MBGN 2010 contestants in photo shoot | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 25 May 2010

MBGN 2010 contestants in photo shoot

Enjoy pictures from the PhotoShoot of the contestants...
More Pics coming soon...

55 comments:

88% of the contestants are igbo...does that say anything at all about 9jerian girls?

kinda confused. how come the igbo girls are representing the yoruba states? ah ah osun, oyo, ondo? what is going on?

preye said...

these girls look pretty in the pictures. when i saw them on stv, they all looked horrible except for a few like the winner, miss bayelsa, miss enugu, miss delta, and miss kogi.

Exactly wat I was thinking, Igbo girls are too much jare... Igbo girls rock ! whoo hoooo. LOL

Dith said...

O_o

Snick said...

lovely girls

That's funny! I didn't notice until i read the comments about igbos. Ok, no big deal, we are all Nigerians. My theory is that, I think igbos put themselves out there more, not bcos they are smarter or prettier than other ethnic groups, they just seem to be universal. I call them the hustlers!

For example, many igbo parent are more lenient than the yoruba parent about their children going into entertainment, sports or fashion. There are beautiful women from all ethnic group, and it will be ignorant for someone to imply that it's bcos igbo girls are better looking, bcos that's not the case at all.

BB said...

They're not stunning.

them photoshop pictue so tey the look plastic without pores

why do people have to complicate simple things...havent y'all seen d previous mbgn with yoruba girls...omowunmi won and she is yoruba.meanwhile they are just looking good in d photos...just like preye they where LOOKING HORRIBLE on stv.

Excuse me, who says Igbo girls are the cutest babes in Nigeria? My dear, that's a very big lie... They're the worst looking ... ethnic group in Nigeria! How can you compare the Igbo babes with the Hausas, south-south and the Yoruba babes? The difference is too clear. Yea, u can say dem dey yello but no, not beautiful. Bunch of wasted skin colours!!! THE TRUTH OF THE MATTER IS THAT MOST IBOS LIKE MORNEY, SO THEY'RE THE ONES PARTCIPATING IN THE MOST OF THESE SHOWS. ASIDE THAT, MOST PARENTS FROM OTHER ETHNIC GROUPS DON'T LIKE THEIR CHILDREN TAKING PART IN THESE STUFF FOR DIFFERENT REASONS; THE HAUSAS - RELIGION, THE YORUBAS - MORAL VALUES AND FAMILY NAME ETC

well, i am not igbo but i have no problems with igbo girls winning the pageant (or at any other thing for that matter)- why do nigerians complicate things by commenting on the dominance of one ethnic group or the other? as nigeria approaches 50 years of independence, the time has come to think of ourselves as nigerians first and tribe second. an igbo man is more than welcome to come and declare himself an indigene of my state- afterall we are all nigerians!

@ anonymous #1..it may just be that igbo girls like flaunting their stuff more that other nigerians girls...just saying

wtf said...

bunch of ugly girls! PERIOD! ibo or yoruba, they are all ugly!!!! ptchew!

both d winner n d last are all ugly!! dont see that girl going anywhere in miss world! raraaa!! at alllll! or is it miss universe?? hvnt u guys seen how beautiful miss universe girls are?? is it that nigerians dont have fine girls?? wtf! im nigerian n im disappointed! bunch of ugly local champions! shior! KMT

wtf said...

they r all bunch of ugly girls!! PERIOD! ibo or yoruba, they r all ugly!! wtf!!
i dont see the winner getting anywhere in miss world! rararaaaaa at all oh!
havnt u guys seen miss universe girls? and how beautiful they are? is it that nigerians dont have fine girls anymore?
im disappointed! these girls are all bunch of ugly local champions! KMT! shior!

Surprising...they all have weaves and like 70% are igbos or what???

Don't Naija girls go about with their normal hair anymore!!!!!!!! Everywhere u look Remi has taken over, I love rocking bouncy beyonce waist long curls once in a while but nothing beats running my hand through my freshly washed hair !!!!!!

Adaugo said...

in as much as this igbo girl this and igbo girl that is annoying.These girls are not ugly haba!!some are pretty,some are average but they are not UGLY

Alicia says....

