EFCC begins probe of Amaechi's administration | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 27 August 2015

EFCC begins probe of Amaechi's administration

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission has commenced probe on the administration of the immediate past governor of Rivers state, of Rotimi Amaechi. According to a report by ThisDay, the probe comes after a Port Harcourt-based group, The Integrity Group, petitioned EFCC on July 29th, accusing the former governor of corruption, graft and abuse of office while he served as governor. 
According to the petition filed by the  group, Governor Amaechi allegedly sold the Rivers State Electric Power projects and the revenue generated were converted to other uses through payments amounting to N60 billion to three companies all located at Trans Amadi, Port Harcourt.
The group also allege that the proposed Karibi Whyte Specialist Hospital in Port Harcourt which was initiated by the former governor, was a failed contract which cost the state a whooping N4.63 billion. They say the circumstances leading to the failure of the contract is questionable.

The group also allege that the former governor, appointed a firm of tax consultants, which was given a relatively exorbitant fee of 12 per cent of taxes collected on a much lower monthly collection target of N2.5 billion, even as the Rivers State Internal Revenue Service was raking in about N7.5 billion monthly at five per cent administrative cost, as prescribed by law. The consultants were said to have collected over N1.5 billion in fees within weeks of their being engaged by Amaechi’s government.
EFCC operatives responded to the petition in three separate letters titled, “Investigation Activities”, and dated August 13, 2015 and immediately swung into a detailed probe of Amaechi’s dealings as alleged by the group. 

While two of the letters with reference numbers CR: 30/EFCC/ABJ/EG/T4/Vol.26/386 and CR: 30/EFCC/ABJ/EG/T4/Vol.26/379, respectively were addressed to the Permanent Secretary, state Ministry of Finance, in respect of the sale of the state power projects as well as Clinoriv Specialist Hospital and Leisure Limited, which was engaged to have constructed the still-born Karibi Whyte Specialist Hospital, the third one with reference number CR: 30/EFCC/ABJ/EG/T4/Vol.26/380 was addressed to the state Accountant-General in respect of the activities of Messrs Collect Nigeria Limited on the collection of internally generated revenue (IGR) on behalf of the state.

One of the EFCC letters to the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance, read in part: “The commission is investigating a case of conspiracy, abuse of office and fraud. In view of the above, you are kindly requested to furnish the following: Details of all the assets sold to the NG Power-HPS Limited; total amount received and the account it was paid into; Sales Agreement/Memorandum of Understanding; House of Assembly resolution/approval; investments made from the proceeds if any; documents indicating due process; and any other information that will assist the commission in its investigation.”

72 comments:

Nice one....better.

Waiting for results.

Tadantam! O set go!

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Wike be like, Yesssss finally

Behind every fortune, there is a crime, let sleeping dog lie, I beg leave Amaechi alone.

Hibeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Ok good!

Good.

Great News! Ppl around baba Buhari are no doubt corrupt!

Yaaaaaay!!!!!!!!!!! *clapping and dancing*

Ok good!

Amaechi's yanch is about get opened. Brace up and get ready for what's coming

I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Joblesshousewife said...

EFCC should be probed too.

Amaechi's yanch is about get opened. Brace up and get ready for what's coming

I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Hope its not d one they will recover looted money αи∂ then divert it ????

#it WiLL OnLy Get BEttER
#IT mUsT eNd In PrAISe

Waste of time!amaechi is untouchable abeg cos we all know where the said funds went into...2015 general elections

THE REASON WHY ITS NOT GOOD TO HAVE A LOUD MOUTH..AMEACHI YOU TALKED TOO MUCH..STEPED ON TOES...JUDGEMENT DAY ARRIVED..ARE YOU D ONLY PAST GOVERNOR

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

This is a futile effort but its good to know that EFCC will try anyway.

Good!

Joshtech said...

Good no one will escape

Ohk oooo wish him well.

Biko EFCC should investigate themsef first...
I pray their findings shouldn't go otherwise.

That is not all he sold oo. The guy finished us but God will help us recover all

Bishopkk said...

OK nah. It remains Fashola, Oshebaba and others. If at all EFCC will not play games on it.

Make una freee this man now, leave the past administration and concentrate on the future, no need crying over spilt milk

This is a good move if at all we r going to see anything positive. Let this not probing for probing sake. Ameachi should rot in jail

Hope wailing wailers will get some rest now.

