Power Generation drops by 1,074MW | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 10 April 2013

Power Generation drops by 1,074MW

The poor supply of electricity being witnessed across the country currently is as a result of a significant drop in power generation from a peak of 4,517 megawatts attained on December 21, 2012 to 3,443MW on Tuesday April 9th.

The drop in power generation, according to the Ministry of Power, was as a result of low gas supply to thermal power plants.

The power generation report provided by the Ministry of Power revealed that peak generation as of Saturday was 2,987.6 MW, while the peak demand forecast was 10,200MW. Energy generation was put at 68,953.24 megawatts hours, while the actual energy sent out was 67,360.24MWH.

This is considered by power industry analysts as a huge break from the highest peak generation of 4,517 MW on December 21, 2012 and 98,580MWH energy on December 19, 2012, one of the highest ever sent out in the country. (Punch)

When Barth Nnaji was power minster, there was significant improvement...now the power situation is unbearable...

70 comments:

Template excuses please can you guys just implode so out of the ashes would arise geniue hope.

basit said...

Mtcheew..sigh. Who is fooling who

SIMPLE BABY said...

...SO WHAT DID YOU THINK?
.THAT IT WAS SUSTAINABLE?
THE DAY NIGERIANS AND OUR GOVERNMENT REALISE THAT EFFICIENT AND SUSTAINED POWER SUPPLY IS A BY PRODUCT OF ORDER THEN THAT WILL BE THE FIRST DAY ON OUR WAY TO GOOD POWER SUPPLY...TILL THEN WE WILL CONTINUE TO IMPORT TRANSFORMERS AND ALL SORTS OF EQUIPMENT IN VAIN WHILST PEOPLE AUTONOMOUSLY GENERATE THEIR REQUIRED WATTAGE

...AND THATS THAT

Smh! One step forward, 5 steps backward... How saddening of a country we call our own. When developed and developing nations alike have power aplenty we are here still battling with a meagre power base. God help us! We also need to help ourselves.

Barth Nnaji remains the best, Nigerian politics sha, see what we are suffering now.

Myne Whitman said...

Which way Nigeria? After all of Goodluck making mouth on CNN?

Temitope said...

The good n working 1s get axed,dts 9ja politics 4 u

NWA MAMA said...

DIS IS NA REAL WA OOOOH>>>>>>14% OF MY MONTLY INCOME GO FOR FUEL>>>>THIS IS ANNOYING.

Na wa for NEPA, first to comment

Smh!!!! Shame shame shame......one day one day sha, we will see the light again.

John said...

Please O! We need light sharp sharp!

Na wa for NEPA

We should begin to look at renewable energy in this country.ITS a lot cheaper. rather than generation from GAS turbines we can try solar and hydro technology. Even waste can generate electricity.

no wonder

God ll help us o...

This is a serious knock to GEj's govt, a time we are meant to be generating, we are dropping the little available. Generator noise and fumes killing the poor masses. How can one hope that our leaders will turn things around?

Prince Escalus said...

Electricity is one of the main turn off from tourists coming to Nigeria. I keep wondering why Nigerian government doesn't want to work hard on electricity because when a country have a steady electricity security will now cone in.

1 TIPS FOR A FLAT BELLY CLICK HERE said...

not Good

Olusola Koks said...

God punish all of them, my 4months old generator have started misbehaving, it works more than 8hours everyday...... is this a country.....????

neNyE.D said...

Seriously I am in Enugu and it is effin unbearable.

Why am I not surprise,Hissssss, after Barth left we all knew this was going to happen.useless politicians will never let the right people to stay in office and work

Nigerians, Here's a critical issue to discuss nd raise ur blood pressure on; not same sex relationships that is done in the privacy nd consent of the doers.This low nd unimproving power output nd its rather 'cursed' sector/ministry aggregately affects the economy nd standard of living of we all; not petty issues that our shallow minds feel excited to run our mouths on.

SUNSHINE said...

Ahhhhhhhhhhhh.!!!!!!!!!
No wonder!!
Gosh! This country is so fucked up.
Here i am, in my apartment thinking it was only my area that has problem with electricity.
Thank God for generator.
Can't recall how much i'v spent on fuel this month..
And this weather ain't making things easier at all
Other countries dae manage 35000Mwatts.
We dae here dae jubilate ontop 4500MW.
GEJ, your regime is so fulled with EVIL!!
Step down already!!!!

mariamah said...

Pls something should be done about it ooooo, cos some of us are spending too much of money on diesel and petrol.

Rock said...

The power supply has deteriorated beyond imagination. This government surely lacks vision and foresight.

Obodoukwu boy said...

