Second Nigerian hired by the World Economic Forum in Switzerland | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 26 May 2013

Second Nigerian hired by the World Economic Forum in Switzerland

Along with Yemi Babington-Ashaye (the first Nigerian hired - pictured left), Daniel Akinmade Emejulu (pictured right) is now the second Nigerian at the World Economic Forum. Both men are based in the organization's head-office in Switzerland. 

Yemi is a graduate of The Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and Harvard University. A chartered accountant, a short list of his previous experiences include working for GE (General Electric) in London, the Industrial Technology Research Institute (ITRI) in Taiwan and as a Technical Adviser on Economic Growth to then Minster of Finance, Olusegun Aganga. Continue...

Daniel is a graduate of The School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) at the University of London and holds a masters degree from Duke University. A qualified lawyer, some of his prior experiences include working for Simmons & Simmons in London, the Red Cross in Nigeria (northern), Professor Jonathan B. Wiener and the United Nations Office in Vienna. 

The World Economic Forum have over 500 members of staff, representing more than 55 nationalities. Candidates short-listed there can go through weeks of up to ten interviews for just one position! It is an independent international organization committed to improving the state of the world by engaging business, political, academic and other leaders of society to shape global, regional and industry agendas. 

65 comments:

This is impressive, good ones guys.

FEW reasons like this make me smile and melt my heart at the fact that am a Nigerian. Yemi and Daniel, thanks for making us proud! Lofty heights reached here indeed!

Sharon Obuns. said...

Awwww. Am happy for Daniel.

Sorem said...

and dese r gud lukn men makn dis country proud!

wow! N handsome too... Congrats

TIRED OF STUBBORN FAT??? CLICK HERE said...

wow this is commendable

Wow, these young men have great CV's... I hope to get there soon

Kudos 2 u yemi and daniel..make una make us proud so world people go know say we sef get brain when it comes 2 serious matters about life not only killing,fraud and drugs

Dan

THEOGEJ.. said...

Linda,,I dnt knw if Ў☺ΰ take cognizance of d skul dere graduated frm?? Non of d above mention dude attend our Nigerian university..ȋ̝̊̅Ƨ̷̜̌̋ appalling and disgusting đa̶̲̥̅̊τ̲̅ Nigerian universities A̶̲̥̅̊я̣̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ second τ̲̅ȍ non in d community of nations..God help us..

Now this is NEWS, not people buying used car, or savaged cars from auctions across the USA, this what am taking about Ms Ikeji.
Pls STOP the tacky car news!

Janelicious said...

Thumps up

LawAbidingCitizen said...

We welcome such gr8 news,especially in these trying times.

Yoruba people dey go school abeg!!! Go UK, US, Australia, Japan, Ukrain, Cyprus see how many of them schooling ehn charle

I thought yoruba people where animals, loool .
(Sarcasm intended)

missy said...

Wow!!c beautiful credentials!!Yoruba pple can be very intelligent sha oo!Congrats to u two...pls keep on makin us proud!

These men are not Nigerian. They were not born and bred in Nigeria. They only have Nigerian names this all so we cannot lay claim to them.

Yoruba boys repping (Y)

Please one of you guys should come and marry me. That will solve all my problems!!!!

One is igbo,actually, that is Emejulu.

They both studied outside the country...thats sometin we should pick out of it

They re not Nigerians since Micheal Adebolajo is not a Nigerian simply because he carries British Passport. These ones carry British passports too so they re not Nigerian. So please don't lay claim to what does not belong to you.

TKM said...

Akinmade is yoruba! So......ride on my yoruba brothers, true sons of the land not like the bastard michaels that got lured by that evil islamic clan. Men and their dick wey no dey stay one place! Na father Abraham cause am with the birth of Ishmael, if not we would have nothing like Islam! *deep sigh*

fly guy said...

But u no claim woolich killers ooo

Congrats to both! However, the world economic forum is so full of it. These positions have been filled yet they were still advertising for it as at last week. You see why some people don't bother with these?

The same way they are repping at Woolwich.

Sorry to dissapoint u there...yemi had his secondary education in naija.so schooling in d us now makes u american...haba.

One is yoruba, and the other, Emejulu, is an igbo with yoruba middle name. The most impt thing is that they're both Nigerians.

I will one day be at that World Economic Forum, in my glorified state by God's grace.
You will all say I said so.

Nice CV guys

EMEJULU is my cousin and full blooded IGBO!

For all you know these men were in Nigeria up until it was time for university education. Let us only not say what you don't know. It is not uncommon for Nigerians to go and study/work abroad from age 18 onwards. They have also shown interest in Nigeria for coming to work here too. Let us celebrate them abeg. Our own time will come soon.

kunle said...

These are youth are Nigerians and let's stop being tribal. It takes us no where but always think one Nigeria. Congrat to them.
discover secrets to losing some weight and eating healthy

Abi o, thank God for us. Soon, my folks from d other tribe will start cursing. Up yoruba!

kunle said...

These youth are Nigerians and let's stop being tribal. Congrat to them.
discover secrets to losing some weight and eating healthy

Omo make una leave them Naija moves on because of the Brainy yoruba guys,igbo,and hausa,Nigeria is one and we are indeed great and exceptional even in the midst of our troubles...or do u think it is easy to be the most populos black nation in the world..God bless both of them that made us proud,God bless our citizens bless and protect Naija always amen...check for Indepth Findings ltd a great brand management co..

