is happening? Someone somewhere dictating his own laws. This is not military rule. Next comment please...

www.justhealthng.blogspot.com

DOBY DOBY said...

Wat ar dey doin in ekiti state.. if dey ar ryt den dey shld sue d president. . Besides I tot its only ekiti indigens dat vote. . Wat ar dey going der to do..

Too bad #bright bravo#

Who's ordinary?........mtchewww

Fear men without shoes, fear sentimentalists, fear people who divide to rule.

queenangelics said...

More reason i wont vote 4 any PDP contesting any post

This Amaechi self, too controversial for my liking. Can'the just remain in one place? Abegii. From motherhen

Thieves! Hiring and buying planes with our money. Instead of paying teachers, lecturers, doctors, nurses and medical personnel. APC is a den of thieves. Tinubu has sucked Lagos dry. Now he wants to do the same to Nigeria. Why not fly commercial! Thieves!!! Democratically elected my foot. All ACN governors were selected by Tinubu NOT elected. The ex PDP Governors/prostitutes for cash or power in APC were also selected not elected. So please spare us your crap!

APC leaders!!! They want to go n help in rigging of the election right? Instead of taking care of the problems in their states.

Shame....A country that have issues @hand still involving themselves in this shameful act all because of positions and looting.

NaijaNaWa said...

Hmm, so things were way worse than I thought. So majority of state governors and even party leaders own/operate private jets!? In truth, one can infer that the Nigerian government are actually thug cartels in the guise of political parties. After reading the APC leader's statement, it is very clear that these thugs only see the average Nigerian as pawns to gain their will. My heart bleeds for Nigerians sha.

Mbok!...I HAVE A QUESTION FOR LIBERS....IF YOU WERE JONATHAN.....AND AMAEACHI AND APC IS TRYING TO SABOTAGE YOUR GOVERNMENT..WHAT WILL YOU DO? Answer sincerely
Dondumex.com

It's very obvious GEJ and his people are taking it too far, they need to apply caution to the way and manners they are doing their own politics.

I don't know if I'm really concerned about all these happenings. frankly speaking I am not. These politicians are all lions in sheep clothing pretending that they will not cause havoc. they do not practice true democracy and are not friend of peace, equity and transparency. They are all just after the pot of Gold at the end of the of the rainbow speaking all so colourful in order to execute their evil plans.

When the politicians were killing themselves all the masses worried about were their pockets and stomach. Now that they are walking freely amongst themselves the masses worry about their stomach, pockets n lives. We are scared of bombs, and all sorts. whatever they wanna do with themselves between now and 2015.........its their business. Nigeria has 105 million

I don't pity them, they have all contributed to the bad situation Nigeria is today, why are they flying private Jets with public funds, why can't they drive through the roads to Ekiti state. They fly private Jets with tax payers money, while the owners of the money are dieing every day on bad roads.

All the respect I have for President Goodluck Jonathan has varnished with his leadership styles applied in recent times. To me, its like the man is putting himself into trouble almost everyday. I have read through so many books on leadership, non of his administrative behaviours can be linked to a good leader. Some of my friend has pushed the blame on advisers. But I think he should be old enough to reject any wrong advise. I pity him for he failed to learn from history. I doubt his PhD claim, if this is how far he can think.

hmmmm, PDP has turned this into a do or die affair

You are a fool 4 dis comment

Bunch of alarmist.
Gang of bed warmers.
A party filled with witches.
We now knw who is clueless and weakling.
If Amechi is arrested in that state,so what?is he not a Nigerian?is he above the Law?

If I hear say next year's election go free and fair?! It will be bloody, their will be blood in the streets I tell ya.

Wet in GEJ go do there last Saturday wey other people nor fit do and now dem dey stop them. Dem go go TV to say na security precutions

people should not be quick to pass judgement. Is it not better to hear d other side of report or defence.

We shldn't be surprised cos GEJ himself already told the pple of Ekiti that "he would develop Ekiti state if his party candidate Fayose is elected as governor". Somone that made such a statement would stop @notin to see his candidate victorious. Meanwhile, this only goes to show that this silly people does not av the interest of we the masses @heart... Just fighting 4power!! Chai! Chai!! Dia ris God ooooo!!!

What are they going there to do? I guess to ferment trouble and rig the electoral process that their liar in chief, liar mohammed, professes that apc upholds. They should be in their states governing, and not junketing the around at the expense of the masses. Where did the money for the private jets came from? It must have been from their various states' purses, for a trip that has no relevance whatsoever to the states they govern. Nigeria governors are really mini emperors that are not accountable to anybody, that's why they waste public funds with reckless abandon. In the developed countries, a governor knows better than to sponsor this type of ego boosting trip with the public funds. CRIMINALS!!

