Photo of Boko Haram survivor who just became a graduate | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 11 May 2015

Photo of Boko Haram survivor who just became a graduate

26-year-old Abubakar Umar (pictured center) is a survivor of Boko Haram attack. He was shot in both arms in November 2014 in Kano during one of the terrorists attacks.

He graduated with a degree in Petroleum Chemistry at the American University of Nigeria, Yola Adamawa state yesterday May 11th.
“I think I should have died on that day, I could have died on that day. I lost so much blood, there wasn’t any medication. I just saw these people coming out of the bush. They were screaming ‘Allahu Akbar’ (God is greatest) and shooting at my car.
At first I stopped because some of them had military trousers and boots but then I noticed their headbands and what they were saying, so I realised they were insurgents. They shot me in my right arm. I continued (driving). I didn’t know where I was going. I just kept on driving. I thought I would reach a checkpoint and report the case. I never met any checkpoint. I put mud and chicken dung on my head to look like a madman. I removed my shoes and put them in my pocket… (but) I didn’t see Boko Haram. But somehow I think the Lord kept me alive for a special reason and one of those reasons was to complete my degree. I’ve made it and I’ve graduated, so I’m very happy” he said as he picked up his degree.

50 comments:

Aww congrats to him

www.glowyshoe.com said...

Awww congrats to him..wish him the best..Nice one

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Do the walking and let your shoes do the talking
www.hawtshoes.co.uk

To God be the glory

Congrat

Nky said...

Thank God for your life, what a testimony. Congrats dear

Congrats man

Congrats bro. God has been gud to yu... I hope a gud firm employs yu though....

Awww! I'm so happy for him, congrats to him.

Wooow tnk God

Congrats n tnk God

SWILL MARTIN said...

Eeeeeeyah so ure there 2dai becoz got keeep uuuuu**in Kurt carr's voice

Congrats to him hmmm a private university. Dave now Daniel Craig

Hmmmmnm, this one na rich aboki.....thankGod for ur life

Eeyyaahh..I admire his resilience. I wish others will emulate him.

Glory be to God......#automatic job

Tnk God for u

I thank God for his life. Congrat Mr umar, our God is indeed awesome.

Cutevivylaura@gmail.com

Wow! So happy 4 him o. Congratulations

Great God! Big congrats to him

Congrats bro 👏

Wow....congrats to him.

Wait; did he get out of his car and walked? Am confused because after such attack I will drive like a murderfucker! No looking back but getting off my car a Big Capital Letter NO.

Good. Well done

There is a satellite radio station coming to Nigeria, just like dstv but strictly for radio allowing you connect different radio channels to your car and stereo player. Stations like beats fm, cool fm, wazobia fm, gist fm, bet fn [for footballl prediction and bet lover], food fm, tooxclusive fm, blaze fm, sports fm, gospel fm, literary fm, entertainment fm and so on. What do you think of it. Subscription goes for as cheap as 700 naira per month and the device cost 3500. The device also allows you to connect memory card if you decide you want to play music from your memory card and a USB port to charge your phone. Please the company is trying to conduct questionnaires before fully entering market. Opinions needed. Thank you.

Sincerely,
James Morgan
Sirius Radio ltd

Congrats to u dear d lord has great plans for u

odion akeem said...

Thank u Al-might Allah for u are a wounderful God, Islam is not about killing innocent souls, it's some of those stupid islamic leaders that brain wash those illiterate Boyz to kill for the course of Islam, which is a lie, they will say if u kill u will be accepted by Allah, but all those things are all lies

God has plans for you bro congratulations

Our next president

I wish him well

Thank God, congrats!

Loveth said...

Congrats!

nice, very nice, his folks would be proud

Yasssss! Congratulations to him

Oh dear, dis is indeed a testimony.....congrats dear

Says who?

AMIJEZ said...

Thank God for sparing his life.

Congrats to him. God has not finished using him. Linda take note!

God is so great.... so happi for him..

He is a hero in his own right, his graduation is a victory.

China said...

Thank God. God has kept him for a purpose

So happy for him.....congrats

I thank God for his life, and most especially for his new achievement. Congrats!

congrats to him

Sounds like a good product. I sure would be getting it if it were free.

My fear is that for a radio service u assume it would be like dstv subscription service. It's too much of an assumption to make. When people are used to getting a service free, it's a tough one introducing fees and payments. My suggestion is if u can work with the device manufacturer to introduce it into the market, get as many free subscribers as much as possible to gain traction, then package the traction to advertisers and companies and charge for radio adverts somehow.

Thank God for your life

Wow congrats to him

Ewo Linda the grad was on the 9th o not 11th lmao