Who has read that letter Madonna sent to the president of Malawi? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 7 April 2013

Who has read that letter Madonna sent to the president of Malawi?

Madonna, who's currently in Malawi to visit the schools she funded, sent a letter to Malawi president, Joyce Banda, asking to meet her. The letter made the president mad. To understand why, you have to read the letter yourself. Find it after the cut...

The letter was written on rough paper and was riddled with misspellings. President Banda blasted Madonna, claiming that the 54year old pop star reneged on her promise to build a $15 million academy for girls. They say she's only building classrooms and not entire schools.

224 comments:

1 – 200 of 224   Newer›   Newest»

Madonna...BEHT WHY?

Ummm that's the problem with Africans, we feel entitled!!! Why does Madonna have the build schools? Why can't we do it ourselves? Pathetic.

Ayomide Olugbenga said...

WHy doe everything always have to be so formal? SO what it's on rough paper? So what it's handwritten? Gosh! And besides, the President of Malawi should be grateful Madonna has chosen to even spend a dime of her money in Malawi even if all she wanted to build was a reinforced toilet! As president, that's YOUR job! So if someone wants to come help you do part of it, you sure as hell better be grateful.

terrible hand writing. cant see jack

WoW she addressed an africa president by her frist name, when here we call ordinary rich men in nigeria my honourable...if it was an malawian they for done hang dis madonna

What an annoyance.100 million years ahead,Madonna with all her nudity can never lead a village,talk less a nation...(even Bermuda)

Doesn't Madonna have a computer or at least know someone who can help her draft such a short letter!... smh...

Madonna is very sick,does she want to blind the woman with such bad handwriting.
I guess she smoked something before writing that letter.what insolence.

Madonna said...

I find the letter quite polite and friendly. Madonna is an icon, a legend worked up her success ladder by her own efforts into time and is of a greater persona than the president who probably got elected via fraud or chance. I love Madonna

@jaylicioussss said...

Dat paper looks like wat an elephant chewed and spat out, den a group of excited chickens ran over it wit ink stained feet, d colour is not even helping matas, n wud it hav killed her 2 use a ruler 2 tear out a straigt edge... Pls let some1 dat cud read wat was written on d tissue paper tell me,my eye don dey pain me

aprokoblog said...

Ahhhhh no fit read am sef this writting sha. .....na fowl scratch am

Omo see writing...lol

Wetin dey worry d president Sef? She no Even thank God say she see Classroom, or is Madonna Obligated to build Schools for Malawi ni? Na wah o!

The president shud go and sit down joo. Instead of her to encourage her and appreciate to her so that she wil do more she is there getting angry. Na her sabi sha. Madonna do not own her or her country any kobo so she is not obliged to build a school for then. The president shud ashamed that a western is building anythin for them. Her Govt shud be able to provide basic needs to their citizen. Wat abt u Mrs president? Wat exactly hv u done for your pple from ur own money talk more of your govt...Mchew

There is definitely nothing wrong abt this letter, its an informal letter written to a personal friend.is she angry because the letter is rude or that she didn't fulfill her promise? The president shld also bear it in mind that this lady is an entertainer and might not know all these formal ways of doing things.

SEGUN said...

lollzzz... Madonna was definitely high when she wrote this.
Above all the President should realize that she wished her best of luck, letter was written with warm regards and great respect. I think the message is more important than the medium. lollxxxx.
MADONNA ON HIGH!!!

No respect Madonna no respect

www.nellyagbogu.com

Etisco said...

Wow! Madonna still looking young and hot @ 54. As for the president of Malawi, she shud just accept everytin in gud fate bcus her govt lack d money to build a gud school. Poor country. Av discovered da countries bn ruled by women r d poorest in the world.

its a big fuck up. lol

What is wrong with the letter.she should knee down or what,she should be ashamed of herself she gave you classrooms you are crying for school did any Malawian buy are CD?

Just a scientific point of view,this handwriten is symptoms of parkinson .

'She did not build schools,only classrooms' this statement is so not cool, and it is being ungrateful on the part of Malawians. She is only helping, its not her duty!! Se e fi owo si lapo ni, are u d ones that put money in her pocket?

chamilah said...

Madonna 1. Your writing is horrible (I think I'm gonna Puke) 2.how could you treat a president with such disrepect.. 3. You are a Cheat..shoot yourself. 4. I know you won't see this... Is it a must she continue with her supposed PROJECT. ┌П┐​(~_^) ​┌П┐

even my brother in js2 can write a formal letter...lol

Wait- Wait. The president of Malawi is angry because a 54 year old White American woman decided to use her hard earned money to build classrooms in an african country and not build schools like she promised. Shameless African leaders begging for handouts from American entertainers.

chamilah said...

