VIBE names R.Kelly the Greatest Musical Genius Since 1993 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 13 April 2013

VIBE names R.Kelly the Greatest Musical Genius Since 1993

In their '20 Greatest Musical Geniuses Since 1993' list which was released this week, Vibe Magazine gave R.Kelly the number spot. See the top 10 below and tell us if you agree...

10. Missy Elliot
9. RZA
8. Thom Yorke
7. Timbaland
6. Jay Z
5. Notorious B.I.G
4. Diddy
3. Dr Dre
2. Kanye West
1. R. Kelly

161 comments:

Where is 2pac....... Abiola Collins say so

rachel said...

Congratz to him..

ALORLONDON said...

I totally agree. Kells is the man any day.

Is dis base on fans ratings/ votings..whichever. Buh me don't go wif dis.

aduke said...

I love me some R.kelly, very talented and most of his songs are hits, however, I think is sooo underrated...don't see him @ award shows, n he dosent get awards but he is such an excellent song writer

Yes o R.kelly is a genius.. His lyrics are on point and are not unreal *Floetry in motion*

once a chic said...

be4 nko? na Dbanj? or bonario via 3310? abegi linda pls post internet worthy gist, no waste my internet browsing time, well sha more grease to your elbows.

SUNSHINE said...

Yeah.
He deserves it.
He sings like an angel....

Well deserved...as in relation musical prowess and worldwide appeal over the years. He has ruled the R&B scene.

Judging from by the aforementioned names,I quite agree with them. He has proved it overtime,be it RnB,hiphop,gospel etc. he has always shown class.

R.kelly deserves it

R Kelly is the greatest musical genius of our time! I agree with this 100%. I love R Kelly so much so that I know how to sing all his songs. In fact I love every song by this man! I know you all are going to deviate to his “Child Abuse” saga. Please keep it within his music not personal life. It says musical genius not “personal life” please!!!!

Aymii said...

All I can say is ....FINALLY!!!!!..........An award that is worthy of this hip hop Beethoven!!!!...........................I was wondaring for a long time if I was d only one feelin the musical Superiority of this nigga!......ah luv kanye ooo!!!!............but give it to kells!!!!!!!!.....Nobody sings like this nigga.....And Nobody will eva sing like this same nigga!.........FINAlLY!!!!

hummmmmm,not bad cos am a fan of kelly but Tupac not on that list..Come on guys!!! This guy was the best ever

Anybody can say anything.....

I agree with Kayos being the first! The guy is d bomb in both lyrics n vibes! Luv him!

Yes I agreed once kanyE wEst was the second person......mouth bend. {~}`
................Ogaoooooooooooo

Pinkfunky said...

What a beautiful black man!

Yay!my dream man.Go kels!

Wow, what happens to usher and micheal jackson? Well cool list tho

Well deserved!

Find out who naija's most stylish brides are here www.soladunn.blogspot.com

Aymii said...

Diddy no 4....hell No!....(Except say u wan look @ the fact he discovered B.I.G.....and mary .J Blige).....Not for personal skillz though!.............I like RZA @ No 9...cool!!!. Ah grew up lisnin to Wu tang clan!......who tha hell is thom yorke?...the rest of them be okay though.....Notorious should always be. Ahead of Jay Z!.....Although I don't c no Amaru shakur!...?????????? (Am no fan of him....prefer biggie..but still....Shakur deserves 2 b listed!...........kick out Thom worreva!)........And put shakur!

Totally agree with the first position but timberland shoulda be number 5 naaaa and Nototious BIG should just continue to RIP
Honney

MJJ is missing in d list.

Wow kanye came second, am happy for him

Nas is disturbingly underrated

Kanye west should be somewhere bhind timberland if he has to be on this list at all. God forbid!

creamy said...

I agree with only R.kelly's position, who dash kanye #2

U deserve it rkelly,congrats. Lindachukwu ikeji post my comment. Sassy

SHUKURAH said...

Diddy aka Mr Remix at #4? Na beans?

