Nigeria is not a terrorist country | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 5 January 2010

Nigeria is not a terrorist country

All air passengers bound for the United States from foreign countries will face tightened random screening efforts under the new U.S. Transportation Security Administration rules, with special attention given to travelers from these seven countries...

Yemen
Pakistan
Cuba
Iran
Sudan
Syria
...and
NIGERIA

Passengers flying from these 7 countries will be patted down and have carry-on luggage searched under new security procedures starting January 4.

All because of this boy....

Umar Farouk Abdulmutallab. Poor soul !!!

His act should not be used to judge Nigerians or criminalize us...we are not a terrorist country.

Ngieria is not a terrorist country.

They cannot blacklist NIGERIANS this way because of what one person did. Umar acted on his own...

But how do we fight this stigmatisation? What do we need to do to take our name off this list?

23 comments:

Linda,

It is all well and good saying that to ourselfs, but the main reason why Nigeria has been shortchanged and categorized in the same breath as terrorists is because we have a lame government who do not understand the power of PR. Immediately this news broke, the government should have set in motion a task force that would involve ministers, diplomats, to travel simultaneously to all continents lobbying congressman, parliamentarians, engage in interviews, talkshows, selling our story and explaining the type of people we are. We all know this guy is an abberant, he was no longer a Nigerian, the moment he sold his soul to the Yemeni's, instead what we have is supposed experts on Nigeria (white folks) talking sh*t about Nigeria, saying we are a war torn country and the likes. Common, with that fed on every channel everyday, what else can we expect. I hate the decision that has been taken, but I can certainly understand why it came about. Mrs Akunyili failed and in any sane society, she should be held accountable, there is no point crying to the BBC after the deed is done.

Sorry its long, but I just dey vex.

John

Onose said...

well both governments are stupid as hell...the US because the guys OWN FATHER warned them about him, like he said hes up to something...and instead of putting him on the NO FLY LIST they even gave him a visa to come here...so thats the US's fault on that part...because the govt here has there brains in their behinds and they think that they can do no wrong...maybe if they CHECKED their system and see what went wrong ppl putting bombs n things in their underpants and shoes wouldnt be fooling the TSA...Nigeria's govt is just stupid on many levels as well..theirs is on kentro level...they all must be SLEEPING or something...oh well

Admin said...

My bro went to canada from here last night ,he told me how they checked and scrutinize him like he want to enter heaven,he said his mind went straight to this little negro called umar, hey this guy don kobalize us

I'm African American and not surprised at ALL. American history is one in which the majority is blaimed for minority as it relates to race and ethnicity. This goes to show how far reaching our disparities are despite having a president of African descent. It's a d@.. shame the actions of one trouble young man has impacted a Country of hard working people doing their best in the US and at home to prosper not destroy. Excuse my language but WHTF is this? You can only imagine the fatigue one feels after having to deal with this so long. Peace to all Nigerians and prayers to this young man's family.

Madam Ikeji this is not the type of publicity we need right now. It is bad enough we get this negative publicity from overseas. And I still believe that the US government knew something about this issue before it was plotted. Also I am getting sick and tired of these countries insulting our security considering the fact that he was let on the plane @ Schiphol Airport.

It really sad because we've got a bad name b4 and now it's been totally tanished. Not suprise about the list anyway, becos even b4 the bomb... here in England, when you apply for shengen visa from those shengen state's... Nigeria, pakistan and some other muslim countries don't get the visa same day. You have to wait 3 week b4 they decide if you will be issued the visa or not (even with your U.K residence permit). Countries like Ghana, Togo, even Benin, get the shengen same day.

Another incident that really made me sad, was on the 22nd of July 2008 when i arrived back to heathrow on Virgin Nigeria. You won't believe that the British immgrations had come to door of the aircraft and were requesting for everybodies passport's as you step out of the plane.

To make the matter worse.... One of those asian's that direct you to the clearance officer's that stamp's you in, was pointing and telling people to go on the Nigeria/Lagos line if they were coming from Lagos. I ignored him, and i joined another line... on getting to the entry clearance officer, he asked me where i flew from and i said Lagos... He pointed to the line the asian was directing all the people that came from Nigeria that morning on Virgin Nigeria flight to me... And said you were meant to be there, but becos you've got a residence permit, i will attend to you...

