Nigeria JCI president, deputy die in fatal auto crash | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 28 May 2013

Nigeria JCI president, deputy die in fatal auto crash

The national president of the Nigerian chapter of Junior Chamber International, Oyebanjo Okunuga (pictured left) and his deputy, Agaptus Nnadiekwe (pictured right), died on Sunday May 26th in a fatal auto accident while returning to Lagos after attending a collegiate conference at Federal University of Technology Akure, Ondo state.

The vehicle they were traveling in crashed, killing Oyebanjo and Agaptus, while the executive secretary survived. He's currently receiving treatment at Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospital.

Apart from being Nigeria JCI president, Oyebanjo was the CEO of Kubacle Clothing, - a clothing company and also CEO of Business Craft Solution, - an entrepreneurship development organization He was 32 years old. May their souls rest in peace...amen.

162 comments:

Oh No! such a young chap! ohh this is such a terrible loss for his family. may his soul rest in peace and his family be consoled

Na waoooo RIP

I seem to know the guy on the right. he is quite familiar but cant remember where. oh my! may their souls rest in peace.

Good Grief!!I'm so scared to death!Death pls leave us alone.May God console his family.#Sobs#

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

The devil is scared to even visit Nigeria cause he himself might just die in the country.!

Great guy! May his soul RIP pray God consoles his pregnant wife and the entire family so so sad.
our roads are death traps seriously!!!

SO SO SAD,BANJO AND ASSISTANT REST ON

When I heard this I felt it deep like they were my siblings, so sad when young and promising folks pass away, how saddening! May God grant their families the fortitude to bear this huge loss, Amen!

Oby Azike said...

Rest in peace

obyazike.blogspot.co.uk

Fine, young promising Nigerians just snuffed out lk dt. May their soul rest in peace

What a world may their souls rest in peace.

Linda you don't use 'died and fatal' at the same time. They died in an auto crash or they were involved in an accident and it was fatal.

Onuoha Uchechi said...

wow....AMEN!! All this young people dieing.

Agadi Tony Nduka said...

May his so rest in peace... AMEN!

kunle said...

This is tragic and pathetic. Very painful when they are carrying out the assignment that will better this nation. May their souls rest in perfect peace and wish the secretary quick recovery with peace. Hope their works continue to linger.
discover secrets to losing some weight and eating healthy

Gbabe said...

Omg....r.i.p

some lady hart has been broken and shartted....smart young men...rest in peace...snd the single ladies left behind, time will heal

RIP SIR. This life is indeed short.

Ba

sad one indeed, Condolences to their families and all Nigerian JCI members

Sad face....oooooGod hmmmm.....what a life !kai!may his soul rest in peace.so sad.

Rip

It is very heartbreaking... Agaptus Obiora until his death was a member of my society in church.... he will be truely missed
May they RIP, Amen

It is very heartbreaking... Agaptus Obiora until his death was a member of my society in church.... he will be truely missed
May they RIP, Amen

Ameriestyle said...

So Sad, rest in peace
www.ameriestyle.com

Unfulfil dreams.God knows best

may their souls rest in perfect peace..... hmmm what a big loss. Ndidiamaka .I.

May their soul rest in peace!

Rest in peace Banjo & Agaptus

Ovoko said...

so sad......RIP !

missy said...

May their souls RIP...

News of death everywhere. Jesus have mercy on us. Mother Mary help us.

Gift Amadi said...

My friend went to d same program d̶̲̥̅ey were coming from, may his soul rest in d Lord *sobs*

May their soul R I P

Kai..this is serious o.....what a waste of promising lives....RIP

bimsoty said...

So painful n so young!RIP

Engr. Oge said...

It hurts to see young people die in their prime. My prayers of condolence goes to the Oyebanjo and Nnadiekwe families. Eternal rest grant their souls oh Lord and let thine perpetual light shine upon them. Also pray speedy recovery for the injured Executive Secretary.

May their souls rest in peace.

Tcream4u said...

May their soul rest in peace.***sad face*****

Lindaaaaaaaaaaaaa, you have just killed me. Oyebanjo is my friend on fb.... He was very close to my cousin. We still chatted recently.. How come I haven't heard?? This is so sad sha.

Adieu Friends, this is quite unfortunate. Banjo , remembering when we joined LASUJC years back, your dreams , aspirations all gone. Banjo , probably the youngest president JCINigeria ever produced.