This country is so so far from progressing. A country where nothing works and the few that have tried to rescue it re driven out. Dora Akunyili who is one of nigeria's brightest was removed from where she did exceptionally well to an unknown ministry instead of health ministry where she could have dealt with those cabals destroying the health sector. Barth Nnaji, the only man in the history of Nigeria who has a tangible solution to the dead power situation was booted out and replaced by a man who wants to fight it "spiritually". I spend close to #100,000 a month running generators for my businesses and home. The only situation to this power problem is to hand it over to states to generate and sell to their people cos if I pay #20,000 a month for constant electricity, then I'll be very happy. GEJ is a failure and a confused person. Imagine fashola generating and selling power to lagosians I bet it will be a happy moment all through.

There has been no light here in onitsha since friday...what is wrong with this black monkey why am I in this ape country...I hate nigeria

Bull shit! Y'all be shitin on us mehn! Berth was d best! I dnt understand dis country any more (´̯ ̮`̯ )

Improved power in nigeria is like the camel passing through the eye of a needle.(aint happening) electricity in naija is like santa claus (it dont exist).Expecting power in naija is just like climbing the rain(how?).Expecting phcn to behave is like trying to sweep the sun of the streets(no use trying). Just expressing my frustrations.Light in naija?
( singing femi's wonder wonder )
The good nigerian.

Dats y I havnt had power 4 over a week now!
Everything in my damn ass freezer is fucking spoiling!!
Am I supsd 2 leave d gen on during d day whyl am at work?
*rme*
Stupid idiots!!
Billie jean

@jaylicioussss said...

Shame shame shame, low gas supply keh? Naija wch way ooo

Hmmm I know this post ll not generate more than 100 comments if not lesser.....smh

'First to comment'.....is dat why u re here...smh

here lies the cause of the recent power failure. Its just been black out non-stop these days.

This country needs God's grace,I don't knw why dis old and greedy fool(politians) kip destorying tins instead of repairing.

Pls mek una go siddon the new minister has a lot of carry over issues on his neck give him time. He will perform Linda u too like stirring up trouble one day u go enter

Spero lucem...

I can categorically say that Nigeria's d only country in d world stil struggling with electricity! Hw can electricity supply stil b our major problem in 2013??? I swear we r still livin in d dark ages prior 2 civilization. Its so disgustin hw these so called leaders parade themselves like they hv actually don smthg worthwhile -d bloody bastards. Its 2 bad. Nepa had d guts 2 bring me a bill of 22k. Haven't had lite 4 8hrs str8 dis mth. Can't even use d ac cos d voltage is rubbish. Its really sickenin. Anyways dey'll hv 2 b kiddin themselves if dey think I'll pay dat amt 2 live in darkness. Make dem cum carry their wire go lemme knw am providin electricity 4 myself gabadia. Awon oniranu oshi. Am so pissed.

SPATACULES.. said...

Such shameful, what can Nigeria even host of? A country that generates more than 210 million dollars pair day and 234millon dollars pair year on oil sector alone dose not have stable electricity and there are all there can't do nothing about it, instead there make a partner with Generator company, sometimes I'm ashamed to call my self a Nigerian, upon all the millions flowing in and out, I was so little when the government keep promising Nigerians that there are working on it since I was born more than people have ruled the country and nothing have yet to be done about it, i live in another country that nigeria is far richer than them but year to year no blinking of light or single darkness one day, I'm even scared to visit my country because of heat and power failure too bad I never pray without putting that great country in prayer...God is the one that can redeem that country.

...To think that New York as a City generates nd consumes more Megawatts than the entiety of Nigeria is just mindboggling nd an punch on the faces of all the Leaders of this Country. Which way forward 'Compatriots of the Niger'?

GBAM!!!

Olumide Samuel said...

We're using renewable energy, we're just not utilizing it properly. Jebba, Shiroro, & Kainji generating stations are all hydro but they're generating less than 1,000MW combined. In Brazil, there's a single dam that generates 14,000MW(one turbine in this dam generates more than the whole of kainji gs), & the river is not as big as Niger (note that river Niger is the 4th biggest river in the world). We don't need three dams on Niger, we only need one that will generate about 7,000MW. We're wasting the potential of river Niger. Regarding solar means, it's not feasible because of its cost and relatively low output. No country is using it as a major source of their power. Voice of Sagacity

My bill this month was about 13,000 for a 3 bedroom flat, we share power with the next street, 1 day off, one day on, which means I have power only 15 days a month. In this 15 days, its not the whole day, it can still be taken for hrs. I have begged for prepaid meter, no show!!!! I am really fed up and upon all they will bring their ladders to disconnect the power even when u are not at home.

LOL noooo it was going to skyrocket for life. GEJ will keep quiet till July when the rains have fully arrived to supply the dam with water then he'll say he has improved power again and Nigerians will agree.