As for Elliot, r Kelly, Dre and Timbaland....I agree :).

--Teeteelahyo--

SHUKURAH said...

Freal. I will switch that #4 spot with him than stupid Diddy aka Mr kill careers/self promoter

R.Kelly is for sure the world's greatest when it comes to music but his personality is not doing him well at all.

Kester said...

One can't but agree that R. Kelly has dominated the musical landscape in the Last 10 years when one consider songs made, written and produced by R. Kelly. Over 200 songs written for other artists as at date amongst which are:

Do What You Gotta Do - 112 (written and produced)
You Are Not Alone - Michael Jackson (written and produced)
Cry - Michael Jackson (written and produced)
One More Chance - Michael Jackson (written and produced)
Back & Forth - Aaliyah (written and produced)
Age Aint Nothing But A Number - Aaliyah (written and produced)
Fortunate - Maxwell (written and produced)
Men Like Us - Gerald Levert (written and produced)
Someone To Love - Johnny Gill (written and produced)
Good Life - Sparkle (written and produced)
More & More - Joe (written and produced)
Make You My Baby - Joe (written and produced)
Rose - Billy Ocean (written and produced)
Everything's So Different Without You - Billy Ocean (written and produced)
Start Again - Vanessa Williams (written and produced) etc.

R. Kelly is truly a musical monster. Let us give it to him.

R Kelly rilly deserves this 100%.... I dnt quite agree wiv sum names here sha... oh well

ABSOLUTELY!!!!!!

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

I just knew d 2pac core fans will nt let us hear word!!! But Rkelly is jus amazing tho.

and wiv dat, am off to waptrick to download "more and more"... Damn ! ! ! ! I miss dah song die... Am gon sleep berra tonite

ah ah...wey Tupac now? Ol' boy just died for nothing making enemies with music!

Music is a soul food and r.kelly over feeds us with varities,he's not only good,he's the king...chima.

Its about time ds guy gets some recognition for hs contribution to d music industry in dat america.

If notorious could make d list,where's my shakur? Dis ppls sef wit their magomago!! Yeah Rkell deserve It sha !!! Madam nawa 4u o̶̷̩̥̊͡oo°˚˚˚° ,u no dey gree paste my comment.

Liars! Biggie has nothing on 2pac c'mon even Kanye took after his ways. Every other thing is aite besides tupac not being on the list!!!

where is 2pac?

Ariyike said...

2pac ko ,2short ni .... No one shld come b4 R.kelly... He is d king of RnB...He is RnB itself... He is a pure talent and I'm happy someone is admitting to dt ... And to u dt uncle/auntie dt said usher... Pls next time wait for dem to talk abt david O n Terry G .... Cos u just proved u ve no idea of wot we r saying...

Damochedxb said...

Hahahaha, this is Laughable, Kanye on Number 2? I DISAGREEEEEEEEEEEEEEE WITH THAT ONE!!! WHERE'S EMINEM? VIBE SHOULD HAVE KUKUMA ADDED KIM KARDASHIAN TO THIS LAUGHABLE LIST..*LONGASSHISS*

Tupac not on it. No way! hell naa.

Ariyike said...

Mr Austine Uche... No b Rkelly sing More n More o

Phil Larry said...

R. Kelly is one of the greatest musician that ever lives, Congrats to the world greatest.

A new research prove that social media is not a distraction, rather it boost productivity, Find out here

Abanonu Patrick said...

where is Amaru! R.kelly is a legend no doubt, but not listing shakur in top 10! HELL BULLSHIT TO VIBE! and who the fu*k is thorn?? let me google him sef.

Vibe magazine own rating and sellout..........but am I sure? Just understand ples isi-aki

Kanye , no2? This list is very odd

Rkelly is for sure D greatest musical Genius alive....NT so sure abt d other placements Doh

He derseves it.. Will rate him number any time any day....
Extremely talented but kanye?
Where is my best person tupac?

