California Dad's reaction to son choosing a doll for a birthday gift | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 25 August 2015

California Dad's reaction to son choosing a doll for a birthday gift

Azai Willis likes to play with dolls, but that doesn't bother his dad, whose positive reaction to the 4-year-old's interest took the Internet by storm in a viral video.
"I feel overwhelmed and real overjoyed about the attention it's received and almost not at all surprised," Mikki Willis of Ojai, California told ABC News today.
"It's been amazing to watch it expand, to read the quotes and to really feel the collective, global need for people to feel the need to have permission to be themselves is really validating."
Willis said it was days ago when he took his son Azai, 4, to exchange a duplicate gift he had received from his July 26 birthday party.

Without a second thought, he said, the toddler decided he would choose to take home a "Little Mermaid" doll.
"I really wasn't shocked at all because he's equally fascinated by princesses and robots and I think that's really behavior," Willis said. "I kind of smiled, and the guy in the toy store smiled and we said 'Alright, cool!'
"It's just not working to prohibit the rules of kids expressing themselves and conforming to what society wants."
Following the toy store visit, Willis began filming himself and his two smiling sons, promising to support them no matter what decisions they make in life.
"Choose your expression," he said in the video. "Choose what you're into. Choose your sexuality. Choose Whatever. You have my promise right now, both of you, as we sit in this car, in the hot car, in this parking lot, you have my promise forever to love you and accept you no matter what life you choose."
The footage received over 10 million views since being posted to Facebook on Aug. 21 and sparked an outpouring of support from parents all over the world.
"I see so much negativity being shared through social media that this is my way of bringing a little balance, at least to my friends," Willis said. "To know we've touched people beyond our immediate community is both humbling and awesome.
"My boys fill my wife and I with so much joy that it would be selfish of us not to share them."

ABC News

51 comments:

aproko manager said...

Ok ooo

aproko manager said...

Ok ooo

OK

The father should start binding that spirit from now.

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Any rubbish goes viral overseas, he shud come and do DAT in Nigeria...

Lemme guess, they think the guy will turn out the "other way' cos he's into dolls and not d usual toys for men huh? Smh....

Thats there own bottle of sharki,if he likes make him give am dick as birth day for all i care.

Ori Nma ooo. I personally think you should tell them what's for boys and what's for girls.
...Mama J...

Cool story right there

Trans alert

loudmouth said...

Lil caitlyns ..

That's one great dad

10 Mil views with Adsense attached will set him for college. The toddler looks like a Diva in the making.

Freedom to be who you are should be regulated.

CokeAddict said...

U can as well say he's gonna be into girls wen he grows up.. 4 him 2 hv chosen a pretty doll lol. Hope dis new dsnt end here cos we'll like 2 knw d out come wen he's of age lol.. Next k fam

Wait o... So na bcos of toy all this matter just start.... Well if na me that pikin go chop bitten......

Pro promisepompom@yahoo.com said...

Just woke up and saw this nnnnnnn a good write up to start a day, I like joooor. Good father. If it was to be a Nigerian father now they beat the hell out of the child and ask "you be woman" Lol
Parents should learn from this.

That vuvuzela P guy

I hope that they do not enable this kid, cos playing with a doll does not translate into being guy but constantly telling a kid he is guy would

Thank god is didn't die oo

Real Jewel said...

Only bad things and abnormal things go viral. Uwa mmebi. May GOD have mercy. He prolly watches a lot of cartoons.

The boy even looks like a girl. But his choice of toy does not yet mean he will be transgender in future. I had a nephew growing up who was s cross dresser, later turned gay but now happily married. So it don't count. That parent is just expressing cum accepting his fears should it swing that way.

Trendyify said...

Transgender alert

it is well

oiza said...

Ok o.. This one is future homosexual

Na so e dey take start o! Linda take note!

Optimist said...

So for him mind now the boy wants to be a transgender, what if that is signs he is going to be a womanizer, that's why he is picking the dolls jooor it seems more like he wants to groom him to become one. Wanting a doll is not enough reason biko mtcheew

Awwwwww this is Sooo nice nd touching.. Be whoever u choose to b Cuz in the end,it's You and not 'Them' who's gonna live the Life either being who u really are or living in Pretence

Sacrifice the devil before it too late, That boy must not be gay.. i hope this is a sign of being womaniser for real.

Why do we keep ignoring God like this... no wonder the scripture "they had no regard for God and so God had no regard for them and gave them up to their evil ways..."

SWILL MARTIN said...

Eeeeeyah d Lil nigga like boys chai!it really strts frm dier childhood oooo

Na so e dey start....

Okay now, i just hope he won't feel "trapped in the wrong body" 15 years from now. Just saying.

Asampokoto said...

I honestly agree. It's like anything goes these days.

Asampokoto said...

THISSSSSS! I feel like even if he isn't gay, they are going to end up confusing him.

Asampokoto said...

I hope the boys parents don't use their own hands to confuse him sexually. He might just be a really feminine boy.
I really like you, I don't know why. And I love that you gave that comedian a piece of your mind without resorting to indirectly calling him names like he indirectly called you gay.

Lol..honestly most parents make dis mistake of assuming and concluding things for dar children..please Mr man ur son like gals nd not what u r thinking...

I wonder if they will still support them if the child grows up to become pedophile!!!

No,that's society talking
Ain't nothing wrong with a Lil boy wanting dolls,
Doesn't even mean he ll turn out gay.
Am a girl and I hated dolls as a child.
My mum always beat me cos I break the neck and dismantle d doll in one day.
I wanted toy cars and guns,and my parents had to buy them for me eventually.
And here I am, a grown straight woman.

This is a good thing

Lol ur cousin is not happily married to a woman
He is just pleasing d society
He is F-ing gay
Check well,
Not the same with this Lil boys story tho.

Ignoring God by picking a doll? Lol
Talk abt being more catholic than the pope

Ok oo. I believe you. But in the West, that's the first step to transgendering. After all, there is an 8 year old transgender. I'm grown lady but my favorite toy as a kid is a tumbling military truck cos it hits any obstacle, stumble and fall and will still pick itself up again. Ofcourse I had dolls

Asampokoto said...

Hated dolls as well. Loved me a skateboard and game consoles.

Asampokoto said...

Your nephew is most likely collecting dick on the side. Just saying

This are the issues... whatever the child choose to like is his business. he is just a lil boy, the fact he likes dolls doesn't mean he will end up been gay.

people and silly comments. this is what Obama has done to the world by approving gay marriage now people are so rigid. And the father of that child should stfu!!!!

Our last born(a boy)he's our only boy. loved dolls as a child, dats d only tin u can pacify him with, he loved wen u tie it ti his back jst d same way my sis nd i tie it. Bt he's grown nw, with d hottest babe for a girlfriend, he evn jokes with how he loved dolls ans will get many for his daughter s wen he eventually gets married. Boys loving dolls nd heels as a child, doesntean they will turn out gay wen dey grow up.

Hmmmm, naso person dey turn homo small Small o. Didn't say anything, just passing.

Hope its just a childish taste for female toys

Kk