Nepa officials at Ejigbo office in Lagos are the most corrupt, they claim they work with those from okota branch, I pay my bills but if they are given 1000, they leave those owing and disconnect those that can't or won't bribe them.

happyhausabunny said...

Yep! Power was way better when Barth Nnaji was in office! The past week in my area we only have light for 30mins and it's off! It's better they don't even bring the light @ all! That silly president will now open his mouth and say power has improved, yeah right!

fly guy said...

As far as am concerned we deserve an apology 4rom d govt and this month bill should not have been generated in d first place as compensation,but as usual no regards 4 d citizens,btw this is d kind of posts we need a lot of debating on, not pussy and dick posts,we say we want a revolution,yet a lot of ignorant people in this country,we need 2 educate ourselves

Well the son of the minister for power just wedded here in Enugu. I gues dts where all your money goes to.

When will all dis lies and decieving stop. Am damn tired of dis country. We haven't seen lite in surulere 4 1week.

emarketstrategy said...

I run 2 generating set and as I speak they are stretched am thinking of a third, the supply is not just there and NEPA had the mind to drop their silly bill today!

Only time will tell....

oisa said...

Did d light get better b4? Funny enough i din't notice.

What is new? There would always be one story or the other for poor electricity. Power is messed up. Pure and simple

the same complaints every time, this government lacks the bold step it takes to make changes. Shortage of gas every 2 2 months. 2015 on my mind, by Gods grace

Am so sick of dis country,,just give us constant light and good roads dats all(jokes apart)

bky said...

Oh God of Elijah! Arise 4 nigeria sake!

Since January this year, the whole of ile-ife Osun State has not had light even up till now, as I type this am writing in darkness.

Hmm sad sad sad. Feel like running away from this country but where to? I can not leave certainty for uncertainty even though the certainty is messed up. I feel so weak for Nigeria, just so sad. Don't even have light to charge my phone because at work no light, at home also no light. The generator fumes are killing.I open the windows at night for fresh air to come in but what do I get polluted air that can slowly kill after years of inhalation. Oh I can go on...... Who can I vent my frustration on? Sobbing....

Obviously this whole affair is a conspiracy. Successive governments can't all be so inept.
People are making mega bucks from the sake of diesel required to run the expensively purchased generators. We know who they are. It's on their interest to have this shambling state of affairs, and the govt are in collusion. That's why they removed the one person who was making progress.

Is because of we keep on paying for a service that was not rendered that's why they are bold enough to came out anytime with stories

baby said...

Forked up country nd govt, liars nd thieves, God is watching u all on a 4d plasma, no light for ova a wk nd u come up wid dis excuse, it is time for the wicked prayers, all dose that are colliding to frustrate and cheat the masses nd the public as a whole in this country, may we begin to hear of mysterious things regarding them, they come up wid shitty excuses, while in their houses nd offices, no blackout for even a second, they don't forking care, am so pissed right now, d truth of the issue is, if God or even ourselves dont hav a revolution against these idiots, our situation wuld neva change, sad news everyday, pls I would advice dose that hav the oppurtunity to relocate should please do, no b until when suffer kill u, u go no say nigeria go beta, bcs wid dis kind of peepz in power, this country isn't gonna get better,but rather worse.

@ Anon 7:08pm..ur a fool.!He be ur Papa? Infact u no reach sef!or u be cleaner 4 em house so u dey see light.dts y u can open ur mouth and yarn rubbish!No be ur fault,4 ur mind u sabi news..longest hiss ever!

Same old story. Since I was born its low gas supply... God help this country

Nikapetrelli said...

whoever dat is responsible for dis lack of power supply in the country
Ur doom is getttin near
God is always watching

Na country be ds? T̶̲̥̅ђe̶̲̥̅̊ thing wey D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ pain ♍ε be say money D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ †☺ make ds things beta bt mba na for their pocket only n they prefer †☺ export †ђǝ money †☺ make anoda country beta God will punish all of una wtout remedy na heat go kill una says YK.

story.. shey last night on channels new they reported the minister said it was as a result of some kinda maintenance going on somewhere.. they cant even get their lies straight! dats how our president was interviewed by a cnn correspondent on this issue and he says our light generation has improved and they can ask anyone on the streets or lagos and abuja.. me i just kept on screaming lie lie!!

We have the most clueless people in power. The worst Government ever. Nothing works. All they do is steal themselves blind. Can't wait for all of them to leave power. I haven't had light for 6 straight days. One of my generators has broken down due to excessive use.

Sick and tired of these clowns in power.

When the money that should be channeled into electricity is being considered to pay bokoharams, what do we expect! I will continue to pray for you Nigeria! Someday....someday things will get better