How old is too old? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 25 November 2011

How old is too old?

Chaka Khan, 58, and her 25 yr old model boyfriend
Let's be honest and realistic ladies, I know we're all about women empowerment - what a man can do, a woman can also do...etc...but if your 25 year old son came home with a 50 something yr old woman as his woman, how would you feel? 

What should be the age limit in older women/younger men relationship? How old is too old?

57 comments:

Atobatele said...

It is inappropriate for a woman to be older than the man though situations warrant this at times but for no reason will i ever marry a woman dat double my age. 2yrs-3yrs can be considered and it must be real love that exist between us.

Well the question could also be asked "if your 25yrs old daughter comes home with a 50 year old man...how would you feel"? The fact you framed your question like this..shows how misogynistic your view of the world is. This is not about older women and younger guys but age limitations in romantic relationship between everyone. Might i add that age limitation in relationship should be left to the people involved in that relationship. Who are you to impose your myopic views on someone who might not share those views. Live and lets live.

It's not always about love and marriage Linda. At times it's simply sex.

It's really not anyone's business what two consenting adults decide to do with each other.

i totally fink it's wrong, mayb 2-5yrs older bt 2 date sum1 d@'s old enuff 2 b my parent is absolutely disrespectful 2 my own parents!!! it cld result in serious problems later on...chaka khan may jst av sum young daughter d@ jst might fancy her bf! plus most of dese youngsters dating ppl @ r way older than dem obviously do so for d fame n money!

bloglord said...

hmnnn...ds thing called love!

The same way I will feel if my 25yrs old daughter comes home with a 50years old man!!!

Shadaybrity said...

Dear linda, if we as women stop antagonizing ourselves then the world would stop victimizing us and making us the topic of every story. If it was the other way round this story would have been:'how young is too young?'also concentrating on the female. Love is about understanding and knowledge not age so there should be no age limit as long as both parties are concerting and above 18 shikena!

ALEX.WONDERFUL said...

There was an attraction, apparently MONEY verses LOVE. i dont believe its all about love on both sides.

for some reason i actually find it embarrassing....maybe its cos its Chaka and she's black. i dont know.

Nicki Minaj's New Album said...

No old is too old lol... Rock on Chaka!

Veronica said...

sincerely speaking, i'll put my foot down and say NO! i wont accept it for whatever reason. forget the 'i love her' story o. and if he refuses, i'll leave him be & dat's final! i wont play any physical motherly role other than my spiritual role of praying for him.

amy said...

Clearly she doesn't hv a 25yr old son.. Cos if she does, she will knw dis shit is wrong on every level.. I'll say friends wit benefits.

kekere said...

truthfully, I wont take it. 25 years age difference is damn too much haba!!!

This is already billed to fail. WTH!!

He won't dare it. How on earth would he bring a woman of my age as his girl? Ko possible. Anything from 4years is too old.

Personally I don't see age as an issue even though am yet to be with a younger man. Still, i think anything above ten years difference is too much! That's my take....Meggy

The women need the magic stick..the boys need the fame..give it 3 years max..those boys would be back on them young thangs!!..only women with money or in showbiz..can pull this stunt..not for ur average woman...u see young men need to pro-create..or fool around..too much testestorone..it's nature baby!!

Reverse the question and ask yourself, Linda: What is the age limit for older men/younger women?

IF YOU CAN'T ASK THE ABOVE QUESTION OR DO NOT THINK IT SHOULD BE ANSWERED, YOU SHOULD NOT EVEN THINK OF ASKING THAT LAME QUESTION YOU ASKED, OK. SICK OF WOMEN LIKE YOU PROMOTING DOUBLE STANDARDS. THEN YOU BANG ON ABOUT BLOODY EQUALITY IN THE SAME BREATH!

Amaka's Notepad said...

58 yr old woman vs 25 yr old man is TOO,COMPLETELy,UTTERLY OLD!!!!

Shikena!

limit ke? men do it all the time..
Look @ his cute self, I bet he's breaking her back 10X a day.. Go on with your bad self Ms. Kahn!