Anonymous May 26, 2010 1:41 PM

what is your issue with Igbos? or is it because an Igbo represented your state? hahaha @ being the worst ethnic group in Nigeria. frustrated much?

only Igbos like money? Last time i checked all humans like money. thats the worst excuse I've heard yet.

when the likes of Omowunmi, Toyin, and Abiola Bashorun won MBGN where would your speech that "Yorubas don't do pageants because of moral values and family name" fit in? ARRANT NONSENSE! CRAP CRAP CRAP!
stop sounding like a frustrated hater. do you think tearing down the Igbos will make you feel beautiful? guess what, it wont.

and whats your issue with light skin? does that have anything to do with it? you're really starting to sound like you have complex issues.

bottom line; stop being a butt hurt hater!

This is not MBGN....ITS MBIG..most beatuiful Igbo girl!!!! even all the yoruba land.....Igbo representing!....chei!

preye said...

ppl the truth is that anywhere u go. if u ask any man, they'll always choose the igbo girl as the prettiest and most fashionable. it's not that they're the prettiest, but u rarely find an ugly igbo girl like u wud find a bayelsa, yoruba, or kogi girl. hausa ppl don't do cuz of their religion, and i wudn't wear a bikini for anyone. but u shudn't insult igbo's because it seems like they're going for beauty pageants. yoruba girls are not known as beautiful...i'm sorry yoruba girls don't kill me but u have to ask around. but there a some beautiful ones like omotola, ibidun ighodalo, etc. i have even heard ppl say that if someone says u look yoruba it means u r ugly (i dunno why) and my mum said they r stupid (my mum is yoruba and pretty).

kenny said............why are u guys angry bcos the contestants are all Igbos, it is bcos Igbo chicks are most outstanding in everything, name them......non Igbos should close their mouths......u guys should hide ur faces in shame cos Igbos are representating ur state......

I don't think the issue is tribalism but the pageant is not representative of Nigeria. If 80% of the civil service or the senate were filled with people from a particular tribe most of us would take issue with that and think it unfair.

I have nothing against Igbo girls, but this is ridiculous you cannot have girls from one ethnic group representing so many states. Its unfair to individuals of those states who want someone who understand and practices their ways to represent them.

I think the MBGN team needs to try harder next year and get actual indigines representing. If Hausa/Fulani girls were representing all Igbo states am sure a lot of people be a little pissed.

Not to be mean spirited but the winner is just pretty, shes not WOW. I personally think whoever is representing us on the world platform should be a wow! I think the judges wanted plateau state to win because of what happened in Jos.

I don't think Igbo girls are more prettier than girls from other tribes, it just happens that they tend to be fairer and a lot of Nigerian people consider that to be beautiful. My two cents.

i have even heard ppl say that if someone says u look yoruba it means u r ugly (i dunno why) and my mum said they r stupid (my mum is yoruba and pretty).
May 28, 2010 2:52 PM

i dont know why this comment has thrown me off my chairs and i'm rolling on the floor laughing! i love it...cos it is soooo true...i concur...ur mum is an obvious exception bcos for every rule, there is an exception ...well done for speaking the truth :)

PS: I am not anti-yoruba,just of lover of truth ;)

so na this one ivuoma dey do nai make her dey behave like say she no dey see road for school and by the way sef, una dey mumu for here . which kind talk of igbo and yoruba nonsense be this? schew!

thumbs up to the organisers, but i wonder when they'll start crowning winners on d basis of credibility and not on d basis of who you know or who is sponsoring u? for God's sake we have a lot of beauties in this country who are willing to participate but for fear of this. pls you guys should change your pattern for the image of Nigeria in MISS WORLD!

anon 5:02pm Are you kidding? you sound very ignorant.

Igbos have very strong features. Just bcos some of them are light complexion does not mean anything at all. I've seen normal looking igbo girls but Nigerians talk about them like they are the prettiest just bcos of their light complexion. Even if they bleached their skin. Igbos always like to claim every pretty girl, even if the girl is yoruba. Lesson 1, light complexion does not equal beautiful.

