AMEN 2007 Nominees and Winners | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 11 July 2007

AMEN 2007 Nominees and Winners

The Annual Award for Musical Excellence in Nigeria (Amen) put together by Encomium Ventures, publishers of Encomium magazine held on Sunday 1st July 2007 at the Civic Centre.

Here are the list of nominees and their winners.

Best Music Presenter on radio
Grand Master Lee - Star FM
Kemistry - Rhythm 93.7
Olisa Adibua - Cool FM - Winner

Best Radio DJ
DJ Bombastic - Star FM
DJ OBJ - Metro FM
DJ Dr.XIN - Unilag FM
DJ Steve Nolly - Ray Power
DJ Humility - Rhythm FM - Winner

Best Music Presenter on TV
Jumoke Alao - Gbedu (AIT)
Cally Ikpe - New Life Beats
Ebere - Video Plus (LTV)
Chichi Ookhalum - Juke Box (MBI)
Deji Falope - Soundcity - winner. This guy should be presenting on MTV Base or Channel 0. That's how good he is.

Best Record Label
Kennis Music
Orangootan
Colossal Entertainment
Ojez Music
Storm Records - winner

Concert of the year
House on the rock (Experience)
Kennis Music Easter Fiesta
Star Mega Jam
Thisday Music Festival - winner. Totally agree

Best Choreography Dance (Musical Video)
Obiwon - Get them off me
Ayuba - Mellow
Free Windz
Resonance - Holy Ghost Fire
Paul Agubata - Eeh Yawah
P-Square - Your Name - winner.

Best Picture (Musical Video)
Kade - Muma Gee
Lagbaja
Tunde and Wunmi Obe
Escalade - Dare Art Alade - winner

Best Costume (Musical Video)
Kade - Muma Gee
Olori oko - Infinity
Paul Agubata
Lagbaja - winner

Best Special Effect (Musical Video)
Resonance
Infinity - Olori oko
Cry - Modenine
Gino - no be God - winner

Best Musical Video Director
Emmanuel - Cry (Modenine)
Yomi Amoo - Olori Oko (Infinity)
Remi Oni - Why me (D'banj)
Wudi Awa - No be God (Gino)
DJ Tee - Escalade - winner

Most Popular Song
Why me - D'banj
Kolomental - Faze
Infinity - Olori Oko
Paul Play - Angel of my life
Ekwe - Stereo Man
Ijo Ya - Weird Mc - winner. Is Ijo ya more popular than D'banj's why me? Don't think so

Best Group/Duo Performance
Infinity
Styl Plus
Resonance
Tunde and Wunmi Obe
P-Square - winner. I think Infinity should have won this category

Upcoming Act of the year
Etcetera
D'accord Band
Morachi
Sanchez
Blaise
Asa - winner. Are they kidding me? Asa upcoming act? I saw her in concert 2/3 years ago...Morachi should have won

Best Male Vocalist
Sammie Okposo
Faze
Segun Obe
Soul E
Obiwon
Tuface
Paul Play - winner. This guy has improved vocally in the last few years. He deserves it

Best Female Vocalist
Essence
Tope Alabi
Shola Alison
Esther Abigbo (Resonance) - winner. I'm in total agreement

Best Gospel Album
Bouqui - Bouqui
Sammie Okposo - No more drama
Resonance - Chinwe Ike - My winner
Infinity - Olri Oko - winner

R&B Male Vocal Performance
Dare Ar Alade
Faze
Styl Plus
Soul E
Paul Play - winner

R&B Female Vocal Performance
Ashionye
Essence
Fragrance
Azeezat- winner

Best R&B Song
Dare Art Alade - Escalade
Styl - Plus - Drives me crazy
Obiwon - Onyinye
Tuface - True Love
Paul Play - Forever. My R&B song og the year is 2face's 'If love is a crime'. I listen to it at least 10 times a day

Best R&B album
Dare Art Alade - From me 2 u
Faze - Independent
Sunny Neji - Off da hook
Paul Play - Hits Ville - winner. What happened to Tuface's album 'Grass to grace'? I've bought that album three times so far...it should have been nominated at least

Best Rap Song
Modenine - Cry
OD - Don't Hate
Bouqui - Lai lai
Ikechukwu - Son of the soil
Freestyle - Bragging Right
Gino - If no be God - winner. I love this song but I thought Modenine was a more likely candidate to win this category

Best Rap Vocal
Bouqui
Sauce Kid
OD
Freestyle
Modenine - winner. Typical!