This is DISRESPECT at its peak..... OMG who does that?

Dem put money 4 her pocket.

This is actually funny...nutcase chick! Lol.

Sick lady!!! Cn she do d@ to Obama??? Ts nt ha fault, dey put ha too high, d@s y she deels she cn talk to d president anyhow, cnt say I'm surprisd *rme*

Professor X said...

That handwriting is enough to make anyone mad. Goodnesss! A dog would write better.

see Insult of the 1st order

Mrs Mikel said...

I don't blame her,I blame d poverty we face in Africa nd our wicked leaders,can she write such mumu letter on dat yeye paper to d USA president? Silly old woman

Atleast she's building something and helping out kids in need!!! It doesn't matter if it's classrooms or buildings and she has already done alot in Malawi.#justsaying

YAWUYAWU WOMAN!

so says the Orgasm Free Giver to Ladies

Hmmmm! And I thought I had the ugliest handwriting.

The Nigerian said...

The President is greedy!!! someone volunteered to build schools free of charge, you should be grateful. so what! she did not fulfill the 15million dollar school, she's not from Malawi apart from her adopted kids coming from there, she does not have any business with that place. why would someone want a 15million dollar school in a poverty stricken country? the president needs to wake up. Ungrateful human being.

Nna eh.. Lolz

Don't beliv dat letter iz real tho but if it iz d first paragraph shows a huge disrespect 4 d president by calling her dear Joyce like she wud write a letter 2 Obama sayin dear Obama..Dis letter is a big disgrace and dis same lady wud a role model 2 many kids and adults around d world

That's why one shouldn't invite insult on ones self in the first place.

Good for the President. Would Madonna ever address Michelle Obama by her first name? I think not.

Lmfao,is dis a joke,even nature $ religion teaches us to give honour 2 whom its due,am sure madona knows wat a "formal letter" is,even if she was busy,dosnt she av a P.A,well she jst messed wit a black woman,may b next tym she shud write like dat 2 qeen elizabeth $ sees if d letter d letter even gets 2 d palace get,anywaz charity begins @ home

really Africans can complain for the entire world,she build onnly classrooms how have they build with their personal money?

Nusitech said...

Seriously Mrs President? At least she's doing something!

Very rude old white woman. Besides the letter being handwritten and filled with grammatical errors, would she dare write a letter to President Obama and refer to him as Barack?

Totally disrespectful.

Nusitech said...

Seriously Mrs President? At least she's doing something!

NeRo said...

Who writes to a president like dis??I must say this vignette would sneer any incumbent regarldless of wat terriotory...to some extent this is heinous.

all dis oyinbo pple sef, no respect.. mstcheww.

Oyinbo no get Respect ni. Make she no vex abeg

haba said...

i must be blind cos i dont see the insult here. madam banda madonna dont owe ur counntry jack. unless she is making millions by "helping" your students there...

Duke Emeka said...

Madonna is not from malawi, she does not stay there, she's building classrooms and not schools, she no try???

u cant cheat old age sha.upon all madonna's facial surgery, her hand looks like an 80 yr olds

Sope Edwards said...

worst handwriting ever

hmmmmmmm,humiliating.....on tattered paper?
Ok,na celeb she be,if not?make any commoner try am na...

She shld come n build schools in Nig

Sope Edwards said...

rude

She should wait 4 madonna 2 build markets tooo... Like she doesn't kno y celebrities do ds african charity shit... D only charity madonna can offer her now s how 2 look 30yrs younga dan ur age.

Sope Edwards said...

worst handwriting ever

At least she's building something. Africans and pride sha.

JEEZ!!!

JEEZ!!!

dr_dozie said...

She must be joking. How can she actually write such to a President? Anyway, I have always known her to have these illogical attitudes.

JJ said...

I honestly don't see anything wrong with the letter. It was handwritten because she was in a country that that doesn't have much. What was she supposed to do, carry a computer and a printer around with her or send her a text message? Malawi is so poor that the bulk of her budget comes from foreign donations, seriously. What country runs like that? African leaders need to get over the formalities.

And to blame her for reneging on building a $15 million academy for girls? Mrs. Banda needs to get a grip. Why is she the President of Malawi? That's her job to cater to her citizens. Don't look to an individual to build the infrastructure you have failed to erect for your own citizens. African leaders should stop blaming others for their short comings and start doing what they are supposed to do.

shyla said...