With all due respect,2Pac is still ahead of all rap hip hop artistes even though we all know R Kelly is super tight I. RnB.
We need to remember the likes of :
Nas the poet
Eminem the all time record breaker.

Tupac can never be replaced in the world of hardcore rap. Tupac had been used as a case study in some many unvisities in America and other continents. In Harvard university tupac was given as a project topic. Tupac is undisputed and still selling as if he exists.

This rating is not based on your money flow but your lyrical genius.... How many artist can do wha the king is doing today? "none"... R kelly is forever genius biko.... Long Live the King Of R'n'b....

Confirm!!!

disagree....

R Kelly, I go with that, but there's no you can fix Biggy ahead of 2pac unless your fucking brain is totally out of function!

Even if he produced white sounds people would have purchased it. He was that good....

Oj said...

R Kelky is the only greatest their.
Where is Mj,rihanna,2pac

afis said...

It high time he is given his right poisition. He had being a king with no crown long enough.

Robert Kelly the piddy Piper deserves the No 1 spot no doubt. The R in the R & B.. Musical Genius..... What else can I say... Best Producer of all time...... But where is Nas, Tupac, Snoop Doggy Dog, Mary J. blige, Babyface,Whitney Houston, Mariah Carey, Celine Deon(white musician) .. Well, Vibe is known for promoting Black musicians and pls what's kanye West doing in No 2 & P. Diddy shldn't be on the list except if for managing (Total, Bigge, faith evans, 112, Mase etc)...

R kelly deserves it.but I don't with some of the names on the list.Besides where is Tupac?the list is nt complete.

Mistr Tee said...

Yeah truly deserved.The king of r&b..@aduke check is wikipedia R.kelly has won all the awards in this world except the oscars for best soundtrack for a movie..Truly deserved Sir...

Sam Oracle said...

I don't care about the position of the other artistes but what the hell is Kanye doing on the number 2 spot? He doesn't even deserve to be on the list.

Absolutely correct!! Kelly my best!!! Who listen to that his song !Echo! Just so amazing!!! I love r.kelly.

For those of us who have followed R. Kelly' musical career wit great passion. I think VIBE has made my sunday morning beautiful. Dis man who is "feeling single" ryt nw deserves it n yes I will love to have me some kells. Kudos to him. LAPE says so

Notorious B.I.G??? But No 2Pac?? Oh pulease...B.I.G was such an ignorant rapper...Gucci down to the socks my a** mtcheeeew. Pac rapped about real life. I'm sure Diddy paid for B.I.G to be on the list. RUBBISH

jenny 4 sure said...

When a woman loves..she loves for real*singing* Kelly baby, e di tooo much,maka Chi.

R.kelly is definetely a force to be reckoned with....love, love, love his music and has written mega hit songs for other artists. Genius!!!

GLAM ME PRO said...

Am super hapy for him , my hubby in d next world he wud still be R.kelly oo else i no go gree. Hes very talented and his songs are superb. Abeg chop kiss !

Imbe, 2pac is dead... He died in the late 90's how can he be on the list?

*****mandy****

Gosh!!! Do you even reason? Michael jackson is dead.. And usher did not start singing in 1993. Please read properly, before you rush to comment..
*****mandy***

Congrat R.kelly

Lobatan....they said musically genius ohh...not the greatest.kanye's position is kinda cool..timbaland,nt sure..diddy's own na dash..nas,where is him?

PathtoGrowth business stories and news said...

Who is R Kelly please? That name Sounds familiar!

topeorekoya.blogspot.com said...

Ds list aint complete without 2Pac. Biggy better than 2pac? Thats a joke.

topeorekoya.blogspot.com

Rkelly totally deserves it and so many awards he never get*thumbs up*. But †Ñ’ε list is somehow except am not seeing kanye on no2 *rolling eyes*mtcheeeeeew

PathtoGrowth business stories and news said...

Who is R. Kele? The name Sounds familiar!

