The woman, 24 year old Stephanie Samuel (above) told Reuters that she risked the dangerous voyage to Europe because she wanted a better life for her child.
"I didn't expect the baby, you know, but she just like, she just came. I just wanted to leave Libya. Italy is better than Libya and Nigeria is the worst. God decides, not me ... but I believe she will have a more good future in Europe." Stephanie said
From Reuters
A week after the birth, both Stephanie Samuel, the 24-year-old Nigerian mother, and Francesca Marina have recovered. Doctors at the Sicilian hospital said they would probably be transferred to an immigration center for families with small children in a few days time.
Samuel worked for two years in Tripoli as a housemaid to save money to pay smugglers for the trip, but then the boat she set off in with about 90 others stalled after only three hours at sea.
By the time they were picked up by the Bettica off the Libyan coast seven hours later, she was unconscious after suffering epileptic seizures and had gone into labor.
81 comments:
Good for her
Oh!
Oh!
welcome to the world little Francesca...
Phew! Its not her fault.
Even people that have been to hell, said they rarely noticed they were in hell coz they left from Nigeria
Is She not right? She is ofcourse, dat country is hell!!
Just tnk God 4ur life!
Point blank . Nigeria is certainly the worst place to live in. The Only good thing about Nigeria are its people.
We here musnt seconds her instead we have to pray and believe our country would be better and start competing with the UK. Phil 4:13
Lool... She obviously has a point. How we survive here is unfathomable!
Na she know oo
See her mouth,you are lucky to have survived. Make u no come back Naija becos if I catch u
Imagine! U should be grateful or u try. Iraq
i dont even know whether i am sorry to say this..she must be sick ..she need mental health reassement
I don't blame her, the stress in this country is too much. Spend all day on the road, unable to achieve anything and burn the fuel you've suffered to get at double the pump price. Which way Naija?
She shud go bak to d mediterranean sea ASAP
she is right yu know
Happy anniversary
6 Exercise Mistake Click Here To Avoid these common Mistake and burn fat twice as fast
she is right yu know
6 Exercise Mistake Click Here To Avoid these common Mistake and burn fat twice as fast
she is right yu know
Yes! Nigeria is the worst place to live for people like her! Cause she's not worthy to be called a true citizen of nigeria buffalo like u maybe she's even going there for prostution who knows! Kai I hate it when pple like dis say noness about this country. Is even better u left with your bad blood so it won't infect our good nigeria
Nt r fault @ll bt cos we lack good governance bt am sure d story wl soon change n Nigeria wl b a vry better place 2 stay 4 both citizens n foreigners
Mugu! Nigeria d worst place? U shud be Ashamed! Cowards andlazy ass leave their country 4 a beta life. If ur strong and hard working, u wouldn't have left, illiterate! Chineke kpooo gi oku! "Likes of toronto ugliest that washes public toilet just to earn a living in a white man's land. I pity una! Come make I single handedly feed una!
Anuofia somebody. Can't she just make her point without condemning Nigeria. Linda take note!
Mugu! Nigeria d worst place? U shud be Ashamed! Cowards andlazy ass leave their country 4 a beta life. If ur strong and hard working, u wouldn't have left, illiterate! Chineke kporie gi oku there! Likes of toronto ugliest! Big head mofo! Legs like turkey washing public toiltets just to make a living in a white man's land. Holidays over there? So cool ! Not to be a servant! Toronto take note and be a man!
Before nko we are. Just. Hoping and expecting d change
Lolzzz. Mtcheew
She no lie at all....
No land is greener for the blacks my dear.
Madam u r just lazy. Cant u open a kiosk?
She tool a brave step epileptic
My dear if you have ever been out of this country then you will know that Nigeria is heaven. I mean HEAVEN with capital letters . Their is nothing like freedom where you can express yourself as you like. I don't pray for another country
Babe, for once I bow for your comment! Good one.
She's obviously saying it to get sympathy from oyinbo people. I've heard immigrants say worst things about Nigeria, make false stories up just so that they'll be allowed to stay, get permanent resident, green card or whatever.
Life is simply what you make out of it. Immigration in the western world is modern slavery too. If you don't work very very hard to up lift yourself, you'll remain on the lowest level. I wish everyone could travel, then you'll appreciate where your coming from. Life is step by step, you move from one level to another. she would have found it difficult to do the maid job in Nigeria but that is what she did in Libya and was probably going to do in Europe. Mercy Johnson started as a maid and look where she is today. Be wise people.
