Churches and Mosques to pay taxes in Lagos + The new Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 17 May 2009

Churches and Mosques to pay taxes in Lagos + The new Lagos

How many of you have heard that very soon Churches and Mosques in Lagos State will start paying taxes? Lagos State Government fixed a minimum of N60,000 as tax to be paid every year. Is this done in any part of the world?

News of the day
Okocha named among FIFA’s world best midfielders
Former Super Eagles captain, Austin Jay-Jay Okocha, has made the world football governing body FIFA’s hall of fame following his inclusion in the world greatest midfielders.

Photos of the day

For those who don't know what our new Lagos looks like, check it out below...

This is no film trick o, it's really Lagos. And they haven't finished yet!
Source: Nigerianvillagesquare.com

Later...

31 comments:

This is really nice. We stepping up oh!! But to be real...all these pics are of the Island. Wats up with the mainland?

YNG said...

1sttttttttttttttttttt!!!!!! lol. I cant believe my eyes the pictures are so beautiful.

YNG said...

1sttttttttttttttttttt!!!!!! lol. I cant believe my eyes the pictures are so beautiful.

wienna said...

Hmmm...am I missing something here. Here in the UK...churches & mosques are seen as charity organisations here, so i doubt if they pay taxes. Even if they do, i don't think it's that much. That's why when people want to give offerings/tithes, they always ask the congregation to tick on the envelopes if they're taxpayers, so that the church will get incentives for each pound they give. It's all good sha. Eko oni baje o.

Wow linda, I am impressed. at least if we come home we can take good pictures back. God bless Fashola.

As fo the churches I support. Since pastors make enough money to buy big houses and cars, the masses should also benefit. I dont know if the Alfas in the mosque make as much as churches in lagos. it should be based on total population

Isabella said...

adding to what Wienna said if your church signs up as a charity her eon UK they sponsor you on top for programs you want to have and give you money yearly anyways.

Th pics look beautiful can't wait to go back

mizchif said...

Hmm, i had to rub my eyes to be sure i was seeing wll at first.

Now i really can't wait to go home!

dana said...

the new lagos is awesome..fashola is doing a good job.

I think the way churches are operating now they should be taxed, and 60,000 naira can probably be collected in one "tax offering." Maybe that will deter some fraudsters from starting churches up and down.

chayomao said...

Am i seeing double? this na lag? for real!
i shld start booking my ticket oh!
me proud....God bless Fashola! hopefully we fit manage all this change. that is our problemo...management!

muyiwa12 said...

wow,this is another singapore in nigeria,thumbs up BRF.

The Idea of Taxation is a good one. Everybody needs to be taxed maybe then we would take pride in ownership...we would want to know where and what's being done with all the government money which would hereby create major accountability...that's my 2 cents on the Taxation issue

I thought i was seeing the roads in london, keep up the good work

sorry to be the harbinger of negativity but it doesnt look as good ON THE GROUND as it does in the pictures. The traffic is still hellish, NEPA/PHCN still exists in its shambles, bad governance, corruption and all that and more. All these 'photogenics' don't impress me. Don't be to quick to applaud because that is what your government should be doing in the first place. There is nothing special about some of these things because that is what they are supposed to be doing. Not amassing wealth and grabbing land. However my hat doffs to Uncle Fash (let's not forget Donald Duke who started it all) for showing everyone else that it can be done...Lagos too can be our pride. EKO O NI BAJE....if we do our part and government can do the rest.

Any organisation established in any land should pay tribute(taxes) to the land-the good book says-"give unto ceasar what is ceasar's"-hence there is nothing wrong with religious bodies-christian,muslims,buddists,traditional worshippers-paying taxes to the land-by doing so they set good examples for their followers.
Mwl,i am loving the new lagos look o.pls what location in lagos are those fountains and the brt lanes?

Pls what does BRT stand for...and those red buses i see in the photo,what routes do they ply?

I left lagos for Yankee almost 15 years ago and last visited 10 years ago. I am quite shocked about the change, the organization looks great, everything seems to be in order! Abeg, post pics of mainland especially oshodi, Gbagada, Ikeja, etc etc. Abeg, I also want to see how far the developement reach mainland cos most of my folks live on the mainland.In all, great job to Gov Fashola and co!

yes them churches and mosque need to pay taxes

Oshodi has changed, people now use the road to get to Lagos rather than going the long route of Anthony Village. The market at Yaba railway has also been cleared. Yaba roads in Akoka are, Unilag has been fixed, etc. The govt has started work on the lagos badagry road (rail line, BRT included) that will start from mile 2 all the way the badagry border. Yaba will soon get its own dedicated BRT lane.

About time they start taxing all thoes churches and mosques, this would minimize the amounts that spur up everywere and also let use know who is doing the lords work i wish they could also do that in the states

I can't believe this

i am so coming home this yr then. thanks for showing this linda

'Kego Onyido said...

Yes, we can!
Fashola is rising the challenge of true leadership, not the valueless, propaganda-based apologists that is so prevalent in 9ja. I hope he spreads the devt to the mainland too. We, as citizens must also rise to the ethos of true citizenship and play our part. We must all work together to rebuild our motherland cos NOBODY else will do it for us. I saw Oshodi, a few months back and I honestly did not believe my eyes.

BTW, I'm really excited to see the new Yaba once its completed. It takes a lot of courage in 9ja to do a lot of things Fashola is doing, I pray God gives him the grace to continue to greater heights.

