Stress + Akon, Tyra, Beyonce and Funny George Bush | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 10 November 2007

Stress + Akon, Tyra, Beyonce and Funny George Bush

Seriously, I don't know what's going on, young people are dying nowadays from heart attack. I used to think heart attack was for much older people, whose hearts get weaker with age and can't take much stress or shock.

In the last two weeks or there about, I've heard of the deaths of at least three young people from heart attack.

A 47 year old guy died two days ago around my office. He drove his car into his compound, came out of it, slumped and died.

Same thing happened to 44 year old actor Joe Adekwagh, who slumped and died while MC'ing at an event.

The man who painted my office in June died two Sundays ago, from heart related problems.

Another 34 year old woman died while giving birth, doctors said she had a heart attack.

Shouldn't this give us cause for worry? Maybe it's not an issue where you reside, but it's becoming one over here.

Some Nigerians don't know when to stop and take a break.

I have some whites friends over here who work in oil companies. They work for six weeks and take two weeks off. Some work for a month and take the next month off. But Nigerians work year in and year out. We work until our system break down. Taking holidays is a luxury we think we can't afford.

Doctors have stressed so many times the importance of taking a break sometimes. Don't over work yourself. If you make all that money and you die while at it, who enjoys it?

Please take sometime off to take care of yourself and your health. It's very important.

I'm going off next week, will tell you all about it when the time comes.

Akon is at it again...

Akon who has denied being a polygamist and lies about his age will not be getting married to twenty-three year old model Rachel Ritfeld. The British beauty opens up about not being able to be one of Akon’s wives:

“The reality check really came when Akon told me he had his fifth child with one of his wives. For the first few months I got completely freaked out because even though I knew he had other wives, I never really thought about him being with them because his main attention was always on me - or so I thought. He does not live with his wives but the birth of his latest child made everything become real and made me realize that I would always have to share the man I love while accepting his other relationships. At first I was very supportive but I began to question that if I was taking him into consideration and he was taking his family into consideration, who was taking me into consideration? The answer was ‘nobody’ so I decided I could no longer be apart of Akon’s world.”

“The one thing I wanted from Akon was for him to be monogamous to me but he could not grant me my wish. I thought I could handle the idea of becoming one of his wives in the beginning but who’s to say some other woman he meets won’t capture his heart? I soon realised that he was not the man for me. There were times when I wanted us to share quality time together like ordinary couples do, such as going out to dinner or cuddling up together in front of the TV but it was always impossible. I had to always wait until he had time out of his busy schedule or wait until I had a day-off so I could fly half way around the world to see him. The situation began to become a strain on my heart.”

Tyra Banks quote

Tyra Banks discussed feminine hygiene this week on her talk show and shares a little advice:
“You know what my mom used to say? That you don’t need douche because the vagina is a self cleaning oven.”
Tyra, seriously?

Georgia is going through one of their worst droughts in history and they could be out of drinking water in a handful of months. Hope that doesn't happen.

Eddie Murphy's ex-wife Nicole Murphy looks...?

Beyonce's Cosmo cover/shoot

Exquisite, beautiful and very confident Beyonce. This lady knows how to take a good foto. Who loves Beyonce more than me?

Meanwhile, America, you have a funny president o...

England, you also have a funny queen.

Happy weekend.

16 comments:

Tyra is right, any gyno will tell you that! Using too many perfume scented douches will give you infections!

Hi Linda,
Tyra is sooo RIGHT! when she said that the vagina cleans itself. God made it that way. Contrary to popular belief douching is NO LONGER recommended unless you have yeast infection or bacterial infection and this should be done with a doctors supervision. I am attaching an excerpt from a women health magazine.
" Why Women Use Vaginal Douches:
To rinse away any remaining menstrual blood at the end of the monthly period.
Some women douche following sexual intercourse to avoid pregnancy or sexually transmitted diseases.
Douching is neither a contraceptive, or preventatives measure against STDs or other infections.
To reduce vaginal odors. Women who have an unusual vaginal odor need to see their clinician for proper diagnosis, using a douche may only intensify the problem.
Women sometimes don't feel they are clean unless they use vaginal douches regularly.
Doctors occasionally recommend vaginal douching for the treatment of chronic yeast infections or chronic bacterial infections; however, douching for this purpose should be done only under your doctor's supervision using the special solution provided.
Is Douching Healthy?
Simply stated, the answer is "No."
According to a study published by the American Journal of Public Health, douching may reduce a woman's chance of becoming pregnant during a particular month by approximately thirty percent.
Regular vaginal douching changes the delicate chemical balance of the vagina and can make a woman more susceptible to infections. Douching can introduce new bacteria into the vagina which can spread up through the cervix, uterus, and fallopian tubes. Researchers have found that women who douche regularly experience more vaginal irritations and infections such as bacterial vaginosis, and an increased number of sexually transmitted diseases.
Furthermore, regular users of vaginal douches face a 73% greater risk of developing pelvic inflammatory disease (PID) -- a chronic condition that can lead to infertility, or even death, if left untreated. Bacterial vaginosis and PID can have serious adverse affects on pregnancy including infections in the baby, labor problems, and preterm delivery.
For these reasons, douching is no longer recommended as a safe or healthy way to routinely clean the vagina. The only safe and healthy way to clean the vagina is to let the vagina clean itself. The delicate chemical balance of the vagina is very sensitive and easily disrupted by routine vaginal douching.
How does the vagina clean itself?
The vagina cleans itself naturally with its own mucous secretions. When bathing or showering use warm water and gentle unscented soap to cleanse the outer areas of the vagina. Feminine hygiene products such as soaps, powders, and sprays are not necessary and may lead to irritation of sensitive tissues.
eek the advice of your healthcare provider if any of the following occur:
Vaginal pain.
Vaginal itching.
Vaginal burning.
A foul odor from your vagina.
Painful urination.
Any vaginal discharge that is different from your normal discharges such as thick and white, cottage cheese-like, or yellowish-green.
These symptoms are indicative of a number of different conditions from yeast infections to bacterial infections, STDs, and urinary tract infections -- all of which are treatable with prescription medication.
If you suspect you have a vaginal infection contact your healthcare provider for diagnosis and treatment -- don't try to wash it away with a douche.
Never douche before you visit your doctor! Remember, douching can wash away the vaginal discharge that can identify the type of infection that you have.
Don't forget -- vaginal douching is neither an effective method of birth control or STD or infection prevention"