Chyke
Unknown City

GEJ Wetin u dey try do pass ur power....Dem don carryy Abacha blue print. give u abi.

This is unspeakable. Are we in a police state where the people can no longer move about? How dare the military get involved in politics. This is getting totally out of hand. The electoral act allows campaigning until Friday so why will the governors be prevented from going to Ekiti to campaign? We are getting to a crossroads and it is about time something gave. We cannot continue like this.

well, this is all politics and why is it Amaechi everytime, Amaechi in Kano; Amaechi in Ekiti again... Haven't anyone given it a thought that all these are just schemes to insult the federal government?

One day Nigeria will be like America when it comes to free and fair Election
Hit on timfact.blogspot.com

One day Nigeria will be like America when it comes to free and fair Election
Hit on timfact.blogspot.com

APC what ever dey say or do, do not give up. CHALLENGE dem with everything under De sun. With peace victory is at de end of de tunnel

leecia B said...

U dnt bite d finger DAT feeds you.

What are they all coming to do in ekiti? After coming here to campaign twice,is that what they elected to do? If their so APC govt had done so well in Ekiti,there won't be the need for them to come participate in the election.

ANYA IKENGA said...

Fools! U guys are flying around and refused to do roads for common people.

The question is what is 16 governors going to do in Ekiti during election. The ig of police have ordered every one to stay in there states.

Guze said...

who are ordinary nigerians?

Only God can save us ooooo, so GEJ v dis kind power n he no enforce d military men to go sambisa abi? Der is God oo

My Brother, allow them to keep calling him a weakling. He has started bulldozing them

It serve's them right.

What ur name again if u r so pained that jona is the president pls go hug trasformer or enter sambisa forest pls ur hate for jona will soon consume u. Haba

There's every reason to deny the entrance. Reason been that after the campaign they won't leave the state immediately to stay to form activist on Saturday.

If they had no ulterior motive they could have fixed their grand finale like two days away, from the elections.

Aheadahead9ja

Shame on Goodluck his annoying me each day by his action why can't APC hold der meeting together let him leave Nigerians to decide who the next governor is....

adeliae said...

It's not about who stole money or who is still stealing govt money..its about restricting a citizen,its about denying a citizen his freedom of movement in a democratic ruled country..its appalling

Ur a fool bonario... Wat do u have against GEJ

APC... Armed-robbers Progressive Congress.

Doby nd don dumex ur both fools...frm al dats happenin btw GEJ nd Ameachi,who luks lik his sabotagin whom?its ppl lik u dat has made movin forwad tough..alwais intinue wit evil nd rfusal to cum to terms wit d truth..motherfuckers

Ur a fool bonario... Wat do u have against GEJ

Do u even think??which state in nigeria dsnt av problems whether pdp or apc controlled?we sayn if a president is soo desperate for power that he so clearly misuses d powers of his office in intimidatin seating govs then how much more would he do to ordinary citzens who oppose him?let's all gather 2geda n condemn ds act cus at d end of d day they are all birds of d same feather both pdp n apc so there should at least be a level playing field not sum punk using his office 2 intimidate citzens in a democratic dispensation. so my dear use ur brains if u've got any ehn biko

Are u a moron??wat do u mean sabotage?is gej president n also gov of ekiti state?or hw can d ekiti be jonathan's govt?if gej is sure of himself,y not let ur works speak for you and fight free and fair?just cause evry1 has realized his desperation n corruption,he's intimidating evry1 dat opposes him and he thinks evry1 is gng 2 be as dumb as u dats asking silly questns

Both of u are a special kind of stupid.soon he'll bulldoze u too in his desperation.sum of u can't even think and yet u won't shut up.aint dey all d same theiving n murdering lot?so y should 1 person intimidate d other.open ur eyes to c d bigger picture n 4get ur dumbass sentiments esp u ds steve,d only tng u no how to do is bully other people and yet u are very senseless!

@Chyke unknown city, so unfortunate that u are a big FOOL. U speak lyk dis coz u dont kno d implication of such acts. Soon we wil loose dis democracy and ur anus wil shut close. Tink bfr u speak.

Anon9:27 most of u supporting gej are a myopic n senseless lot!is it about having sumtn against gej or dat d rights of governors are being freely trampled upon leaving one to wonder what is d lot of an ordinary man.we talkin sense n u talkin crap!