Imagine a particular line simply becos you flew in from Nigeria.

Now with the failed bomb attempt, only God knows what we Nigeria abroad would face.

@Muyiwa

LMAO@ 'kobalize'

Na real kobalize o

Its mad embarrassing dats all i've gota say.i wuz brutally searched at the airport last week..it hurts people now see nigeria as a country harboring Terrorists...I hope u dont mind i recoppied and attached it to my blog for others to see

@ Linda...did you refer to the Muttalab boy as "Poor Soul"....

KEMI said...

HONESTLY....I BLAME THE BOY'SPARENTS TOO.THEY ARE WEALTHY AND DO NOT HAVE TIME TO TEACH THEIR WARDS THE WORD OF GOD AND EVEN WHEN THEY NOTICED THE BOY WAS BEHAVING FUNNY...THEY SHOULD HAVE DONE SOMETHING VERY CRUCIAL.WE ARE ALL TALKING THIS WAY COS HE DIDNT SUCEED.SUPPOSE HE DID,HE WOULD HAVE SENT ALMOST 300 FAMILIES WEEPING ON A XMAS DAY FOR THAT MATTER.THAT'S ONE OF THE REASONS WHY I DONT LIKE THE MUSLIMS.THEIR RELIGION PERMITS A LOT OF THIS SHITS.WE ALL KNOW HOW THEIR MENTALITY IS ABOUT THEIR RELIGION AND HOW BRUTAL THEY CAN BE
ALLIN THE NAME OF ALLAH.HOW MANY LIVES HAVE BEEN TAKEN IN THE NORTHERN CRISIS.ITS SO SAD.

A CHILD THAT LEARNS TO FEAR GOD (IN THE RIGHT MANNER )WILL NEVER ACCEPT TO DO SUCH THING.
LESSON FOR ALL.
YORUBA PROVERB SAYS
:TO OMO E ,KI O LE FUN E NI ISIMI....IT MEANS,TRAIN YOUR CHILD SO YOU CAN REST.

So sad ...! Saudi Arabia, the birthplace of Al-Qaeda chairman is not on the terrorist list.
The Lord will help our nation, Nigeria.
It was drug, later 419 scam, now 'terrorism. We shall be delivered in Jesus name.

CHIOMA said...

THIS IS ABSOLUTELY INSANE..THE SO CALLED EXPERTS ON FOREIGN AFFAIRS INAMERICAN NEWS HAVE REALLY DISPARAGED NIJA EVEN GOING AS FAR AS SAYING THE BOY PAID FOR HIS TICKET IN CASH.AS PER NO ONE PAYS IN CASH..DONT WE ALL PAY FOR OUR TICKETS IN CASH???THEY ARE ALL SO CLUELESS AND IGNORANT...AND BCOS WE HAVE SUCH A MEDIOCRE,LAME, AND INEFFECTIVE GOVT...WE HAVE LET THESE PPL RUN AMOCK...EVEN THOUGH HIS FATHER DID A VERY BRAVE THING BY ALERTING THE US GOVT..BUT DUE TO THEIR INEFFICIENCY,AND INEPTNESS, THEY HAVE MADE NIGERIA THE "FALL GUY" NIJA CAN BE A LOT OF THINGS BUT WE ARE NOT TERRORISTS..WE LOVE LIFE..IT IS THOSE CHILDREN OF ISHMAEL THAT HAVE IT IN THEIR BLOOD TO TERRORIZE AFTER ALL THE BIBLE SAID..THEY WILL ALWAYS LIVE BY THE SWORD...I AM SO SO SO MAD RIGHT NOW!!!! AS IF NIJA PPL HAVENT SUFFERED ENOUGH WHILE TRAVELLING...THEY TREAT US LIKE DOGS IN FOREIGN AIRPORTS ESPECIALLY KLM..I REMEMBER COMING BACK TO LOS ANGELES FROM NIJA ON DELTA AIRLINES..U SHLD HAVE SEEN HOW THEY ROUNDED THE NIJA PPL ON MY FLIGHT IN A SECURED AREA..I GUESS TO CHECK FOR FOODSTUFSS OR WHATEVER..IT WAS SO SO PATHETIC...MY OLDER AUNT WAS IN THE GROUP AND THEY ALL LOOKED LIKE ANIMALS GOING TO THE SLAUGHTER..I GUESS I WAS LUCKY BCOS I AND MY CHRN HAD OUR AMERICAN PASSPORTS... .NOW IT IS GOING TO BE ON!!!WE WILL BE TREATED LESS THAN DIRT NOW THAT THEY HAVE FREE REIGN TO DO SO..AND I AM SURE THEY WILL EVEN BECOME STRICTER WITH VISAS LIKE THAY HAVENT EVEN BEEN STRICT ALREADY...MY HUSBAND TOLD ME THEY ALREADY ARRESTED A FORMER FOOTBALLER FOR TRAVELLING WITH A FAKE PASSPORT.....WE AINT SEEN NOTHING YET!!!!...I HAVE ALWAYS SAID NIJA PPL ARE TREATED SHABBILY WHILE TRAVELLING....NOW TRAVELLING ABROAD IS GOING TO BE AN ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE AND HORROR!!!. WE NIGERIANS IN THE DIASPORA...ARE EVEN GOING TO BEAR THE BRUNT EVEN MORE NOW...I EVEN SUBJECTED MY DAUGHTER TO STOP TELLING HER TEACHER AND FRIENDS IN HER SCHOOL IN LOS ANGELES THAT SHE IS NIJA...SO AS NOT TO ATTRACT UNDUE ATTENTION..EVEN THOUGH I FELT BAD DOING SO..BUT THIS IS WHAT IT HAS COME DOWN TO...I KNOW HOW THESE ARABS ARE TREATED HERE IN AMERICA....AND I JUST HOPE WE DONT FALL INTO THAT CATEGORY....WHAT A HUGE HUGE SHAME AND DISASTER...BCOS OF A LOUSY KID WITH INFERIORITY COMPLEX!!!!!!