Those pix of Dubya and the Queen are hilarious! That British model is not serious o - so she thought Akon would become monogamous for her? Lol. She should thank her lucky stars that she saw the light. Nicole Murphy needs to visit her surgeon asap - her plastic is melting. She has always looked scary but this just takes the cake. Beyonce looks ravishing. And I agree with you on the need to take time off from work now and then. So many young people are dying from the effects of stressful living.

SARAH MAGES said...

hi Linda: love to peep into your blog each day as its very informative and entertaining. Akon its best he concentrates on his songs...; beyonce a woman of class; tyra love that woman for good insights;
As for you Linda..remain blessed.

Your blog is so addictive...my ass has been all over it today trying to catch up...nways, i think Akon is an ass...Tyra is kinda right...i'm sorry but bee seems to be all over the place these days...i still want to be her when i grow up thou..nways...hve a nice sunday!!!

as said...

sebi akon has apologized for not always being there..''im sorry that i left you home'' blah blah blah

Linda

Do you personally like and desire to have sex? OR do you use it as a tool to catch a man you want?

For example if you like a guy do you consiously say to yourself "let me use sex to break him and his defense down"

I believe many women do this. They use sex as an instrument of MANIPULATION to attack a mans weakness...

Nicole looks sooo terible and aged.Heart break,heart ache can be a bitch.

Its happened to the best of us, 'wat dosent kill u only makes u stronger'

A.G

reese said...

yes, tyra is right, its a self cleaning oven

It's shame about so many people dying in naija. D truth of d matter is the employment laws need to be really enforced in dat country and d govt need to be serious about it. How can one be working for a year or or more than dat without any entitlement of holiday? Here in d west, if u've not gone on a holiday like even 3 months after u commence your post, your manager will force u to take a holiday.
I didn't even know dat girl used to go out with Akon. So she think say she be 'The One'? She no know say other women don reach there b4 here and they'll still be plenty dat will get there after her.

lol linda haba now, your white friends in the oil company, its specific to them, thats the way their work, work on and off like so esp if you are on the rig. it is not like that in the overwhelming majority of places. compare my uncle and my dad who work for oil companies in naij sef, my uncle does the rotating thing, my dad doesnt. even in yankee you get like one to four weeks vacay or sumn. that being said yeah naijas dont know when to stop sometimes, but i didnt want u to give wrong impression to ppl out there oh

lemonade factory said...

yep tyra is right,a medical practitioner once told me u have to clean up and so does the viginal itself have its only natural cleaning bodies too much scented feminine wash can give one infections,tried a few had to stop them and the mama charley pic kind of got me laughing

Uzo said...

Tyra is sooooooo right. I thought most women knew this. My gyno tells me all the time to stay away from all these feminine washes and douches as they upset the balance of you know. that area.....

Hi Linda,

The story about Akon's polygamy is a sorry one. But I want to tell you that polygamy and bigamy are fast creeping into our modern world. Lots of men in Naija, including the sauve, educated upwardly mobile guys are engaging in it. Take the story of Mrs Frances Nworka and her enstranged husband, Mr. Reginald Chijioke Nworka, who are both middle class professionals. They only got married last year and by the end of the year, the marriage had problems and Reginald, who works at the IFC/World Bank, Lagos, quickly contracted another marriage under customary law with one Miss Ada Agbasiere, who lives in the States! And you would have thought that she would have known better living in a civilised world. Talk about desperacy of women, becoming a second wife without batting an eyelid! I suppose, there was pressure all around them to do the illegal and unfaithful thing. Anyways, just one of those reasons why one should look before leaping.I so agree with you on checking out the guy you want to marry before plunging into a life of misery. Don't bow to pressure! Girl, keep it up.

Leslie.

Na wa o. so akon is a polygamist? and our dear brothers in naija are following suit! No wonder africa is not progressing. It's really a pity.

someone's got to convince me about the "v" being self-cleaning. What does it do with the dirth it produces? recycles?

VAGINAL ODOR is Natural and this way it should remain. Even though women must look appealing, it is very necessary to consider their health first. Although they say that globalization has left a trail of positive benefits, this is not necessarily true especially with the complicated health issues of women. It is self cleansing and no douches are needed. If it smells like fish, then something is wrong. You gotta talk to Tyra about it or may be rush to your doc to help you out. Otherwise, would you lick to a vagina if it wasn't clean? Its you manja am talking to.