The stereotype that every yoruba girl is dark skinned, maybe has marks on their faces is ridiculous. The truth is some of these dark skin yoruba girls look better than the light skin overrated igbo girls. I've seen couple of natural light skin yoruba girls too, not that it matters. Lesson 2, a girl can be considered beautiful by the shape of her eyes, her lips, smile etc not just complexion.

Igbos are everywhere. They tend to make themselves known with their long names, speaking loud sometimes, not caring, speaking their language anywhere. I noticed they associate themselves more with everyone than any other ethnic group. For example, many of the nigerian biracial I've seen around, their fathers are igbos. Yeah, they stand out but does not mean it's a good standing out all the time. I think they think the louder they are the more popular they can be, which sometimes give Nigeria a bad reputaion.

Hausas don't participate bcos of their religion, and some of them don't have the Nigerian patriotism, they see themselves different. Yorubas tend to hold on to a lot of belief like morals.

Nina said...

Err duhh,ofcourse they look better here than on tv,its called Photoshop!Remove their weaves,lashes,nails and make up and imagine what they'll look like....the era of natural beauty is dead and gone!

sopsybugsy said...

wait a sec, did i jus see hausa n yoruba states represented by Igbo chics, this is not ryt. i smell foul play. afterall its spose to be MBGN not MBIGN (most beautiful IGBO girl in Nigeria.) isssshhhh.

Kudos to those who have recognised the fact that we are africans first and our ethnicities come second.

The level of hatred being spewed from amongst our own is amazing, why can we not just celebrate the beauty of our african chicks.

No ethnic group in Nigeria has a monopoly on beauty.
I mean Hausa chicks, Edo girls, Calabar,Igbo, Yoruba, you name it, they are all beautiful.

And to those complaining about the dominance of the Ibo girls has it not occurred to you that their mothers may also be indigenes of the state married to Ibo men?

Word of advice though, stop the pointless hating on others because the venom you're spewing has already been and is being spewed tenfold on you by outsiders - and they don't care what ethnic group or country you're from.

If you don't love yourselves who on else will?

No ones hating, but abeg Igbo girls are representing nearly every sing state. The chances of having an igbo father and an indigine mother is still very low.

I dont care that they are Igbo if they were all Itsekiri, Ijaw or Tiv I would still complain. The pageant is not representative at all. The organisers need to do more and get indigines to participate this is like the third year in a row where girls from a single ethnic group have dominated the entire thing.

I have nothing against Igbo girls for all those screaming tribalism, they saw an opportunity and went for. If this is the case then this should not be MBGN where contestants are representing individual states they should simply represent themselves.

Either the beautiful girls are shunning this paegeant or we have a problem, cos these girls are average (no offence intended). Goes for the last 3 MBGN. Being light skin does not make you automatically beautiful, your features do! The MBGN must be STRIKING, whether yellow, brown or blue back they must be striking and a neck turner.

franni said...

ooooooooo. pple grow up!!! we r the next generation u kno! if this tribalism shit isn't wiped off in this age and time,then wen? we be progressive and erase mistakes of our fathers. igbo dis,yoruba dat, niger-delta kini. GROW UP!!!

back to mo interestin stuff jo... miss rivers is very pretty. plateau just cute. some faces der no follow sha.

Please who deceived these girls that they are fine? Abeg 95% of them are just regular babes. Nothing attractive. So much for Igbos claiming to be more beautiful than the others.

Disgusting. I didn't even notice which tribes they are from until i saw the comment.Disgusting I can't believe you people. GROW THE FUCK UP. I swear Nigeria is the most trabilist country in Africa, no other Africans are obbessed with tribes like this; most are letting that shit past them yet this country is bent in holding it. When will it end? Grow the fuck. So what if the girls are igbo? If you guys are going to scream and shout, did it ever occur to you that is where the girls reside in? Did it ever occur to you idiots? . Also, those that are calling this girls ugly. Dude, i saw pictures of them, THAT'S NOT PHOTOSHOPPED.
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=5499090&id=647482027#!/photo.php?pid=5499878&id=647482027&fbid=427631412027
If this girls are ugly, then you people are freaking hating or lying. Grow up ppl.

