Man says he'll never date a feminist and the internet roasts him | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 10 September 2016

Man says he'll never date a feminist and the internet roasts him

A certain prince charming by the name of Dave Hon wrote an entire article on why he was unlikely to date a feminist in a column titled Why I'll Never Date A Feminist. His piece went viral and going by the responses it received, feminists aren't keen to jump into bed with him either. See the article and responses below.
If you look for a reason to hate men, chances are you’re going to find it. The truth is, I don’t blame women, (especially in my generation) for hating men. They’ve been told there’s a wage gap (I disagree).
That there’s a culture of rape on college campuses (I also disagree). And the patriarchy is keeping them oppressed in almost every facet of their lives (I really, really disagree.)
Political issues have been creeping into the bedroom. Now, they’re in romance. Because of the hateful culture, men are now demanding "consent texts" on campus before engaging in raunchy, post-party one night stands. Men’s Rights Activists have taken flight with a new philosophy called "Red Pill" which aims to point out how derogatory, hypocritical and vindictive third-wave feminists can be.
No doubt, there are men who should be buried underneath the prison. There’s plenty of examples of how the justice system has failed victims. But, it also fails men. The Father’s Rights Movement reports that only 14 percent of custodial parents are fathers. Mothers are more likely to be awarded child support. Women are more likely to graduate college, they live longer, are less likely to die in the workplace, less likely to go to prison and extremely less likely to die in war-time combat.
When it comes to dating, I don’t care about any of that. Unless you do.
I used to think dating across the political aisle was not only possible, but practical. Hell, if James Carville and Mary Matalin can get along, I can date someone who thinks my genitals automatically give me privileges that they don’t have, right?
Wrong.
People who are more loyal to their gender and not their significant other don’t make good partners. They will always look at you as inherently more fortunate than them. They’ve bought into the “battle of the sexes” mentality and it often pervades their perceptions of romance. Romance turns into a power struggle rather than a partnership.
There are complex advantages and disadvantages to being a man or a woman in America. No doubt, men enjoy privileges that women don’t but that boat goes both ways.
The truth is, these aren’t political issues, but deeply personal ones. Often times, anti-male or anti-female rhetoric is rooted in a previous bad experience. They’re cultural opinions that reflect our world views, and thusly, affect how we want to raise our families. Now that America is more politically divided than ever, it’s impossible to date someone with staunchly different ideals than you.
It’s a shame, really, that this divide is widening between the sexes. It’s evident that gender politics is hurting our culture. More marriages are failing and women are reporting that they’re unhappier now than ever.
Perhaps in several decades this won’t be the case. Maybe one day, men and women will stop trying to eliminate the lines between us and realize it’s the differences between the sexes that make romance, family and love an enjoyable experience.
The responses from some tweeter users below...

31 comments:

As usual angry feminists will fail to see some reasons in his article, always emotional and easily irritated.

Who knows dis one?

Yahaya bagudu said...

I no blame you... Stop wasting money on data. Get free browsing cheats on all network @ Techgeez.com

Ok. Seen... Stop wasting money on data. Get free browsing cheats on all network @ Techgeez.com

Lol@ beggars can be choosers. Well, I guess with a face like urs feminists couldn't be happier with ur decision.

Lol the first comment got me...jar of mayonnaise

This is exactly why I myself will never even look at at a Feminist. For crying out loud, did they even bother to read the article!? My definition of a Feminist; someone u meet nd is already on the attack even before u say hello. Men and women re totally different beings. It doesn't take a psychic to see that. It smacks of low self esteem for a woman to always feel like she's being undermined every time because of her sex, especially in the century that we are in. Enough of this crazy political correctness called feminism. *Ms ikeji, I admire your achievements very much.

Ohiren Erimiakhena said...

Lol.....Linda,what's your own take on this matter way lie down for ground now?.

Lol..........proud feminist here. even though there's some logic in this no feminist should date a guy who doesn't support feminism. I'm sure people would invariably descend on this comment sha

Dj FreshBeat said...

