Radisson Blu Hotel Shuts Down to Conduct Extensive Renovation | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 25 January 2015

Radisson Blu Hotel Shuts Down to Conduct Extensive Renovation

The 5-star, water-front Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Victoria Island, Lagos, has shut down operations to conduct extensive renovation of its facilities, as part of its Management’s commitment to retain standards & remain the hotel of 1st choice for guests visiting Lagos, for business or pleasure.

According to an official statement by Anchorage Leisures Limited, owners of the hotel, the extensive renovation of its facilities will “cover areas such as power generation, cooling system as well as other critical equipment”. “The magnitude of the renovation work has however necessitated shutting down of business operations for the duration of the renovation”, the statement further indicated.

The Management of Anchorage Leisures Limited has also said that the renovation activities have led to disengagement of staff given the required duration for the renovation. Management however stressed that it will abide by all contractual terms by ensuring payment of all that is due to the staff. Maintaining its appreciation for its people, the Management of Anchorage Leisures noted its commitment to welfare of its staff. Even when we experienced very low patronage during the Ebola crisis in Nigeria, we retained all our staff, however, the magnitude of this renovation work has compelled a total shut down of business activities.

The Management of Anchorage Leisures has however assured its numerous guests in Nigeria and across the world that Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Victoria Island, Lagos, will re-open with increased focus on delivery of superior quality service. “We are mindful of our position as a premium hospitality brand and we will continue to do everything required to maintain our premium standard and ensure our guests are treated to the best-in-class hospitality services available anywhere in the world”, the statement added.

About Anchorage Leisures Limited Anchorage Leisures Limited was founded to promote hospitality, tourism and culture through active participation and strategic partnerships with global leaders in hospitality industry. Anchorage Leisures is the owner of the 170-room, 5-star Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Victoria Island, Lagos.

83 comments:

Ok later

Alright.

Lol,this is linda ikeji's favourite hotel n hang out spot ooo,met her in Radisson blu twice...

ok noted

#LIBBOO
I WILL RATHER BE SELF MADE.....

Nice....

elovi said...

Hmmn d renovation no go be here oooo duno iff d English correct ooo winkks

ok,big money is involve...

So this kin fyn hotel dey Nigeria and am just hearing bout it.

Ok...

Ok, noted.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Wow!

170 rooms... Pretty cool and d hotel wil b big.

Ok noted... U people should stop dining and wining with president GEJ, u people called etertainners should wake-up the way Nigeria is going is bad let us call a spared a spared. Nigerians etertainners should speak up stop collecting money frm GEJ... Linda Linda take time ooh! Stop showing us this demon we don't want 2 see this bastards demon called bisi anymore, and stop calling him Nigeria rights Activist. His so irritating tufiakwa!!! Vote for #change# vote Buhari and Osinbajo for president on the 14th of nest month

Bad market.

U people should stop dining and wining with president GEJ, u people called etertainners should wake-up the way Nigeria is going is bad let us call a spared a spared. Nigerians etertainners should speak up stop collecting money frm GEJ... Linda Linda take time ooh! Stop showing us this demon we don't want 2 see this bastards demon called bisi anymore, and stop calling him Nigeria rights Activist. His so irritating tufiakwa!!! Vote for #change# vote Buhari and Osinbajo for president on the 14th of nest month

K

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Ok, noted. #lindagiveawayonmymind

Dat will happen 4 hw many yrs,months,weeks n days

Folding up things... Yet to break even,why no ttime line
Na so I see am

Dis na systematically laying off d staff dat protested some tym ago. Linda take note!

i smell a rat here. something isnt right. this hotel is new. why close down n kill all revenue for a supposed "renovation"

Awwww, no! I love their food, i was just there last Sunday for dinner. Sad.

Good one, we rarely renovate in this country

I think they want to use this strategy to lay-off their staff that participated in the demonstrations that happened few weeks ago.

Paul Ofou said...

Thank God they finally decided to shut down and address their rusted facility

Omobaa said...

