Reebok drops Rick Ross after date rape lyric controversy | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 April 2013

Reebok drops Rick Ross after date rape lyric controversy

It's finally happened. Athletic wear company Reebok has officially dropped Rick Ross as the face of Reebok Classic in the wake of controversy over lyrics he contributed to the Rocko tune "U.O.E.N.O,
where the Maybach Music mogul boasted about drugging and raping a woman. He spit:
“Put Molly (Ecstasy) all in the champagne.  She ain’t even know it.  I took her home and I enjoy that.  She ain’t even know it.”
Rape survivors and women right groups launched a petition and media campaign asking Reebok to drop the rapper, despite his many apologies. Reebok released a statement today saying:
"Reebok holds our partners to a high standard, and we expect them to live up to the values of our brand.  Unfortunately, Rick Ross has failed to do so."Reebok goes on:  "While we do not believe that Rick Ross condones sexual assault, we are very disappointed he has yet to display an understanding of the seriousness of this issue or an appropriate level of remorse." Lesson learnt!

86 comments:

Lesson learnt indeed! Decision On point!

*Coughs* das all

serves him right. u don't just rapp bullshit all becomes it rhymes and has a certain flow.
rape isn't something to joke around with in any sense. see im bearbear. *hiss

How come he was d face of reebok in d first place sef?

Nawao dat was too much,even after he apologised.
over here u can even get a jeep from ur State governor sef.

praise said...

They should padon him back because a man is a man don't judge him by his act. Every body aint clean.

»Praise true iphone 2020

Eyah papilolo, ndo oo.

Kimbryo said...

Serves him right. His lyrics was very juvenile and irresponsible. He's a fcukin disgrace. He should retire, already.

Rick why this type of lyrics nau. Better luck next time

rick ross don dey see am now..

Killing Of Twins Is Still Happening In Nigeria (Parts of Abuja)

well said reebok, druging and raping a woman is nothing to boast about in rap lyrics. men who rape women, are cowards, and lack self control in their lives. They are punks, loosers, wimps and degenerates. Again kudos to reebok. Rick Ross yuck! , don't even like him.

Nice!

LINDA PLEASE CHANGE YOUR STATEMENT ...HE NEVER APOLOGIZED!...that is why they dropped him .........he was only making stupid excuses here and there and didnt want to take responsibilty ...so please dont make it seem as if he apologised and they dropped him......

Rape or an intent of it is never good.....it is not good to have sex without someones knowledge or force yourself on them......the victims suffer a lot and are traumatized ...some of them never recover ....Linda as a woman stop glorifying this rapper and making it seem as if he is sorry he is not!....and he did not learn anything ..he would still release another sing .....stop speaking for this ignorant thugs....they are the equivalent of Mushin boys with money .....i wish you would take time out and hang out with rape victims to see.................and any MAN OR WOMAN THAT SUPPORT RICK ROSS IN THIS ...may you not suffer such INFACT GOD AND KARMA DEAL WITH YOU TO EVEN THINK OF SUPPORTING SUCH NONSENSE......

Perfect!

elly said...

Things fall apart! This happens wen u no longer v lines to use 4 ur music! Rozay stay in d kitchen n take all d heat!

ufo said...

Lovin this.God bless reebok,all this stupid rappers wit stupid lyrics wil start learnin their lessons

Folarin Akin said...

Good for him. Cus he's a rap star, he thinks he can rap things he normally do in secret publicly without caution and expect applauds...ish

trinity said...

They should leave the boss alone joor... It was just plain dumb lyrics. Besides no molly or DRD on earth can keep a girl from not knowing when somebody lyk rozay is ontop of her.

Common! Its just a lyric.

Fred Pius said...

I think it's a ,move in a right direction, I think such lyrics encourages rape.

What happens to your Google accounts when you are dead? Find out here

dats a badass setback...WATCH UR LYRICS!! except u r not an ambassador to any product
Rozay is alwz gon be Rozay

Like seriously? That's great, thumbs up to Reebok.

United no1 fan said...

