The luxury! Ghanaians stage protest over power cut in their country | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 16 May 2015

The luxury! Ghanaians stage protest over power cut in their country

Ghanaian this evening took to the streets of Accra to protest the continued epileptic power supply being experienced in their country. Pardon them, because unlike you guys, they are not used to it...lol. More photos after the cut...

132 comments:

Spoilt people. Lindaobserve

Spoilt people. Let me go and turn on my generator jor. indaobserve

Awe good one, Yvonne nelson carry am 4 head too, great moves.

This is what reasonable people do; not trekking in celebration of evil politicians

Seriously..we need to grow and wise up in this naija

Good

Abi na?

Sai baba, have promised us 24 hours power supply when he becomes president.
Hope he is sincere about this.

Nigeria epiletic power failure syndrome has infested them, and they r experiencing wht we hav b going thru in d hands of lackassical govt.

Omo see street lights to protest, in fact I dey go Ghana🚕🚕🚕. Peter

Nija, we cant be bothered

Please they should ooo currently schin in gh na the light situation as been bad. Tho ecg no hold power today loooolz light don dey since morning

Linda remove your designer white pants. I want to see your "thing"

Amy N. said...

Nigeria shall get there!!
Someday, hopefully soon

God hlp us in nigeria. see how dey all came out to fight 4 dere rit.

dodo said...

Come naija come see light. Lol

God hlp us in nigeria. see how dey all came out to fight 4 dere rit.

Who b u guys?like u don't live in dis country a well. na all of us dey use to black out jhor... dee

Stlanre said...

We Don suffer come to think of it this exactly what Omosexy was trying to say Nigerians should learn from them why trek to celebrate a politician that promised and failed woefully when you can trek to protest his inefficiency?

SWILL MARTIN said...

Mcheeeeew abegiiiii mke dem rest jaaare#iisssz allowed

Can u imagine?is not even upto a year o,9ja go better

Kaiii dis pple sha nor b una fault ooo.... plz come to Nigeria and protest and c who going to look at ya faces.. mtcheww

bunmi said...

Eya!

Hahahaha wen we were almost going to protest 2day unshakable power supply here in ikorodu

Etsako Pearl said...

Abi ke??? linda wat's funny??

And dia govt ll listen to dem unlike ours

Thr own good oooo, here in naija pipo can stay in darkness for months, nd stil pay for it.

Lol....I just can't blame them though.

Good for them...when Nigeria go enjoy at least 15 years interrupted power supply?

Hope it'll be in my lifetime!!!!!!!!!!

Lol smh, them get time sha

ogeee said...

We r used to it, lol

If we see light for 3hrs here we begin jubilating...smh.. We are so used to d bad condition we question wen it becomes right

Tobi Samson said...

Tsscheew they Don use am spoil them

Chris said...

Why wouldn't they protest when they are not Nigerians.

Who cares in Naija, the least we can do is to buy 'I pass my neighbour' generator

Dey r mouthed now, nt lyk us dat cry n smile @ d same tym

lami said...

Atleast they are not like Nigerians with their sit down and look attitude. They have refused to accept abnormalities by coming out to protest instead of few individuals trekking for selfish gains.

Dey r mouthed now, nt lyk us dat cry n smile @ d same tym

Sure for them oooh...we still have a long way to go here

Handiwork of a woman (Yvonne Nelson)

Rellanaija.blogspot.com

Wow

Now am angry.
Small Ghana of yesterday.
Naija na fuck up

The problem is LPG which Nigeria had stop selling to them,they can't power their station due to lack of gas. Obama said Ghana is aftica model.they forget that Nigeria own Ghana power sector and economy.worse is coming for them.

Damilola said...

Pls come and live in my area as in barely light for two solid weeks. I cant deal

Nigerians can form...with our suffering and smiling face, abeg let's stage our own protest!

Na generator I dey use as I dey read this thing now. Smh where I wan protest go?

COLLIN said...