Tomi said...

@ anonymous may 26, 01:25pm, heavens punish u. U n ur entire family are animals. idiot. Little wonder u couldnt spell 'were' correctly. Tribalistic moron (no sarcasm intended)

That's what one achieves when they aren't as jobless as u r

Babarian. I expected an animal to attach such to some tribal rivalry. Anyways emejulu is Igbo. Have ibo friends with dat name.

--Teeteelahyo--

Thank u!! Lol.. Teeteelahyo

U beta shutup and don't say wat ure not privy to. These ones are differnt from dos bastards u compare dem wit. Daniels, I knw was my mate @ the Nigerian Law schl, Bwari. Dos stupid murderers avnt even bin to naija b4. Pls think well b4 u type. Tnks.

They both visit Nigeria often and carry Nigerian passports in addition to any other one.

I knew Yemi, he iz from abeokuta, ogun boy. we are reppin hard. see our list of famous ppl on wikipedia, u go bow...

Daniels Father is from Onitsha in Anambra State and his mum from Ilesha in Osun State. He completed his NYSC service to Nigeria September 2012. He is very much Nigerian.

COMMENT OF THE CENTURY! by Anonymous 2:23 PM:

"They re not Nigerians since Micheal Adebolajo is not a Nigerian simply because he carries British Passport. These ones carry British passports too so they re not Nigerian. So please don't lay claim to what does not belong to you." GBAM!

missy said...

@Anon 2.02 n TKM,no nid to drag,I guess his mum is yoruba n his dad is igbo hence d name n surname...

sQo said...

Lool see their CVs

My yoruba folks representin!Kip makin us proud!

priviledged background yemi's mum was former MD of cornerstone insurance, is late Dad was a very successful account anfd former president of ICAN.He actually made good use of his background

Dis is a true Nigerian not those 2 idiots de r imposing on us. God bless u guys. We r proud of u

Linda kindly DM me their contacts sharply! Am crious o ehn!

Yemi was born n raised in lagos

Daniel is from Anambra state, onitsha town. His mum is yoruba and his dad is frm onitsha... for those claiming he is yoruba common sense should tell u from his surname that he is yoruba....

Reading articles like this is a challenge for me as an aspiring career lady! Indeed the Nigerian environment does not offer the opportunity to work and gather knowledge/experience in various firms (within a short period) and areas different from our course of study that is why we are local champions!

Gosh! It is good to be vast (and study abroad)!

Yoruba Mum2Three said...

Scientific Fact: A child inherits the brain of his/her mother.....Daniel go and "dobale" (prostrate) for your mother like a true yoruba boy and thank her for her brain!hehhhehehehh

I know the Daniel guy.we were classmates in lawskl Abuja.oh wow......gud for him o.

Cee Jay said...

God bless them! God bless me!! God bless Nigeria!!!

but we av fa 2 go in dis country it is why only 2 ot ouf of all awa population reach that place. See how something butiful az turnd in2 tribal battle. We r just mezzed up.
Linda said that dese boys are among oyinbo’s from 55 countrees, that is to say they must be seeing demselves as international persons not village/tribe people meanwile we r hea arguing wich villag n tribe d r. Worl people no de rest! God help us. For dos who av turned dis very butiful achivment, into tribal fite u should ALL be ashamed of urself. As for me I join dose celebrating des men, but I pray for my sons to be greater than dis self.

Aww I know Daniel he is awesome :)

Daniel is also a relative of mine and is equally Yoruba. FYI (Anon 3:23pm) nobody is fully blooded anything. Stop being a customary village chief, and read yourself a book on global human migration and common ancestry. Hiss! PS (Anon 1:48pm) - He did primary school and secondary in Lagos. Double hiss.

Nice one guys am happy for u..coz I knw ur family will b proud of u...this is to show the level of education and commitment in our country...we av so many talent in dis country bt we don't av enough industries that can help us out to produce them...its a pithy dey all skul and gain experience abroad nt in our country nigeria...and for u guys dat are after tribe and religion,u will never grow if u dnt repent And respect each other...we need love nt lost..congratulations guys am happy for u as a brother frm another mother...plz bring dis luck to improve our economy...

I know Daniel from childhood, growing up. He is very much a Nigerian doing Nigeria proud in diaspora, also hes really a cool person to know.

pc, are u this jobless? Must you comment on every post? Guy, you really suck. And mind you, there are no illiterates here on LIB, all this ur thesaurus perusing is just crap. What class are u sef, hw old are u? Just get a life and stop being a kid u jobless cunt.

linlin, post my comment make dis kid go sit down.

Lets give glory to God for these two brilliant Nigerians. I know Yemi very well. He carries only Nigerian passport. Both parents read Accountancy in London and became members of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria in 1979. His mother is a tax specialist and an educator. She was a former Chairman of Ogun State Internal Revenue Service.

Future Ministers. Watch out for their pictures in FEC Meetings.

Just see de Power of Yoruba names...

Adeyemi: The crown suits me
Akinmade: The one who takes the crown

Yoruba people do this from a child's birth and it comes to a true reality. So their names have realized.