Best Dancehall/Reggae Album
Majek Fashek - Little patience
Mad Melon and Mountain Black - Kpolongo
Professor Linkin - Jogodo
Black Face - Evergreen
Stereoman - Ekwe - winner

Best Pop Album
Jazzman - Mr Funky
D'banj - Rundown
P-Square - Da remix
Weird MC - After da storm
2face - Grass 2 Grace - winner. Totally agreeeeeeeee!

Best New duo or group
Streetmonks
Resonance
Xproject
Infinity - winner

Best New Act (male)
Stereoman
Danny Young
Sauce Kid
9ice
Soul E - winner

Best New Act (Female)
Asionye
Essence
Fragrance
Ebiere Ohochukwu
Oyindamola Adejumo
Bouqui - winner

Song of the year
Infinity - Olori Oko
Faze - Kolomental
Weird MC - Ijo Ya
2face - For instance
D'banj - Why me - winner. Mos Definitely

Producer of the year
Sunny Steve - Olori Oko
Don Jazzy - Why me
Spanky - Kolomental
Don Jazzy - Ijo Ya
OJB - for instance - winner. At last he gets a much deserved award

Album of the year
Hitsville - Paul Play
After da Storm - Weird MC
Run Down - D'banj
Independent - Faze
Grass to Grace - 2face - winner. Yessssssssssssssssssssssss!

Act of the year
Paul Play
Faze
2 Faze
Weird MC
D' banj - winner

Pheww...that was a ride! So what do you think of the winners of this year's AMEN award...do share your thoughts.

12 comments:

Best Special Effects should've gone to Olori Oko but Gino is still good as well.

Tuface for Album of the year does it for me...I can have no complaints after dat..LOL!

Grass to Grace is the bomb!!!!!!

i'm sooo with you on morachi winning the best upcoming artiste award

YIPEEEEEEEEE!!!!
2-BABA deserves the "Best Album of the year" award! I started loving the dude after listening to that "Grass to Grace" album....the album is the best for me all round!
Can't wait to see him at the "Nigerian Entertainment Awards" in NYC! Hope he wins there too!

nma

Yankeenaijababe said...

Wow, girl you got the list. Dbanj did well and Paul play.........wow got the most awards. That's tight. l really love DAre too. U go girl.

BOBBY said...

Interesting set of winners...I agree with the awards given to Paul Play that guy is just amazing...

Dbanj is becoming a bit overrated to me but i still love him. he has his own style and it sets him apart. Its all good.

IJEOMA said...

ha.. ekweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
i love steroman.. happy he won!

Ms. Catwalq said...

i thought AMEN was for the movies.
any info on the movie awards

ababoypart2 said...

Thanks....

Quite happy for Olisa...& Storm..

GRASS @ GRACE!!!! That album rocks my socks!!!...lol....its even better than the first one, IMO...and btw get outta my head Linda! "If love is a crime" is actually playing now. My roomie has threatened to break my sound system if she hears it one more time...lol...Dbanj is cool, his songs are engaging...its his year, so theres a lot of hype about him. I hope his "real" sophomore album(yep! i said it!...cos that one he released with recycled tracks from the old one and only 2 new songs is a joke!) is as good as 2face's sha.

yayy! for Resonance too :-)

Sam Oracle said...

Some awards was well deserved, while other were not.

cutevivian said...

Gino collecting the awards for Best Special Effect and Best Rap Song shows that Nigerians have gotten there.

Gino did a great job in that video and receiving these awards was the only way to let him know we love good music and videos here.

Vivian