If it looks like sex with the younger him or her may throw your back out then you need to leave it alone.

Please I am sure if this was a 58yr old man and a 25yr old woman, it wouldnt be news @ all. I say More power to her as long as he he putting it on her on a regular basis
I need to find me a youngin

grace said...

hmmn its their busines, life is all about choice babes

I am delighted for her. Let these women enjoy young blood too. Who no like better thing... funny how you won't blink or ask same if it were a 58 year old man. I have always said it that women are their own worst enemies.
I love Madonna and co that have refused to settle for one old haggard looking man just because... you think say na only men like better thing? heheheh

I believe marriage is all about choice, whether age or not Love and understanding is the only key to a successful marriage.

Just Me said...

When people say 'it is their business' i laugh... Gradually such things are turning to be normal things.sometimes i wonder where this generation is heading too.

As a lady, i can never date a guy younger than me, for what na, love? mstchewwww!

winniebhu said...

highest 2-3 years or at least 5 bt anyfin oda dan dat, dts sme crazy cougar eish, young bois sef no d hear word, d say older women knw d technique of love making more

Haba Chaka Khan! Agbaya Ni e. 25 yr old boy should be toting fresh P-funk, not Menopause.

winniebhu said...

at anonymous at least 4 a gal wit an older man dts more acceptable bt firstly ladies mature n get older more dan dudes n den u ar dating smone dts is dat old wen evn ladies ur agemate tend 2 be more maturd dan you

winniebhu said...

at anonymous at least 4 a gal wit an older man dts more acceptable bt firstly ladies mature n get older more dan dudes n den u ar dating smone dts is dat old wen evn ladies ur agemate tend 2 be more maturd dan you

this is just wrong!

For me as a mum, a day older lady to my son is simply unacceptable..I am a pure African .

melody said...

So dis woman wayward like shuuuuuuu,58 to 25 what does she want from him good sex and p**sy licking

You got to remember Linda is talking from a 9ja perspective not Europe/USA or wherever..come back home and see for yourself..ok..make una dey run mouth from yonder..

KOKO Almighty said...

Age is irrelevant. Been with girls 5 yrs younger, they did my head in; been with girls 5 yrs old, they did my head. Older or younger, no problem, as long you're not temperamental, attention whore, psychotic or an arsehole. I've spoken.

luga owoski said...

Anon. 11 23...ow I wish dia is a like button.......doe the distance is kind of wide but linda pls save us the gospel this guy is 25 nd not 15.....one man's food is another man's poison for instance I have a thing for older women simply because I feel comfortable around them!

Please where's Alicia?

ChiChiluv said...

I am sorry, if my son or daughter comes home with anyone who might be my age as a lover, I am sending them both packing. What nonsense! Love ko, love ni! Are you fking serious? I am ashamed for Chaka Khan, has it gotten to where she couldn't find a man her age? Even if this pickin came to her, she could have turned him away! Wouldn't this boy want to have children of his own? He needs to grow up and learn what life is about not get caught up in a woman who has LIVED life well well, has done drugs and partied with the best of them. NO! I can deal with a 1-10 year difference but 33 years? Ridiculous!

well its a thing of choice . but they must be truly inlove not faking to love

If not for HRT, she no go fit try am.

Lady N said...

What is the boy looking for? What does he want?

Quite frankly!! i have a huge issue with a young white boy sponging of an old but gorgeous black lady!!!the age is not d only problem! But this is just not a black womans lifestyle! Leave it for the demi moores of this world!

leave this topic alone linda, men can date any woman they want to date, i dint see you complain about hef/cristal or anna nicole/ her 90 year old husband.

why do people decive them selves that love should be the only basis for marriage, our grand parents married total strangers and it worked better than our so called marriages that are based on love. if people want to marry for money, sex or even for the sake of a change in relationship status. its no bodys business.

Enough with the insults already pls. FYI this blog belongs to Linda Ikeji and she damn well is entitled to her opinion. You can disagree on the issue but not resort to insults and what have u.