Is this supposed to be a joke or what? Who writes letters on such piece of paper, and to a president of a country? This one na serious 'mkpari' naa. See as the writing be like when a one year old baby de try scribble for the first tym sef.

Editorial Team said...

Speechless

erm Atleast Madonna is helping the kids in Malawi, whether classrooms or school.. it's not like she has benefitted from Malawi so they need to be grateful kmt. As for the paper, you can't command respect, you gain it. Enough said! Welcome to America where they respect their politicians because of what they've DONE and not just because they have a TITLE. but Madonna for atleast make the letter neat na, it's so jagajaga kmt

Her handwriting is worse than Beyonce's own. As in WTF is this? Madam President you do well jare.......... Who the hell does Madonna think she is? Nonsense!

Being the typical Africans they are, the Government of Malawi asked Madonna to give them the $15 m she was donating for the project so that they would award the contract and determine where the school would be located. Of course we all know what that means. Therefore she decided to renovate and equip many schools in different local govts....that's the crux of the wahala. I support Madonna all the way...after all is her money and she wants to donate it to charity for the common good and not to govt officials who intend to feather their own nests...

These trashy 15 mins of fame American celebrities wanna follow the footsteps of Oprah Winfrey and the truth is NONE of them will EVER will......
Madonna just shows how trashy she is by the way she wrote....SIGH
BAN them from Malawi Madam president

Linda u dnt post my comment Y?

I can't really see the letter, its too faint, but I think she(Ms President) has no right being vexed, Madonna doing anything for them is a privilege and not a right, since Madonna does all that because of her humanitarian leanings, so they better make do with what she can offer for now. Like the Nigerian pidgin saying goes..."At all at all na im bad pass"

That is an outright show of contempt and utter disregard for her office. Madonna has no right whatsoever to send such parcel of disrespect and epic nonchalance to the president of an African nation such as Malawi.

Ha ha. Funny!

Who cares whether it was "riddled with misspellings" or not. Did she volunteer to TEACH or build?

She is 54 and a millionaire/philanthropist, she can write whatever junk she wants.

waste of beauty....ordinary letter she no fit write.....mtchewww!!!!!

Linda the photo of the letter has obviously been retouched to look like dat. With all her money am sure madonna has sumone to write her letters for her.

iconclem said...

i think madonna has been smoking too much igbo lately!

Dumb blond! She should have atleast typed the letter...HOUSE OF ZINO

Dlapikin said...

It is actually a mark of respect to pen out a letter rather than having it written by somebody. If the letter is ridden with grammatical errors, Ms banda should realize that Madonna is not known for her scholastic achievement. If you asked Britney spears, Beyonce, or whichever us pop stars to pen a letter that is probably what you should expect. Most of them entere entertainment before they finish high school and feel so entitled that they don't feel the need to pursue any additional education.
As for the classes VS the school building, it is a ridiculous critique. I rather have many school benefiting of classrooms than her building a single academy where only a handful of students will have access to quality infrastructure like it is the case with the Oprah academy in SA. If Banda wants schools, she can build them not chastise somebody for not building schools in malawi with her personal money.

Dlapikin said...

It is actually a mark of respect to pen out a letter rather than having it written by somebody. If the letter is ridden with grammatical errors, Ms banda should realize that Madonna is not known for her scholastic achievement. If you asked Britney spears, Beyonce, or whichever us pop stars to pen a letter that is probably what you should expect. Most of them entere entertainment before they finish high school and feel so entitled that they don't feel the need to pursue any additional education.
As for the classes VS the school building, it is a ridiculous critique. I rather have many school benefiting of classrooms than her building a single academy where only a handful of students will have access to quality infrastructure like it is the case with the Oprah academy in SA. If Banda wants schools, she can build them not chastise somebody for not building schools in malawi with her personal money.

Veri funi...is madona mad,can she send dis kind of letter to obama?e be like say she take drugs b4 writin d letter...madona ur mama left eye.

So what if she's only building classrooms? Is it her job to educate the children of Malawi? Africans better sit up. We need to help ourselves and not wait on charity from white folks.
I see nothing wrong with the content of the letter but I don't think she would address heads of states in Europe or America like that.

Toscan... said...

Morning Linda,

No bi this same Madonna won tiff pikin comot 1 African nation?dem no tell her that contrary to what white Americans believe,Africans aren't monkeys and we don't live in caves?
Really,can she write on that to Hillary Clinton or Michelle Obama or can she make a promise to donate to a charity and not full fill it? I beg Abeg Abeg,make she no just try nonsense here!