Lesson learnt for wia
nt in america
dey use vulgar language alot dere..
So isnt a new tin...
BTW rick ross is a celeb nd can hv any gal he wnts..
Dnt tink he wud wnt to indulge in such act

Na wa o

But when Rick Ross was rapping about violence and shooting people it was ok? So that represented their brand? Mtchewww!
They are only dropping him because of people protesting. They just don't wanna lose consumers

Not fair

Don't mind him.. He wud jus open his mouth bleeeeeeh like dat nd vomit amytn dat cums out of it! All na rap.. Serves him rite tho! Its a major controversy ryt nw for him oo.. Next tym he wud think b4 he spits a verse..

Lmaooo! Ur one sarcastic niggur!

Don't mind him.. He wud jus open his mouth bleeeeeeh like dat nd vomit amytn dat cums out of it! All na rap.. Serves him rite tho! Its a major controversy ryt nw for him oo.. Next tym he wud think b4 he spits a verse..

Lord Denning's Ghost said...

Prince Charming,I do not mean to insult You by asking this question but i would ask regardless : What do you really do for a living?

Why are they picking on Rick Ross? The genre of rap on a normal day is aggressive.From the late 80s to the 90s, days of kurupt,eazy e, snoop dogg,ice cube even jaYZ. Most of their lyrics were very offensive, yet they got endorsements. What will you say about JayZ's misogyny (not sure of spelling) before he married beyonce. Its just lyrics, the fact that they rap about guns don't mean they shoot up people. I forgot to mention Eminem, listen to his previous albums, you will scream Jail for him.
I am not defending the lyric but I am just explaining the nature of rap. Remember its always 'Parental advisory: Explicit content' . They are just artists not to be taken literally.

What he does for a iving is non of ur business. If he likes to post comments here,then let him,he's not doing it wth ur fingers...busy body oshi!!

What he does for a living is non of your business...busy body oshi!!! Is he typing wth ur fingers?

This Is stupid though, A rap song is meant to depict such things....what i really can't understand is why Nigerians would just hate on someone because he is successful. People have rapped about worse, LIL WAYNE rapped about killing people and selling cocaine, EMINEM rapped about killing his own wife...but in the end the world just sees what they really want to see, FACE IT! Y'all never really liked RICK ROSS

Stunner! said...

You too get sense Alicia...exactly what I was about to say..u said it all..thumbs up!

Stunner! said...

Hmmmm see good question,oshey lord denning.i feel u on that!

Word!!

What's your biz?

Ify said...

Rick just killed it for me. That's it. I'm really happy at what Reebok did. Yes he apologized but didn't we read his apology? He wasn't making any sense at all! Next time, he will think well b4 spitting any lyrics b/cus rape is not a small matter. With all his money, he's still talking of rape. Mscheeeww! Ewu gambia!!!

king said...

Linda please get your facts right, and correct your mistake, rick ross neva categorically apologised all he kept doing was making excuses....that is why they said he has not displayed an understanding of the seriousness of the issue or shown an appropriate level of remorse. Over the years you have fought tirelessly for rape victims and have tried to bring them justice like d abia state university girl that was raped and recorded by five boys and that other more recent one...please please and please don't stop now, rick ross neva apologised! Please change that statement. Rape is a serious issue. Please post my comment

Y u wan know Wetin Oga P.C dey do 4 a living? Wetin u dey do 4 a living? Abi u wan kidnap Oga P.C.?

Forget dat one... Linda I knw u wld see dis... All ur secrets with ATM dey our hand.... Gba be

Ghen Ghen... God 4gives, Reebok don't

Rolzay

Heheh#Im Prince Charming's Uncle...His real name is EbUka...Ebuka is a JamBite, and having been JamBed a couple of times,he takes pleasure in bloggin..and i wldnt mind if Linda cld hire him..we jst need him outa d house..

Hehehe#--dass all?

missy said...

Dats very good!!dis shud serve as a deterrent to idiot rappers who go abt sayin rubbish jst to sound tough!dey shud better be careful n stop treatin serious issues with such flippancy cos dey r makin 'music'...if he's reppin any oda product,dey shud please follow d footsteps of reebok n drop him like he's hot!

peter said...

Ricky, u̶̲̥̅̊ are still my selected nigger in every way

God bless you.
He never apologised.