Hahahahaha! Dem no dey tell una 100% truth o. Their staff went on strike last week and it is also part of the reason why they are shutting down. This is confirmed gist from insiders.

Cool.good move

I like it as it is but maybe there are structural problems not known to the public

Lagos Lawyer said...

Wash of life😕. Whoever supervised the building of the hotel in the 1st place should be shot dead I think. It had all sorts of issues. Word from people in the know said the contractor was shoddy. Bathrooms had 'shock' issues. Cooling system was messed up etc etc. They just mismanaged Baba Oba's money... Nonsense contractors

Linda,
Thanks for bringing dis info to us.

As good as the hotel is they still want to renovate it?Great one from the management. A world class aproach

Call a Spade. Not spared ......pls

Something is wrong somewhere.....linda put my comment biko kwa .... jerryembassy

This guy. you can famz for Africa. Make dem say you go Radisson. Hahahaha

I was there in Dec with my babe & d experience was awesome. Hope after d renovation d middle class can still afford it.

So sad to see Radisson close. Cool spot oh! Like for real, yeah

Why are they closing na??? Was thinking of going there for a weekend getaway with the boo fa...

Ok thank u

Ok na,catch ya lera.

Jerry M said...

Hmmm Linda the staff are protesting 2moro please Go there and here the real story. This is from the mGt Not the staff.

Linda can u connect me to the hotel? I will like to work with them

Streetlighter's blogspot said...

Of wat news is dat info to u, or you just want to talk because u v mouth.

They are having bad management issues. A lot of customers are complaining of bad services

i am a staf of radisson blu hotel,the hotel is not shut down for renovation.if you all remember the staff protested that they want union in the hotel last week and eventually union people came.after that the management started begging us that we should not allow union into the hotel..........Abeg o my people shey na sin make hotel get union ni?do you know that as that hotel big reach,it is staff that buy uniform,shoe and everything for themselves,They only give you one maggi to cook per day.in Radisson blu,if you are going on leave they will not give you your leave allowance ,For four years now,No loan.We work like slave and cry silently.While all the Oga at the top are buying houses in ikoyi,example is our Financial Controller,He suddenly become big boy,And Madam Dana,She have the biggest bar in VI.For you to know that they are lying they have offer all the staffs #158,000 as layout money.

which is not going to be possible,Is either 2million or they accept the Labour Union.

I know they will blackmail us,But is there crime,if we asked for Union.This is a company where large percent of staff are graduate.

They may have the money but we have the internet and we will make sure we open there secret deals in that hotel.

Do you know that for over 3months now we have been renting generator to power that hotel and the same person that is collecting 250,000 per day for the generator,is the still the same owner we are talking about here.

Why cant they buy generator,Reason is that the 250,000 Is going into there pocket.

IF YOU WANT TO KNOW THE TRUTH COME TO RADISSON BLU TOMORROW.

HERE IS THE QUESTION:

Is there any law in Nigeria against any organization to have labour Union?

ebonydoc said...

Obviously, u don't live in Lagos!

I hear the generator is bad

Radisson blu in lagos us notl 5star pls

Linda I love you but I always feel sad when you make Oyedepo look like one of those men of God that is only concerned about getting into the pockets of their members. Your blog is widely visited and you are always using it to make Oyedepo look like a money-hungry pastor which is not Good. Many of your blog people always abuse oyedepo because of the kind of things you say about him on your blog. I am not a winner member but I have heard Oyedepo speak on some occasions and it was very clear to my spirit that he was truly called by God

why lying now
"Radisson Blu Hotel Shuts Down to Conduct Extensive Renovation"???
that how they do, thesame thing happen in the company call 'Expression' were they manufacture weavon and attachment.

joy Egbunu said...

How old is Radisson Blue again? I,m impressed the management has taken this bold step. Renovation of that magnitude costs a lot of cash! They shld be sure to pay off their staff duely as indicated though.