Even if na Beyonce try this rubbish na jail make the jail am for African,bunch of uncultured and ill-mannered Americans.

Me I have always said that Americans are too arrogant and they are the problem of this world,always looking for troubles sticking their nose where it doesn't belong and if anything happen now,dem go won flex dem "chicken muscle" Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiissssssssssssssss

Naijadeltapikin... Α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ U̶̲̥̅̊ sure madonna Ȋ̊§ not high on drugs ‎​ ‎seee handwritting self, Ђδω can she send ds Τ̅☺ a whole president α̲̅πϑ na classrooms wey she build ₪☺ b the entire school abeg make ds papa don preach musician go rest jooorrrr, old age α̲̅πϑ igbo plus coke D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ worry her head.

I don't blame the president for dismissing this letter. It is quite disrespectful and shows no regard nor seriousness for the context of her letter. She needs better PR and some common sense.

U knw Linda,am a Malawian,at first when Madona came to Malawi she employed Joyce banda's sister,and gave her millions of money to buld a school.bt dis good 4 nothing presdent ate the money with hr sister.We dont want her here,joyce must resign.

Kai Madonna don old! I like her though, I commend her courage for atleast doing something in Malawi. Lol, Madam Joyce na strong woman she no dey laugh at all, despite lots of oppostion she's still pulling through.

***IKB***

Madonna nor get respect? She fit write letter give obama like dat? Na wa sha!

Damochedxb said...

ARRRGHH! My eyes!! WTF kinda writing is that? Short hand? Very terrible writing..

Must be a hoax

How Madonna,a 54years old woman will use this kind of paper to write to the president of a country is way beyond me,even if she's a celeb,her manager is not doing a good job,let her employ to help her sort her self out lol.Oya make una begin blast me...am waiting

Africans will be Afrcans sha! somebody left her beautiful country to help the children of another continent and this is the thank you she gets......am very sure she asked for a piece of paper and that is what she was given to write on....i blame her not jo.....linda post my comment oo am d first!!!

That's a useless president. I think jonathan is better than that woman. Some1 is trying to help your country where you're president & you're acting like guinea fowl breeder,she should take time ooo

Mr Charley said...

That's the fuckn problem with our African mentality as long as d msg is passed across who gives a fuck hw or on wat it ws written on go to European countries and u will be so pissed with d way we Africans tk unnecessary protocol to do tins they tk 3mins to do if a Nigerian woman was to invest 15million dollars in US and sent Obama a letter on a stone sef he would read it nd invite her and probably mk a joke about it being a weird style this one who runs a country not half as big as dt has pride 4 times bigger than her country Madonna biko tk ur money bck to ur house nd rest she doesn't even deserve to hv ordinary raffia like classrooms to be built there

See wat poverty is causin, I dnt blame madonna, all dis oyibo pple don too luk down on us.. God punish madonna.idiot

Gawd!....I could hardly decipher d blurrings she wrote.....
The damages weed has caused...smh!

Omg take a look at that horrible horrible handwriting jeez! Na wa o

I am sure the wrong letter was sent...this was probably the draft her haters tore off her book and sent it to the president..even kemi and kola cant send a letter like this....#justsaying....linda ma dalin...bonjour..

Photoshop tings.

SheWHOsees said...

I am no big fan of Madonna, but apart from a couple of misspellings, and not the best writing in the world or paper, I don't see anything wrong with what she wrote - her actual words.
If the President is offended because of the reasons above, then SHE does not have the best interests of the children of Malawi at heart, as those things are really irrelevant in the bigger picture.
How many international pop stars will of their own volition, and not just because of publicity, do as Madonna has because of the love she has for her adopted children, Mercy and David? And if she builds classroom's here and there, with HER own money as opposed to a school, is it not better than nothing? How many others have?
Who can say what else she will do or plans to do in the future?
People are just generally ungrateful and very greedy, when they will die first before they put their hands in their OWN pockets! Abeg leave Madonna o jare,GO DO SOMETHING FOR ANOTHER FIRST, BEFORE YOU TALK!!

Hmmm no comment abeg

lovelylady said...

Why didn't manna just the and print the letter?

wait! is this paper supposed to be her personal letter headed paper? #confused#
it looks old, rough, torn...ohhh!
and maybe its not in her sense of reasoning to address the president properly. c'mon!

hmnnn, each to his own.

but I find this letter (both content and material)very rude.

