The bill among other things specifies the places cigarette smokers could smoke and areas where smoking is forbidden and also the punishment to be meted out to defaulters when they smoke in non-designated areas. Culprits could get up to six months in jail
The bill states that owners of public places where smoking is not allowed will be penalized if they fail to put up a "no smoking sign" on their properties. The bill was sponsored by Delta state governor elect and Senate Committee on Health Chairman, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa. The bill now awaits the assent of President Jonathan.
75 comments:
Nice oneee
For mouth. Lindaobserve
Enforcing this would be very interesting.
Nice one senate....the way and manner people take tobacco in public places is just too bad....
You guys should take several seats abeg!
Davido driver..BEWARE
..JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN
Good one. Who wants to kill himself by smoking should hide in a room and smoke his brains out, not smoking and allow passive people to suffer.
Passive smokers should suffer. Let smokers confine themselves in a room and smoke their brains out.Nice one okowa.Tim28
Good one. Who wants to kill himself by smoking should hide in a room and smoke his brains out, not smoking and allow passive people to suffer.TIm28
A year sentence is preferable.
Ooooo, this msg I think is for smokers
This guys ain't serious. Who gives a f..k about smokers? We need laws on serious penalties for the thieves within. Like death 💀 sentence for stealing from 500 mill up etc.
Davido should come and see this ooo
I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***
Hehehehehehehehe, ok oooo
Dis is gr8
Making sense!
bastards I smoke wetin concern dem wiv that they should not have given British American tobacco the liences to operate in the country then build the nation nation building is what we want creat jobs not just passing useless laws because we want the international community to see Nigeria as being a compliant nation rubbish police go start to the use opportunity chop money from person now illegally making laws with out putting appropriate measure's in place
Good one
Linda, Please try promote this more on your blog abeg, before My friend, Jonah leaves office... This Smoke thing had almost wiped out my Entire family o.... My wife was pregnant with twins and she almost died due to this smoke from a beer parlour downstairs....Let me just send you a mail abeg
Dis is nice, and also smokers should knw dat they r liable to die young if they continue smoking.
I like dis......yes!
Smokers wise up!
Lol. This is hard.
This is really nice no doubt....
Interesting one indeed
this is so good, smoking kills
<a href="http://www.unaab.edu.ng>check this out!</a>
Its a good thing. Linda take note!
Anti gay,anti tobacco etc etc.Are these the mundane type of things they are being paid millions per person to do?Where are the bills that will be passed into law which will punish public office holders for fraud,looting,corruption (not stealing) offences?
Where are the bills on rape which should include marriage to an underage girl?Where are the bills on police brutality?
I'm really weak,I swear.
Good move, I hope wen signed by Mr President, it will be implemented to d fullest.
If only you know what it's to inhale second hand smoke, you will appreciate and support this bill.
If ds is true, den we hop for a better Nigeria
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *
Its about time.
YEAH!!!! I think its bout time.
Z's still 8 years strong after kickin the Filthy habit.
For dem smokers!
Linda cogitate
This is very good and long overdue.
Thank goodness!!!! No more smoking in viewing centers. What a relief.
This is very good...a loudable bill
The penalty for this is just too fucking stupid. Why should it be 6 months in jail? How is this a better Nigeria if people are being jailed ridiculously. And no I'm not saying there shouldn't be a penalty, after all they are breaking the law.
Th e truth is dat, can a policeman take someone to court bcos of dis? Without making money out it
Way overdue. Would be splendid if this could be adhered to keep your bad habits in ur homes
Thanks my dear, you have said it all. God bless you immensely.
Nice.....*grin!
Ndi ara! Mad people! They'll leave important things and be chasing show! Thunder firekwa unu!
I love this. First reasonable thing from the senate this year.
Nice 1, let all dos agberos @ ketu, ojota, oshodi etc b warn
Abeg wen are dey going to ban public alcohol consumption? I also think they should put law for birth control, 1 family maximum 4 kid....no one no jobs this bcuz our population is multiping in awaits of 10s . Your income is 30k and you plN to give birth to 6kids who go Fed them..
Be passing laws U can't enforce
Y didn't pass petroleum bill into law b4 d end of their tenure???
They r just after irrelevant tins thereof mean while important tins dat wil favour Nigerians r b pushed aside.
yauwaa.. this is something they should have done a long time ago instead of giving them that lame warning that "smokers are liable to die young"
U right my royal.
What happen to HND /BsC dichotomy bill, nothing was done abt it
Pastor Dammy,abi Na Bishop
Irrelevant there r issues that demand more outlook that dis rubbish...... we need power..... oooooo
Very good!
Okay. Pretty safe for non smokers
Very nice.
Linda me no too like this one, i thought they will make smoking cigarette a crime just as smoking weed so that people will stop smoking cigarette. Linda i sight you.
I hear dem....buh 9ja has got bigger fish 2 fry... Why na dis 1 dem c quick, what of light?? Good road? Health Care, good skool system... Etc. @ least all dis ones for come first.
Sharrap @ ban on Alki#
Kingkong u are the greatest idiot of pur time......do u no how much i'll health smoking of tobacco in public causes, its clear u are ignorance of the risk.............
Maybe when u learn abt the risk of smoking to non smokers then u would give a fcuk......get small education
you mean president buhari not jonathan.
Arent there more important bills that can be passed besides this??
Please when are they passing a bill to ban fornication too.... Bunch of clueless politicians
Good for second hand smokers.
its a good bill anyway, but could that be the best control measure for eradicating tobacco smoking? or better still stop the importation to our country.
its a good bill anyway, but could that be the best control measure to eradicating tobacco smoking? or better still stop the importation to our country!!!
its a good bill anyway, but could that be the best control measure for eradicating tobacco smoking? or better still stop the importation to our country.
that's one horrible thing about them abuja clubs, they spend good money to put down a decent place then allow everybody smoke their head out right inside the club, you come out after a club night and have your cloth smelling like a mad man
I see! You go to a night club and expect to come out smelling of roses... you are very smart, ma.
My dear help me tell them.