# icantcomeandgoandkillmysefjor

When there is money to renovate and still be eating normally pple would chase peeps from that side they are renovating then tell em to come back after doing a particular side

correct!! that na my contractor

Jidegrandblog Correspondent said...

Looking forward to RadissonBlu Lagos re-open , can't wait to experience the luxury again.

Linda pls for christ sake investigate thiss issue. My brother works there and they have been laid off today jus like that after working there for good 5 years. This is not fair and we have too many injustice in this country.

Please I beg you in God's name, investigate this matter cos its goes beyond this. A lot of people will go hungry and unemployed cos of injustice in this country. Please don't let this pass like this cos I believe you give a voice to the voiceless and oppressed in this wicked society we live in. Thanks and God bless u exceedingly as u do this for us.

LINDA IKEJI...i know your blog is one of the most read online and i will want you to gather facts well, as the MGT team of the hotel are lying about renovations, it saddens my heart when a hotel of such magnitude will wake up one morning to lay off their staff, and yet the owner OBA OTUDEKO can open his dirty mouth on air at Jonathan's campaign that he's creating jobs for the youth, he's totally against the Labour Union that's why he she down the hotel...all i'm so listing for is my payoff and that of my colleagues...LINDA HELP ooand the good NIGERIANS reading this, we Radisson Blu Staff are crying and asking for the intervention of the Government to see into this matter ASAP. thanks and God bless

frcanicenjoku said...

My dear Linda, thanks for this your information about this Radisson Blue Hotel. With utmost and all due respect am sure you have been cowed and can not yourself cow every other people. Before you post things like this I advice you to investigate the truth very well irrespective of who is involved and for your integrity as an information provider. I have taken time to read all the comments generated by your "supposedly innocent post." Only a few are absolutely, i repeat absolutely correct, and this is the fact that the workers were laid of because they demand to have a Union. Like one of the respondent asked: "Is it a crime to have a union in such a big five star hotel? Unfortunately and ironically, one of the topmost directors of this hotel was a ontime director of one of Nigeria's apex bank. Did he not enjoy the dividents of having a workers union. We are dealing with people who when they leave the room the switch of the lights so that others mifht perish! My kid sister had worked with them for at least three to four years now only to come back yesterday to inform us that they have all been sacked with only two months salary. In order to cover this heinous injustics all the management did was to rush to the press to put up this blatant and sacartic lie. If you are laid off in this manner would you like it linder?I know that as Nigerians we prefer lies more that truth. But I encourage you to investigate, and do not be an "arm chair reporter." This is a crime that cries out for vengence like the blood of Abel, and if you support it well.....prosterity will take its turn. Let us all call evil evil, injustice injustice, and crime a crime and, then we can move forward. i hope to hear from you again possibly by the time you have done some bit of investigative journalism concerning this issue. Inform us correctly and we shall be happy with you okay. For your information I am a Catholic priest (Fr. Canice, C.S.Sp) and know what I am talking about here. All I am saying my dear Linder is that we should not allow these people to continue to deceive us with their lies. Peace be to you all lovers of TRUTH!

frcanicenjoku said...

My dear Linda, thanks for this your information about this Radison Blue Hotel. With utmost and all due respect am sure you have been cowed and can not yourself cow every other person. Before you post things like this i advice you to investigate the truth very well irrespective of who is involved and for your integrity as an information provider. I have taken time to read all the comments generated by your "supposedly innocent post." Unfortuately only a few are absolutely, I repeat absolutely correct, and this is the fact that the workers were laid of because they demand to have a Union. Like one of the respondants asked: " Is it a crime to have a workers union"? If you were laid of in this manner would you come here to tell they are renovating? My kid sister had worked with them for at least three to four years now only to come back tomorrow to inform us that they have all been sacked with only two months salary. In order to cover this heinous injustics all the management did was to rush to the press to put up this lie. The most unfortunate thing is that one of the top most managers of this hoetl was a director of one of Nigeria's apex bank. did he not enjoy the benefits of Labour union during his working days? I know that as Nigerians we prefer lies more that truth. But do I encourage you to investigate, and do not be an "arm chair reporter." This is a crime that cries out for vengence like the blood of Abel, and if you support it well.....prosterity will take its turn. Let us all call evil evil, injustice injustice, and crime a crime and then we can move forward. i hope to here from you again possibly by the time you have don some bit of investigative journalism. For your information I am a Catholic Priest ( Fr. Njoku Canice, C.S.Sp, if you google this name you will fine me in millions of places), and know what I am talking about. Dear Linder all am saying is that we should not cave in to this blatant lie. Inform us correctly and we shall be happy with you okay. Peace be with you all lovers of Truth.