What's dere to be mad about? Black people and pride! So becos she's president madonna should get the most expensive paper in the world to write on. She should understand that madonna is not black and white's have dis "I don't care attitude" I feel the content is what matters.

Is Madonna meant to build a school compulsorily cos I don't get

This is serious ooo which kain tin b dis? Paper don finish 4 MALAWI ne? Haba she no try at all den suppose flog her send her back to US.

What's wrong with the letter? seriously Africans take things too personal

WWW.WADUP.COM.NG #WadupRadio (For the hottest Music/Video downloads) said...

WTF!!! Is that a letter or a sheet of paper full of signatures & autographs!!! I couldn't even read the first 2-lines, couldn't she have typed it? O___O

@willadebo

NEVAEH said...

Who writes a letter 2a president with a rough paper?madonna musta really looked down on malawi as a country

dese celebs sef, utter disregard 4 a president,mtcheew!!

Ehen? E bad?
Y Joyce dey vex?
If she took proper care of her country wil Madonna hav d guts to say she wnts to build sch in Malawi?
Btw y blame Madonna? Wot if its only dt paper she saw in d stores in Malawi?
And na her fault she nor sabi spell?
Abegi Joyce shd pack in one side e.
Handwritten letters shows respect dt d person actually took d tym to sit wit a pen nd paper nd write u means she values u.
She cld hav bin watchin TV or playin scrabble and dictate a few impersonal lines to her secretary to type.
Dts wot is rude nd nt ds letter filled wit accolades fr Joyce.
Amanda Reginald

Linda, I see no misspellings here o. Rough paper..yes,and probably a very bad cursive handwriting.

Madonna seemed to have written the letter with good intentions. Also, the tone of the letter sounded like they had met before.

However she should not have addressed the president by her first name. And typing the letter would not have been a bad idea.

Technology Information said...

That is very poor of Madonna. Imagine the kind of low quality letter written to the President of a country or is she looking at Africans as being beneath her irrespective of position?

That letter doesn't look like it was torn linda. It looks like a photoshopped scanned copy.

Ezekiel Ifeanyichukwu Mcbernards said...

I really do not blame the pop star....that's the type of orientation she got (that Africans are under-Civilised) what even gave her the guts? She no fit try am for 9ja na here we have individuals far reacher than their reachest celebs,well Madonna herself has a low moral standard,anything can be expected of her.....Good morning LIBs

Na wa 4dis superstars ooo *straightface*

This letter funny gan oooo,it can make a blind man see.

Adanna said...

lolz 4get d misspellings n unneccessary xclamatn marks!

Madonna is this wat ur penmanship looks lyk na wa o even ma demi-literate grand-dad writes beta

Upon d millions of dollars she dosnt hav an idea on ow to write an official letter!!!

But Linda y did u erase dat part of d letter

#rock gurl#

bumble bee said...

Madonna must be really stupid!! Would she dare to write barrack obama in such a manner,or even address him by his 1st name or would she try it to the queen of England,she must be stupid to think she can to Africa and try this!! She shuld hv been deported immediately.. Foolish old hoar

linda is this a letter or a note? silly madonna can she send this to president Obama? she dey craze she wan carry person play.

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

Ehehehe!!..Battke of the Feminists...

What an insult.
Vee

Chibuike said...

Madonna u don fall my hand here oh am upset with you.

Hmm, these empty headed pop stars.that was so disrespectly and I'm happy with the president's reaction.

very eligible writing *sarcasm*

Epic fail!

Can't believe maddonna can't write well or even spell properly,my gosh she's worse than beyonce!

In as much as I do not care for Madonna,small or big she's doing something for them. Its high time most African leaders stop nd think of what they really signed up 4 n stop searchg for petty handdowns any chance they get. They can truly make something of what lil they ve, if they just think.

In what context was the letter written.

Was she at an event?

What kind of relationship did they have before the letter was written -
were they close before?

That said, it is generally a good idea, to address any head of state, in typed,official documents.
Makes things a bit more office-like.

Etisco,very poor assumption. Is Brazil poor then?

Amagra said...

Popularity makes people crazy.

I don't remember Michelle Obama angry because Beyonce wrote to her on a piece of paper

As in like really? She s writing to a president. I find it disrespectful and yes the Malawian president has every right to blast her . Y lie about d school? Y use Malawi to get cheap publicity? It just shows wot Madonna thinks of Africa, dat we deserve no respect whatsoever.