Rubbish

I hope one day in d nearest future. All nigerians will come out to fight for their rights. Its a pity we are still where we are today and we go dwy claim of Africa.

Lol yap us well

Its really a big shame on us.
It's tiring to fuel your car and also store in your gen incase of power outage.

Loool

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3084326/Nigerian-restaurant-shut-serving-HUMAN-flesh-bags-containing-human-heads-bleeding.html

Linda Linda pls can u confirm this post in the dailymail about a nigerian restaurant serving human flesh. Please pple need to be aware.

Will Nigerians ever stage such protest? No.
Why? Cos abnormal things have become normal in my dear country. Billions of naira has been spent but not even a megawatts was generated. The privatization process was sold to their croonies by the govt. Interested foreign company couldn't have a share in the process. There is God o...

That's what happens when you elect an hausa into office

Dumsor must stop, lol, I pray for dis in naija, dat one day we will protest for nt getting enuf lite like we re meant to get

They are clearly more sensible than Nigerians & brave.We lack a sense of justice!

Huh Linda?! What is "pardon them" and "the luxury"?!!! This is what we (Nigerians) are supposed to be doing? Instead youths are deciding to go on stupid treks with no cause..in omotola's words, trekking their future away.. You want to trek? Trek for a cause! Trek for revolution .. I just annoys the hell out of me how some Nigerians can be so complacent!!! That is why we keep going down hill ... You think martin luther king sat in his house with arms folded and mouth shut to ills and injustice? Or sat around and mocked people who are working on being agents of change? If you are not going to be a revolutionist, and you you see people who are trying to be one, please accord them their due respect. It is very simple. I am Nigerian by the way. Peace and Love.

Yeye People .they should come see naija for one day then dey go fear the beginning of electricity shortage.

JOIN THE CLUB GHANA .....NA SO SO WE DEY SUFFER LIGHT PROBLEMS IN NIGERIA

Linda you're a knucklehead, this is not about luxury, this is what Nigerians should have done a long time ago before the situation became this bad! These Ghanians know their rights and they are fighting for it, unlike Nigerians who suffer and smile

Nigerians are big fools period!

We can fight militants, go on strike for lack of petroleum products, fight Boko Haram, go on academic strike, but we can't fight power shortage.

This Dumsor Must Stop...Mahama Failed.

Their own better.
We've seen far worse in naija yet we don't protest.

andre kelvin said...

Lol! While in nigeria we Dwell in it

sisi said...

I hope Nigerians would see this .

This is the best time all those jobless Trekkers need to reserve their strength for.. Not trekking aimlessness seeking cheap publicity..

This is the best time all those jobless Trekkers need to reserve their strength for.. Not trekking aimlessness seeking cheap publicity.. They all need to trek from Lagos to Aso Rock in times like this for protestation..

Gbenga said...

Linda which one be "you guys?" Abi power outage no reach your side b4?

Yeye people mtchewww go and sleep jorr..laffing in swahili, ,,,u guys don't know Wat to do with ur time....Because they don't have light they decided to protest..thats why I love nija

YES, they aren't..and we shouldn't get used to an epileptic power supply either Linda.

Nija wonder wen we go borrow brain begin fight for our rights...

Wow can Nigerians every try doing this and make the government understand what we feel?

Mr 47 said...

Really!! Unlike you guys??? Oh no Linda, you're Love by so many ppl, don't let arrogance n pride killed it. Ain't a Nigerian??? Isn't d power failure affecting u too? Is it bad, if u lunch d protest yourself???

And here anytime we see light for just 2hr we start questioning PHCN..

..JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

Brother you should understand sarcasm! That was a joke and her you people included her. Lighten up man!

An dats y u like suffering

I imagine us protesting about power failure now, I can say with confidence. That we would be under the stars for years before they even figure out what is wrong with our light.

Nigerians only protest on social media scary ass country and mumu living in it..how are we giant of Africa without power?

