Burundi coup leaders arrested | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 15 May 2015

Burundi coup leaders arrested

Three army generals who were part of a group that attempted to overthrow Burundi President Pierre Nkurunziza a few days ago have been arrested. Former Burundi Defence minister Gen Cyrille Ndayirukiye was one of the three arrested today. But the general who led the coup and made the announcement on radio, Gen Godefroid Niyombare (pictured left) has not been found.

The General had earlier told AFP News Agency on phone yesterday that he and others who plotted the coup will surrender but hoped they will not be killed."I hope they won't kill us". He said.

President Nkurunziza, who returned back to Burundi yesterday from Tanzania is expected to make a national address later today. Obviously, he has more people loyal to him in the army than the generals

60 comments:

Seen...

Okpemu!

They thought this is the 90s that anything goes!a coup in 2015?? Think again!

Phew! What a wasted effort, really wanted them to overthrow the power hungry Nkurinziza. Why start what you can't finish.

Pidgin Mistress said...

Ooook. Linda update me later

Good for them, some people just want power by all means.

Ghen Ghen

Nawaa...I pray dnt get killed

Its better to be a coward than to plot a coup and fail.The consequences are dire.I pity em.The president will not only execute them but will use their heads for esewu

WHY R SOME PPLE LYK DS??BUT 3RD TERM IN POWER R U D ONLY PERSON IN D COUNTRY???OR U R OUR OBJ'S BROTHER??Y WNT HE HAS MORE LOYAL PPLE DTS WAT APENS WEN A MAN IS IN POWER....TOMJERRYSWIT

Hope well........

COLLIN said...

So dt word COUP still exists...'Kkk

The President has only won a battle but not the war. If the President continues to breach the Constitution, there will be many others coming to depose him. Next time, he may not be so lucky to get away with his life.

Na thier last bus stop be dat.@babashegi

The President has only won a battle but not the war. If the President continues to breach the Constitution, there will be many others coming to depose him. Next time, he may not be so lucky to get away with his life.

Hmmm! But those plotting the coup have make sure that everything is in good state before coming on air to announce anything

Spare dia lives n step down too..
Dat sounds too easy..

Nawa o, all dis kasala cos of power? Der is God o

FUCK!!!!!
Jst lost some bet cos i was actually @TeamCoup#
Hope something should jst kill the Retarded President who prefer to see his Ghetto Country 'Up in Smoke'' than relinquish power.

Obviously they didn't succeed in their coup plan to overthrow the president. I seriously doubt if their life will be spared.

Wht a pity dat they didn't succeed. Indeed d President has a lot of people loyal to him. Money can buy anytin including loyalty.

LoL. Wahala o.

Nkurunziza should forget his 3rd term dream, so dat peace will reign in Burundi.

Joy C said...

Chickens! U r afraid of death? Anyways u r just chickens, I'll know what it feels like to be one.

ISIS commander Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, said: 'Islam was never a religion of peace. Islam is the religion of fighting'

ISIS commander Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, said: 'Islam was never a religion of peace. Islam is the religion of fighting

I wish they had succeeded . Then the country will sort out themselves later.

A failed mutiny or coup is a death penalty...when planing for such, u make sure u succed, if u fail u pay with your head....that's the rule

I said this 2 days ago, when you plan a coup you better succeed, they are done!

Arresting him doesn't mean they
won't remove that greedy man from
that seat.
Kinda sad though!

CCTV Expert said...

Coup plotters in Nigeria should be arrested too.

Hmm, this country that is rated the most poorest country in Africa. They still struggling for power instead thinking of how to better their economy. That President should be over thrown for Christ sake.

He should spare their lives and also step down for peace to reign.

Eeeeeeeyah! Dem own don yamutu, cos the President go use vexation deal with dem. Linda take note!

I thought they were very much ready for what is coming to them....

Oh! Dear pls permit me to rephrase ur lovely comment "Its better to b a coward, and plot a successful coup than b brave, and plot a failed coup.

Definitely they wil b history when d President get his hands on them except he decide to use them to gain cheap political points as a merciful President.

And I repeat...this president is very lucky this not happening in Nigeria mctew!

Obviously dis man will win with all dis alatenuje around...dee

AWWWWH!IT FAILED?DAMN...African presidents are idiots if we didn't kick out this Jonathan i bet you he would want a third term, if not him that silly woman he calls wife would have pushed him

Naija wannabe

The president is been unreasonable, his pple r tired of him, let him go na mtcheeew

Emmynado said...

But d president na try na why him wnt go for d third year?

ISIS commander Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, said: 'Islam was never a religion of peace. Islam is the religion of fighting

Aurea said...

Awww! Too bad d coup failed! Dey shld just take it dat dey sacrificed their lives for d country cos definitely dey r gonna b killed! Eh ya!

Waoo. Linda your blog has gone places oo, a Burundian commenting on your blog? Just waoo. See their flag, but the name is funny oo, Sokari Dappa. Please, is everything calm now in your country and who do you support, the president or nkurunziza?

SYCOPHANCY IS THE ROOT OF AFRICA'S PROBLEM. SOME PEOPLE MUST HAVE SOLD OUT, HENCE THE COUP FLOPPED. WHATS THE HOPE OF DEMOCRACY IN BURUNDI?

AGB said...

very mumu generals.

Wt r u blabbing @royal priesthood? She got it perfectly. Will a coward ever think of plotting a coup tlk more of a successful one?

Clean Ur foul mouth. FYI Jonathan walked out himself n conceded defeat thus saving us dis whole stress. It's Ur old sick president elect we should be worried about. Having contested hw many times for dat seat, one would wonder if his placenta is tied to the presidential seat.

This is what God saved Nigeria from through Jonathan.