Troy Davis execution delayed while US supreme court considers stay | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 21 September 2011

Troy Davis execution delayed while US supreme court considers stay

The execution of  Troy Davis was delayed temporarily on Wednesday night as the US supreme court considered a last-minute appeal just as he was due to be put to death by lethal injection.

As the first news came in at the Jackson prison that houses death row, a huge cheer erupted from a crowd of more than 500 protesters that had amassed on the other side of the road.

Davis's supporters kissed each other and threw placards which read "Not in my name" into the air.
But the jubilation was short-lived. Talk of a reprieve from the US supreme court quickly gave way to rumours of a stay, and finally the realisation that the court had only ordered a temporary delay as it considered the matter.

The mood then grew more sombre as the waiting game that has now been going on for years with Davis resumed.

Until the delay it seemed almost certain that Davis would be executed. Earlier on Wednesday, Georgia's supreme court had rejected a last-ditch appeal by Davis's lawyers over the 1989 murder of off-duty policeman Mark MacPhail, for which Davis had been convicted despite overwhelming evidence that the conviction is unreliable.

The execution of Troy Davis was delayed temporarily on Wednesday night as the US supreme court considered a last-minute appeal just as he was due to be put to death by lethal injection.

As the first news came in at the Jackson prison that houses death row, a huge cheer erupted from a crowd of more than 500 protesters that had amassed on the other side of the road.

Davis's supporters kissed each other and threw placards which read "Not in my name" into the air.
But the jubilation was short-lived. Talk of a reprieve from the US supreme court quickly gave way to rumours of a stay, and finally the realisation that the court had only ordered a temporary delay as it considered the matter. The mood then grew more sombre as the waiting game that has now been going on for years with Davis resumed.

Until the delay it seemed almost certain that Davis would be executed. Earlier on Wednesday, Georgia's supreme court had rejected a last-ditch appeal by Davis's lawyers over the 1989 murder of off-duty policeman Mark MacPhail, for which Davis had been convicted despite overwhelming evidence that the conviction is unreliable.

Culled from Guardian UK

19 comments:

Misuna said...

he has been denied the appeal.....sadly...he is to be executed at 11pm et.May God grant him eternal rest

Tsunamsom said...

He is now officially dead!! sad stuff.....#injustice

He was excecuted moments ago. Umm...

sad,they finally killed him.

Chimezie Njoku said...

I think they have executed him.

he has been executed.drew his last breath @ 11.08pm.

Troy Davis have been executed Linda, check more about that ok

He is dead!

Linda!you are getting soft o...please do check your fact!

Troy Davis was pronounced dead 03:08 GMT Thursday

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-15013860

Linda he's been executed o! Check wikipedia. It happened yesterday

Well he has been executed. The US will execute a man without solid evidence but they have the audacity to tell Iraq and Iran not to execute innocent people. Hypocrites!!!

deolus said...

Why d repeat Linda......all I can say is #INJUTICE# may his spirit hunt the judiciaries and those 7 liars

Casey Anthony with all the incriminating evidence walks away, yet they execute a man with no definite proof, double standards. Its a jungle out there in the deep south. RIP Troy Davis.

He has been executed. Damn shame.

the eye witnesses that are now recanting their stories, i wonder why they lied in the first place. now a man who might be innocent has been killed!!! The racism that goes on in this us is something else. May God grant him eternal rest. Casey anthony is walking free!!! The cop that killed the guy in ny on the night bf his wedding is prolly walking free as well n as a matter of fact a lot of cops that killed innocent people are walking free. anybody that lied in this case should meet d same fate dis man suffered!

the white enchantress said...

if he is innocent ....everyone involved jury,judge,witnesses n d cops dept....all of una to ur 5th generation will neva eva find rest. God will avenge his blood on you all. its so sad. after keeping him alive since 1987..he wakes every morning thinking its his last day.

a friend of mine in Atlanta Georgia told me dat the height of racism there is so much.its really obvious bc de dont hide it and you as a black ant do anything about it like reporting to d police dept. nobody go listen to any complain.

after reading his bio on wiki, i still maintain if he is innocent, ye all involved will neva eva find rest. Lord, heap hot coals upon their heads....R.I.P. Troy

1976AD.com said...

People please stop talking what you don't know. The system found the man guilty, that's all there is to it.

Tunmama said...

why are u guys attacking linda? cant u see her post is yesterday's date? its now that u are commenting u are now saying she is slow abi late. take ur time o.

Poor dude if he really is innocent. so so sad! :(