Can't understand y all dis white people belittle we africans??

The things that are wrong is paper n she addressing her by her first name. @ least MRS.P is better off. Lol

Can't understand y dis white pple belittle we africans...jst because she is building class rooms 4 dem, she dey feel ontop of d world?? Rubbish.

Dont see why everyone is vexing about the english. The presentation is what is irking me. At least letter headed paper would have done fine. After all she is madonna. The person who said the thing about 15 minutes of fame does not deserve to have access to the internet.

The paper is obviously personalized, as her name is printed both at the top and bottom of the page? She is a creative! So her writing paper will most definitely not be your regular paper! Look at how stiff the president looks, she needs to loosen up a bit. I don't know why all the musicians wont come to Naija. She should come and build a school here, the president will be so happy for her endorsement, he won't care if she writes a letter on tissue paper sef! Ikid!

Well in britain/US they address their PM by name or as mr PM or Mr president so na upbringing no blame am...

From where Madonna is coming from I can understand her not doing the whole 'ur Highness d president tin' what I can't understand is why she didn't adress her by her last name. Yet I guess its cos dey probably were on friendly and first name terms wen dey last met.d president shld mingle with only her natives if she expects so much respect joor. D paper dou was rough even for an informal letter but I don't sEe is as rude. Madonna even noted she has a busy schedule and was only requesting to meet if she had spare time(I dash u my money come beg to meet u?I hear)Madonna,if Malawi dey form carry ur money go Burundi,sao tome or better yet Nigeria. What rubbish!

Blackberry said...

U r a mongoose from mongolia.....president my arse!!! Its ur type dat begs for favour n lie down for big shots to give u peanuts...travel out n c how d western world treat pple...she's tryna help d poor country n u r judging her manners....grow up marafacker

Madonna had better collect that money back cos all these African leaders especially the women, them like theifie theifie. Me likey madonna.
And all u blog readers wey dey like to dey write "first to comment, yaahhhh" correct thunder go fire una keypad so tay, una nor go fit use am type.
Amen?

Shut up ur mouth, Africans una too like title, no be Joyce her mama give her, every1 refers to barrack as Obama, na wa for una silly mentality oh!

Bonario I dey enjoy u sha I go like knw u

@jj do u hv a head atal?na I dnt tink, even if she's helpin dem out which I knw its nt ha duty must she show such disrespect 2 a president?take several back sit jor ribbish

baby said...

D president should go and take several back seats jo, 1st and foremost, its an informal letter, was anyone born wid d title president, last time I checked we were all christened, we even name pets. Secondly d president ought to b grateful, madonna is doing her a favour, which is the president's primary duty. And I appreciate the fact she is monitoring d project herself and not handing the money over to some hungry govt officials, who might divert funds to their pockets, and use stipends for the schools development.
And from the looks of that paper I believe there was a seal on that shredded part, which must hav been taken out for one reason or the other, to cut the whole long story short, madam president stop being an ingrate, madonna abeg come nigeria to oh, help our country, our politicians are to busy stealing funds, or promoting some rich artists, by making them richer, u know wat I mean.

no mata how close u r to someone,courtesy demands that u respect d person n d office...Madonna's fault!!. Madonna doesnt owe malawi a dime, so they should be grateful sef that she built classrooms atleast. they r lucky it isnt a Nigerian leader that promised them sef...President's fault!!

Hehehehehe...bomb!! (an malawian)

i don't comment on LIB but had to go in on this 1. African leaders are all foolish, Madonna was cordial and obviously trying to be as informal as possible due to their previous rendezvous, yes she made mistakes and the paper was rough but she is a freaking pop star! probably less educated than a 13 year old! you are a freaking president ni'tori olorun! coming to the public with this makes u the IDIOT!!

ID said...

Hmmm, guys, there's such a thing as a personal letter. Too bad her handwriting sucks, but don't we all love autographs? By the way, it's only in Nigeria that we have pointless prefixes for names or every other thing at that. Besides, her letter was polite enough!

Dont think Madonna wrote this....

Mumu.... U luv madonna!!!! Instead of u to be talking about protecting and upgrading d african image u r here talking about luving madonna. Can madonna address obama dis way? Don't blame u though I guezz u r 1 of doz jobless bloody lesbians who knows no pride 4 herself.

That's why she couldn't find an A4 paper to express such nonsense.... Its very insulting I must say.

@ curvy- Word.. Don't mind d fool

There is nothing wrong with the letter, afterall we gave her the opportunity.

Paulina said...