What a dumb ass you are

You see better country

I feel so sorry for you. Govt is depriving you of your right and you think it's okay. SMH go and on your GEN oooo

AB said...

The comments here tho, if we had listened to comments like these, the protest would not have happened.
People say Nigerians are outspoken etc, I say Ghanaians are quiet and get things done!
And you Linda! Ur comments sometimes reeks of ignorance and is soo obtuse. U think demanding for constant supply of power from the leaders we pay taxes to is LUXURY? are you kidding me? Do you live under the rock?
U are a graduate, stop making comments that makes you sound like an illiterate.
Thanks

Dear Linda and all of you who think na spoil dem spoil we I feel sorry for una. Maybe if you guys had started protesting when your leaders started the foolishness y'all won't be so used to and accepting of it! The problem with Africa is the acceptance of mediocrity as norm and the fear of confrontation...Our leaders know and take advantage of this. Y'all shd sit and enjoy your gen sets and not demand your rights from your leaders!! Na your choice sha...but here in Ghana we will protest and insist that #dumsormuststop

For your information, Ghana has already built their own Gas infrastructure and very soon they will not have to depend on Nigeria for Gas. Do you know how much Nigeria will lose from that?

Jisos

The govt fixed the street light in the morning.

Good morning from Ghana; a country where good people do not sit around for evil and mediocrity to take hold. Linda, stay in your Nigeria where you don't know what your rights are. I was finking u gonna use this platform to get the good people of Nigeria to put pressure on your go'vt to provide what is due the citizens buh naaaa you haven't gotten there yet.
So sit before your mirror and do your makeup whilst there's light cos it might go off any moment. And finally when you do get it, don't call Miss Yvonne Nelson for tips, she's taking a well deserved rest.
Akwaaba to Ghana, where we got no fried eggs for brains!

As a Ghanaian, this is one funny comment. Ibsuggest you read up a bit about our power challenges. Gas is just one part of it. And Nigeria owns the Ghanaian economy? Wow, the shock. haha

Both Naija plus Ghana no for dey settle for less in everything, when we have the resources to give us the best. The power outages in our countries are plus the imbalance in the system are unacceptable. These things can be fixed when the waste and leakages we including the politicians create in the system to benefit our own self interest. Ghana's action might not add 1 kilowatt of power to electricity supply, and neither would silence and hypocrisy add on. The former might help create the needed awareness and ultimately, the needed action. Good luck to Ghanaija.

That's not the problem...only one of the plants run on electricity. Nigeria owns Ghana power sector? Seriously? The Akosombo damn n all the other plants belongs to u guys? Then how come Nigeria does not have light?

I love your comment jare. Useless and jobless trekkers. Nonsense *sigh*aloud

You must be very foolish!!!.

They r crying fowl over wht Nigerians suffers, and smiles over.

Interessting you live with a bad situation for so long you fail to believe it is your right to get what you paid? Since you failed to demand your right and someone does, your midiocrity has grown so huge that since u don't have it or task your gov to give it. It is unheard off when someone does it. Since when has Nigeria become Ghana that we have to suffer the same faith. Complacency at work, if I don't have it then no one should I guess. How sad!! Same mindset will let one get up and butcher the brother because I failed to equip myself to get a job so it is ok to kill my foreign brother who look like me. Take responsibility for individual problems and stop this cheap generalisation! Africa is a continent with individual countries for crying out loud so we all shouldn't sit and applaud blackout because almighty Nigeria has lived with it for years! Really the way to go, really?

Lets continue to hold those we put in office accountable! We have so much in common as West Africans and as Africans. Don't accept mediocrity. The Arts is a powerful tool to help people become socially aware. This was lead by people in the Arts. Watch #SilverRain when it starts in Nigerian Cinemas May29th. See what happens when an ambitious Market girl tries to cross the class divide and she starts a class war. Society will do anything to keep you down, but you must go up! See Joselyn Dumas, Enyinna Nwigwe and Uru Eke like you have never seen before...

