Glo brings X Factor, world's biggest singing reality show, to Africa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 7 April 2013

Glo brings X Factor, world's biggest singing reality show, to Africa

Glo ambassadors Desmond Elliot, Chioma Chukwuka-Akpotha, Globacom’s Head of Reality Shows, Sulyman Bello, Chief Finance Officer of Rapid Blue, Richard McCullough, and Glo ambassador Sammie Okposo, at the launch of "The X Factor"
The world’s number one music singing talent reality TV show, “The X Factor”, has berthed in Africa for the first time on the shores of Nigeria, courtesy of the leading telecommunications company, Globacom. The show was unveiled on Wednesday night at the GET Arena, Lekki, Lagos, confirming Globacom as the leading force that connects the youths to their entertainment passion. 

The ultimate winner of the spectacular show will cart home a princely sum of $150,000 (N24million), the biggest purse among current reality TV shows. He will also win a recording contract with the internationally acclaimed Sony Music for the recording of an album and professional management of the winning individual or group.

Globacom's Head of Reality Shows, Sulyman Bello, flanked by Globacom Ambassador Sammie Okposo (right) and Richard McCullough, Chief Finance Officer of Rapid Blue, at the launch of "The X Factor"
According to the company’s Head, Reality Shows, Sulyman Bello, Glo is proud to be the catalyst that brought about this development and the attendant buzz cum excitement it will generate across the continent. “Africa has been yearning for a programme of this optimum quality and we are privileged to have made it possible,” an ecstatic Bello said.  He added that Glo needed to do something special to signpost the special year of its 10th anniversary, hence the gift of “The X Factor” to entertain and delight its teeming subscribers across sub-Saharan Africa and the larger public. 

“This year marks the 10th anniversary of our operations and this programme is, in part, our modest way of thanking our subscribers for their loyalty and patronage,” he said. 

Commenting on the ultimate prize of $150,000 to the winner, Bello said that this is in sync with the profile of the show. “The unprecedented top prize is a reflection of the premium status of the programme; this is in addition to the coveted Sony Music contract with the attendant post-season super star status for the winner and international stardom”, he added, which is not provided by any other music talent show in the country today. 

The X Factor, a Syco-owned format, is produced and distributed worldwide by FremantleMedia. Speaking about the show’s upcoming debut in Nigeria, Jamie Lynn, EVP Sales & Distribution, EMEA at FremantleMedia said: “The X Factor is one of the leading entertainment shows of this generation and we’re absolutely delighted to be working with Glo to bring Nigeria its own version. The blockbuster show has enjoyed immense success all over the world and we have no doubt it will make the same impact in Nigeria as it has had around the globe.”

“The X Factor” is a Reality TV singing competition to find new talents. It is contested by aspiring singers, drawn from public auditions and is open to all ages, sex, styles, solo acts or groups.  A major difference between the show and others is that the judges also double as coaches for the various groups. It is peculiarly split in stages, following the contestants from auditions through to the boot camp, the judges’ homes; to the grand finale. Dancers are also featured and contestants could accompany themselves on guitar, piano or any other musical instruments.

“The X Factor” has been successfully launched in major countries including UK, the United States, Albania, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany and Spain. Here in Africa, the month-long pre-auditions, which are the first stage, will kick off in Abuja on April 13 and later hold in Port Harcourt and Lagos. It will also run in Accra and Kumasi in Ghana.

Also commenting on the development, Nigeria’s Afro-calypso king, Lagbaja, said that the introduction of the programme is a historic event which underscores Glo’s profile as the biggest supporter of quality entertainment packages. “Coming on the heels of the immensely popular Lafftafest, Glo Naija Sings, G-Bam show, Campus Storm and the Big Friday Show, this is yet another proof of the company’s consistency in thrilling the youths”, he said. 

The other stages of the competition include the auditions, in front of an audience; the evictions; the judge’s day and the grand finale. Bello noted that X- Factor has consistently ranked No 1 entertainment programme across the world, especially among the young adults. “With X – Factor, the entertainment scene in Nigeria will never be the same again”, he said

Globacom’s Regional Director Marketing Communications (West Africa), Charles Jenarius (left), and Chairman of Firehouse Limited, Victor Obaika, at the launch of "The X Factor", the world's biggest singing reality TV show brought to Africa for the first time  by leading telecoms operator, Globacom, at Get Arena, Lekki, Lagos, on Wednesday night.
DJ Humility and a guest

Singer Tosin Martins, Glo ambassadors Odulade Adekola and Sammie Okposo with Globacom's Head of Reality Shows, Sulyman Bello, at the launch of "The X Factor", the world's biggest singing reality TV show brought to Africa for the first time  by leading telecoms operator, Globacom, at Get Arena, Lekki, Lagos, on Wednesday night.

54 comments:

Michelle said...

I hope this won't be like just another reality show. Happy Sunday! Lol

Ray J's new single 'I hit it first' is out! - Listen

princess said...