RIP BanjoAgaptus

oyindamola Akerele said...

NP( Banjo) and EVP Area A - Agaptus , Genetically ,we're not related , culturally we're diverse buh the creed as united us . Rest in the bossom of the Lord . We'll miss you our great heros

princess dee said...

Oh no!!!may the souls of these fine gentlemen rest in peace..I blame nig govt!!Our roads are never motorable.Travelling within Nigeria is very risky.May God order our steps,amen.

Ada Ejike Onyeama said...

May their soul find eternal rest. Amen.

cherykoko said...

So sad. RIP. But the state of our roads sha...death trap toh badt. Na only God dey save us o.

What a sad story. May there soul rest in peace God knows best

ebi said...

My np rip. May God grant ur mum, wife n daughter the fortitude to bear the loss. EVP Agaptus fare thee well. We shall on the ressurection morning. God pls heal George n Ikenna

Zombie, u obviously hv no reasonable contribution than to point out grammatical blunders. Open ur own blog make we see na. Senseless critic!

Bro banjo may ur soul rest in perfect peace... Still shockin but God loves u more.

Rest in Peace Banjo and Agaptus...

Gentletee said...

So so sad. This is disastrous! My heart goes out to their respective families. Oh Lord grant them the fortitude to bear this monumental loss. Really sad. www.gentletee.blogspot.com

RIP JCIN Amb. Oyebanjo Okunuga 2013 National President of JCI Nigeria and JCIN Amb. Nnadiekwe Agaptus 2013 Executive Vice President Area A.....I that God give their families the fortitude to bear this great loss

Service to humanity is d best work of life! Wit tears in ma eyes.i pray ur souls rest in peace. Indeed u dead as grt men. Am jci lom vp in ma sch .

tyffany said...

God have mercy on the living souls... May their souls Rest In Peace...

Baby Confessor said...

Somebody should wake me up!!! Still in shock!! RiP Boss!! And we chatted 2 days b4 the insidence

I ran some test on them in oauthc , I was on call then didn't know they were. This young , God heal the two other survivor n may d dead rip

t said...

o my God. They must have been especially good guys. Sad, shocked. May God bless their loved ones, and may we always remember their good lives. Amen.

Amen! He left behind a young wife and a 3yr old daughter. ( -̩̩̩͡˛ -̩̩̩͡)

This annoymous reader dat is correcting blunder wen pple are dead...are you ok? Or u are definitely mad? U can only choose one!

I ran some test on them in oauthc , I was on call then didn't know they were. This young , God heal the two other survivor n may d dead rip

Mumu, aproko, itk when you say fatal does not mean everybody died. So yes you can say someone died in a fatal accident and you can also say someone survived a fatal accident. Mtchewww. May their soul RIP

Linda, thanks for publishing it. This shows you really listen to your readers.can't stil get over the shock of their sudden death. The late Banjo and I were in LASU,I was actually the chapter president then when he joined the organization. He was such a vibrant leader. May their souls continue to rest in perfect peace- Amen!

Still in great shock!...rest in peace great men of JCI...u surely will b missed:-(

When we left Akure, I tot I was still going to see NP and EVP Area A. Whenever I see the picture he took @ Idanre hill, I can't but cry. You stay as National President imparted in my life. Its a big blow to JCI Nigeria and JCI world at large. RIP... Thank God for the successful surgery of ES and NT.... JCI EKSU bid NP and EVP area A adieu

Sincere George said...

May the good lord we serve give the families the heart to bear the lost. Amen. Rip

Chi chi said...

Anon 7:34, you are just a typical NG Md. I guess what happened to confidentiality. Na wah oh sometimes I wonder if NG md's need the Hippocratic oath. Long hissssssssssssss.
May the souls of the departed RIP!

adieu guys. Dnt knw u but ds is so painful. May God grant ur families d fortitude to bear ds irreparable loss. O lord av mercy

Death, you should have taken 100 boko haram members and leave these promising young men alone. What a great loss to the Nation.

may his soul rest in peace

May their souls rest in perfect peace...Amen.

Fool and even a frog isn't as ignorant as u are. Naija is d least of ur problems. Ur ignorance might just kill u.

--Teeteelahyo--

IRENE, JCI said...