Where is tupac? I never knew one could listen to rap music until I heard'Dear mama'. The first day I listened to it, I had tears in my eyes and I was just in js2. Tupac, Nas and Michael jackson shud av made the list. Congrats to R Kelly tho. He desrved the top spot.IAI

Moisture is d essence of wetness said...

He is in d great beyond where is snoop lion

R.Kelly no1. Is cool but where is Tupac and Eminem of the list. How can Kanye West be ahead of Dr.Dre and B.I.G. Vibes abeg re-park.

And dats my man kels, I love u dis man. So much talent, we don't need no award mehn all those white racists can shove it down their anus as long as ur hard work speaks for itself. Ure a genius indeed and God will continue to bless u. This is d day I've been waiting for, A day when u'll be recognised for all d lives u ve touched thru ur lyrics and vibes. Ure the king of R&B. Keep it up!

Fuck it kanye deserve the first place,its the greatest..

DOMent said...

Happy 4 him he is highly-gifted, multi-talented,a gentleman-I min wat more do we expect,well deserved.

With that mumu calledwest in second, it is obvious the award is another scam. Kelly was used as a front to make it look like they know what they are doing.
Grammy is still music's 'World Cup'.

DOMent said...

I'm happy 4 him,I he is a singer,song writer,producer,actor,instrumentalist-he is d only artist dat can switch his music genres so perfectly-from rnb to pop to hip-hop to gospel and den back to rnb.Super Musician,but not a vert good dancer though. LOL

What's kanye doin on dah list???? Diddy too??? Wherez 2pac and Micheal Jackson???

Abi o,R kelly's position is justified but kanye west rubbish!instead wyclef shud b d 2nd

Yeaa, werz 2pac?

Yeaa! Werz MJ?

Yomslaw said...

Maybe, and Maybe NOT. But what about 2Pack?

As in! I gree

Nas is just underrated. Smh

Sincerely don't have problem with number 1 but where is the street thug on this list...my ambition as a ryder...why won't Tupac be here...his far better than B.I.G...all this things are just politics...Tupac you will always remain my best rapper poet...

Wia is my name nah???! Ehn na me, me nah... M.J

Yea Rmkelly desrvs it but WTF!!!! Is kanye west doin there...rubbish man..pls sm1 shld check if he owns sm part of dis vibe magazine...mstchewww..linda post dis ooo

Mrstsquare said...

R Kelly is number 1-10 for me..the greatest musical genius ever...best song by him is 'forever'...mj can continue from number 11...

Declan said...

Thom Yorke should Have bn #2 or #3. No. Two of his songs are alike in musical scope Or meaning. He's a true Genius nd one of the best male vocalists of all time. I'm a huge fan of his music nd the ones he's done with his band Radiohead nd Atom for Peace.

Why is Celine Dion not on d list. Her voice is heavenly

Eminem should be No 2 in that list although R-kelly deserves No 1 spot.

In the grave....

I support this one Robert Kelly have always been my inspiration since I was a kid.

Constano said...

Kanye 2,Diddy 4? while Nas, Eminem and Pac 15th,17th and 18th respectively.. These vibe guys r smoking illegal substances..he he he..

Hate him or like him Kanye is a musical genius. The guy's behaviour takes away from his talent but he is arguably the greatest rapper since tupac. Sorry o if I made some people tickle. The point is, this guy was able to make people play Jesus songs on the charts. Nobody has ever done that! Jesus walks was a trillion dollar track that was an undeniable success. His first and second album were genius all the way. So, he well deserves that spot. The only problem I have with that list is that 2 pac didn't make the list. But then again he was a legend and should not be in this category I think, especially as MJ, Whitney and Bob marley weren't...

My Oga @ the top, no one like him. F**k #2-#10. NoPac?, Nas??, Snoop???

olili bob said...

i think he has really done well...http://www.gisteyes.com/2013/04/happy-birthday-to-my-boss-jide.html

Idiot...is B.I.G not dead as well. Bunch of illiterates on here who type without thinking.

Tellnaija said...

I think robert kelly's spot is justifiable but kanye's name on that list is a joke. And for gods sake where is Usher raymond

I concur gbakam.