There is nothing wrong with the letter, afterall we gave her the opportunity.

Chei,ur english is worse dan d writing self.......lmao

THE CONTENT OF THIS LETTER IS RUDE???????? WOOOOWWWW. HOW IS THIS RUDE EHN? HUMAN BEINGS.

Madonna and other celebrities should stop doing charity in Africa and Asia. Blacks and Hispanics need help in the U.S. There is poverty and unemployment in the black communities in the U.S. It is annoying! Americans will appreciate any assistance. Charity begins at home. Madonna, please bring your charity to the black communities in the U.S. African-Americans need better schools or scholarships to colleges. Most historical black colleges need funds! You can see from most of the comments that Africans are ungrateful and not humble. God bless you Madonna.Thank you for building classrooms in Malawi.

God bless u Efezzy....why re africans stupid....didn't u all supporting madonna notice somtin abt d letter...madonna typed out her name beautifully n ridiculed d rest of d letter wit hateful writings,ok y didn't she type out dear joyce d way she had type 2 type hers out.....may stupidity clear frm d eyes those dat support such letter....madonna can't use malawi 2 shine abeg....she should go n write such letter 2 her president in argentina where she's originally from....hopeless lesbian.

Hum...some pple here r supporting madonna cos she s oyibo. Africans n there low self esteem..cn she do dt t obama..

Choi. ur written English is in shambles.friest and "an Malawian" which night school u attend. Or ma fishermen school you attend.abeg henceforth,do not attempt to communicate in English. Stick to evil or ibibio.

Tell it to the children of Malawi that their president rejected the building of classrooms for them because the letter written to her was on ugly paper and was not formal. Talk about getting satisfied and full of yourself! Perfect example that you shouldnt expect any better just because the leader is a woman. Human nature takes over and soon they too are just full of themselves. Sic

Point of Correction : It is not a rough paper,you can see her name pre-printed on it. These are kind of notes that are made for top people just to distinguish the note actually came from them,some of these notes have special security on the prints.

I see no big deal with addressing her as Joyce,it is her name and we all don't know the kind of relationship between the two.

Lastly,if she planned to build a school and she changed her mind to build classroom,none of us here know why that changed so,IS IT YOUR MONEY?

Slinky said...

I agree with u no 2. really pathetic

efezzy... is image so important that a few more classrooms for children in a poor country would be rejected? Whats with the foolish pride. The damn letter was even on her letterhead as obviated by the stamp...so probably everybody gets mail from Madonna like that. Your children have no schools but you reject help because its not formal.... How stupid can a president get?

African Politicians believe they are gods!!! Them too see themselves! mtchew.

Madonna messed up o. No matter how small or poor a country is, a President is still a president.
Would Madonna that kind of letter, in such fashion to Obama?

NO!!!

Madonna should have known better.

Whoops ...Тhe truth is It did come up in
the disсusѕion. Never proԁuced the cut.

My blog post - green smoke coupon

Knightslaurel said...

If it was president Obama she was writing to, would she write it on such rough paper, and bad writing? This is not good enough. Whether or not she is building schools in Malawi.

alex said...

I agree d paper really isn't nyc, buh seriously how many Americans actually do hnd written dys dayz?? D preside t iz jst being paranoid cos madonna owes er n er country notin. She won't write a letter to obama like dah cos obama commads respect. African leader wot do they comand???? Nada so abeg all of una wa da curse d woman una da mad.

So we are back to that African mentality again...It should be a great honour to have a letter hand-written to the president, and calling people by their first names is what the western world see as acceptance, reverence and warmth. I still struggle with that here cos people go out of their way to know what your first name is and to address you by that in the workplace, just so you feel welcomed and to help everyone work in concert. Madonna must have been smilin while writin this not knowin she wl be met by much criticisms. Pls Africa move on...the world has gone past all that. I know i still struggle here to call my consultants by their first name in the hospital to their face, have dem make me tea or coffee or do stuffs for me, considering how i was almost bowing in awe just to speak to my connsultants in Lagos...believe you me, i av learnt more relatin with dem 'informally' when compared to all the 'eye-service' and show of superiority we do in naija...#somuchfor'respect'.

alex said...

U da mad p, hw many nija celeb don do watin madonna da do. Non of our celebs. Ve goin to oda African contries to xecut dah kinda project. Una c American wa da hlp instead of being gratful una da yan shit.

WE AFRICANS....CHAI!!! Madonna should use the money to build a school for herself so she can learn how to spell and write a formal letter...She is the malawi president for fuck sake...Would she write this kind of letter to Obama....Did Malawi president beg her for money..