I was lucky course i got into the state on the 24th of Dec 09, but people (cousins and few other at JFK) that came in 26th and upwards regretted they ever travelled on the valueless (sorry to say)Nigeria passport, that only get's you into trouble and unnecessary wait.

Left the state on the 1st of Jan 10and everything was fine, eventhough i was using my valueless passport, but that wasn't the same for my cousin's and their friends as some of them were strip search for not making eye contact. lol.

I have promised myself not to go on holiday to anywhere until, those stupid leader's of our's whom are busy milking the country's pocket do something about our image.

Thank God Almighty, once more that Abdul radical, didn't succeed on his mission as many family would have been thrown into misery and sadness.

Jesus is Lord!

ejiro said...

this is a totally devasting news and i am very sad that the so called president umaru musa yar'dua couldnt even say anything about it.
as a 14year old studying in the united kingdom i find it very embrassing to call nigeria my country
it is very demoralising to classfy nigeria as a terroist country.
united states should think careful before making drastic decsions. they shouldnt forget the pakistan unitedstates offical who bombed and killed 8 us soilders.
even the father of the terroist bomber umar farouk abdulmultallab
even commented on the fact that he warned the us officals on his son mischevious behaviour but of course the united states didnt even take any notice of that and that was really bad of them
i also like the way minister of information dora akunyill was really bitter about the situation.
just because of one spoilt brat who bombed the us plane on christmas doesnt give united states the authority to accuse a country of 150million people as terriost.
nigeria is a very rich and prosperous country and i think it the bad leaders and the north part on nigeria espeacially are the one giving nigeria a bad name.

nigeria is not a terriost country and i am really glad that some people could even write very interesting comments and i am glad and proud to be a nigerian.
terriost is not nigeria's image!!!!!!

ejiro said...

this is a totally devasting news and i am very sad that the so called president umaru musa yar'dua couldnt even say anything about it.
as a 14year old studying in the united kingdom i find it very embrassing to call nigeria my country
it is very demoralising to classfy nigeria as a terroist country.
united states should think careful before making drastic decsions. they shouldnt forget the pakistan unitedstates offical who bombed and killed 8 us soilders.
even the father of the terroist bomber umar farouk abdulmultallab
even commented on the fact that he warned the us officals on his son mischevious behaviour but of course the united states didnt even take any notice of that and that was really bad of them
i also like the way minister of information dora akunyill was really bitter about the situation.
just because of one spoilt brat who bombed the us plane on christmas doesnt give united states the authority to accuse a country of 150million people as terriost.
nigeria is a very rich and prosperous country and i think it the bad leaders and the north part on nigeria espeacially are the one giving nigeria a bad name.

nigeria is not a terriost country and i am really glad that some people could even write very interesting comments and i am glad and proud to be a nigerian.
terriost is not nigeria's image!!!!!!