Uche said...

Where is usher and 50 cent

Omas992 said...

R. Kelly is talented.

R.Kelly is awesome, his song 'Echo' is mind blowing.

@ anon 7:23 ur a big fool is notorious B.I.G still alive u r such a dumb ass .mjj is the greates musical icon ever.

R.Kelly is man any day. 'Body's Callin' is my all time favourite, massive hit!

Where is 2pac, Wyclef & Eminem & wts is Kanye West doing dia ? Beyonce nko she has tried too .

Where is Tupac, Wyclef , Beyonce & Eminem ? What is Kanye Doing on d list n in dat position too *scratching ma head*

@Mistr tee Ur a Dump Ass R kelly has never won grammy award.

Miss Ariyike, na Joe sing am, but na R Kelly write and produce d song for Joe to sing... U hia?

U r a dump Ass go and listen to Mjj liberian gal,u will knw Mjj is better than any musician ever that lived .

Lisa, London said...

R.Kelly is the world's greatest! No contest

peeps common! It said musical genius since 1993, bsd mj was strictly pop, tupac strictly hardcore rap, kelly has touched evry genre of music, sampled, mixed, written n sang. Evry1 has flaws so forget his n acknowledge his ability (afterall eminem is a coke buh his stil 1of d best rappers)

Mandy if Mj isn't on the list because he's dead then B.I.G shouldn't be on the list too...

Pls check d list wella.i think its abt pple dat have made/written/produced great sounds and songs. Eminem is covered already cos Dr DRE founded and produced most of his songs. Im nt a fan of kanye,but he has produced killer beatz/songz 4 major artists..R Kelly no doubt is number 1 cos he has written,directed and produced many evergreen songz..if u check in d list,2pac is bn represented by d person dat produced his songz. LINDACHUKWU post my comment OR ELSE u go see GOBE! Sonia...

R kelly shld jst open a music school,and i will be his student..somtimes i wonda what his brain is really made of. This guy is gifted.! Sonia(queennia).

Boring list. In ten years, only jay z, kells and Ye would retain their spots. The list would be dominated by Drake, Lil wayne, John Legend, Niki minaj(in place of missy elliot), chris brown, usher, e.t.c.

********Twizzy*******

@anon 11:27 insultn mistr ...r.kelly has 3 grammy awards for I blv I can fly get ur stpd facts right...

I CONCUR HE IS INDEED

Comon 2pac shld b among

CHRIS said...

R Kelly is the best!!! His songs are class and sooooooooo mature...much love.

Today am really so happy to read about R. Kelly being acknowledged. He is the greatest.

@Glam... U too, try work hard so d@ someone out thr no go gree if u no be em wife for the nxt world. Una too like ready made food.

Ams.

Bea said...

I CONCUR (<_<)

musical geniuses and diddy comes before jay....mshewww

Agree 100%. Don't care about the rest of them.

Totally supported... He i̶̲̥̅̊s trully †Ñ’ε Greatest... W̶̲̥Ñ’a̶̲̥t̲̣̥ i̶̲̥̅̊s Kanye doin i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ num 2 position, Dre shld βε̲̣̣̣̥ given †Ñ’ε̲̣̣̣̥ 2nd followed by Diddy...

Kush Alabi's Blog said...

Kells all the way

Seun Okunola said...

Kelly is the best at what he does. That includes song writing, composition, arrangement and production. But the list is crap if Michael Jackson isn't on it. Even Kelly would tell you MJ is the best anytime anyday. As for the hip hop felas on the list ... my only respected genius would be Timbaland. It takes a bit of genius to work across genres and Timbaland has done just that. He makes the beats and does the music. Kanye is good but i wouldn't rate him as a genius just yet.

ravenmortal said...

Diddy number 4??? Are you frigging kidding me? That he appears on this list makes me question the whole thing!

D list is crap!! Wher's nas, snoop nd pac? Respect to kanyeezy buh he shudn't be on dat list.

