Traffic jam in Lagos won’t end anytime soon - NUPENG | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 14 May 2015

Traffic jam in Lagos won’t end anytime soon - NUPENG

Tokunbo Korodo, south-west chairman of the National Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG), says the harrowing experience of Lagos motorists and commuters arising from the fuel scarcity and gridlock on roads may not end anytime soon. According to Korodo, the trucks causing the gridlock on Eko, Liverpool and Coconut bridges, which has affected other major roads, such as Ikorodu road, may not leave the roads anytime soon despite the directive of the Lagos state govt.

Speaking with NAN in Lagos on Thursday, he said that only three depots out of over 50 in the state had petroleum products to dispense. “The development has compelled hundreds of trucks to head for the three depots to lift oil. This is the key reason for the unprecedented traffic jam that has locked down Lagos in recent days.”

Stakeholders at the meeting were NUPENG, petroleum tankers drivers (PID), national association of road transport owners (NARTO), association of maritime truck owners (AMATO) and independent petroleum markers association of Nigeria (IPMAN), Residents in Nigeria’s economic capital have faced tough times trying to buy premium motor spirit, and their woes have been compounded by traffic jams on most roads in the city. Korodo named the three depots currently having oil as capital oil and gas tank farm, ibeto oil and gas tank farm, and integrated oil and gas tank farm, all in the Apapa.

He said the gridlock would ease if trucks queuing for oil would load and leave Lagos by weekend. But observers say such scenario is unlikely. Korodo suggested that the nigerian national petroleum corporation should decentralise loading of petroleum products to ease the pressure on Lagos. “This is the only way Lagos residents can get reprieve from the gridlock, which has forced up transport fares and cost of foodstuff,” he said.

NAN

46 comments:

Something really needs to be done for them to leave with immediate effect. The traffic jam is becoming unbearable.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Pidgin Mistress said...

Lagos with hold up. Hian. One reasons I don't like Lagos. Lagosians e pele o

Reasonable ideal coming from NAN,

This is Lagos

This is lag

Its so frustrating

Una go hear am cos oga Jona won't do anytyn lol

Issokay

Phew! This fuel scarcity came with many ills.
Someone went to sleep after the election, it will be over soon, the end of all these rubbish is near.

Ascon Oil is also selling pms. I doubt if he actually knows how many depots r actually loading. Nupeng is currupt. Trucks dat don't ve ticket to load in any depot shld not be in apapa. What is happening is dat a lot of trucks with no loading ticket come to apapa on a daily basis. They r supposed to remain in their truck packs until dey r called to come and load. Nupeng can do a better job of controlling traffic, but dey won't because the big shots are making moni from helping people get their trucks into d depots to load. If d road is free no moni for them
Trucks going to capital oil to load r d major culprits dey block d road indiscriminately.

Dats it!
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *

Never ever... lindaobserve

Sad :(

Apapa is d worse hit bcos d traffic most times is just unbearable. Taking alternate routes is usually d options left even@dat traffic every where is usually d situation.

Lord have mercy.

Nky said...

Na wa

Okay.

Transport system in Lagos have been seriously bad. Imagine getting to Surulere from Onipan took me three good hours yesterday. This is not the kind of CHANGE I want o. #Godsavemycountry#

Hmm.
Double wahala 4 dead body.

This is really sad i swear...

Hmn. There's always traffic in Lagos on a normal day, I wonder what it's like now.

Adekail Professional Service blogs said...

hear yourself, so we should continue the suffering and smiling movies. No light, no fuel, even no road to move. what more can a govt take from its citizens? their life?

Then they should be ready to face sanction. Linda take note!

Nawa o, na only Lagos state waka come? Dey shd pls b fast abt wat ever dey wnt 2 do o

Not funny at all. I walked from Nigerian breweries to Ijora Olopa,bf takin a bike to idumota, stil walked from thr to balogun market. hv blisters already underfoot. Govt had beta resolve dis issue

Over population

Before you move in with your boyfriend please Read this

Lawd ve mercy!!!!this z totally crazy n terrible i noh fit shout

Christopher said...

Nawa oo, I thought this issue would have been resolved by now.. Anyway God help us all.

Meanwhile in another news, Lagos state university would be resuming on monday

Kai I hate Lagos

Well said mr.

Dats y I hate Lag

I thought they had settled these guys?! Come on!!!

Second chance for am in soup wit d traffic in dis direction. D traffic along Apapa way is terrible, and unpredictable.

You're retarded if you don't know by now that change takes full effect from May 29th.

FG should do and settle with them

Dis is not a laugher mater pls.for d past one week av been trekin to work .trek go trek come,na me kill trekking.I fractured my muscle cos of d trekking.pls whatever needs to b done shud b done asap.pls am tired wen I wake up I get scared of going to work,and wen am at work I get scared of going home.I know I want to slim down but dis hard way pls.anony amaka.

Its not funny at all, had to park at oyingbo and walk down to abebe village road.

Terrible situation, honestly am tired and i really pray all is resolved quickly, i need my normal life back.

Mr. Korodo is only referring to the Ibafo axis of Apapa when he said only three depots are dispensing PMS in Lagos state. I can tell you authoritatively that Total,Oando,NIPCo,M.R.S,Conoil,Forte Oil and Mobil (all in d beecroft axis of Apapa) have PMS stock ranging from 5million litres to 21million litres per depot. The real reason there's scarcity is systemic hoarding by the Major Oil Marketers' Association of Nigeria, coupled with diversion of Products (mainly from Independent Marketers' depot). The traffic situation on the other hand, is a totally different kettle of fish. This is brought about by the unprecedented number of container trucks heading towards Apapa and the unprogrammed Trucks trying to lobby their way into depots to get products to load. The truth is this may not change soon as there's an impasse between the FG and Petroleum Marketers association on subsidy payment. I hope I'm wrong and everything gets sorted soon 'cos I've been forced to trek on a daily basis (I just don't get as much publicity as the score of Nigerians who do so interstate)

this is a real situation that needs urgent attention,it never used to be like this before so something has to be done ASAP...linda I have spoken

Can't they implement a system where tankers get a ticket number and move from their park to the depots in small batches?
You cant ignore the inconvenience and attacks on road users by hoodlums. They should please be responsible and fix this.

obviously.. and you want to blame all helicopter users for landing in schools