Will definitely go FO̶̷̩̥̊͡Я d Audition

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

Nobody can do it better than the us (UK). So it's probably gonna suck.

Linda which of the adverts do u get paid for exactly? Cause sometimes u post rubbish things up for us.kindly concentrate more on imp things henceforth. First to comment tho. Better put this up or I turn u into a transgendar

DJ Humility and that guest sha.. They look like they are made for each other.

Paul said...

Cool!!!

what in God's name are all the men in this picture wearing???

Gbam, now I wish I could sing. Choi 24 million. Jesus ooh. Good initiative though.

reese said...

Linda u no dey go church ni

The Naijally Show said...

I hope this one go make sense oh. Naija things, hope there will be better studio and every.

The Naijally Show said...

Let us see how this will turn out sha. Watch Naija comedy skits

BOYS VS GIRLS STEREOYPES

How does this affect the price of garri in Ariara market??
Loski-laxki in Hamburg

Entertainment here nd there...!#fast moni tho

first??

I knew this show will soon hit the continent. Cool.

This is kul....nyccc wrk GLO... I love X-Factor

This is really a good news in our entertaiment industry

Glo is really trying for naija youths oooo,, I must commend Adenuga.. Unlike other rich people that just take from the society without giving back

XFactor naija ke?!?Glo has killed it dis tym around o.24 million naira!?I'm so going to sing my life out.

Dis is good!!Africa is getting there!!

Kai! Kmt! and d singin continues...
Is it dt der arnt enof of these shows around? Diz thngs are no more interesting jare.

I would love to read this on MTN mobile newspaper

Reading dis on mtn mobile newspaper will be ....

I must participate o. I see myself winning this money

dats nice...kip it up glo

Make person no Go die for this country o... are we really ready for the X factor thing???

Memiee

Austin Uche said...

this is great.... The sony music contract part o.. Hope they will take d winner serious... Bcos i knw sony, if u aint selling, they will dump as fast as they signed u... Faster sef.

BTW, Sammy Okposo, Dj Humility and Desmond... Come on guys, easy on em junk food

X factor wish I was a member.first to comment (yeeeaahhh!!!)

late comers

Hope it wnt b like nigeria's got talent ooo

Pj's boo said...

booboo is back. I missed u pj.
Is dt ur son on ur avi?
He's cute...gushes
A.O.S

Please when does it start, can sm1 help me find out okwusaw@yahoo.com

Just another way to pinch Nigerian's money...
So what would happen to the winners?
Even the established singers are struggling.

American Idol - Nigerian Idol
Basketball Wives - Lekki Wives
America's got Talent - Naija's got Talent
Kim Kardashian - Omosexy the real me
X-factor - Naija own don come!

Issokay!

u de ask weda linda no de go church. bet u r jus knowing she is a catholic. I don go first mass by 6am come back by 8am. maybe na dat movt linda de too.
wink!

Cool as cool fm

Yayyyy! Queen Bee let's get married 2moro, d hard tyms r ova....cus am gonna win dis for us! Love you too

winnyzinteriors-Great furniture deals!!! click to check us out/visit our showroom! said...

Ok now...lets see how it goes

Blackberry said...

Beta post it...I haven't forgotten d nsala soup wit ur fingers

nana said...

Wish i know how to apply to be the Host when it starts...Linda dearie,any help?? I have a fine resume

Is simon cowell coming #rolling eyes#.If he is not,am not watching.No one does it like simon for me

First of all, eye b first to comment yaaay!!!

Secondly, eye no dey impressed regarding d winner prize money cos e no dey mouth-watering compared to uk xfactor...

Lastly, aunty linda! ngwa gosi uwa my comment ozigbo!!!

Interestin notification,dis all i ever wanted,we can do it 2geda 2 u who gat wot it take like me,i ensure u i gat wot it take,u can email me on jeffreyebuka@yahoo.com

Nice one..but in the X-Factor USA, the prize is a $5 million dollar recording contract. How come its $150,000 for the whole of Africa?
Its still big money though.. And I'm sure who ever wins it will be forever grateful...

Cool.more grease 2 dier elbow.

I actually agree with u on it being crap in naija . Soz guys the American one is the best

ndigbo says said...

Nokia first chance, nigerian idol, project fame, west african idol, glo sings nawa

Omaa... said...

Because they use relevant people as full time judges! In Nigeria, dey park struggling artists as judges n den bring relevant people once a week! If those stupid judges knw so much, y r dey still irrelevant! I jst hope dis peeps get real celebz 2 judge!

Bet it should wrk out if only they can get simon c to anchor it! Nigeria has mony , we can afford it.

Or even Nigerian idol!

Good for them..dis mr bello is really choping moni..ewo!!!

Na u know oo. Idea is 'need'. Couch potato

desmond idiot looks like a fat toad with his unkempt n trashy hair.

O....k .... Sony music hmmmm *lips sealed*

I am so sick and tired of these reality shows. When are these companies going to start putting some real money into supporting local technology innovation and development?