But think about it, why would a hotel making so much money shut down becuase of a few workers who want to unionise?
I think the renovation story is true.

A world class hotel like Radisson needs to ensure that it remains in optimum working conditions to be able to maintain its standard. Maintenance is still an alien culture in Nigeria. They understand their challenges and want to upgrade. must this be tied to negativity? why did'nt the staff unionise long ago? why now?

Y do we complain about every single thing in this country? D hotel noticed they are having facility issues & decided 2 shut down & upgrade 4 beta services. Hw is dat a problem?

I am indeed saddened by this turn of events and I feel incredibly sorry for the staff but I trust that after the renovation, Radisson will call back its staff

I have been reading all the comments made here and it has raised a number of questions for me. Sentiments aside, and without disrespect to the former staff members oh...
Why would Radisson blu lay off God-knows-how-many-staff members if they didnt really want to renovate? Unionism shey? Okay, if they really dont want unionism and they threatened to sack staff, are we saying it is everyone that would have still stayed triue to the unionism cause? Arent there people who will prefer to keep their jobs than get sacked? Do we realise how much Radisson blu will lose by closing down? The money, the business, lose clientele to competition, lose relationships witrh vendors sef, all because they want to avoid unionism? Haba! Let's think this thing oh! How much or what will the union even ask for that the Radisson will risk losing all these instead? nah mehn! Nah!

If it is true they lay off some workers, then my sympathy. May be they are facing financial crises & laying off staff may be their strategy to curtelail overhead cost. Intrestingly they are renovating. It will be great to see them back in operation soonest.

Tega James said...

It is rare in Nigeria to find an establishment that is more concerned about maintaining and upgrading their facilities. I think Radisson Blu deserves Praise for daring this, despite the amount of business they stand to lose in the interim

Tope Salami said...

My sympathies lie with all the staff members that were let go. Radison Blu needs to give its staff a formal letter staing they will call them back after renovations and give them a reasonable percentage of their salaries while they are off work. The staff members should also desist from slamdunking the business, cos if they blackpaint it, the comapny will spend the percntage they shopuld give them on image recovery campaignoh. the staff should be wise

Nonye Amaechi said...

Radisson Blu wants to renovate ke? A 5-star hotel! Na to say when they come back, dem go don turn 8-star be that abi?

Francine Hart said...

h mu gosh! I hope they dont stay closed down for long oh.. Been dr5eaming of down my pre-wedding shoot there like Anita and Paul did. Later this year sha, maybe Linda and Bella will even cover the shoot

Danjuma said...

I sympathise with the Radisson staff but I am sure the Radisson brand will make things right.

Frauline said...

Ok oh, we have heard you all. These two parties should just sort things out and let the rest of the world hear word ha!

Priscy Diva said...

Oh my days! My weekend getaway spot *sobs*

I so much believe this fool is one of the mgt staff.

Radisson I recommend that when you finally reopen there should be 1 night free for couples. Linda will be my 4 that day

I don't blame you cos it didn't affect anybody you knw. I hope this happens to you or your family members soon so you can stop talking trash

God bless you sir, I really don't knw why Linda is just one sided. I'm too disappointed in you cos you and I used to think you give detailed reports. I pray you don't loose your source of income so as to know how it feels