I saw you on Wednesday when i came to see you with my boss(your brother), I remember when I was called on Sunday at 4pm by my boss to get someone down to OAUTHC, you were alive but in pains but you still hung in there. At 7pm I was shocked to my marrow when I heard of your death. I had sworn it was a rumour but I realised it was true in the end. OYEBANJO OLADEJI OKUNUGA, MY NATIONAL PRESIDENT, may your beautiful soul rest in peace. Adaptus may your soul rest in peace. JCI will never forget your selfless service to humanity.

Olodo!

by4mary said...

Over sabi,trying to correct something that is correct in its original form. May the souls of the dead rest in peace!

May their souls rest in eternal peace. African roads will be the end of us all. Please fellow Africans let us learn to follow traffic rules and drive responsibly. Remember it is not only you on the road but others too. Reckless driving, inexperienced drivers, driving under influence and irresponsible behaviour are the main reasons for the high road carnage in Africa.

L Y N N P O P E S said...

May the souls of the departed through the mercy of God, rest in peace, amen!

What a sad story....may d Lord give their families d. Fortitude to bear d Loss, RIP BanjoAgaptus!

zoomzoomzoom said...

May their souls rest in peace.

9jadeltapikin... said...

Naijadeltapikin... Prince charming wetin U̶̲̥̅̊ do 4 lindus this few days she Ȋ̊§ always taking out most of U̶̲̥̅̊я comment y abi I D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ yarwn op nii

On behalf of every member of JCIN The Federal Polytechnic Ilaro we say RIP Oyebanjo Okunuga and Agaptus Nnadiekwe. You will forever remain in our hearts... WE LOVE YOU

RIP, lord cover d family.

The greatest shock of my life is the news of the death of friends whom we schooled together and joined an active citizens framework to better our lives and impact our environ.

Banjo is even closer, we lived in same environ for many years, sat out some mornings and evenings sharing ideas...

I suppose we need to learn some lessons from this tragedy. Though in tears as I write, and I do not apportion blames to the departed souls, however, I am of the suggestion that people at the rear seats of vehicles should please endeavour to use the seat belt while on journeys. I am thinking the lives of Ikenna Onwuka (National Treasurer) and George Onuma (Executive Secretary) currently in ICU at the UCH, Ibadan were saved by the grace of God and the use of seat belt. Oyebanjo and Agaptus seated at the rear as it is the norm on this part of the world were not on seat belt I suppose, hence the more impact of the incident on them and their eventual passing on to glory...

Adieu great colleagues, I pray that the Lord will fill the vacuums you have left behind in both families.

I also pray that the Lord quicken the recovery of George Onuma and Ikenna Onwuka.

Tragic, gory, indescribable a loss this is to us, we will miss you so much.

May ur souls rest in God's Bossom Agaptus my dear friend can't believe sitting down next to u on d Election day was d last time I was goin to see u nd listen to ur jokes nd political stunts..Our Lady of Fatima Aguda Board of Lectors will miss u so much.

May their souls rest in perfect peace.

jcyexy said...

May their soul rest in perfect peace...u ve indeed live a good life.jcin mourns

jcyexy said...

May their soul rest in perfect peace...u ve indeed live a good life.jcin mourns

na wa ooo. may theri souls rest in perfect peace.

Angela Gapa said...

Recently the JCI Zimbabwe assistant also died in a car crash. So sad.

na wa a

OMG Banjo my head is pounding. We were classmates in primary school and in UI together briefly. I just realized that he hadn't put p anything on Facebook in a while. This is soo soo sad.may God comfort his family and his wife and daughter....may both their souls rest in peace and may God comfort all those left behind....the deplorable state of our highways Lord have mercy

Service τ̅☺ humanity remains d best of work life Np banjo, EVP Agaptus you both hav done ur part. RIP. PtI LOP

Angela Gapa said...

Recently the JCI Zimbabwe assistant also died in a car crash. So sad.

Linda is correct cos in this instance someone survived so while the accident was fatal there was a survivor hence someone died in a fatal accident as not all fatal accidents kill all!!! Naija Naija Jesus

May their soul Rest peacefully

Young promising men.may there soul rest in peace.
Pls wat JCI n wat is d org al about?

Hot Naija Parties said...

Very very sad Japheth Omojuwa was a past president of this club omojuwa.com how can promising young men like this just past away this is sad

Prince jobless,enroll 4 comedy. U re a clown.