We still got belaire rose....fuck reebok

We should judge him by d size of his butt?!#sillymuch

He apologized 7 days ago.."""""@rickyrozay: I dont condone rape.Apologies for the #lyric interpreted as rape. #BOSS"""""

Good decision

****Mufasa Said said...

He is a waiter, waiting for linda to hand him an award in form of a ring! I tink he has a massive crush on/obsession with linda and since he isn't man enuff to say it, he will "trakx" her down via this blog. Pls note, d babe don't care bout u hommie.

****Mufasa Said

Rick Ross can have any girl he wants???? Loooooool.

Hahahahahahaha..abi o

Of course they don't wanna loose customers!!! its a business *rme* #dumb

Wats not fair is that idiots like rozay were even adored in the first place. Serves him right, nonsense fat fool

Makes no sense ur allowd 2 say wateva u lik in d music industry

50cent go D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ Lafº°˚=)) =)) ˚°Âº≈pourº°˚ ˚=)) =)) °Âº≈moet forº°˚ ˚º im expensive Polo shirt°˚ ˚°Âº~=)) =)) @ d misfortune of Rozay.
Bt cum oº°˚˚˚°Âº,no b dis same rappers D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ promote Nudity,Violence,same sex kissing nd al 4 deir videos nd lyrics. Abegi al dis na hypocrisy jare.

Chinedu said...

what is your business in what he does?
Is commenting in every linda's post a crime in Nigeria?

Actually, the right question to ask is 'what is your age?' are u under 15? What are u doing with the internet?

Mind your fucking business

hes jaobless senseless and insensitive,he has no respect for women even though he was born of a woman ...i nr blame am,na d india hemp na im dey cause am

You taking it so personal. You sure you not talking from experience. Well only God can heal the pain.

This Praise person, are you a human being or what?! "a man is a man, don't judge him by his act'? ARE YOU SMOKING CHEAP SAND? So what should we judge him by? And what do you mean 'a man is a man?' Where are you even going with that? It is people like you that make the male gender look like mad dogs *hiss* Please if that's how you think and you've convinced yourself you're a real man I advise you to change your crack supplier

The MMG are already taking shot on Reebok on diffm social media.

TEFLON DON STILL!!

CAPT J.D

Serves him right.

Olumide Samuel said...

Issues like these cannot be toyed with and I expect Rick Ross should have learnt that by now. Voice of Sagacity

What baffles me is the fact that he was even
Selected in the first place to represent reebok. Lets select our role models for positive impact and contribution. His lyric whilst irresponsible is within the childish realm that he has always operated within so why the uproar. Rape. Drugs. Murder. They go hand in hand by glorifying violencd. Its who reebok chose

fuck all y'all;nigga still getting paid.so y'all can go s#uck a d!ck

hello linda how are you today

K. That's a great setback 4 him as he'll now lose millions from d endorsement deal from Reebok just 4 wanting 2 sound cool in a song.
And this Result go also affect other endorsement deals he may have gotten in da future cuz he's now in d blackbk as a bad character. Most western companies r really careful on d character they choose as their brand ambassador.
Rozay is a great artist n a cool dude, but he just fcked up this time. Wish him da best, though

Lesson learnt.lmao

*but wait.oo,its true,what does this prince charming really do for a living,is it surfing the net and drinking beer? Commenting to every post on LIB.

Nigger? Rozay go slap u 4 calling him dat. I know u mean nigga. U see there's a difference between Nigger and nigga in America.
Hope u understand d history of that word u used?

asi said...

Who is this fool?abeg park well

Rape issue is not to be taken with kid gloves. He nor even get sense? At present when rape is being reported left, right, centre and people are still thinking about the India and South Africa rape cases. He nor even get sense.

When a script writer creates rape or murder scenes in movies.... does that qualify them as rapists or murderers? Hian!!!!

So serves him right

Very good, he and everyone else need to learn to never joke about rape. It is a serious issue!

Good for him, stupid fat idiot!

Whatever

Lord denning, King and Ezeh, you niggas r all bitches. Stop hatin and get money. If you don't know now you know

They said he didnt live up 2 dia values.was he livin up 2 dia expectations when he raps about drugs in most of his songs?.just percieved rape line and they re acting up

Random but relevant, did we make any leeway in finding the criminals in the rape video you had talked about a couple of days ago? Is anyone still looking into it?

Okri said...

Very good question...I'm sure all the Anonymous responses in support of PC were been posted by PC himself. Well, let's just say he eats, drinks & thinks LIB.