This is what the government is suppose to be doing, but since corruption, greediness has killed our leaders, they don't do the right things.

I'm just impressed that some of our leaders are finally coming to their right senses. I'm very happy, taking it one step at a time, and we will definitely get there one day, if the leaders continue to do the right things.

I applaud Donald Duke for setting
the example, I love that man, still hoping he will be president one day. This is unbelievable, I never thought i will be this excited to go back home, but I am now. Hopefully, the government can also pay attention to the main necessities like water, electricity, and our roads. Nigeria, This is time for CHANGE, yes we can!

Lily said...

I am very proud!!!!!

Tairebabs said...

I can't believe this is lagos. Wow I am so proud of Fashola. God bless him. Na only electricity remain put.

Iredotp said...

Nice pics Linda! Pity we can't capture the hellish 'go slow cum standstill' and the frustrations of a 'powerless' city on camera. Fashola is doing great though. Hope these other governors are not too dumb to learn a lesson here.

On taxes, hmmmm, will the African traditional religions be liable? Wish the tax collectors luck as they are in for a battle from the religious bodies in lagos!

umh! Nice, really nice. Was worried when I typed in images+Lagos state on Google images and saw the mostly ugly images there. Then suddenly, I stunmble on a masterpiece (don't know where in Lagos that monument is) but gosh, was I thrilled. So I clicked, and there I was, a true representation of the 'the new Lagos'. It is important that more of this pictures are made available, and should PLEASE replace the ugly images and seeemingly intentional attempt to rubbish Nigeria and 'Lagos State'. The news is, THINGS ARE CHANGING (Hope this continues though). I would also like to state that this change is not limited to Lagos Island alone (though it is understandable that as the commmercial nerve centre of Lagos, its aesthetics have got to be mind blowing), Ikeja is looking nice too, as well as some other areas in Lagos as a whole.
Secondly the issue of churches and mosques paying taxes is rather interesting. I feel this should be viewed from two perspectives. Firstly, yeah, yeah, churches and mosques are 'not for profit (non profit) organizations', but the rate at which these 'organizations are springing up, and the amount of wealth being amassed by them leaves much to be desired. Like someone stated earlier the show of wealth displayed by while the masses (who are actually the onces who pay offerings i.e. if 10,000 people pay N50 as offering every service (whether Sunday or Friday), you can imagine what that amounts to) are most times left to wallow in poverty is truly sad. So based on this, I do think the idea of taxing them is quite in line, afterall, these 'not for profit' organizations seems to be yielding great profit inspite of the global economic situation, and this tax (if honestly utilized and not embezelled - ...you know what I mean... then the masses and the society at large stands to gain immersely from such income.
On the other hand, the heart and the essence of organizations such as churches and mosques makes the issue of taxing them a tricky and sensitive one. After all said and done, if the REAL 'duties' of these organizations are taken into consideration, then, the government should threat softly, at the end of the day, they are info 'ministry' simply put 'working for God' - (if that's really the case) and this I don't think is deemed as 'taxable'
Argggggh! Plenty grammar! I would like to round this up with a quote which says
"give to Ceaser what is Ceaser, and give to the Lord what is the Lord's".
What say you?

Umh! Nice, really nice. Was worried when I typed in images+Lagos state on Google images and saw really ugly images there. Then suddenly, I stunmble on a masterpiece (don't know where in Lagos that monument is) but gosh, was I thrilled. So I clicked, and there I was, a true representation of the 'the new Lagos'. It is important that more of these pictures are made available, and should PLEASE replace the ugly images and seeemingly intentional attempt to rubbish Nigeria and 'Lagos State'. The news is, THINGS ARE CHANGING (Hope this continues though). I would also like to state that this change is not limited to Lagos Island alone (though it is understandable that as the commmercial nerve centre of Lagos, its aesthetics have got to be mind blowing), Ikeja is looking nice too, as well as some other areas in Lagos.
Secondly the issue of churches and mosques paying taxes is rather interesting. I feel this should be viewed from two perspectives. Firstly, yeah, yeah, churches and mosques are 'not for profit (non profit) organizations', but the rate at which these 'organizations are springing up, and the amount of wealth being amassed by them leaves much to be desired. Like someone stated earlier the show of wealth displayed by some of their leaders while the masses (who are actually the onces who pay offerings i.e. if 10,000 people pay N50 as offering every service (whether Sunday or Friday), you can imagine what that amounts to) are most times left to wallow in poverty. This is truly sad. So based on this, I do think the idea of taxing them is quite in line, afterall, these 'not for profit' organizations seems to be yielding great profit inspite of the global economic situation, and this tax (if honestly utilized and not embezelled - ...you know what I mean... the masses and the society at large stands to gain immersely from such income.
On the other hand, the heart and the essence of organizations such as churches and mosques makes the issue of taxing them a tricky and sensitive one. After all said and done, if the REAL 'duties' of these organizations are taken into consideration, then, the government should thread softly, at the end of the day, they are into 'ministry' simply put 'working for God' - (if that's really the case) and this I don't think is deemed as 'taxable'
Argggggh! Plenty grammar! I would like to round this up with a quote which says
"give to Ceaser what is Ceaser, and give to the Lord what is the Lord's".

wow is that in nigeria? now i see why everyone talking about fashola. And yes in the uk every building has to pay tax to local authority, the money goes towards infrastructure maintenance and upkeep.