Anon 9:48, u are a bigger fool. Ignorance they say kills faster dan Aids.

And gej hasn't contributed to d problems of our nation??u beta sharrapp

Walai u are a mumu!!what did ameachi do dat he's bn arrested for?for showin solidarity to a fellow gov?y wasn't gej arrested when he also went there last week?haba!sum of u talk senselessly

So a nigerian dsnt av d right 2 go 2 any state he wants to or support whoever he pleases abi wat rubbish are u sayn?oro ode

If fayose had done any better earlier,would gej have to go campaign for him lyk he did last week instead of seeing that all of them r all d same in their greed for power and d masses need 2 cum 2geda to criticize ds selfish trend sum of u will jus be talkin crap!

And APC expects us the masses to stand up and fight for 'our' private jet flying governors while we die daily on the bad roads. May dey all perish in dos jets.

@anonymous blabbing rubbish,are u in this country atall.when has it started being a crime for other state govnors to support their party govnor for rallies.Or what happened whn our so called president left aso rock in d midst of d crisis of d chibok girls to go for campaign in diff rates.our president is starting a war he wnt be able to stop later by this irrational act.since whn has it strted to impound state govnors jets...but never stoped M.obanikoro's visit to d state......smh 4 this country,its only God that can help us from the so called leaders of this country.

DONT CLICK ME said...

Very Plenty Stupid PDP-followers Comments here

Aymii said...

Chyke!!! Sharrap Dia! ....ur talking bullshii.................is this a Democratic government or Dictatorship....
This is appalling! ....and any straight thinking Nigerian should be weeping at the misuse of power by this GEJ administration!

People should have the rights to gather and campaign freely! ...Nigerians should be given the opportunity to CHOOSE!!...

WTf???.... this GEJ guy no just be am at all atall!

On 2 the Next!

Jude said...

are the governors contesting election in osun state? what campaign are they going for there? leaving their states with their own troubles to go 'carry' another's burden. were they the ones that campaigned for fayemi to win the last election? are they the masses of osun state who are to choose their leader themselves? let's be more reasonable when we criticise. moreover i heard police IG already warned indigenes and politicians from other states should stay away from Osun, as the election doesnt have anyting to do with them.

Again whose money are they spending on the private jets. Who pays their bills - their states treasury ofcourse. very bad. when there are millions of needies in these states. seriously the SHA in these states should think of mpeaching these governors for abandoning the legislative duties to pursue shadows in other states where they have no stake at. THINK RIGHT, CRITICISE JUSTILY

Chyke I open dis page to comment only to realise pple like u still hve good questions to ask. God bless u my dear, u hve said it all. Why must they be there and is flying private jet free, why can't we question who's money is paying for dis jet, or is it 100k to get a PJ

THE LAW

Bonario pls shut up, it is fools like u that will end up making a very bad leader tomorrow, enough of the sentiment jor, re they goin to vote? Why fly private all d time.
Cross river state governor flew same plane wth me to abuja last year after NBA and two weeks ago, is business class not enough? Wats wth PJ all d time.
My friend say d truth and stop kiss asses dt really dnt care for u or any nigeria except deir family n pocket.
That been said, am not saying GEJ is a good man, he has failed d pple but let social medial stop making dis pple look like d victim, they re not.

THE LAW

Oskirin said...

@ DON DUMX,4rm d above pasage naration,who's sabotaging each oda,is it APC or PDP? my own is uncle jona shd leave amaechi alone.he's makin him more popular by his action.y wld u restrains some1's movement? are we in animal kingdom? even in animal kingdom,dere r freedom of movement.

famous said...

Bonario idiot, Jonathan pass ur generation hundred times. if u r so pained, go and drink acid and die. wonder whu ur father is. he may even be without clothes , pants, let alone shoe. mumu boy

Bonario & his cohorts shd really shut it.what are those bunch of thieves going to do in Ekiti a day to elections if not to rig & ferment trouble.for goodness sake d IG had already warned that those without biz shdn't be at Ekiti so what's all these junketing in private jets for. ....laws are made to be obeyed & not flagrantly flouted? This Amechi junketing frm Kano to Ekiti etc when does he have time to govern d pple of Rivers?can't wait for 2015 when he'll learn d hard way!!!

famous said...

@anon 11:31, u r d biggest fool for insulting annon 9:48, all GEJ haters shud rot in hell for all i care, bonario nnangs being number one. una dey lookam e dey enter ogidigboibboo, Jonathan don enter again,,,,,