At least learn to spell well madam. You're proof that Nigeria is a bad place to live in. You don't know this woman yet you're raining insults on her. Do you know her full story? Prostituition indeed. Could it be you're one yourself? After all it takes one to know one. You're the one with the bad blood cos from here I can smell the bitter green blood in your worthless veins
She, like each of us, is entitled to her opinion. One must keep in mind that everybody's experience of the same thing can be starkly different. For those enjoyng Nija, pls thank God for blessing u with whatever allows u to enjoy d country, be it your street sense or hard work ethic, your papa connects, or whatever else. For those living with no hope of a better tomorrow, may you find your El Dorado wherever you seek it. To all of you, my children, stay blessed. @babashegi.
Point of correction, Nigeria is d best place ever in d world to live for there is no place like home.
Wht a shame dat she had to blacklist hersef in d name for greener pasture.
If the people were good the country would be good as well, I'm not saying we Nigerians are bad but the average Nigerian is very wicked, we see it in our government, we see it with the men in the offices that treat females like second class citizens, we see it in ridiculous amount of men abandoning women who got pregnant for them, we see it in people that treat their house helps, gateman, driver like trash, we see it in the "rich" family member that treats their other family members like beggars, we see it in the ogas that keep people waiting in their waiting rooms for 10 hours, we see it in the average mean spirited mummy's that just like to make the life's of those around them that are not their biological children a living hell oh I almost forgot that we actually see it in the men that would not give you a job unless you sleep with them (that does not even guaranty that you would be given the job), we see it in the churches and mosques that favour the rich ones because they are likely to get more donations from them (instead of advising these rich ones to help those in need or rather use the money they've acquired to help the poor) abeg I don tire, maybe you are good but the average Nigerian both young and old are not nice, my own two cents feel free to say or think otherwise.
If we change our attitudes towards ourselves trust me this world would be more bearable for those that need our love and support
#aHausaChickInToronto
After reading your comment i had to check ur profile. And the only thing i can say is " i am sorry"
a lot of people wont agree but she is entitled to her opinion
Tcheew...Iranu...abasha...#Libaddict
She left the shores of Nigeria without being pregnant, only to arrive at her destination after 2 years in Tripoli with a baby girl......most definitely not a naija guy who put it in there at the first place. And it more clearing the kind of work she has been involved in all this while...to be continued
Oloshi! Looking for ready-made life abi. For some of us, Naija has bn a land of blessings n I won't trade her for any other nation let alone, greener pasture. Do u wanna tell me dat d boys n girls selling in heavy traffic r not making profits? Or market women can't make enuf to see their children thru sch?
U had to travel thru desert, sit in canoe to cross 1 chenkele sea, put urself n d innocent baby thru undue stress; only to pour d blame on naija? U r lazy n an opportunist.
Hahaha!!!! Bona u dey craze o!!!
So Nigeria being the worst place to live in, is it due to geographical location or the people? Na wah for some pple reasoning o! Very daft
Every country has its slump. So she shouldn't say naija is worst cuz she ended up at one of d slumps probably. Well i wish her d best!
Nigeria is the worst place abi? Ok o! No wonder the planes are full of expatriates coming to Nigeria to work! Why wouldn't Italy be the best place? As soon as you land you become a liability to the government. They don't know what to do with you. They give you 45 euro/ day indefinitely. Put you up in 4 star hotel. Give you loaded SIM card and wifi. You constitute a nuisance to your hosts and dirty the environment. You don't work even though they (Italian government) beg you to get a job! And even offer you job. No way for you to work since you are enjoying free living in another mans' country. Oni yeye!! You are a disgrace to the pepper sellers and mechanics etc. who stay and earn honest money and work hard for a living. God punish you for bringing down the name of Nigeria in the mud and making the world count us a refugee countries. God purnish you lazy goat!!
Nigeria is the worst place abi? Ok o! No wonder the planes are full of expatriates coming to Nigeria to work! Why wouldn't Italy be the best place? As soon as you land you become a liability to the government. They don't know what to do with you. They give you 45 euro/ day indefinitely. Put you up in 4 star hotel. Give you loaded SIM card and wifi. You constitute a nuisance to your hosts and dirty the environment. You don't work even though they (Italian government) beg you to get a job! And even offer you job. No way for you to work since you are enjoying free living in another mans' country. Oni yeye!! You are a disgrace to the pepper sellers and mechanics etc. who stay and earn honest money and work hard for a living. God punish you for bringing down the name of Nigeria in the mud and making the world count us a refugee countries. God purnish you lazy goat!! Nonsense.!!!
WHAT WILL YOU DO TO HER?
MOREOVER IS SHE NOT RIGHT.
See Who Is Commenting! Moron
Bad Belle.
Bad Belle. Moron
Stephanie Samuel.
Which of the name is Nigerian?
Claiming shit and lying is the asylum seekers' modus operandi.
Punish n destroy u too my brother
You are absolutely right and hopefully, with GMB coming in, things will get better.