Anyway at Linda's, thanks for the list, i was wondering who won. The girl that contested at Miss.Kogi is a girl i went to elementary school with. Who would have thonked it. LOL? Aww, poor thing she didn't win

Yoruba people like starting tribal argument for no reason whatsoever. So what if the girls are Igbo? Jeez, alot of Yoruba girls are not attractive, this has nothing to do with your moral. Most Yorubas are not attractive, therefore it's not a surprise that not many are contesting. Where is ya'll moral crap when owumuni contested? their are Yoruba girls in this list as well. What happened to their parent's morality? Shut up, comment on the girl and move on with this tribal obession you people have.

All this igbo this, igbo that, yoruba this, yoruba that. MBGN contestants is organized and picked by a WHITE MAN. This has nothing to do with tribe, etc. This is the same reason they closed Miss.Nigeria because people assumed it's a biased show. A freaking non igbo, non nigeria is picking the girls. No doubt, their were Yoruba, Ijaw, Efik, Ibibio, etc girls that competed but maybe the girl didn't see them as beautiful or thought they do not look what the rest of the world consider as attractive. There is no igbo consirpacy.

Dith said...

this has got 2 be d post wt d most baseless arguments & rants! my goodness! WTF??? i didnt even realize most of the girls were Igbo.
i bet good money that all of d angry "ibo girls" comments on this post are from people who are FUGLY without mercy. Yes! there I said it!!!! Dont get mad @ a particular tribe bcos even ur bf thinks they are cute. Blame his wandering eyes & ur genes & if it bothers u that much, there is sumtn called plastic surgery.

it is one thing 2 state that d girls r not cute & keep it pushing but 2 turn this into yet another tribal issue,....Makes no darn sense 2 me!
All u olukemi omololous in this generation, 3 words!
HOLY GHOST FIRE!!

& dont even bother trying 2 reply me cos ull be getting no response from me. I refuse 2 dumb myself down any further cos my gosh!! Ur ignorance sure speaks really loud volumes!!

Dith, u sound like u are disappointed that it turned to tribal talk, but your post makes you sound very ignorant.

There's nothing wrong if some people are concerned that a specific ethnic group is not represented enough. If the majority were yorubas, igbos will complain too. Afterall, it should be a representation of Nigeria, not igboland.

All the people that are implying that it's bcos of beauty or dith saying that people complaining must be ugly, how immature and foolish do you guys sound.

My dad is Arab, and mom is fulani/yoruba, and I know what I'm saying that yorubas have a lot of beliefs/morals and the reason many yorubas or hausas/fulanis don't partcipate. Basically, igbo parent are more lenient with their children going into stuff like this. Of course, there are still some yorubas who go into it like Omowunmi, etc so I'm not saying it applies to every yoruba girl, don't u get it! but it does play a big role.

The best thing to do is just to try to diversify it next time, so one group won't feel left out.

Dith said...

@Anon yes I am disappointed! Very disappointed!
We need to learn how to be one people and stop dividing ourselves every little chance we get.
Point of correction-- "Mrs I am not ignorant but yet I am",
People were not just complaining abt underrepresentation, u guys started ranting abt igbo girls thinking they are d prettiest of all tribes and how they are d ones who participate in such contests because they are not as morally upright as the rest of d other tribes.
What arrant nonsense is that?

I am totally done wt this topic really.
If girls from other tribes want more representation, they should fill out an application form. it's really as simple as that.

Also u telling me what u r mixed with and what not really does nothing but echo ur low self esteem which I already presumed u had in d first place.

Like really Why did u think that bit of information was necessary 2 me? U don't even know what tribe I am from bcos that is not d koko of d issue IMO.

My thing is that we Nigerians stay making any and everything a tribal issue.
I am a human being first before any thing, but u probably wouldn't understand anyway.

Thanks and have a nice day!

If these girls represent real Igbo beauties, the girls claiming Igbo girls are the most beautiful in country are go ahead and claim because there is nothing beautiful about them. @Preye, the last time I checked, the Yoruba were the trend setter and most fashionable in Nigeria. The most beautiful girls in Nigeria are definitely girls from the south-south. And aren't Igbos meant to crappy lovers too? OK, moving on to other post!