May their souls rest in the bossom of the lord.

Can u shut up if u hv nufin reasonable 2 say.....RETARD!!!

JCI in full means Junior Chamber International, an organisation of young people with a vision 'to be the leading global network of young active citizens'...

This is done by 'providing development opportunities that empower young people to create positive change'..

In essence, the organisation seeks to mould young people into better personalities who will in turn impact their environment to deliver better societies all around.

You can also visit www.jci.cc for further information about the organisation.

RIP Banjo. JCI will miss u so much.

Agaptus is from my city LOM. Mat their souls rest in perfect peace. Amen!

ISRAEL said...

D qtn is,why do bad things happens to good people and good things happens to bad people?God knows best!RIP brothers.JCIN let's watch n pray!!!

aiye doro...

ISRAEL said...

D qtn is,why do bad things happens to good people and good things happens to bad people?God knows best!RIP brothers.JCIN let's watch n pray!!!

ij bby said...

God rest their souls! Chai, such cute young guys.

Oh!Heartbreaking!

Chidozie Mario said...

Chai, may their souls rest in peace.

@9jadeltapikin...; Comment removed my "author"(writer), what does that imply to you? I am the writer/author of that comment and not Linda, I deleted it myself ok? Get a blogger profile and you can delete your own comments.

Kaythinks said...

RIP bros

Banjo was a former classmate and friend of mine. He did/achieved a lot in his short life. I'm so sad. My heart is with his family especially his wife and young daughter. RIP Banjo.

GossipBoyz said...

Rest in Peace guys..The Lord grant their families the fortitude to bear their losses

PHOTOS: Live from BIG BROTHER 'The Chase' as two housemates share passionate kiss in bed...See HERE

May their souls rest in the Bosom of our lord!

He was married n had a child.

CTM said...

Banjo but why, so many questions buh no one to answer. I remember back in Lasu,Dept of Chemistry. How can I forget the days of Kubacle. You used to come to Agboroko @ Equity chambers to see ur bestie Kunle. Not forgetting how u nurtured me in JCI Lasu. Those conferences we attended together, how u made d room lively with ur jokes and ur every smilling face. Banjo u loved ur mother sooooo much, why did u leave her. JC FRESH as u preferred to be called, words cannot describe how I felt on monday when I heard the sad news of ur death. Till we meet to part no more RIP Oyebanjo Okunuga... May God console ur mum, wife, kid, brothers and JCI worldwide.

god is this our people die. still saw him speak at my school before living. may his soul rest in peace.

May his rest in peace.such a fine young man *sad* .ammie

Blazygurl said...

Omg! I feel for The wife. God is by your side dear

Rest in peace brothers. No more worry, no more pain, no more heartbreaks. It's all bliss now!!!!

SIMPLYCOCK said...

RIP. You guys are better off now jare. Stupid world...

saliu temitope folasayo said...

its very sadden loosing important figures of junior chamber international.i saw the president when my bus is moving out of the hotel room thatparticular sunday at helena hotel akure.very accommodating,easy going and somebody worthy of a leader.RIP NP and EVP.

Greatken said...

Talkloaded.com

RIP........

God must this fool always open his stinking mouth. Pj,u r simply a WASTE. Gosh!cannot believe you have naija blood running in ur vein,ewu punjab....Peaches says so

So shaken....RIP Banjo n Agaptus
Peaches

Eeeyah. May is soul rest in perfect peace.

http://Cash4Visits.com/ref.php?refId=201676 open this link and make cool cash online

The way pple die dis days ehn

Meanwhile
Tonto dikehs f**king loves dogs
https://yomiafolabi.blogspot.com/2013/05/tonto-dikehs-huge-soft-spot-for-dogs.html?m=1

Madam chi chi why d long hiss,what is wrong with anon 7:34's comment eh,u want to tell us u knw abt d hippocratic oath, my guess u failed out of med sch,pele o. Eternal rest grant them o lord.

ADORE said...

God rest their gentle souls

Our Correspondent said...

So heartbreaking. I was with these guys shortly after my birthday bash on Saturday night, saw them watching Football. I wanted to come to the Banquet but was too tired to attend. Next day, that was on Sunday, one of our members pinged me and broke the news to me, I told him, it's a lie. Haa! Death has taken Banjo and his vice away.... God help us and protect the rest of us throughout this Lom year. RIP my friend and great leader. God help us. Pye

Rest in peace brothers

SO SAD, RIP DUO. MAY GOD ACCEPT YOUR SOULS.

bee said...