Na dem sabi biko. Linda take note!

Amaechi as finally enter trouble

Thank God

Kwashman said...

Pls the efcc should do there work transparently, without bias. Corruption in Nigeria must be drastically reduced . Enough is Enough

We must all give account of our stewardship, eventually.
Insider LEAKS!!! Buhari Not Comfortable With Nigeria's Anti Corruption Czar, Before Uboh's Petition

anonymous said...

The buhari regime should start with the probe of the EFCC. There are a lot of thieves in that agency. Where are all the recovered loot that the EFCC have in their possession? This body has become a body that political parties use at their disposal to witch hunt opposition party. It is now a political arm of its own. Buhari anti corruption must start with EFCC

Finally his butt will be burnt with hot coal

When will they probe T.A orji?

Oskirin said...

sai baba...no one is a sacred cow.

This just rings loud these words: "I am for everyone, I am for no one!"

story... tey have killed the man and in their usual used a cover up story

TIME BOMB

Gosh... I hate this amaechi with passion

Is he d only one?

liz swt 16 said...

Ameachi u beta pray hard cos buhari wil not interfare.

Dis is just the beginning

Best news this year

Welcome development

Dope post no doubt.....

Have u arrested him?

Nawa oh...How Can a sitting Governor be dis heartless...dis Man must go to jail...d world is watching..Our judiciary shuld better wake up cuz dis is d height to criminality..#Thief all in d name of Change#

Mr 47 said...

Some of u on here want Wike to probe Ameachi but Buhari shouldn't probe Jonathan... Nigerians are such a big joke

Amaechi and wike part 3... dee

Darrel tom said...

# dancing crazily#
Damn good news to the core mbok#
Linlin u Don step up ooo
Ds is the kind of news I wana be read in here
And plz efcc seize his private jet sharp sharp mbok
Anytin short of 20yrs imprisonment for these rogue is a dilution in buhari's sermon on corruption,
Don't know Wat lagos state government is waiting for, they shd flow with the heat na, y is fashola still working abt a free man? He shd be in the new prison at ikot ekpene taking attendants as the new crime reps for the old inmates, yeye people
Jail them all n throw the key away
Am impress with this particular news mbok

Linda mbok na go dig off aneke's twin them pix naaa
Even if na old ones we go manage am
Love how libers blast them

Linda's last son /laura IKEJI'S nephew

Darrel tom said...

# dancing crazily#
Linlin u Don step up ooo
Anytin short of 20yrs imprisonment for these rogue is a dilution in buhari's sermon on corruption,
Don't know Wat lagos state government is waiting for, they shd flow with the heat na, y is fashola still working abt a free man? He shd be in the new prison at ikot ekpene taking attendants as the new crime reps for the old inmates, yeye people

Darrel tom said...

And yes efcc plz arrest the wife too mbok
Cus i heard she has choiced properties within n outside the country
And also the three sons cus i heard they ve not less than 6billions in their account respectively
People get mind sha, so they don't steal for the wife n children anymore, the wife n children also ve a huge share in it
How will these new government even function without funds? Jail jail the rogue at once mbok

Darrel tom said...

# dancing crazily#
Linlin u Don step up ooo

shescute said...

It's about time!

Am happy efcc is going after amaechi" no body is above the law. But when dey go after wike when he is kicked out of office no body should cry foul. Cus he wld be charged for murder and electoral malpractice.

Kachi said...

Because he was the 'General' of common sense revolution?

Kachi said...

Please be objective for once. Are you one of the APC hired goons?

Its not about investigating....
Would dey be punished???

If na poor ma now EFCC go active...Now na rich man dey on melt lyk Ice cream...

I wld take u serious if I see sum Jailing and not blabbing....

There is God oooo

Ameachi would be vindicated. All lies. It's a smear campaign, but they will not succeed. Ameachi would become a very vita

Get a life!

Okowright Balaxy said...

EFCC is already bias else with the level of fraud perpetrated by the Amaechi led administration, he should be stoned to death for massively looting Rivers money to sponsor Buhari's campaign. Pa Buhari should be probed too.

Lol dx Amaechi's pic though!

I pray he's jailed cos dat dude is heartless