@ Dith For your information, If I was doing what u think I'm doing, i would have mentioned that all over the place in my first post. I really don't care either what my ethnicity is. I mentioned it bcos I wanted to prove that I'm just not assuming about Yorubas having morals or hausas/fulanis not participating bcos I'm of both ethnicity, so i know what i'm saying. I don't like it when people have to show that they are mixed, and don't like coming off that way unnecessarily, so hopefully you get the point of me mentioning it in the first place. Your comment said a lil bit about you, so I'm guessing you are ibo, but i might be wrong.

Do you listen or read what you write. It's like you are contradicting yourself. I know you are trying to prove that it's not about tribalism but u saying that "most people complaining are fugly or all the olukemi omololous in this generation, i have three words Holy Ghost Fire" or me mentioning my ethnicity echo my low self esteem. C' mon now. If you say you are not ignorant, then prove it. Next time, don't try to act like you don't like something, but insinuate.

I didn't notice that at first, it was when some people started saying that it's bcos ibo girls are better looking, that's when I said what I said. I will say the only way there won't be this kind of discussion is when people stop thinking they are better than others.

When I say yorubas have morals, ok, that might not be the right choice of word. I'm not in any way saying igbos don't have morals, bcos they do. What I'm trying to say is that I noticed many yoruba parent seem to be more close minded than igbo parent. Igbos are out there more, they are very outgoing. For example, i hear yoruba parent emphasize a lot on respect or don't bring disgrace to your family than igbo parent. These two cultures are different.

At the end of the day, It's all about putting yourself out there, so if you want to be represented, fill out the application just like u said.

@ Dith For your information, If I was doing what u think I'm doing, i would have mentioned that all over the place in my first post. I really don't care either what my ethnicity is. I mentioned it bcos I wanted to prove that I'm just not assuming about Yorubas having morals or hausas/fulanis not participating bcos I'm of both ethnicity, so i know what i'm saying. I don't like it when people have to show that they are mixed, and don't like coming off that way unnecessarily, so hopefully you get the point of me mentioning it in the first place. Your comment said a lil bit about you, so I'm guessing you are ibo, but i might be wrong.

Do you listen or read what you write. It's like you are contradicting yourself. I know you are trying to prove that it's not about tribalism but u saying that "most people complaining are fugly or all the olukemi omololous in this generation, i have three words Holy Ghost Fire" or me mentioning my ethnicity echo my low self esteem. C' mon now. If you say you are not ignorant, then prove it. Next time, don't try to act like you don't like something, but insinuate.

I didn't notice that at first, it was when some people started saying that it's bcos ibo girls are better looking, that's when I said what I said. I will say the only way there won't be this kind of discussion is when people stop thinking they are better than others.

When I say yorubas have morals, ok, that might not be the right choice of word. I'm not in any way saying igbos don't have morals, bcos they do. What I'm trying to say is that I noticed many yoruba parent seem to be more close minded than igbo parent. Igbos are out there more, they are very outgoing. For example, i hear yoruba parent emphasize a lot on respect or don't bring disgrace to your family than igbo parent. These two cultures are different.

At the end of the day, It's all about putting yourself out there, so if you want to be represented, fill out the application just like u said.

AFTER ALL SAID AND DONE, ACTUALLY FIND OUT WHY THERE ARE IGBO GIRLS REPRESENTING NON-IBO STATES. THEN YOU'LL FIGURE OUT THAT ITS COS THE GIRLS WHO GET THROUGH AT THE SCREENING STAGE MAY NOT ALL BE FROM THE 36 INDIVIDUAL STATES. THUS, THE STATES WITHOUT ANY INDIGENOUS REPRESENTATIVE GETS REPRESENTED BY THE GIRLS WHO ARE LEFT, DOESN'T MATTER IF YOU'RE FROM THE STATE OR NOT. SO, WHEN THERE ARE MANY IBO GIRLS OUT THERE, DOES ANYONE EXPECT THE ORGANIZERS TO SEND THEM HOME COS THEY ARE MANY?

