The ponzi scheme is owned by former Premier League soccer player, Richard Rufus, who used to be a defender for Charlton Athletic.
Rufus who is a former member on the board of the church, promised investors along with the church a return as high as 55 per cent. He was last year found guilty of defrauding about 100 investors out of a total of $10,731,159 (£8,682,343) in the £16-million investing scheme (read here).
Christian Post who shared a report of findings from an inquiry published on December 14th by the Charity Commission for England and Wales, disclosed that the church had a net loss of about $4.8 million (£3.9 million) after its trustees invested over $6.1 million (£5 million).
Kingsway International Christian Centre was the single largest investor in the scheme. The Charity Commission in the report presented after its investigation, stated that the church’s trustees made an initial investment and entered into an agreement in which they were guaranteed that the church's investment would earn a profit of about 5 percent per month, with the exception of August and December when they were guaranteed profits of about 2.5 percent.
“The inquiry established that in practice, however, the investments resulted in a net loss of £3.9% million to the charity,” the report explains The report states that the church’s trustees who handed over the funds were guilty of “mismanagement.”
The commission found that the church’s trustees did not “exercise sufficient care when making the decisions to invest £5 million of the charity’s funds through the ex-trustee’s investment scheme.” Read the report from the Charity Commission's investigation here

35 comments:
Too bad for u pastor..
Hmm
NA WA O!....no more comments.
Sorry for him
Hian... Lol
Ponzi scheme or MMM huh?Good news! NO BE ONLY HIM GO EAT WAITING HE MAKE NA SO PONZI SCHEME IS THERE TO HELL. But how manage huh? Or is he carried away their promises huh? Well $4.8m dollars is noting shall NA SUYA AND PANT MONEY.
The way you got the money is how you lose the money my nigga
Ok scoobie doo, Rufus is that how u use to do. abi someone canot play wit u. I dey laugh in swahili
that money could have helped lots and lots and lots of needy sheep
HMMMMMMMMMMMM
People's offering?! People going hungry and the church is investing in fraudsters? This is religion.
What is all these for crying out loud....end time getting closer
REALLY SAD
PLEASE KINDLY FOLLOW ME ON LIS @OKECHUKWU NNODUECHI
Ole gba old gbe....no story
Followers fall mugun to church n church fall mugun to anoda potential mugun to white collar oles
Chai!
If not greed what will make a church invest that amount made up of tithes and offering in shady scheme? Lord help the body of Christ.
Long Live LIB
Eeyah
hahahahhahhahhaahahha..... You guys want to do money doubling? hahhahhahhahahhahaha....laugh wan wound me
WHY AM I NOT SURPRISED THAT MATTHEW FELL VICTIM TO A PONZI SCHEME? BY THE WAY, WHEN IS HE GOING TO BUILD HIS OWN UNIVERSITY, PROBABLY IN HIS VILLAGE IN THE SAME SATURATED SOUTH WEST? THANK GOD I CAN SEE.
Ofori gbani.
End time
Pastor abi businessman... Lol
Am tired of these people, people's tithe and offering.. Well is left for my people to open their eyes to reality and stop worshipping these rippers and face God alone..
A Church ...
This is SAD.. Well,no one will blame them...
Thief pastor, he came to our youth convention 2016 and requested we paid him 2 million for preaching, and insisted in staying @ protea. Hotel 200k per nite. Chai thief pastor.
A Huge 'LOL'.
For the love of money.
When the body of Christ gets greedy!!!
Instead of investing the money to win more souls for Christ, they investing to make more worldly profit so they can live large and show off their wealth!
The devil should have stolen all their money
When Freeze talks now, people go ready to tear am apart. No be the things dey happen so??? Linda take note!
God bless you Juliet....
No cause for alarm... Just a case of one scam being outscammed by another scam..
See what ur tithe and offerings are used for at this church..and u will call this a man of God to be listened to,when he doesn't even listen to the spirit of God clearly.
Shaking my head
Greed
SMH
Na God catch am
There is nothing left to be said... #greed