Quote of the day | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 23 September 2011

Quote of the day

“Gani Fawehinmi would be happy in his grave now. As we look at Tinubu in the dock, our minds went back to that day at Igbosere, Lagos, where legal icon, Gani Fawehinmi, was pelted with sachets of ‘pure water’ by hoodlums sponsored by Tinubu. Our minds also went back to that human rights lawyer, who masterminded the shameful act just because of a few millions of Naira." - Chima Ubeku Society for Rule of Law of Nigeria (SRLN)

24 comments:

This picture is a classic!!!

Agbaje Adeyeye Oladipo said...

Sister, I doubt if there was any question asked in that 'comment' really but as someone that has been well drilled by many impromptu test, amoebic-questions in the Uni., I can relate to your question....what is happening to Tinubu is justice, did any of those foreign bank account belong to him? A lot of people has been tagging this a ‘witch hunt’ but the truth is people like me are happy with it. Let side A expose the ills of side B and vice versa. As long as the centre those not hold for our selfish leaders then there is hope for dreamers like me. Let all corruption cases be revisited, these people have been having field days for far too long......may we not go to the grave with dreams!

Buzzer! said...

Linda, so where is the question in here???

If the UBS trader was a Naija boy all hell will be let loss all over the world! But nobody is saying anything cus he no be Naija boy!!! See life oooooooo

It's all a plot to bring the west down! ACN would come up trumps and Jonasatan would be put to shame! Shame on PDP!!

deeflamez said...

Funny enough,the hoodlums were said to have been sponsored by Tinubu. But it was all a rumour. He never admitted to doing such and neither were there any links to him. *mteeewww* Save your quotes jor and let the trial proceed. More apisodes yet to unfold.

YES GANI FOUGH TINUBU, YET TINUBU WAS MAGNINAMOUS ENOUGH TO NAME A PARK IN HIS HONOUR IN LAGOS. TINUBU HAS ONE THING WORKING FOR HIM: MENTORING PEOPLE. IBB ALSO HAS THAT TRAIT. THEY WILL ALWAYS HAVE LOYALISTS.
CHOP ALONE AND DIE ALONE

Igwe Osita One said...

Stop all these propaganda

1976AD.com said...

Very simple question, if this is mere political kabuki or a plot, why the heck did Tinubu get 21 lawyers plus 9 SANs (if memory serves me right) to defend himself in this case?

IMHO only those who are guilty lawyer up to the T. An innocent person has nauhgt to fear, at least not to the point of getting 30 lawyers to represent him.

Nigerians are so funny...For how long do we intend to celebrate mediocrity and corruption.
Lets face it and call a spade a spade....so many of our leaders are corrupt and even though all of them haven't been brought to the fore,lets start somewhere.

The honest truth is that Tinubu hasnt done anything extraordinary that i can point to.OK fine,he returned ACN to the south west and so.Its just because majority of other leaders are corrupt.

Do u know how many people die daily because all these people have chopped our money.
If we do not find them out,God will.Trust me,the God that answers by fire is still very much alive.

GeOrGiE said...

Dis politcians truely deserve executn by letal injectn.

devour said...

see his face like oke belgium

elenurazor! said...

@ anon 10.32
mentoring people in what?
pls educate me?
thievery?

ochiaka said...

let him just defend himself, he is not a different nigerian

bill said...

Dats d finest court room i have seen in nigeria!! they even gave him a baby's cot to stay in!! so kind of them....lol

lINDA, PLEASE Stop propaganda. This man is a messiah for the maSSES. PDP CAN NOT STAND OPPOSITION AND ARE DETERMINED TO CHOP NIGERIA TO THE BONE.TINUBU IS A GREAT MAN!!!!!!!!!!!WE CAN POINT TO DEVELOPMENT IN LAGOS, VISIT OTHER STATES ESPECIALLY RIVER AND BAYELSA UPON THE BILLIONS THEY COLLECT FROM FG, COME BACK AND WRITE ABOUT THEIR LEADERS.THIS IS POLITICALLY MOTIVATED.

they need to confiscate all his wife's jewelry sha as part of the cash recovery

This quote is propaganda & nothing more..how do u know how Gani would hav ben thinking or acting? come to think of it, can u tel me Okonjo Iweala has closed all her accounts in US? This woman was paid in Dollars by OBJ, an action dat contravened Nig constitution. Gani sued FG and Okonjo Iweala and nothing came out of it. So if anyone break d law it is PDP and its apointees like Ngozi Okonjo Iweala. Tinuubu is a political strategist dat understands d nexus btw politics and economy working as a system

Kele GoldMind said...

I tut Nigerian opposition were better, but they are even the worst rogues I know, ...despite all the tax and donations he collects from Lagos State and South West, he is still in satisfied, he should go and rot in jail for all I care, but he co-papts (PDP) will still let him go free as their savoiour in South West, ...What a Shame!

CLF said...

1976AD.com; when you are dealing with an extremely corrupt Judiciary, you will need all the best people to get you off the hook.

OBJ is flexing his muscles and is threatened by the continual rise of BAT.

Yet, people like Odili are still walking freely.

Dr Awonugah said...

Please! Please!! Even Gani, before his death said a good thing about Bola Tinubu...He said he never knew the man was a good man, even upon all that he, Gani, did, he still went ahead to sponsor an advert in his honour on his birthday. Please stop coming to hasty conclusions on matters which you are not well lettered. Moreso, do you have any proof that Asiwaju sponsored the attack on Gani?

that quote is the height of silliness and to second CLF - the Nigerian legal system needs you to get a team of great lawyers if you are to stand a chance -especially when you are innocent....

Badluck Jonsatan is just trying to finish what his godfather started

THE NEW ANONYMOUS said...

HE WAS MUCH BETTER THAN FASHOLA!

O ma se o. See ppl defending rogues!!!!!