A lot of comments here reflects vividly the blackman's siege mentality, a serious complex that puts us always auto-defensive mode, a foolish sense of entitlement
First, the letter was an informal letter ostensibly written to a person she considers a friend
The publication of the letter was in bad taste and faith, the intent was clearly to embarrass the pop star
I do not for a second believe the letter was torn and crumpled when sent and even if it was , the tone of the message was friendly and cordial, and that to me should be more important .

Don tee

Madonna cut it at the edge

Hian.. Can u imagine? So its now by force for Madonna to build skools for Malawians? Abeg, a promise made is not a debt owed o... Hmmm, Africa's mentality, I tire.

Suzanne said...

Listen to urself!.. Can she write such a letter to President Barack Obama? Even though its Malawi.. She is still the president of the country.. Give respect to whom its due.. Simple!

Ode!!!! "U think the letter was polite and friendly". Mumu of the highest order! It just shows how ignorant u are of the simplest things e.g courtesy!!!! Wud she have address even a common record label boss in that manner? Pls be guided madonna wannabe!!!!

There is nothing wrong with the letter, its just a personal one,not official, thats all

Just a scientific point of view,this handwriten is symptoms of parkinson .
April 8, 2013 at 12:50 AM

GBAGAUN GAUN GAUN GAUN!!!

Its not a rude letter just that she could have done well with the material....She is the material girl, i forgive her mis-spellings but hey she should know that packaging matters.

@Ayomide Olugbenga and co taking sides with Madonna how would you feel if anyone wrote you a letter on such dirty material?have a bit of sense will ya?

when a human crawl like rat,the cat will chase him.na wetin beggi beggi dey cause,abi no be she approve gay marriage because of financial assistance from the west?

@ chamilah - please look up the difference between a formal and informal letter before you start screaming disrespect.

@efezzy - please look up the definition of lesbianism. Kindly note that your caustic tongue is not exactly uplifting the african image *insert sarcastic look*

Madonna doesn't owe Malawi any favours, the moment Africans stop relying on handouts, the sooner we'd become self reliant.....by Grown Up Girl

must opine that someone must ve tampered with the piece of paper just to get madonna denigrated.Madonna is munificent which xplains why she chose to xpend her hard earned money on a people writhing in penuary..the president rather than lambaste madonna for reneging on a promise should be thankful that sb is atleast helping her govt to ameliorate the plights of her people..show some gratitude president joyce !

Gbam gbam gbam gbam gbam

She even did something what of those that keep making empty promises

Dear Joyce
First and foremost let me congratulate you on your new position in office in malawi! What an honour and what a huge responsibility! I have always admire your strength and courage and have really good memories of when we met and spoke and we interviewed you for documentary.
As you know I am in malawi for the week,if you have anytime in your really busy schedule that would be great if not just know I am here to be of service and continue to do what I can to support the children in malawi! If there is a project you can think of that we can join efforts do let me know! wish you the very best!!!
Best of luck to you
Warm regards
And great respect
PS:she wasn't disrespectful in anyway,d president shuld go nd sleep!

Ohh really guessing your reading sucks too

Really blud guess your reading sucks doe.

Aww you should have gone to specsavers

What's shitty African image you lot have self ? Get a grip joor was she suppose to be building shit for you lot. Kmon gimme a break

Thanks curvy nice touch. Em mofo don't know it is to be an American waste arse

Ohh really guessing your reading sucks too

in as much as the paper was defaced. she was really polite and Madonna owes her nothing. How many celebrities help these days. abegiiiiiiiii

hi

Linda, Linda, Linda how many times did i call you.... You are looking for my trouble ooo you not posting my comments makes me wanna come right at you, my sleeves are rowed up don't let my head touch.... Hmmmm

cynthia duke said...

My dear ooo...wetin concern bicycle with filling station,pesin leav em own country go build skul 4 country wey no be em own don turn bad tin...if she want respect she 4 use haa own money du am na...evn if na dog haus madonna build..she stil try..joyce neva vex reach..if she vex she go tell madonna make she no build again...nd in case dt one hapen..make una tel am say 9ja neva build e own finsh oo..so dt d help fit reach us...if she lyk make she curse gudluk + e dame patience join...so long as we see were dem dey mould block..we no go vex..hehehe...bt as my eyes big reach i no still fit see d insult wey madam dey talk of ooo,make she go sleep

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 224   Newer› Newest»