Mistr Tee said...

@anon 11:27 i wonder how you manage to get through school or probably you never went to 1.People like you know nothing you must be able to read before you give an answer "dumb ass"

CRIP said...

Garbage list...My number one raper should be on the list.Nas is a classic writer, check out his first album illmatic..its one of the rap classic LPs of all times and he was only 19. One mic, Bridging the Gap, I can, if I ruled the world, Nas is like etc were creative tracks...VIBE should shove up this list up their senseless a***..peace to the black race..CRIP

Kells!! Love it!

wtf!!!where is 2pac,no 2pac no rap.......i really miss him R.I.P PAC hommies really miss you **sad

Please Tupac should be on the list biko. But one of the most influential rappers of our time is Biggie. Most of the rap lyrics we hear today are biggie-inspired. Yes Tupac was a conscious rapper but in terms of delivery and staying power Biggie has outlived him. There are biggie shirt everywhere and biggie even has a movie while Tupac still dey jones. Pls lets give homour to whom honour is due. Long Live B.I.G!!!!! As for R.Kelly being the greatest? I don't know about that. Most of his songs are about sex and stuff which hasn't really being inspiring....Just my own opinion though...

I've been waiting for this.....he deserves it!All u thinking he doesnt deserve it sure don't know good music then.....learners!LadyF says so

Since 2pac is dead that means Notorious Big is alive abi? R.kelly is mos def the greatest.

bliss said...

based on gini? just R&B or general music? jst curious sha. doh i think he deserve d spot he got. kudos Kells

2pac should be the no1 rapper on the list i dont f**king care about there criteria,tupac is an activist his raps based on wot is going on in societies and his rap touches life of poor and encourages NEVER TO GIVE UP!!!like someone said maybe p diddy pay for biggie to be on the list bcos both diddy and biggie are not wot top 10 tho they are good rappers too,,,,am a big fanz of diddy but wen it comes to hardcore rap he cant never be ahead of 2pac...In the list where is mj???why kanye is ahead jay z??cos they said '93 and where is kanye in 90? where is celine dion??Well,we can make our list also...

And wat is kanye west doin @ No 2. ???????..........

Most DEF!!! Im in agreement, he totally deserves it and more...COngrats Kelly!

R kelly deserves it!he's super awesome!michael jackson is way beyond their league!he's d best ever

honestly RKELLY IS one of d best composer in the world

he's one of the best composers in the world

i totally agree, absolutely luv dz guy n hz songs ofcs, lol!

They ain't told no lie

USHER RAYMOND THE GREAT according to Billboard was the number one hot artist of the decades with his album The Confessions and one of d best selling rnb artists of the 1990s as a result of My Way. Books have been written about this great musical figure with The Legendary James Brown dubbing him the GODSON OF SOUL. Anyway, the man is always underestimated. USHER AND MJ ARE IN ANOTHER PLANET SHA AND ARE FAR BEYOUND D LIST. I agree kelis is a genius in songwriting. To me Usher is the greatest thing to ever happen to music from 1987 that he started out in d industry. Even Mj agree with this plus Usher's confessions album surpassed all of kelis album put together. Usher has also been inducted into the Georgia music Hall of Fame and is set to have a star into the Hollywood Walk of Fame before this year ends. To many people all around the universe Usher is a legend of pop only after Mj, The King Of RnB, and an artist who defines music forever,yet highly underrated. Usher is way beyound dat list anyway. He is in d list of legends like Mj, Elvis,PAUL MCCARtney, Bob Dylan, stevie Wonder, James Brown, Prince, Marvin Gaye and The Beatles.

Pple dey sed musical genius...music is nt only abwt singin or rappin it abwt evry tin..
Nd dats y r. Kelly is no 1 nd datz y all doze pple r on..so vibe is correct

Pple dey sed musical genius...music is nt only abwt singin or rappin it abwt evry tin..
Nd dats y r. Kelly is no 1 nd datz y all doze pple r on..so vibe is correct