If you'd never left Nigeria, you won't understand. Nigeria is not fit for human habitation
That one saying Nigeria has freedom lol. Freedom to be corrupt and lawless right?
Surviving in Nigeria daily is a testimony
No be only good Nigeria. It's deluded people like you that will not call a spade a spade.
For all of you that didn't criticize the presidency constructively but rather insult the presidency online through different mediums, you have committed the same crime as this lady.
Buhahaha! Unchained from where? Where else? Zoo! Ewu bia ka nye juo gi afifia onu ka itaa u need am. U dnt know me ozu nwuru anwu! U need some green grass trust me....
Rotfl...your sense of humor is on fleek
Shes an ashewo joo. Libya, Italy???? Grade 3 ashewo!!
Indeed, Nigeria isn't a good place to wanna bring up ones kids. Neither is it a good place to live. Truth be told.
*** mynameisSkelewu
@ anon, which freedom are u looking for? You're just lawless and can't abide by stipulated rules. It's your type that ruin the country. Barbarian spawn of animals.
*** mynameisSkelewu
Nigerians always refuse to accept the truth so it can get better. See this one asking if have been out of the country talking about freedom. Is Freedom the only thing that makes a country the best place to live? To the second anonymous. With all this things you have mentioned about Nigeria it is still the best place to live in ba? Nigerians should embrace truth,Rick ross came here shot a video exposed a bad part of lagos and alotta people crucified him failing to accept that is the actual situation on ground. Nigeria might not be the outright worse place to live in but it is certainly close. #Fact
I have seen poeple say worst things about Nigeria when they are seeking asylum or at the immigration it's just the way it is poeple will do anything to get out of here Africans can do anything to leave this continent but that doesn't mean Nigeria is the worst place to live in, Nigeria is probably one of the best place to live in apart from lagos which I consider the most stressful place on earth other state are quite good and you pay very low tax and can earn a good income if you work hard Nigeria is destined for greatness but first we all ve to work towards that greatness
It's not geo location. It's the people. That comprises the govt and shapes their perception and mentality. Culture and everything. Really awkward and backward. Majority are wicked and selfish. Not very happy people.
Nigeria definitely has it short comings, but to say the worst place to live? How many countries has she lived in that she can compare? We keep complaining but we don't thank God for the blessings we have. We don't experience natural disasters like earthquakes or tsunamis.
What about countries that are suffering from severe drought and famine. Naija no be like obodo oyinbo, but its sad that a Nigerian would say its the worst place to live. One should pity her because she has believed in the lies that once you get abroad, life will be better. The true stories of what immigrants, especially illiterate immigrants go through are hardly known.
She is entitled to her opinion, my question is this lady married because no responsible husband will allow his wife with advanced pregnancy to processed on such adventure
Any positive change that happens will still be a GENERAL situation. The individual still needs to run with his life to catch up with his destiny. If one is lazy, has no purpose, vision, creativity or drive, not even God Himself would help you. People please believe in yourselves, dig deep into your spirit and essence; you will find SOMETHING to run with. Your answer is in you, not in a pastor, babalawo or any other quick - fixer. And if you must travel outside of Nigeria, make sure you are clear what you will do there; or you voluntarily toss up your life to slavery.
Her opinion is based on her experiences. She wouldn't have been on that boat if Nigeria were paradise on earth.
If everybody run away from the worst country to live in, who go come stay? Is migrating the solution?
Wat U still doing here?
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * *
good for your. Now your child is from no country and has to use a Laissez-passer. Nigeria is so bad and it rained you to go to school and even make a stuipi decision like you just did.
Italy is such a poor country that I wonder why migrants go there. Most of them live in the forest if and when they are released
All you complaining nigerians, step into Benin, togo or Cameroon and check out the living conditions. Heck go to Lousisiana and check it out. some towns in this US do not have running water because it is not profitable to deliver it to them.
Rubbish woman
Juliet Isi Buffoon, I don't live in Naija! Hahahaha, how dayya feel now? 12 years a slave in Naija!
*** mynameisSkelewu
Well she's entitled to her opinion. Is Nigeria a good place to live in...maybe not. Even just saying this I can almost hear MI's song Ashes. Living in Nigeria is definitely not for the faint hearted. But the worst place?? That I don't agree with. I know we are always saying God help us. Truth be told I'm tired! Maybe this is it! Maybe this is the Nigeria we are stuck with. It's not a curse!
Someone commented Nigeria is bad but the people are good... NO the people are bad, selfish and mean. So consumed by their GOD that they forget to do what it says in the bible. No one helps others unless they can gain from it.
And others who said Italians beg you to work, that is funny it is hard to get a job there too and the living costs are high so 45 euro is not much. And others judging her for being pregnant so what, you don't know her story so shut up.