What makes us spoilt? If you can't fight for your right and basic necessities don't insult us if we choose to.

Why do u wish Ghana worse? Africans are evil wishers

Thumbs up my dear. We need to let our voices be heard

Pls my brothers from naija. Don't insult us cos we Ghanaians are fighting for our right. We don't have to accept dumsor because other African countries are experiencing it.
What is abnormal should not be accepted because others are doing it. This current government can't solve the power outages because of mismanagement and lack of respect for the citizens that voted them into power.
Their days are numbered

Then omotola is right by saying youths are trekking their future away. Nigerians need to protest against power cut too.

Madam, did u just say " u guys"????

You are ignorant of the situation. Nigeria don't LPG to Ghana. They only supply LNG through the west africa gas pipeline which 4 countries benefits. Nigeria can never own ghana's power sector.

anonymous said...

Dats y u are soo used to being in the dark...yeye you...we know our rights as GHanaians and we fyt for it...u can laugh in hindu

You Nigerians dey make mouth mouth, but you no know how to fight for your right and against corruption. I pity you dis lindaikeji woman.

Dartey said...

And I always thought nigerians were more advanced but reading some comments of nigerians accepting the Bad is okay makes me KNOW that there are so many uneducated literates abound. Apuuuuu

That is a very big lie...a very huge lie... street lights along the legon 37 road have been working.

PATALEX said...

😄😃😃😃😃😃😃

Veeon said...

It's actually lackadaisical.
But I wish Nigeria can fight for our rights like this.
* Always praying for my country**

We don't have time, we know what we deserve as a nation

Wow! Seriously simple mindedness at its peak!!!

Thumbs up to you!! It's sad how others tend to insult and make fun of us Ghanaians instead of taking a cue from us.

Hahahahahhahhahahahahahahahahha@ Anon.

Thumbs up love...well said 🙋🙋

Truth is guys. In life you strive to go forward not backwards

Haha funny why re some Nigerians peeved well it's obvious some Nigerians are very much content with the system the leave in, we Ghanaians on the other hand are taking a cue from you Nigerians by attacking the problem now before it becomes a menance. If you see your brothers beard on fire make sure you prepare by fetching water by your side.

NIGERIANS ARE DEAD IN SLEEP, DEAD ASLEEP. WE CAN RIOT OVER FUEL PRICE INCREASE BUT WE TURN BLIND EYES TO FUEL SCARCITIES.

SHAME ON US FOR MANY REASONS.

hahahahahahaha

Worse is coming to us?? Nigeria owns the Ghanaian economy and power sector?? that's the dumbest shit I've ever read in my life. Yo, get a book and read, you just showed the whole world how ignorant you are. And get rid of the envy, green does not look good on you.

God bless you, it is only the blind that does not see the light.....your eyes and brain are open

Is it that you've not been to school before or what? how can a breathing human being be so ignorant, how can u sit there and enjoy suffering? we Ghanaians have pride and we know what we deserve, so if what we want is not handed to us, we voice our pain. Yeye rubbish goods, Read about the biggest men in the world, they didnt just sit there and wait for God to save them, they got up and fought for their people.

This is serious, people actually insulting us, if abnormal things are normal to you, you need a psychiatrist. We Ghanaians won't sit down and be deceived.

You stay in darkness for months yet pay electricity bills...Ghanaians are trying to prevent that and you day yeye people, na your mama and papa be the yeye people. Siakwa

4 days straight and my power supply has been flowing. Kudos Yvonne Nelson. btw let's demonstrate "Mahama Step Down!"

Orange and apples are both fruits, but they are not the same!! Ghanaians cannot be Nigerians!: Neither can you be a Ghanaian!! Your laws are different from ours! Your behaviour is different! We all have different priorities! We have different mentalities!
if no body go look your face for Naji, e no bi Naji we dey! We dey for Ghana... .so there!!