My wife is one but too late to turn back. I jst can't stand her.smh

Well...

gd

Buahahahahaha...Chai women get bad mouth. Lol

Mtecwwwwww rubbish

I'm a feminist but I kinda agree with him. His heading put me off, but I read the article and I see reasons with him. Feminism for me is all about improving women's rights...and it's more important/crucial in our side of the world than theirs. Some american feminists or should I say feminazis take their own advocacy for women rights too far. Almost like..they hate men or something.

...as for the child support thingy. In most cases, women are more likely to take care of their kids more than men...in every aspect. So I don't know what he's on about.

You're an idiot! Delete yourself from life. Boys like you will sell their girl child for a goat.

You're a disgrace to humanity and no different from Boko Haram, who use women as sex slaves.

The average woman won't piss on you if you were on fire, ugly son of bitch.

All male feminist should take a close look at this human waste, and be proud that you hold women to better standards.

I feel sorry for any woman you have to pay for attention. Stupid little fuckboy.

Any "man" who feels threatened by a women's right, it's tantamount to a rapist. You don't have to keep a woman down, to be a man.

The difference between men and women, shouldn't mean women d should be denied rights. It doesn't meab that women should be treated as lessers, or be told what they should and shouldn't do with their bodies by men.

Women are human beings, not play things and objects. It's sad that many people fail to realise that the bad treatment of women, creates a vicious cycle, where irresponsible and reprehensible men, keep flourishing and getting away with acting like animals.

Create an environment of respect in your children, and allow your girl child to attain her potential and she will thank and appreciate you for the success she makes in her life.

We all keep living in the moment and forget the future, we keep thinking because we refuse to adapt, the world will wait for us, there's no bigger lie, you will just end up with children who are unable to function as members of a larger (global) society.

Let's stop male privilege, it's not a privilege to be a man, it's a way of life, it's a draw of chance.

C his head

I support feminism when it's aim is about equality nothing More, but the area where it becomes a battle for who is the better sex or a hate campaign towards men is part that is really irritating, because let's face it, a man would be labeled an insensitive jerk if he gos around claiming male superiority and moving a hate campaign towards women why should it be celebrated when a woman does same.

Scorned girlfriend alert

Ladun Liadi said...

You say "a draw of chance" like it's a lucky draw

ozeed said...

I completely agree that men should not be given special privileges just because of their gender, however, same should apply to the female folks. I am sick and tired of hearing arguments of feminist in terms of political representation, career opportunities etc being based on gender rather than competence. For crying out loud, what percentage of women get involved in politics and how do their resume compare with other persons should be the key issue. Feminists should go work on the female folks, and ladies should stop expecting special consideration just because they are women. I for one don't give a hoot about the gender of my president, governor, senator or even my boss at the office as long as he/she is the best for the job and competent. If this whole feminist movement goes unchecked, then I see hardwork and competence being sacrificed on the altar of chauvinism.

Which one is "all male feminist".. Dumb duck trying to sound smart insulting someone.

LORENZO DANI said...

Feminism is about equality..for women if you don't fight this equality battle in the right direction you may end up not been taken seriously..

It's by luck any of us are born male or female. It doesn't matter how you want to sugar coat it, no parent can pre-determine the gender or sex of their child.

For that reason, we can not subject women and girls, to unfair treatment

Im struggling to see any thing this man has said that is wrong or hurtful. Why are women just easily bittered? There is a reason why divorce and separation wasn't a norm in the days of our fathers.. Now ya'll want to be bosses even when you don't even earn 1k/month. Continue claiming feminism

deenity sealord said...

Amazing part of all dis feminists is d@ de actually needs the men to drive der point nd achieve der feminism struggles. Yet de despised men insult men

seyi show said...

FUCK ALL FEMINISTS, WHAT OF MENINIST, WE ARE ALL EQUAL SHUT UP AND STOP TRYING TO PROVE IT AND DISTURBING EVERYONE BECAUSE YOU FEEL LIKE YOURSELF

Do some research, your mother and your father are dumb ducks, they've let you down. Come back when you've picked yourself up from the sewage you reside in.

Big Daddy said...

I had a conversation with a feminist last week.

I'm seeing her in court tomorrow.