Nigeria should be on the list. I'm sure there are still some radicals from the northern part of Nigeria, so maybe this will keep them in check, and expose them if need be. It's lame to keep saying the guy is not nigerian, whether he claims yemen, he's still nigerian by birth.

The whole thing is embarrasing and frustrating but that's the world we live in. Americans are trying to protect themselves, and i don't care if they have to scrutinize nigerians extra at the airport. Americans have to do what they have to do, to keep their country safe. The good thing is that , his father contacted US embassy about his son, but they didn't act on it, so American government have themselves to blame too.

It's even more embarrasing that the president of Nigeria has not even said anything about it. Ok, he's sick, but does he have a representative or do they have house speaker? Africans wonder why westerners look at them, as fools, because they make big fools of themselves especially Nigerians. Nigeria has the most resources, the most populated in Africa, yet they do nothing about what they have. Nigerians are suppose to be the one with good examples, and help other African countries out, but no, they are known for embezzlement, failed government, 419 scam, and now terrorist, nigerians called it on themselves. The boy's parent are examples of the people who steal so much money from the government, don't know what to do with it, waste the money, while majority of the country is suffering. It's a damn shame.

Some of them send their children to the best ivy league schools in the States, with their tuition fully paid. They have access to everything. While some of them, their children are just a waste, they are into drugs, wasting their parent's money especially the hausas.

I'm aware, and know many Nigerians that are very hardworking, intelligent, but they are others that need to be exposed, especially the 419 scammers, and now the terrorists. If it takes westerners to do that for Nigerians, it is what it is, and deal with it. Maybe, this will be a wake up call for them.

Linda
It hurts my mind seeing that a country full of accomodating people and everjoyful people is accused of what they know nothing about.Imagine 170 million people have to suffer what a good for nothing,spoilt brat and Bastard did.complied with the fact that our leadership system is full is THIEFS,who are all after the resourses of the country.As for Umar Farouk Abdul Mutallab,I pity his backside.
Lets all pray for the country we love,asking God to let this terrible thick cloud clear.

Any country with a sizeable muslim population is a terrorist state.

elsie said...

u know the northereners in nigeria who have been causing so many problems !!!they have been terrorizing southerners for years ..with their self entitlement and trying to impose demonic sharia law and all that nonsense...the heat is on!!!! so they better sit up and start behaving roght bcos the american radar and zoom lense is on them now...they have been harrasing and bullying non muslims in the north...i hope they can take the heat now from america...lets see how it feels...Nija ppl need to get their acts together...here in the states some of them are so overbearing with a huge chip on their shoulder and dont even know how to conduct themselves....i remember a lady at the grocery store telling me i dont behave like a nigerian..that i was really nice to her,,,that they are rude and disrespectful...and i felt so bad.. even her in los angeles and other states they have rounded up a lot of nija ppl for medical supply fraud amongst others..enough of the craziness...we are a highly materialistic nation that needs to get our acts together although we are generally very hardworking especially here in america,,,,,so hope this scrutiny will make everyone sit up and be on their best behavior

Every one is complaining about the usa but they forgot to understand that america is too smart... blaklistning Nigeria as been on there mind and i think its just the best and right time for them to do what they like now... Tell me If that stupid Abdul was from UK or Germany or anywhere from the western world do you think they will blacklist the country?...Naija as bad record befor, we never become terrorist country we they go through hell at the airport emagine how it will be now. To God be The Glory.

How can america just wake up one morning and list Nigeria a terrorist country...they are been crazy... just last year we saw somone from Senigal that made attempt to blow some recident in usa why dint they list Senigal as terrorist country... There is more to it that peaple like us dont know.

You'll also obtain that reading helps time go by a good deal more rapidly.

Also visit my homepage ... excercise equipment