Hmmmm...painful!painful!!painful!!!loss...RIP young ones!!

So so sad......I was @ d conference 4a drama performance......God help us....God save us all

May their gentle souls rest in peace. Amen. Too sad.

Kenturky said...

Oh no. Such a sad story. May your souls rest in peace. Please God grant these families the fortitude to bear this loss.

OGUNLADE USMAN OLAROTIMI BLACKKY said...

Hmmmmm...... Oh Death where is thy Stings? Oh Banjo NP and Agaptus EVP who happens 2 be my own boss in JCI South West, hmmmmm..... Just don't know what to say other than Guys U've done ur part and continue to rest in the bossom of the Lord, 'Gbogbo wa la da agbada iku' Meaning: we are all gonna die someday. RIP brothers Till we meet to path no more.

BLACKKY.

OGUNLADE USMAN OLAROTIMI BLACKKY said...

Hmmmmm...... Oh Death where is thy Stings? Oh Banjo NP and Agaptus EVP who happens 2 be my own boss in JCI South West, hmmmmm..... Just don't know what to say other than Guys U've done ur part and continue to rest in the bossom of the Lord, 'Gbogbo wa la da agbada iku' Meaning: we are all gonna die someday. RIP brothers Till we meet to path no more.

BLACKKY.

jauntysmiles said...

I saw dem d morning we were leavin Akure. nevaknew is my last. JAYCEEES morun u were d Presidentfor all. rest in perfect peace

oh noo! Whyyyyy, so sad, so sad....THE GREMLIN IS SPEECHLESS!

So sad, may God help their families. It just hurts so much : (

ebonyberry said...

omg.may their souls rest in peace...really sad....i rep JCI

Her Excellency said...

Find rest in d bossom of d Lord NP n Vice

I saw Banjo on 30th April with his family after a very long time. We were all on a queue waiting to be served and he was playing and running after his little girl. I didn't have a chance to say hello to him, but for some reason I always remembered the scene of him running to catch his daughter who was just having fun.

I am still in shock and this only reminds me that we are here for a while, and we all someday will leave this earth. My heart goes to his wife, daughter and Mother...

I know you are in a better place Banjo and your legacy will go on. God will give us all the strength to bear the loss.

Adaptus, my heart goes to your family, friends and colleagues.

Rest in peace Banjo and Adaptus.

Damie O. said...

Banjo was my cousin. A young man, newlywed with a loving wife and a gorgeous toddler daughter; He was destined for greatness. His life was too short but his impact on people was magnanimous. He will be missed.

Thank you for honoring him on this blog.

God Bless

Its Really Sad & Hrtbrkn. May Their Souls Find Eternal Rest In The Bossom Of The Lord.

Painful & Hrtbreaking. May Their Souls Find Eternal Rest In The Lord's Bossom.

May the souls of these young, vibrant, hard-working, gentlemen rest in peace. We believe that faith in God gives meaning and purpose to human life. Lord preserve us from the tragedies of this world. Pétérù 4 OAU jaycees

What a great loss! These are gems, may the souls of these young, vibrant, hard-working, gentlemen rest in peace. We believe that faith in God gives meaning and purpose to human life. Lord preserve us from the tragedies of this world, that our lives shall have meaning we pray thee. Pétérù Kíladéjo 4 OAU jaycees

RIP Banjo and Adaptus.

i met him for the first time when when jci had there conference in Abuja this April.so sad to find out that he is late.....may his gentle soul rest in perfect peace.

We'll miss you Banjo. Loved and admired your passion. RIP

So sad my fellow JCs. may your souls rest in peace.

Chi chi said...

Anon @May 29, 2013, 8:27 AM
Unfortunately, God is not man. I left Med school when you were probably struggling with WAEC and JAMB or better still you are one of those low standard private Unis. You know what? I have practiced in different environs and have seen how NG Mds run into trouble for unguarded utterances just because they fail to read btw the lines. Good luck to you if you are one of those.

generic propecia propecia cost canada - how to order propecia

buy tramadol online tramadol for dogs expiration date - buy tramadol hydrochloride usa