AND TO THINK THAT I'D HAVE THOUGHT OUR YOUNGER GENERATION HAD BANISHED THE TRIBALISM ISSUE! AM THOROUGHLY DISAPPOINTED ANYWAYS. I ALSO DON'T THINK THE WINNER WAS ALL THAT. I COULDN'T PLACE HER IN THE SAME LEAGUE WITH ADAEZE IGWE OR MUNACHI ABI SHA...I ACTUALLY THINK I LOOK VERY GOOD TOO, AND AM IBO. BITE THAT!

wow out of the 30 contestant just like 3 can fit international stantard, most off them have belly even the winners tommy is like wow.

to all those claimin "Yoruba's have more moral"

You people need to stop lying about Yoruba people being more close minded. I see more Yoruba's walking around almost naked in Lagos and in America. How does that qualify as close-minded? I see alot of Yoruba's acting like ashawo's, how does that qualify as morality. I'm not from either tribe but why do yoruba's like competing with igbo girls? leave them be and they will leave you be. Unfortuantely, They are prettier; Yes but their are attractive yoruba girls as well. We should be focused on being a one nation. Abeg.
Anyway, the girls this year are average, they should step their game up. But then again, the most beautiful girls from whatever tribe, do not compete.

Geeez, u guys are sick people. Wats ur problem with yoruba n igbo? Its one country for goodness sake! N for those who say d girls are ugly, I wonder where your girlfriends or your sisters are. Nigerians never cease their baseless criticisms. Do u kno ugly is?? Apparently u do not. I took part in that contest n I represented gombe state n I'm no where near ugly. With or without makeup. I rather actually go without makeup. N all dos talking crap about weavons, don't act demented abeg. This is a pageant. Who wears corn row to do a contest or braids??? Besides if we hv short hair, should we commit sucide? Who says that's wat we wear 24 hours in our everyday life? N u guys plssss stop saying wat u don't know. It is sick. D organisers of the pageant n d jugdes are nigerians n not white people. They can only screen from wat they see. They can't go to the streets or villages n wat happens if there is more than one person from a state? Ofcourse, u simply represent another since that state has nobody from there. I rep gombe state bt I'm not from there. Its just a name tag like calling numbers n has no relation with ur true identity. After the contest, hw many winners do u refer to with states? Its jst a basis of identity during d contest nothing more. Mbgn is a private owned n controlled company. It is not government based or nation based. So when they call an audition, they will screen from what they see. If u want a contest where each state in nigeria is represented in reality, go n start your own starting from the states themnselves. Point of correction too, they were a bunch of yoruba girls there, lagos, edo, bauchi, taraba etc we're all represented by yoruba girls. I personally don't think any tribe is better than another. A lot of yoruba girls may hv bin at the screening but didn't make it. All dat is irrelevant. It is one nigeria and one representative dat goes to miss world. Stop all this tribal crap. Seriously it sounds dumb n demented, like so ridiculous. N finally, please stop saying we are ugly. I am not ugly in any way, manner or form. If u des contestants do not meet up to u, there is still next year, take ur sister, ur cousin, ur girlfriend, ur relative, ur friends, or yourselves to the screening. And if u are a guy, since u are so perfect, u can also go try mr nigeria contest n let's see ur perfectness. Have a good day

Sanubi Annette said...

Come on people we are all Nigerians!if u know what it is to stand on a platform with all your gorgeous looks,hopes weaknesses e.t.c and still smile while being judjed by people who u dont know without asking for your opinion or watever, then u wud know it takes more than guts to look fabulous like they all did despite what they represented and all.u did great girlz.congratulations fiona!

my girl friends look better

All the talks out there... The fact is that this guy's are disapointed with themselves and there girls. IGBO GIRLS, just keep up te good work...!!!

i'll tell u why yoruba girls didn't contest...the ones tagged beautiful are seen as that because they have large asseS, i lie?

Diadem said...

Tribalism...can't believe we still have Ziks and Awolowos around...Very silly!... If you say the girls ain't fine, go contest lets see

Yeeaaah. A big lie at that!