She asked a simple question, if it was your son, how would u feel? If u're fine with it I honestly do not pray its the fate that befalls you.

To each his own. If chaka or demi or madonna wants a fineeee young thing in their bed, then they should not cry foul when the young thing has exploited them, become famous and move on to their age mate. Then again it could very well be d other way round. Mayb d women chew them and spit them out.

This is not the first case and it definitely will not be the last but most importantly, we are entitled to our opinions.

orange said...

Hmmmm. Na wa o. My fear for this granny is that she could pass out and possibly pass on under intense sexual bombardment from this virile young man. You know it's very possible that he forgets sometimes that she s as old as his mum and takes her through some serious gymnastic. Make the woman no die o. But me, I no support this kind love. If they call it love. However, if the old lady just wants someone to give her good sex, well she has my nod, if the guy plays ball. Just kidding.
Seriously they are both age innapppropriate for each other. I'm sure if she has a son this age (25), she's not gonna give her consent to this kinda relationship. Even if her son goes ahead, she ll be a sad woman deep down.

aww cmon, if your 22 year old son brought haley berry(45 and still hot) or jennifer lopez(36 and still hot), even your 20 year old daughter would lokk older than them.

The thing is they are adults, let them do what they like.

HISS said...

if my brother comes home with a woman old enough to be my mother as a wife, i would go WAFFI on them! WHAT ARRANT NONSENSE!

as for those insulting our linda because she asked a simple question, GO NACK YOUR HEAD FOR TRANSFORMER O JARE COUGARS & GIGOLOS!

i disagree on both ways; NATURE CAN NEVER BE DECEIVED! One's body and mind degenerate as one grows older, that what might be so exciting to you at a certain age, might not be appealing now. It's a transitional phase and it's so good when you have someone to share it with, than trying to 'fit' into the younger / older person lifestyle, hence there is always infidelity on both sides.

Why would i leave a fresh young male body and be rubbing off on wrinkled body????...y-u-c-k!!!

so on BOTH sides, i DISAGREE.. both sexes should date within their age-group. finito!

Statistically, 30% (1 in 3) of women above 80 stil hav sex with either their bf or spouse!
Nothing new under the sun!!

peach said...

33yrs difference? haba na..thats too much. plus who is this chaka khan sef?

Hmm. Most women of Chaka's generation have their last child before clocking 33, so Chaka's youngest child may be older than this guy! And that is inappropriate. A 58 year old man with a 25 year old woman is also inappropriate. The fact that people do something does not make it right. These relationships are motivated by something other than love and long-term togetherness.

Bianca and late Ojukwu then Celine Dion and her husband nko?

A man should be with a woman that his children will not feel uneasy to introduce at least as "step-mum" and vice-versa. Most people will feel that something is inappropriate when mum introduces your school mate or junior as lover OR when dad does the same. My opinion; let's stick to +/- 5 years.

@ ANON NOV 25 11:20PM

PLS and pls crawl back up Linda#s arse where you belong. idiot, we can readm we know its her blog and for your information without US there would be NO blog. gerrit?

we too are allowed our opinions, when she doesnt like it, she doesnt post the comments she doesnt like. so what exactly is your noise? scream louder than that, Linda no go pat u. mumu.

Trisha

ChichiLuv said...

Anonymous 11.16am - Same thing to me, a big NO!NO!NO! We know what Bianca was looking for there, money and an iconic name. Bianca Onoh would not marry Ojukwu if he was thatching roof and selling pure water on the road! As Celine, he is a pedophile to me! He knew Celine since she was a little 9 year old girl and he was already a fully grown man. I wonder when he began thinking of her as a more than a little girl with a big voice and seeing her as a "woman":/ Both situations are gross, add Woody Allen and his step daughter/wife to that list too.

Dear linda, if we as women stop antagonizing ourselves then the world would stop victimizing us and making us the topic of every story. I started with this past comment because it so true.If a 50+ man marries/date a 25yr old girl it's that the girl is after his cash. can we please stop. Personally think the age gap is too much and wouldn't want my child boy/girl in that kind off relationship.